Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is getting accomodation in college really worth it?

• 02-05-2011 5:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭

I live in Leixlip, am doing my Leaving Cert this year and wish to go to college at NUI, Maynooth in september.

Although I live close enough to Maynooth I still want to book accomodation and live within the college grounds from sunday-friday.

Im worried about how much money it would cost but at the same time I would love to do it.

Part of the reason is because its such a long walk from my house to the train station every morning as I live on the far end. Its also very draining to walk from the tran station to the college with a full bag and my laptop bag, so I thought it would be handier to have a place in the college to call up to?

Could anyone let me know if its worth it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

If you can afford it, go for it.

Or get a car.

Either way it's the first step towards independence. Which is all part of the college experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

If you can, go for it. Have you chatted to your parents about this or done the maths? I went to Maynooth as well as it so happens and moving out of home was one of the best things that ever happened to me. On campus accommodation was more expensive but if I was to go back to 1st year again I'd have rather lived there than in the digs I ended up in for that year. So from an adult independence point of view it would be a good thing for you.

Even if you don't move out of home for the year, I suggest you go get yourself a locker as soon as you register. They're cheap to hire for the year and it's great to have somewhere to lock up your stuff and not have to lug it everywhere.

If you don't move out, Leixlip isn't all that far away. And unless you get accommodation on campus or in an estate that's near the college, you could find yourself walking quite a distance every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I lived on campus at NUI Maynooth for a year back in '06/'07. I think it cost about 4 or 5 grand for the year. For that price, you get a bedroom with a single bed and a desk in it and an en-suite bathroom. You share the kitchen and living room with 4 or 5 others who you don't know. For cheaper, I think you can share a bathroom too.

Personally, I wasn't overly fond of it. The accommodation was very basic, imo. If I were you, I'd look elsewhere for a place to live. There are a lot of houses etc., in the town that you could check out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

Why don't you ask them here and see what they have to say:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=488

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Maynooth has some serious parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

OP, while moving out for college is a great experience, people who say it's a vital part of the college lifestyle are talking out their arses. I live at home and have as much crack (no pun intended) as anyone else on my course.

If you can afford it, sure move out but don't put yourself in debt for it if it's a want rather than a need, there's better things to spend money on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I lived at home for the first two years of college, and independently (although not on campus) for the second two. The second two years were far more fun aswell as easier with academic work (despite there being more of it) because I had my own space/less commuting etc.
    I would advise anybody who can afford it to live on their own/with friends as soon as possible, and it IS affordable for most if you've a part time job

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

If you can afford it, move out. Living in grotty student accommodation is all part of the college experience imho. Campus accommodation is also great craic, I'd definitely put yourself forward for that if it's possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Demeyes

If you can afford to move out then I would recommend it. I know a good few people who had a miserable time coming in and out every day. They had to come in early even if they had no lectures and if lectures were cancelled they had to wait around for a few extra hours to get their bus/lift home again. Some of them were spending as much on travel and food as they would have on rent. Having the extra freedom by living away from home is great too, you can come and go as you please and will learn to cook and look after yourself. Living in student accommodation is also a great way to meet friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Of course you should, eighteen and out the door is my motto. No one should be living with their mummy once they're a grown up. My friends that didn't are still living with their parents now. In their thirties. I kid you not. Yeah, it'll be expensive but that's all part of it, get a job, learn how to manage your money, learn independence, that's the whole point of going to college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

Thanks to all for the replies.

I think I can afford it but I've still got to get around to checking prices etc.

I don't think I would want to buy an off-campus house in the town.

I would prefer to have a gaff on campus where I can live with others in my year.

I'm also a very shy person and in my school there's very few people I've came to know on a personal base, like very close friends. Thats mainly because Im in school in Celbridge so I hardly see anyone outside of school.

I just want to move on, try something different and see what would happen if I threw myself in the deep end.

I really want to make a better effort to bond with people in college.

Keep em coming, I'm enjoying the discussion so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Living in Maynooth isn't a pre-requisite for making friends or enjoying college life to the full. In fact, a lot of people who commuted got to know each other as they waited at the bus stop.

Even starting in college is being thrown in at the deep end because you'll be going to lectures with people you don't know from Adam. It can be pretty stressful in itself. The most important thing when you start college is to start yapping to everyone and their dog. Everyone will be in the same boat and looking out for friends.