Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GN Autos

• 03-05-2011 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭

in Man O'War, North County Dublin

Anyone have any feedback on this dealer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Some feedback.

Was interested in a car there and had agreed a price over the phone.

After some messing about (car out with a client) we arranged to see the car on Saturday.

I arrived from Kildare yesterday to find he had sold the car the day before.

Prick said he didn't have my number despite me calling him 3 times during the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 gnautos

feel the need to defend myself against this man from kildare.
    this is an unfortunate incident, however it does happen from time to time.
    if you are travelling up to me to see a car pleeeeaaasse phone before you leave you`re house. if i know you are on the road i would NEVER sell the car in the mean time, however i get calls all the time from people who say they will be up to view a car in the coming days and the vast majority DO NOT TURN UP. These are very tough times and i CANNOT refuse a sale on a whim that someone May want to view it. There are 3 key points to this....

1. I did not have you`re phone number written down as i NEVER made an official appointment with you

2. I told you on the Thursday morning that the car would be here on Friday morning but you could not make it on the Friday to view ( this is understandable but hardly my fault )

3. I NEVER EVER EVER TOLD YOU OR AGREED WITH YOU TO HOLD THIS CAR FOR YOU we are absolutely neck deep in recession and i`m working harder than ever to stay afloat so there is no way i can refuse a sale on the basis that a man i dont know from Adam may come to view ( and may not like or even purchase vehicle )

I refuse to have my reputation tarnished as I work extremely hard on customer satisfaction. A friendly, honest and reliable service is GAURANTEED at GN Autos

Furthermore, I refuse to be called a prick by some petty little man who is throwing his toys out of his pram because he didnt get what he wanted..........There may be a prick in all of this but it most certainly is NOT ME

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

gnautos wrote: »
    it does happen from time to time.

Absolutely. I think it's mad to think a garage would hold a car for a punter to look at, if there's someone right there wanting to buy. After all, if they hold it for you, you might not like it, and they've turned away a real buyer.

Last time I went buying, I took the car I fancied out for a spin. I got back to the garage, and first thing the salesgirl said was "Sorry, the guy who drove it before you bought it while you were out".

Fair dues, she can sell cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

what do you expect E39? He can hardly refuse a sale from someone with cash in hand ready to go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Furthermore, I refuse to be called a prick by some petty little man who is throwing his toys out of his pram because he didnt get what he wanted..........There may be a prick in all of this but it most certainly is NOT ME

Welcome to boards.ie. I sympathise will all of your post except this bit. Please let's discuss the facts of the incident and not let things get personal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Tito Ortiz

-Chris- wrote: »
    Welcome to boards.ie. I sympathise will all of your post except this bit. Please let's discuss the facts of the incident and not let things get personal.

maybe you would be better sending that to E39 !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Tito Ortiz wrote: »
    maybe you would be better sending that to E39 !!!!!

It's addressed to everyone, hopefully preempting any possibility of future personal comment.

thanks for the comments guys, agree with everything said

And also agree that personal remarks are not acceptable, i was just responding thats all

1: - Who said anything about holding the car for me?

2: - While you're on about your reputation, Simple customer service dictates you call me to tell me that you had sold the car that we agreed a price on

3: - You say you didn't write my number down but you were able to call me to let me know the car was back in.

Differnet story once you've sold it on mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

I don't see E39 complaining here about the car being sold - just about not being told before travelling.

^^ That's exactly it. Nothing more.

An appointment was made over the phone and disregarded by one party. The day I'm gagging for a 93 Corolla (although I do love'm :-) ) is the day after I've had to sell my 850ci.

While I understand that some people don't bother their behinds showing up (and I've been subject to that lately) that doesn't mean that the rest of the punters get tarred with the same brush.

Truth is the guy didn't give a sh1t imo once the car was sold.

I phoned you back when you`re number was still in my call history, i dont write down every number of every person that calls me.

had 6 phone calls on a ford ka last night and a girl phoned me at 9.30 this morning to say she was leaving portarlington, I have called the other 5 back to tell them the car is sold.

to say i didnt give a sh1t once the car was sold is unfair, i apologised profusely when you called me sat morning. Of course i dont like these scenarios and try to avoid them as much as possible

I phoned you back when you`re number was still in my call history, i dont write down every number of every person that calls me.

had 6 phone calls on a ford ka last night and a girl phoned me at 9.30 this morning to say she was leaving portarlington, I have called the other 5 back to tell them the car is sold.

to say i didnt give a sh1t once the car was sold is unfair, i apologised profusely when you called me sat morning. Of course i dont like these scenarios and try to avoid them as much as possible

I assume you had agreed a price and made arrangements with the other 5 callers.
    Excellent - so this has been useful after all !
    That was the initial intention.

And you didn't apologise profusely - you made excuses about your business partner but we could go on about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

If I was selling a car private and a guy arrived with cash to buy a car that nobody else had placed any money on... I would snap his hand off for it.

Todays circumstances don't allow people to be choosey about who/what they sell to.

As they say, cash is king..

If there was a deposit placed on the car initially, this wouldn't have happened.

And the bit about not having the number isn't entirely unthinkable.
    It's a complete pain in the ar$e but it's bound to happen from time to time - just sucks when it happens to you.

Nice to see a dealer defending themselves here instead of going down the solicitors letter/thread closure route.

FFS

Nobody as expecting the car to be held. Is that Spanish?

Arrangement was made and the guy didn't let me know that I was wasting my time driving up as agreed.

Perhaps he didn't have my number after all. I doubt that. :rolleyes:

For my part I admit I made a mistake in not confirming what was already agreed and perhaps I was remiss in expecting anything from the dealer. However, I had spoken to him several times that week. He called me to arrange the viewing after all.

E39MSport wrote: »
    FFS

Nobody as expecting the car to be held. Is that Spanish?

Arrangement was made and the guy didn't let me know that I was wasting my time driving up as agreed.

Perhaps he didn't have my number after all. I doubt that. :rolleyes:

For my part I admit I made a mistake in not confirming what was already agreed and perhaps I was remiss in expecting anything from the dealer. However, I had spoken to him several times that week. He called me to arrange the viewing after all.

Yeah I know that.
    My point is that, you can't really blame the dealer for what happened.

You don't know how busy he is. So, for certain cars, he may be inundated with calls and not taking down someones number on this occasion, or just being unable to clarify which person belongs to what number if you're looking at a call log full of numbers on a mobile... it's not entirely inconceivable.

And as you say, you didn't call him prior to making your travel arrangements so I can understand why he may be a bit peeved at someone calling him a P word! :P

I've honestly done the exact same thing as you a couple times before I learned my lesson.
    But over the last 4 weekends, I've always contacted the seller (private sale) moments before setting off and I avoided several wasted trips for one reason or another.

yeah, well, there's a fair whiff of BS from what he's come out with.

anyway, being in Kildare and all, how come you haven't called me about my Lexus ?? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Wheres the bit about selling a BMW 850i and buying a 93 corrolla in the one sentence... .

anyway, being in Kildare and all, how come you haven't called me about my Lexus ?? :P

That's fair enough - there's always two sides to the story and you've opted to avoid fuelling the fire by not getting too personal with the GNAutos rep when you possibly could have - which is only a good thing considering how quickly things can escalate in here!

I was in the market for a specific car, which wasn't a Lexus - sorry :)

I assume you had agreed a price and made arrangements with the other 5 callers.
    Excellent - so this has been useful after all !
    That was the initial intention.

And you didn't apologise profusely - you made excuses about your business partner but we could go on about that.

I didnt call them back this morning because of you .....had numbers in phone from last night.

as for saying i wasnt apologetic, well thats just calling me a liar............I do hav a partner.....he did sell the car........i did apologize

not one comment i`ve made here contains BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Well, thats the first row ive seen between a Motor dealer and a potential buyer online...

Vicxas wrote: »
    Well, thats the first row ive seen between a Motor dealer and a potential buyer online...

Lets hope it's the first of many! :)

Could make it a weekly thing :)

I didnt call them back this morning because of you .....had numbers in phone from last night.

as for saying i wasnt apologetic, well thats just calling me a liar............I do hav a partner.....he did sell the car........i did apologize

..... 'Apologiese profusely' you said. You're making stuff up now.

'Sorry, that car is sold' isn't profuse/abundant/plentiful .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Jaysus lads,get a room will ye

Preferably in Kildare - I'm not going back to fokking Skerries again :D

E39, what are you expecting to happen mate?

All you can do is try and give the guy a bad name, and over a car is it really worth it?

Vicxas wrote: »
    E39, what are you expecting to happen mate?

All you can do is try and give the guy a bad name, and over a car is it really worth it?

I'm not trying to give the guy a bad name to be fair. Just reflecting what happened is all. Facts.

Feedback is useful to others. I've certainly benefited from others feedback on here.

Again, in fairness, I started the thread in the spirit of feedback before I went to see the car. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 nugget77

<Snip -PM a Mod if you've an issue with this>