Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sixmilebridge 5 marathons in 5 days 10/7/2011

• 02-05-2011 6:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭

http://www.runireland.com/events/5-marathons-5-days-race-5

Here is a link to runireland but I can't find detail such as course profile, max entry etc. Has anyone else any info on this? Surprised it hasn't risen it's head here already???

edit. tried to add pole as mentioned in sticky....... sorry, can't sem to edit it to add pole

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 5 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    100%
    Oisin11178Mick Ricekandikaneger664dizzymom 5 votes
    3 stars (average)
    0%
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I know a few of the lads are running this as a tune up for the 100 miler in Connemara.

Afaik, they had a 1 mile lap of the town last year that they did 26.2 times :eek:. I think they are going to use a few diffeent routes thsi year though. Oisin11178 should be able to give you more info about all this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

4 stars (good)
    http://img829.imageshack.us/i/sixe.jpg/
    Im told the courses are flat enough but i havnt seen them myself. Should be good crack:D
    This is not the same event as was held in November by the way, just for the mods info(woddle). That event is still taking place this november. So the last year thread part is a bit misleading. this is aimed more towards the self sufficient marathon muncher,ultra end of the market. As it says in the poster its not aimed for inexperienced or first time marathon runners:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭runningcoach

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    http://img829.imageshack.us/i/sixe.jpg/
    Im told the courses are flat enough but i havnt seen them myself. Should be good crack:D
    This is not the same event as was held in November by the way, just for the mods info(woddle). That event is still taking place this november. So the last year thread part is a bit misleading. this is aimed more towards the self sufficient marathon muncher,ultra end of the market. As it says in the poster its not aimed for inexperienced or first time marathon runners:D

4/5 of the courses are in the sixmilebridge area with other being in Quin. Courses are not pancake flat but are easy on the feet compared to other marathon courses in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

All going well, I'll be up for all the 5 in 5.

Will be strange having the first 3 in the evening. I'll have to find something to pass the time in the afternoon waiting for the start, maybe go for a jog?????..... kidding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭dizzymom

4 stars (good)
    can you run just 1/5 ???

i live close by and have 10 marathons completed
    like the idea of a marathon in the evening !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭CorkRunning

dizzymom wrote: »
    can you run just 1/5 ???

Yes, each Marathon is a separate event.

4 stars (good)
    Yes, each Marathon is a separate event.
    You decided which ones you are running john?

Frank you may not find out until you check the car park 10 mins before the start :D

4 stars (good)
    We were talking tactics on facebook earlier tom but he is setting me up for a fall. Their might be a shootout at the first 1 lets just say:D

For anyone that still wants to enter please use RUNIRELAND or send a message on FB to Bridge Milers .

4 stars (good)
    Anyone going down for any of these lads. Im doing all 5. Ill be doing 4 hour pace for the first 4 if anyone fancies a jaunt:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

4 stars (good)
    Anyone going down for any of these lads. Im doing all 5. Ill be doing 4 hour pace for the first 4 if anyone fancies a jaunt:D

Just doing Thursday, I am up for that pace for the first lap. Going to up the pace to 8 min/mile thereafter but glad to know u will be behind if the wheels come off.

4 stars (good)
    ger664 wrote: »
    Just doing Thursday, I am up for that pace for the first lap. Going to up the pace to 8 min/mile thereafter but glad to know u will be behind if the wheels come off.
    Glad of any company to be honest. id say there will be a few running that pace each day.

4 stars (good)
    is it 4 and a bit 10k loops ?

Its the 10k course combining the start and finish points with approx 50 mtrs to be run before joining the first loop.

If you live in the area you are more than welcome to come out and run a lap or 2 :)

4 stars (good)
    ya am hoping to do ALL the 4 laps lol !

am local and am hoping to have someone to run with on the last 2 'tough' loops! hope it isnt dark when i finish tho

Mail now gone out to all particapants that had signed up on Run Ireland or had confirmed they were taking part. All the race day info is on it . If you have intended taking part and did not get the mail please send me pm. Roll on Wednesday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭kandikane

4 stars (good)
    Tom do you have the name of any place to stay on friday very cheap and cheerfull?

kandikane wrote: »
    Tom do you have the name of any place to stay on friday very cheap and cheerfull?

Details on the way to you now Ken. Tell me do you expect to be the first Dublin fella home on Friday nights marathon ? :D

4 stars (good)
    Details on the way to you now Ken. Tell me do you expect to be the first Dublin fella home on Friday nights marathon ? :D

Ah Tom what i have planned for friday you will have to see;).I hope your bringing your wallet out with ya so you can buy me a rake of pints afterwards:Dglug glug glug,or whats the norm down there do yas drink home brew in a field and make love to a chicken ha:D

ya am hoping to do ALL the 4 laps lol !

am local and am hoping to have someone to run with on the last 2 'tough' loops! hope it isnt dark when i finish tho

Well done on your PB last night :)

4 stars (good)
    didnt expect a pb as had only done one 18miler in training for longford! really held bac and didnt expect to do under 4 considering at 20miles i was at 3.02.58 sarah was a real boost from then on for 3 miles but i left her at 23 and blasted (for a plodder that is !) last 3 miles in 8.48, 8.26 and 8.21 just squeezed in with 30 seconds to spare! you know i mite try 2 marathons in 5 days next year! a big thumbs up for the organisation, ya it was no frills but there was great support along the way between runners and I didnt get lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

4 stars (good)
    It might have been billed as no frills, but it still ticked all the boxes that ever race should tick.

A big thank you also to the girls in the tent they did Registration, time keeping feeding us and most importantly cheering us on ever lap. Also Garda Pat who looked after runner safety :)

The course is tough but fair challenge, I finally got my soft marathon PB down a bit. Will do 1 again next year for sure but how yeah do 5 is beyond me, just back from physio and i am sore everywhere.

Best of luck to anyone doing the remaining 3.

4 stars (good)
    Yes it WAS a tough course, last 2 miles in each loop was a real drag ! loved mansion watching as I was jogging by !

Think this will be even more popular next year !

well done guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭jonny99

Just to throw in my tuppence worth,well done lads.Really enjoyed Wednesday night.Couldn't fault a thing.Went for a jog the next morning just to see if i couldve attempted another the next day-had my answer after 5k:D
    Thanks again lads,ye're mighty men..

4 stars (good)
    4 down and 1 to go girls and boys. New course today but still very very well organised. Hats off to tom and pat and all the girls:-)

4 stars (good)
    Tom and Pat had a great time down with yas yesterday i could not of asked for a better race it was so well organised and everyone was in great form and i had some funny moments,best of luck to the rest of the lads running the next 2 days.thanks again tom and Pat.I will be down again next year ))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Wedding in bunratty friday and ran 20 miles sat. Only realised at 6.30am todAY when there was a race car on the road that there was a race on today........#Going mad as a bit of compny would have been nice sat.

4 stars (good)
    All over now. absolutly amazing event. Would give give it 6 stars if i could it was flawless.