Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irishman gets drunk and makes a mistake...

• 03-05-2011 1:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Worthatry

A shot in the dark but one I thought i'd give a go...

Sunday just gone i was wandering lonely as a cloud, was leaving town and stopped of on Q Bar on O'Connell Bridge for a quiet one ( i have no good reason for choosing that particular establishment , it just looked nice and quiet, and that's my story...:rolleyes:)

Anyway while there having me quiet , lonesome pint i spyed upon a very attractive lady there. To cut a long story short, ended up chatting to her , taking her number and having a cheeky kiss. Then i left , heading homewards feeling kingly, planning on ringing her the next day.
    I then did what a good Irishman does, got in taxi, rambled on to taxi driveer, got out of taxi to realise in my drunken over excitedness i had left phone in taxi.. Drunken chase down the road, but taxi beats man.:eek:

So thought id somehow try here.. Her name is Lanie( or thereabouts :o),
    she's from Brazil, has been here 2 years, lives in D. 7 , was also with an irish friend of hers who is also one of her teachers and this teacher also works for Aer Lingus.. And she has lovely shoulders :o ( Lanie not the teacher )

Has anyone got any wiseness about how to find her? That doesn't involve spending ever waking/drinking hour lurking around said Q Bar , (although as a good Irishman that is of course my fallback plan:))

Any ideas? and no sadly i did not save to sim, just to phone, so phone is defo gone as is number:eek: thaaaaaaaaaanks..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I think I need to wash the desperation from my eyes after reading this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Don’t worry your little head too much, it was probably a fake number :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Forget it, the taxi man rang her from your phone, gave her Killarney the following night and they are now happily shacked up together!

Moral of the story....never talk drunken shite to the taxi driver!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Ring/call up to the Carriage Office, in Santry these days. Ask to see if any taximan has dropped/reported your phone. You might be suprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

You made a good start by asking after hours, it always gives varying valuable suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

Friend of mine left his phone in a taxi and the driver found it, called it and gave it back the next day. don't lose hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Hear me now! Nothing good can come of any relationship that starts in Q Bar.

Nothing good I tell you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

why not look for your phone first ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

That's my ****ING wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I work with her. Her name is Lanie on the weekends but Lenny during the week. Top guy/gal ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Stalker gonna stalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

People are so helpful...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Get on to Facebook and have a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If fate wills it you will met again (you and the phone).

time to move on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

loving the username although you may have gone with.....unluckycnut,

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

Ya gotta love all the helpfullness on this thread!

How about you head to Qbar the same time next week, ya never know it might be her haunt... or find the taxi driver even?

G'luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

If it's meant to be you will be able to guess her number, worked for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

If it's meant to be you will be able to guess her number, worked for me

Start with 000001, 000002 and work your way up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Don't build her up too much in your head, OP. ;)

Also, ring that Carriage office place someone mentioned. Worth a shot. Anything outside of contacting her from your own phone would be hella creepy, TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Worthatry

Wow, such a response! i'm touched ;)

In fairness anyone who thinks its stalking to try to contact girl who asked you to contact her must reckon anything more than a drirect drop of the hand outside the chipper as so...:P

Personally i like the idea of starting from 000001...

And how can i build her up too much in my head! I hardly remember her!:oBut i know she was cool, and pretty so is always worth a shot to contact her...:p

why dont you try gumtree.ie if i remember correctly they have a section where you can place a ad looking for the girl.......although gumtree have loads of freaks so you will prob get some hairy dude putting on a brazilian accent in a squeeky voice:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Thought this thread was going to be about an expectant father.

Worthatry wrote: »
    In fairness anyone who thinks its stalking to try to contact girl who asked you to contact her must reckon anything more than a drirect drop of the hand outside the chipper as so...:P

Classic stalker psychology. Delude yourself into thinking everyone else is the one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Herrick

Why don't you try ringing your own phone first? :confused: If it's still in the car/left in somewhere and hopefully the battery hasn't gone dead, someone may answer it and you can arrange to collect it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Start drinking there every night just in case she comes back.

You better do it every night too.

And sit in the same seat.

And stare constantly at the door.

EVERY night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

As much as he does my head in, try contacting Today FM's Ray D'arcy, he's always finding people on the radio.

Herrick wrote: »
    Why don't you try ringing your own phone first? :confused: If it's still in the car/left in somewhere and hopefully the battery hasn't gone dead, someone may answer it and you can arrange to collect it?

very rarely a taxi man hands stuff back,i know so many that will have that phone sold in a local pub by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Herrick

very rarely a taxi man hands stuff back,i know so many that will have that phone sold in a local pub by now.

Oh I know, your dead right, a lot of people wouldn't. But it's worth a try surely.

Anonoboy, that's two pieces of advice from you know that I've particularly liked :) Although in fairness what kinda amateur stalker you think I am that I haven't already got the whole ' same place, same time, same peculiar stare' down pat. :p

As regards phone, tried ringing it straight away and shockingly it was turned off straight away. How disappointed i was in my new taxi driver fiend, ooops friend.

OP, I just searched Lanie in Facebook and filtered to people in Dublin and it seems a Brazilian person came up. Not going to post it here but seriously, try it!

Filipina. Can't believe I'm correcting the stalking.

prinz wrote: »
    Filipina. Can't believe I'm correcting the stalking.

God, you're right, why did I think that was Portugese? Bleedin' morto, I am. :)

This is just the type of unity that will get this country if its knees again.. :D And all without the annoying intervention of Ray D'arcy.

[nagging]Did you ring the carriage office yet?[/nagging]

I'll do it right now Tara, but as i say as my mobile was turned off, despite full battery, minutes after leaving it in taxi i hold 0-1 % hope that the nice man handed it in..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

Ye 2 make a lovely pair, feck the brazilian bird and take tara out :D

Me and Tara could sit forlornly in Q bar together....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

I could sit behind ye and get me a new phone when you leave :D

Oh and 50 quid . :rolleyes: i left that with the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Me and Tara could sit forlornly in Q bar together....:)

You come on looking for one girl and meet another by chance. Good man yourself :)

Oh, I've been drunker.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭WopTittyPop

OP goes to ring carriage office.

Reaches in pocket for phone..

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I lost my phone in a taxi(HTC Desire), and the taxi driver rang the last number dialled, and dropped the phone off a few days later. There are honest taxi drivers out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Wait at that bar everyday in your finest moth eaten clothes and jewelery and you'll find her...

...NOT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

So thought id somehow try here.. Her name is Lanie( or thereabouts :o),
    she's from Brazil, has been here 2 years, lives in D. 7 , was also with an irish friend of hers who is also one of her teachers and this teacher also works for Aer Lingus.. And she has lovely shoulders :o ( Lanie not the teacher )

Jesus.
    Move on my friend - you're making a holy show of yourself!:D

Jesus.
    Move on my friend - you're making a holy show of yourself!:D

Ah now, some ladies do have lovely shoulders and collar-bones. Tis a sign of beauty! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

OP, ignore the haters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Ah now, some ladies do have lovely shoulders and collar-bones. Tis a sign of beauty! :)

Perhaps, but if the best that can be said about this brazillian lady is that she has lovely shoulders, i personally would be inclined to leave her number in the taxi.
    I was raised a good old fashioned tits and ass man and i'll die a tits and ass man - that shoulder malarkey don't stir these here square pants;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Forget it, the taxi man is probably conkers deep at this stage.

a coupe of posts and worthatry is having people hook up him up,over 700 for me i get nothing........worthatry you are my new god:pac: