Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After bin laden, could we be next?

• 03-05-2011 11:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭

All joking and "he's been dead for years" aside, I've been reading some of tHe articles about the black op to kill obl, and the intel and work behind it, and a thought just occurred to me.

I have no major problems with either the queen or Obama visiting here, but should something kick off ( either with the paras and the queen, or attack on Obama on our soil) this country would be screwed, we're already teetering on a knife edge and an international incident would be all that's needed to bury this country.

We would be shunned internationally and there would be nothing to stop the paras being declared the next target in the war on terror.

What worrys me is that there are a few idiots out there who can't see past their blind ignorance to see the bigger picture.

I hope I'm wrong, bet there had better be serious security for the visits or this countries ****ed.

Stock ah response: tldr, it's all gonna kick off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

/hides under his bed..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I made tea and scones for the SEALS. Great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I'd like to see them try land a helicopter and force their way into my compound which now costs significantly less than when I started hiding in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Actually OP, thats made me stop and think! I really never gave that perspective an ounce of thought! In fairness your scenario is not beyond the realms of possibility! Its actually a bit of a stomach churner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ah it'll be grand. Nothing bad will happen.

Sure hasn't everything worked out ok for us so far?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

All joking and "he's been dead for years" aside, I've been reading some of tHe articles about the black op to kill obl, and the intel and work behind it, and a thought just occurred to me.

I have no major problems with either the queen or Obama visiting here, but should something kick off ( either with the paras and the queen, or attack on Obama on our soil) this country would be screwed, we're already teetering on a knife edge and an international incident would be all that's needed to bury this country.

We would be shunned internationally and there would be nothing to stop the paras being declared the next target in the war on terror.

What worrys me is that there are a few idiots out there who can't see past their blind ignorance to see the bigger picture.

I hope I'm wrong, bet there had better be serious security for the visits or this countries ****ed.

why were a computer chip manufacturer behind his assasination

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

i'm so embarrassed to be Irish recently i nearly hope they do attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Long before Bin Laden's death the Queen's visit should have been cancelled. Even before the RIRA murder in Omagh the visit was a security nightmare. President Obama's visit is less of a problem as at least 'republicans' won't be targeting him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

With the US security presence, the wind won't get close to Obama let alone some exploding clown dreaming of virgins or any other nutjob. Couldn't care less what happens to the parasite, and I doubt we'd be shunned by the rest of the world were she to be knocked-off. She's just not that important (except to people like Makikomi, who'll be waving their little Union Jacks for her).

TL;DR Don't see the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

So you're saying that the USA could end up targeting our ruling political elite and try and effect regime change?

I fail to see the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

The second most wanted man, James 'Whitey' Bulger is an Irish American, who some beleive is hiding out in Ireland.

So expect the Navy Seals to be coming in through the roof in a neighbourhood near you.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_J._Bulger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

We need to smoke out St Patrick from his cave. I call for the Wicklow Mountains to be carpet bombed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

AnneFrank wrote: »

Don't worry they won't find you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Even if the IRA managed to explode a snuke in Lizzy's snizz, Britain, Ireland and America have invested far too much and are far too intelligent to throw away what is one of the world's only examples of a diplomatic success in a prolonged armed struggle/terrorist campaign between two hugely divided cultures in the one country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I'd welcome international support in wiping out the cancer known as the RIRA.

Well if we do get invaded because they're searching for the terrorists, we can feel exactly like the Iraqis and Afghanis do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

dvpower wrote: »
    The second most wanted man, James 'Whitey' Bulger is an Irish American, who some beleive is hiding out in Ireland.

So expect the Navy Seals to be coming in through the roof in a neighbourhood near you.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_J._Bulger

The presidential visit's a cover, Whitey'd better be on his guard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Well if we do get invaded because they're searching for the terrorists, we can feel exactly like the Iraqis and Afghanis do.

i totally agree i have huge sympathy for those countries,
    Illegal wars and basically foreign invasions,
    We still have our foreign invader occupying 6 counties of our country.
    and now our whole country has Stockholm Syndrome and wants to be friends inviting the queen over,
    and watching the charade that was the royal wedding !
    What makes them more important than us ?
    what a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Ah sure if they invaded us wouldn't they be putting money into the economy, which at the moment would be in Irelands best interest!

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Don't worry they won't find you.

It won't be too hard to track down the only one in the country who uses a diary, and has "attic" in their address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Half assed weekenders we call "Terrorists" would never dream of provoking the US. Americans wouldn't do anything anyway as we have no resources for them to pilfer. They have no need to invade to weed out enemies either, CIA,FBI have all the same rights on Irish soil as they do on American I.E. They can pick up whoever they wanted for whatever reason and either hold them indefinitely or fly them to guantanamo for some torturin our civil rights on our own soil can be pissed upon aslong as Americans call it "suspicion of terrorism". Ireland isnt Americas enemy, Ireland is Americas bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I don't see it happening.

Probably because it hasn't happened yet.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Probably because it hasn't happened yet.

And also because it won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

We would be shunned internationally
    I don't see why, really. Sure, there would be some trepidation about foreign dignitaries visiting, but you can bet everything that Obama's and the Queen's respective security forces are not directing and overseeing the Garda security setup for these visits. If they're not happy, the visits won't go ahead. It's not like they'll blame the Irish people for it.

That said, it could affect foreign investments if they deem Ireland to be "unstable" somewhat.
    and there would be nothing to stop the paras being declared the next target in the war on terror.
    I wouldn't be opposed to a little bit of international pressure/assistance to finally purge the IRA disease from our island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

I wouldn't be opposed to a little bit of international pressure/assistance to finally purge the IRA disease from our island.

I wouldn't be opposed to gettin rid of them but I'd definitely be opposed to the US military being involved. Those ****ers leave nothing only misery and devastation in their wake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Skunkle wrote: »
    I wouldn't be opposed to gettin rid of them but I'd definitely be opposed to the US military being involved. Those ****ers leave nothing only misery and devastation in their wake.

If it wasn't for those ****ers as you so quaintly put it, we would all be dead or speaking German/Russian/Chinese long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

there's no oil in ireland duhhhhh :rolleyes:

If it wasn't for those ****ers as you so quaintly put it, we would all be dead or speaking German/Russian/Chinese long ago.

Don't even start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Yeah because there was never a time when English wasn't the native tongue of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Yeah. F*ck the French.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

Realistically, the Obamas security is streets ahead of anything our pethetic little public service could put up. What we need is a small investigation from them to track down any potential threats and detain them / irradicate them before Obama even gets on the plane. Problem solved.

The queen visiting doesn't bother me, it's not like she's going to take the capital in a firefight and claim it british soil. Its a visit...if anything, consider it like your neighbour coming over for a cuppán. Sure, your neighbour has put a shed down the back of your garden and filled it with tools (hehe) but we've got a big enough garden for the kids to puck a ball about anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Would anyone like a nice cup of tea...

aido179 wrote: »
    Realistically, the Obamas security is streets ahead of anything our pethetic little public service could put up. What we need is a small investigation from them to track down any potential threats and detain them / irradicate them before Obama even gets on the plane. Problem solved.

The queen visiting doesn't bother me, it's not like she's going to take the capital in a firefight and claim it british soil. Its a visit...if anything, consider it like your neighbour coming over for a cuppán. Sure, your neighbour has put a shed down the back of your garden and filled it with tools (hehe) but we've got a big enough garden for the kids to puck a ball about anyway.

That analogy seems strange, for some reason!

It HAS been a long day and I'm feeling a bit obscure. But feel free to FMP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

It actually made a lot of sense to me!

It makes sense, but it just put strange images in my head!

mission accomplished

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

Has no one heard bout all the Americans out casing Moneygall to see if its safe? It seems like the US are using a lot of security measure to insure his safety. I haven't really heard anything about the queen's safety so i'm sure that means she is under less threat. Sure she's really just coming for some tae!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Was just talking about this in work. We could be a target from outside forces while Obama's here which is a scary thought. That said I would rather that then see the 'Ra scum do something to the Queen - we're bad enough as it is, if something like that was to happen we may as well close the doors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

AnneFrank wrote: »

Im sick of hearing "embarrassed to be irish" dont feel embarrassed by a country run by idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Bomb this quaint little country and potentially HARM BONO!? No friggen way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Good point, I bet they hadnt thought about that at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

does anyone think theres actually a chance something could kick off with the queen coming here? No one would be able to do anything without getting caught.

Bomb this quaint little country and potentially HARM BONO!? No friggen way!

Don't worry. He's safe in the Netherlands counting cash with his accountant. It's a body double you see over here shouting about how much of everybody else's taxes need to be spent as he wants*.

* Yes, I do hate f*cker.

Laisurg wrote: »
    does anyone think theres actually a chance something could kick off with the queen coming here? No one would be able to do anything without getting caught.

If nothing else, it's an opportunity for the ultimate danger ****. The stuff of legends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

JohnathanM wrote: »
    Don't worry. He's safe in the Netherlands counting cash with his accountant. It's a body double you see over here shouting about how much of everybody else's taxes need to be spent as he wants*.

* Yes, I do hate f*cker.

Oh? In the Netherlands, ya say? Praise Jesus.

Bomb away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

JohnathanM wrote: »
    Couldn't care less what happens to the parasite, and I doubt we'd be shunned by the rest of the world were she to be knocked-off. She's just not that important (except to people like Makikomi, who'll be waving their little Union Jacks for her).

TL;DR Don't see the problem.

Couldn't care less if the head of state of Ireland's nearest and considerably more powerful neighbour was murdered on Irish soil?

Odd thing to say, especially when Britain's prime minister is a man who seemingly likes to use any opportunity to use military power abroad.

Couldn't care less if the head of state of Ireland's nearest and considerably more powerful neighbour was murdered on Irish soil?

Odd thing to say, especially when Britain's prime minister is a man who seemingly likes to use any opportunity to use military power abroad.

What you do think would happen? Large-scale military reprisal against the state for the actions of individuals, acting without state approval? Not a chance. I wouldn't worry about the British PM's willingness to use force unless the Americans arrive first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Im a bit concerned about this to actually, if ever their was a chance for a revenge attack this could easily be it. hmm hope it doesnt but i know im not the only person thinking about it.