Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are you aiming for?

• 05-05-2011 4:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭

So what grades are everyone aiming for in the J.C? :)

Im aiming for:
    Maths - A (Got 76% in the mocks)
    English - A (Got 72% in the mocks)
    Irish - B (Got 61% in the mocks)
    History - A (Got 86% in the mocks)
    Geography - A (Got 92% in the mocks)
    Science - A (Got 86% in the mocks)
    Home ec - A (Got 94% in the mocks)
    Spanish - A (Got 71% in the mocks)
    Art - A (Got 85% in the mocks)
    CSPE - A (Got 80% in the mocks)
    Religion - A (Got 76% in the mocks)

Should be reasonably achievable, if i pull my socks up :L :L

What are you hoping to get? 52 votes

All A's :)
    0% 0 votes
    Mostly A's with a few B's and C's
    17% 9 votes
    Mostly C's or B's with maybe a D or two
    67% 35 votes
    I'd be lucky if I passed anything...
    15% 8 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Maths - A.
    Science - A.
    Geography - A.
    History - A.
    CSPE - A.
    Business A.

French - B/C.
    English - B/C.
    Irish - B/C.

Woodwork - C/D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

English - A
    Maths - A
    Irish - B
    French - A *fingers crossed*
    Geography - A/B
    History - A
    Science - A
    Business - A
    Home Ec - B (C if the written paper doesn't go swimmingly)
    CSPE - A...It's meant to be marked fairly hard so I won't be too pushed if I get a B.

They're quite optimistic grades, considering I've done feck all so far there'll probably be more B's in the real thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

Slow Show wrote: »
    They're quite optimistic grades, considering I've done feck all so far there'll probably be more B's in the real thing.

Same :O I've been more bothered a month before Christmas exams than I am right now.... Wtf is going on??? :O
    Oh right..Im just lazy... :L
    Have an all day study session/tutor day with my friend tomorrow, she wants me to teach her a few bits and bobs, so hopefully it will refresh my memory a bit and kick me into gear :L

Indiego wrote: »
    Same :O I've been more bothered a month before Christmas exams than I am right now.... Wtf is going on??? :O
    Oh right..Im just lazy... :L
    Have an all day study session/tutor day with my friend tomorrow, she wants me to teach her a few bits and bobs, so hopefully it will refresh my memory a bit and kick me into gear :L

Haha, I keep saying that I was more bothered in 1st year, and it's actually perfectly true. :p Gonna try get myself in gear, I really want the grades up above, I'm just a bit worried that it's too late. The plan is to start at the weekend though, with exactly a month to go. We can do it guys. Yes we can. :pac:

Maths: A
    Geography: A
    Business: A
    C.S.P.E: A
    Music: A
    History: B
    Irish: B

These three i'll have to REALLY improve on to get A's but should get them
    French: A
    English: A
    Science: A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 FunkyOxygen

MathsOL - A
    EnglishHL - A
    IrishOL - A
    HistoryOL - A
    GeographyHL - B
    ScienceHL - C
    LatinHL - B
    FrenchHL - D (attempting honors!)
    MusicHL - C
    CSPE - A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

All Higher Level-

Maths B- C in mocks
    History A- B in Mocks
    Science A- C in mocks but didn't study at all
    English B- C in mocks
    German A- B in mocks
    Business A- C in mocks, only answered 3 q's in P2 without study
    Geography A- A in mocks but would like t go from 89 to around 95, I know I won't find out though :pac:
    Irish A- B in mocks
    CSPE A- A in mocks

I've been doing a fair amount of studying and I hope I get these results :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

English: A
    Business: A
    Geography: A
    Cspe: A
    Tech G: A
    History: A
    Gaeilge: B
    Maths: B
    French: B
    Science: C hopefully B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭yellowsky169

Yeah I'm gonna aim for all A's, fairly hopeful I might get it (or close) but I'm not one of these people that has been studying since September, I've barely done ANYTHING since the mocks!! These were my mock results:
    Eng:A (only just...)
    Iri:B
    Mth:B(my favourite subject:()
    Span:A
    Mus:A
    H.E:B
    His:B
    Geo:A(my least favourite subject:rolleyes:)
    Sci:A
    Biz:A
    CSPE:B

As long as I get an A in math I'll be happy:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 gem.

Yeah I'm gonna aim for all A's, fairly hopeful I might get it (or close) but I'm not one of these people that has been studying since September, I've barely done ANYTHING since the mocks!! )

wow that might as well have been me talking,
    Im also aiming for all A's, but somehow they seem a bit beyond my reach for subjects like irish and maths.
    I want :
    Science A - C in mock
    Maths A - C in mock
    Irish A - C in mock
    History A - A
    Geog A- A
    Religion A - B
    Music A - A
    CSPE A - A
    Eng A - A
    French A- B
    Art - Id love an A but that aint gonna happen :L

Ive always been quite good at school, so I hope it pays off, but does anyone else feel like time is running out and its not going to go as well as they want?

gem. wrote: »
    wow that might as well have been me talking,
    Im also aiming for all A's, but somehow they seem a bit beyond my reach for subjects like irish and maths.

Ive always been quite good at school, so I hope it pays off, but does anyone else feel like time is running out and its not going to go as well as they want?

Samee :O I would love all A's, but i dont think its gonna happen for me in Irish (I got a C in the mocks too), so i made a compromise, All A's and a B in Irish, id be happy with that :)
    I feel like im running out of time too :O I Stillll havent started studying properly yet :O i dont know whats wrong with me :O usually im great for studying :/ Im starting to scare myself...
    Ahh well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭mixery

Hello everyone, i'm new here, but i've been watching the site for a long time.

I'm aiming for All Bs in the JC. Realistically I will probably get C from b.s and D from science. But tbh it wont be the end of world if i do bad at anything.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Amount of bull sh!t/wishful thinking in this thread is unreal, setting realistic goals is a good starting point for study!

Or you can aim high and that will make you study more?

Desire. wrote: »
    Or you can aim high and that will make you study more?

Yes aim high in the subjects that it is achieveable in with work. But the majority of people arent brilliant at everything, so 10 or 11 As isnt realistic. Set yourself a goal you think you can reach with work, and you will be much happier come results time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

English - Higher (A) < I REALLY WANT AN IN THIS SO MUCH :D
    Irish - Ordinary (B)
    Home Ec - Higher (B)
    Religion - Higher (A)
    Civics - Common Level (B)
    Science - Ordinary (C/D)
    Geography - Ordinary (C/D)
    Maths - Foundation (C/D)
    Art - Ordinary (C)
    History - Ordinary (B/C)
    French - Ordinary - (B)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 rainaa

i'm aiming forr:

maths - A
    english - A
    irish - B (if i'm lucky fml)
    german - A
    french - B
    history - A
    geography - A/B
    art - A
    science - A (unlikely but i'm tryinggg)
    cspe - :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭ohdechertig

I'm aiming for all a's, but with my luck, I'll end up with 8 or 9/10.. I got 7 in the mocks, so I'm hoping I can bring Irish, English and Business to an A! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 im stuck! cnt tink of gud name

thank god someone has seen the light, lads its great your all so brillant at the studys but em.. dont go killing yourselves after all it is only the junior cert (the test run) not the one that decides your futre, it will be time to panic next year chill :cool:

Aiming high does not translate to studying insanely...My aims are the same but I'm the best procrastinator in the world.

I agree and it's better than aiming low. If you set low aims, you will be even less likely to put in the work and effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭AlanBr

By the time I get my results in like October I didn't really care haha...However you can be quite surprised with the change in your results from the mocks...I went from C's in english and french to A's ...(the French revise wise book is excellent).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

Aiming for;
    Maths A - B in Pre's
    Irish C - 54% in Pre's
    French B - 53% in Pre's (i didnt even study morning test that time :p)
    Art A
    English A - C
    Geography A - A
    History A - B
    CSPE A - A
    Business B - C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Karl96

English A/B - B in mock
    Irish A - B
    Maths A - B
    Science A/B - B
    French A/B - B
    Business A - A
    History A - B
    Geography A - A
    CSPE A - A
    Music A/B - B
    Tech Graph A - A
    Woodwork A - A

Thats what I hope to get!!! :D:) Need to start a bita study now for it though!!:rolleyes: especially English!!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

thank god someone has seen the light, lads its great your all so brillant at the studys but em.. dont go killing yourselves after all it is only the junior cert (the test run) not the one that decides your futre, it will be time to panic next year chill :cool:

Why are they so unrealistic? The Junior Cert isn't a very hard exam. Second Year summers were less predictable. You know exactly the format of the papers and the way questions come up. Why shouldn't people be getting good results?

These were my predictions last year. I did 2 weeks study before the exam started.
    Jackobyte wrote: »
    Irish - Borderline A/B
    Maths - A
    English - Borderline A/B
    Geography - A
    History - Borderline A/B
    Metalwork - A/B
    Business - A
    CSPE - A
    Science - A
    Spanish - B
    I did even better than I had predicted with 9As and a B. Let people aim high and don't try drag them down. Who's to say they aren't capable of their predictions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 rainaa

what you're aiming for and what you're expecting are two different things anywayyy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭mikeyod123

what is meant by mostly A's? roughly how many
    im going for 3 A's and havent thought about what ill get in the rest, im really not that worried at all :P

mikeyod123 wrote: »
    what is meant by mostly A's? roughly how many
    im going for 3 A's and havent thought about what ill get in the rest, im really not that worried at all :P

I would say 6+ As.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 DarkEagleEye

English-B
    Irish- B
    Maths-C/B
    Science A
    French A
    Business B
    History B
    Geography C
    CSPE A
    Tech Graph C
    Woodwork B

I hope I can get my Maths into gear and get that B, doing applied maths nxt year.BTW these are all higher.:pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You will all do better than you think.
    The Junior Cert is designed to maximise success for candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

Maths - A
    Irish - A
    History - A
    Geography - A
    Science - A
    CSPE - A
    Tech Graph - A
    Music - A (If I can get that f**king melodic dictation right)
    French - B
    English - B

spurious wrote: »
    You will all do better than you think.
    The Junior Cert is designed to maximise success for candidates.

In that case, I think I'll get 10 A's. Try beating that, SEC! :pac:

Do you only do 10 subjects?
    I do 11 :O :(

Do you only do 10 subjects?
    I do 11 :O :(

We don't do Religion. That's probably it. :)

Lucky :O
    Id love to not have to do religion :(
    Its my second worst subject, next to Irish, and its the only subject that im worried about not getting an A in :/ stupid religion exam....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

Lucky :O
    Id love to not have to do religion :(
    Its my second worst subject, next to Irish, and its the only subject that im worried about not getting an A in :/ stupid religion exam....

Try "That would be an ecumenical matter!" ;)

Hahahahahah XD

Wonder how many marks I would get for that...hmmmmmm... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

Religion is all about the elaboration of the opinions required for your answer.

I genuinely aim to fill every box to the end and so far, it seems to be paying off. I'm fortunate enough that our religion teacher is really enthusiastic about what other teachers may consider a "second class" subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭AlanBr

Is that from father ted?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭King John The Last

All higher
    English C with a bit of luck
    Irish D to E, too close to call:eek:
    German C
    Tec graph A for sure
    Science A
    Religon B
    CSPE B
    Geography B
    History B
    Maths B to A, too close again
    Business B

Everyone here seems so smart...

Everyone here seeams so smart...

IKR, I'm like the second smartest in my class and get in my classes top quartile usually but here I FEEL SO DUMB

Its like being at CTYI. lol

I'm the smartest boy in my year, but there a loads of girls who are smarter. Girls just seem to care more.

It's the opposite in my school, I *think* I'm the smartest girl, I generally get the highest marks in tests and I had the best results in the mocks, but there's two or three lads that are admittedly better than I am. And boys really are better than girls at maths, mhmmm.

boards.ie is the gathering place for all the great irish minds... And me:D

I think girls are definitely smarter than boys in school, or at least care enough to put in more effort.

For example, in my class, there are six boys and twenty-four girls. It is the same in the top class in second year. Oh, and six boys is the minimum amount of boys that can be in a class.

One time I asked my brother (5th year now) for exam advice. I shall quote what he said. "Dont bother your arse and you'll manage 5 As and 6 Bs" That was his result and he did less study than me if that is possible.

boards.ie is the gathering place for all the great irish minds... And me:D
    Its like being drowned under a sea of scholarshipers :eek:
    And boys really are better than girls at maths, mhmmm.

Yup :cool:
    I think girls are definitely smarter than boys in school, or at least care enough to put in more effort.

They put in more effort, which leads to them being smarter

All my girl friends are constantly talking about study since a month before the pre-pres while most of my Guy friends are just like it'll be grand sure and did about three hours of study over Easter :D

For example, in my class, there are six boys and twenty-four girls. It is the same in the top class in second year. Oh, and six boys is the minimum amount of boys that can be in a class.
    envy you lol
    That's a huge class BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

I'd be the smartest in a number of my classes, one boy has been in my class since primary school and has been bred to be a genius. I do better than him in some subjects even though he spends ages studying and gets good results and I do the minimum and still get good results. But seriously he takes things waaaaay to serious.

I'd probably be the third or fourth smartest overall in my year but the smartest in German and Geography.

There are some seriously smart people on here but you have to remember that no-one is stupid, they are smart at something.

English....C
    Maths....B
    Irish....B
    French....C
    History....A
    Geography....A
    Tech Graphics....B
    Science....A
    Business....A
    CSPE....A

Overall: