Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to deal with dealers like this?

• 03-05-2011 9:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭

Went with my friend today to pick up his new car a 03' BMW 316i. He paid 200quid deposit a few days before hand. Anyways terms of sale was that the car would be serviced. Before paying the balance we had a quick dip of the oil to see the same black tar that had been in it already. Popped out air filter and it was filthy. Not looking good for a car that has been just serviced..The only thing that seemed to have been done to it was given a quick wash.

Dealer comes out and says whats the problem? The car has not been serviced is what the problem is! Dealer says it was absolutely 100% serviced and that he watched the mechanic change the oil and everything. It was stupidly obvious that it had not been serviced. No matter how much we emphasised the oil was blacker then tar he just kept saying "it's been serviced" with a silly grin on his face. The oil filter housing was still dusty and dirty with no fresh markings to suggest it had been opened to have filter element replaced. Thats a disgrace and ruined it for my friend expecting to be picking up a half decent car:mad:

Anyways we felt no choice but to walk away because the smell of dead rat of this fella was overwhelming. "it's been serviced, I watched the mechanic change the oil". Pulling a fast one taking the two of us for complete idiots. If this is what he is like before the money is exchanged imagine making a warranty claim? Jesus I dread to think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Yup, walk away - and tell everyone possible to avoid. He'll soon be out of business like the rest of the shoddy dealers

How to deal with it?

Get about ten or twenty people to test drive random stuff he is selling and ring him loads about various yokes too. Time is money so waste his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

you'd be amazed at the amount of people who wouldnt even have checked id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Hope ye got back the €200 deposit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Name & shame wherever you can. Doubtful if you can do it here. IMHO thats the only language shoddy dealers deserve.

bryaner wrote: »

I'd say not :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

mondeo wrote: »
    Went with my friend today to pick up his new car a 03' BMW 316i. He paid 200quid deposit a few days before hand. Anyways terms of sale was that the car would be serviced. Before paying the balance we had a quick dip of the oil to see the same black tar that had been in it already. Popped out air filter and it was filthy. Not looking good for a car that has been just serviced..The only thing that seemed to have been done to it was given a quick wash.

Dealer comes out and says whats the problem? The car has not been serviced is what the problem is! Dealer says it was absolutely 100% serviced and that he watched the mechanic change the oil and everything. It was stupidly obvious that it had not been serviced. No matter how much we emphasised the oil was blacker then tar he just kept saying "it's been serviced" with a silly grin on his face. The oil filter housing was still dusty and dirty with no fresh markings to suggest it had been opened to have filter element replaced. Thats a disgrace and ruined it for my friend expecting to be picking up a half decent car:mad:

Anyways we felt no choice but to walk away because the smell of dead rat of this fella was overwhelming. "it's been serviced, I watched the mechanic change the oil". Pulling a fast one taking the two of us for complete idiots. If this is what he is like before the money is exchanged imagine making a warranty claim? Jesus I dread to think of it.

At least you were able to cop that the car wasnt serviced. How many more people wouldnt have been so lucky?

You did the right thing to walk away, At least this way your friend hasnt lost anything only the deposit and you will always pick up another 316i BMW around the place. No shortage of them anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Lost his sale, serves him right. All for the sake of a few euro. Oil, filter & air filter would have been plenty to keep your friend happy. At the prices he would be buying oil etc at, he lost the sale over about €20 + labour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭couldntthink

Couple of glass bottles filled with nitromors. I'm sure you see where I'm going with that one.

He owes you 200 euro, lying f**k. Name and shame time, where was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭jimbob86

So your freind lost his deposit then??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Went with my friend today to pick up his new car a 03' BMW 316i. He paid 200quid deposit a few days before hand. Anyways terms of sale was that the car would be serviced.
    If he didn't service it, he was the one breaking the contract. If the OP didn't get his money back, they should go the small claims route - it'd only cost €15 or so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

His persistance about the whole thing was shocking though. I feel sorry for anyone who buys a car off such a lying smirky little b@stard that he was to us this afternoon.

Dealer wont give deposit back!

Couple of glass bottles filled with nitromors. I'm sure you see where I'm going with that one.

He owes you 200 euro, lying f**k. Name and shame time, where was it?

Fvcking sure....id go back at nite a throw a brick threw the car window,i know its probably not the right thing to do but it would make me feel a whole lot better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

bryaner wrote: »

i wouldn't have left without it :mad:

jimbob86 wrote: »
    i know its probably not

Probably not indeed.

I'd go back with 3 or 4 really scummy looking dudes and ask politely for my €200 back.

andyseadog wrote: »
    i wouldn't have left without it :mad:

Lots of these dealer lads can be impossible to deal with really.

Personaly neither of us had been put in that situation before, We were both more then surprised this actually happened. I think he is ringing the dealer in the morning and asking for deposit back as his sister is a solicitor so should not be too hard getting a letter sent out to him anyways.:)

Does he have a receipt for the deposit?

RoverJames wrote: »
    Does he have a receipt for the deposit?

Ye he has a hand written receipt.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Will people stop suggesting that the OP break the law!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Mike Strutter

Pour a can of petrol over him or lighter fluid

then ask for your money back as you put a cigarette in your mouth and pull out a lighter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

then ask for your money back as you put a cigarette in your mouth and pull out a lighter.

You're the man for the job Strutter!

Yea whats right is right!

he should take some of mikes pillz and pay the dealer a visit!!

http://youtu.be/MH9ZaBAHSD0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

There's a fat ignorant gimp out by <snip> in Cork at the same craic, but seems to have a good rep all the same.

Unfortunately when you're looking for a particular car sometimes you have to deal with these types. Having come across a fair few slimey p***ks now at this stage, I'd beat them down on price as much as I could and just skip any "service" from them.

Even if the oil is clean when you pick it up - did they use the correct 5w30 fully synth for example? Or did they use el cheapo muck? I'd rather do it myself or give it to a mechanic I trust...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

a silly grin on his face. .
    mickdw wrote: »
    Lost his sale, serves him right. All for the sake of a few euro.

Lost the sale? He was probably delighted! Gets to pocket an extra €200 (on a, what, €500 margin car?) and flog the car to the next punter who isn't as clued in. A 316 will always sell. Only thing with scum like this is he will probably back down once he hears from the solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Name and shame him for sure and make sure to get back the deposit.
    Is he based on the Naas Road on the Dublin side of the Red Cow roundabout by any chance? Had an experience from a lying salesman there before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Anyways we felt no choice but to walk away because the smell of dead rat of this fella was overwhelming.
    If you look back, I think you'll find that the smell was there when your friend first spoke to the dealer on the phone. Your friend should never have viewed the car, much less agreed to buy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Unless you can provide some sort of documentary proof that this happened, please don't name and shame.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

OP, go to the small claims court.
    Terms of sale where broken, there are two of you to back up the story, he will only pull the same sh*te on someone else.
    GO TO COURT!
    It has to be done.
    Also SCC is inexpensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

RoverJames wrote: »
    Probably not indeed.

I'd go back with 3 or 4 really scummy looking dudes and ask politely for my €200 back.

I have upgrade on your idea. Get those 3-4 young man to his dealership and say " he owns me 200 quid, get it off him and it's yours". Then enjoy the show.

Lost the sale? He was probably delighted! Gets to pocket an extra €200 (on a, what, €500 margin car?) and flog the car to the next punter who isn't as clued in. A 316 will always sell. Only thing with scum like this is he will probably back down once he hears from the solicitor.

He might be delighted now but this guy will get his cash back so no cash advantage, and a car still sitting on the forecourt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

What's a Solicitor's letter going to do? Scare him?

What happens if he ignores it? Will Legal action follow?

Even a Small Claims Court claim, though cheap, is inconvenient. What if he ignores it?

All for €200.

The €200 lost to this chancer could be €200 well spent. Try to get it back, by all means, but it's not worth investing too much time or money.

Gophur wrote: »
    What's a Solicitor's letter going to do? Scare him?

What happens if he ignores it? Will Legal action follow?

Even a Small Claims Court claim, though cheap, is inconvenient. What if he ignores it?

All for €200.

The €200 lost to this chancer could be €200 well spent. Try to get it back, by all means, but it's not worth investing too much time or money.

The guy has a sister who is a solicitor so Id say they will have a bit of fun with him. If he doesnt answer the letter, he has not a leg to stand on.

mickdw wrote: »
    The guy has a sister who is a solicitor so Id say they will have a bit of fun with him. If he doesnt answer the letter, he has not a leg to stand on.

If he doesn't answer the letter, what happens?
    Nothing? Or the guy has to invest time and money suing the dealer?

A solicitor's letter is pretty much worthless, written by sister, or not. What will it say? It's useless as an enforcement tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

If he doesn't answer the letter, what happens?
    Nothing? Or the guy has to invest time and money suing the dealer?

A solicitor's letter is pretty much worthless, written by sister, or not. What will it say? It's useless as an enforcement tool.

If OP goes through the small claims court, he automatically wins if the dealer doesn't respond IIRC.

He may win, but I'm not sure it would be "automatic".

What happens if the dealer refuses to pay a SCC judgement?

What a lot of people do not realise is that any Small Claims Court decision can be appealed to a higher Court, at which time Legal fees kick in. You could, theoretically, win your €200 claim in the SCC but lose on appeal, then be liable for the costs of the whole lot.

I'm tilting towards Gophur's outlook on this one, given that mondeo's friend almost certainly doesn't have details of what was to be done in writing from the dealer. As I said at the start, the way to deal with people like this is not to do business with them in the first place.

He may win, but I'm not sure it would be "automatic".

What happens if the dealer refuses to pay a SCC judgement?

What a lot of people do not realise is that any Small Claims Court decision can be appealed to a higher Court, at which time Legal fees kick in. You could, theoretically, win your €200 claim in the SCC but lose on appeal, then be liable for the costs of the whole lot.

And thinking like that is exactly the reason why scummy car dealers pull stuff like that.
    You pay deposit and car dealer says "right, I can fcuk that guy about as much as I want because I have his money and he's not too bothered about getting it back, who's next?"
    This is not only about the money, it's about the principle.
    If someone does you for money and you can't get it back you need to break the money down into hourly payments and say "I'm going to make that dick suffer, he'll think twice before trying this again" and cause him at least twice as much grief than he would have had if he worked for the money in an honest fashion.
    Unless you are happy to be scammed or have so much money that losing some of it doesn't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

kbannon wrote: »
    Will people stop suggesting that the OP break the law!

Lol, nice reading Mike.

I presumed Mike was being very tongue-in-cheek/"bad action movie" with that comment, I hope nobody was taking his suggestion seriously.... :P

And thinking like that is exactly the reason why scummy car dealers pull stuff like that.
    You pay deposit and car dealer says "right, I can fcuk that guy about as much as I want because I have his money and he's not too bothered about getting it back, who's next?"
    This is not only about the money, it's about the principle.
    If someone does you for money and you can't get it back you need to break the money down into hourly payments and say "I'm going to make that dick suffer, he'll think twice before trying this again" and cause him at least twice as much grief than he would have had if he worked for the money in an honest fashion.
    Unless you are happy to be scammed or have so much money that losing some of it doesn't matter.
    While I agree with you in principle, how much of your time is €200 worth? There's a lesson here for the OP's friend - if they learn it well, it might yet be a bargain at €200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 mackinfella

yeah i have heard of fellas opening up a can of worms when it comes to small claims etc... if it were me id just forget about the deposit and warm my mates to stay away from him.. end of.

i dont understand why some dealers can be like this... surely it would be piece of mind for the dealer also that the car was actually serviced etc. one happy customer breads another.. as the saying goes... pretty much shooting himself in the foot by not bothering with this kinda stuff :(

OK, here goes.
    Buy the car, make sure you're covered under some kind of warranty and make damn sure something REALLY expensive goes wrong with it.
    Bring it back and have the dealer fork out at least a thousand to fix it.
    Fried ECU ought to do it. Maybe trigger the airbags (they can go off by themselves, has been kn own to happen), but be careful that it doesn't look like you've been tinkering with it.
    A minimum thousand euro bill for fixing the lemon he sold you should wipe that smirk off his face.
    Or just find him with no witnesses and have a "chat" with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

I have upgrade on your idea. Get those 3-4 young man to his dealership and say " he owns me 200 quid, get it off him and it's yours". Then enjoy the show.

That's a great idea, they'd be proper hungry for their 50 quid each.

If it's around Ballymount/ Naas Road area, you'll have plenty of potential recruits wandering around anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Mike Strutter

-Chris- wrote: »
    I presumed Mike was being very tongue-in-cheek/"bad action movie" with that comment, I hope nobody was taking his suggestion seriously.... :P[/QUOTE

Very tongue in cheek

If the price is right, I can give him a pair of concrete adidas and drop him in Dublin Bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 ekavanagh

hi i was looking for a cheap diesel and came across a citroen c5 at after hours car sales for 5200 euro.I was goin to go over and have a look a couple of days later then i noticed the price had changed to 5900 euro.Does anyone else think this is dodgy?:):):)

Maybe they accidentally priced it wrong.

Is it a good price at €5,900?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

small claims court.

ask for 1000 for refusing to honour the service agreement.

don't mess around, just do it.

all other options are not options.

small claims court.

ask for 1000 for refusing to honour the service agreement.

don't mess around, just do it.

all other options are not options.

But he didn't take the car, do you really think they'll award €1k for his trouble?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

No they wont.

Its a breach of contract for goods case - general damages don't apply, you just get back your money, not compensation.

OP should start zinging him with legal letters - lucky to have a solicitor in the family to presumably do this for fun & free.

Say if you didn't have one in the family - I would call up to him at a day convenient to me and tell him you are not leaving without the money. If he threatens it, tell him you welcome the gardai being called. Tell him you'll be back the next day, with a large sign and a friendly attitude both of which you will display prominently on the footpath outside his premises to people going in.

I would also enlist friends to call his premises indicating interest in vehicles and after a short chat asking whether his car will be serviced on purchase and enquiring as to what the policy on deposits is. They should then tell him they don't want to give him a deposit as they have heard there has been difficulty in the past.

I'd be surprised if you don't get the 200 quid back.