Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai driving whilst talking on a mobile!

• 01-05-2011 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭

Is this allowed? If not, should it be reported to the Guards...?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Getting a feeling of dejavu
    Penfailed wrote: »

If its in the line of duty, I would assume yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

It is allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ok then, if a Gaurd is not doing anything while on duty, can he be done for wasting his own time?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Penfailed

irish-stew wrote: »

Repost? Apologies.
    It is allowed.

Really? Fair enough...

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Gardai are exempt from traffic laws while on duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Gardai are exempt from traffic laws while on duty.

So are ambulance drivers, firemen and taxi drivers

orourkeda wrote: »

Really?,I know taxi drivers are but I didn't know about the ambulance drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Really?,I know taxi drivers are but I didn't know about the ambulance drivers.

Don't forget Audi's. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

Taxi Drivers arent!!! All citizens are exempt if a) it is more dangerous to pull over or b) they are calling the emergency services but PSV licence holders/Taxi drivers are certainly not exempt for being on phone unless a) or b) applies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I thought that was just my sister.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

talla10 wrote: »
    Taxi Drivers arent!!! All citizens are exempt if a) it is more dangerous to pull over or b) they are calling the emergency services but PSV licence holders/Taxi drivers are certainly not exempt for being on phone unless a) or b) applies

that joke went a bit over your head:D

Taxi drivers think they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

irish-stew wrote: »

If its in the line of duty, I would assume yes.

LOL it's interesting that it's not dangerous for them but it is for us normal folk. Do they not have car kits?????

Senna wrote: »
    that joke went a bit over your head:D

Yeah sorry long day i'll just grab my coat :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

They're the guards of course they can do whatever they want:) speed use the phone, treat people like crap but hey they're entitled to that they did get 5 Ds in their leaving afterall;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

what? taxi drivers are not only exempt from traffic laws, but the general law of the land. didn't you read that in the manual?

Yeah just a lapse of concentration on my part. Won't happen again sorry all for letting the side down :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

They'd be looking for directions to the party...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Sorry I was just being sarcastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭paulgalway

Saw a female gardai on the mobile while going onto a roundabout yesterday. She was driving a large white van and a colleague was in the passenger seat, so call could not have been work related.

On a previous occassion, a patrol car in a traffic que used blue lights and siren to move to top of que and then turned them off as they continued on their way.

paulgalway wrote: »
    Saw a female gardai on the mobile while going onto a roundabout yesterday. She was driving a large white van and a colleague was in the passenger seat, so call could not have been work related.

Are you sure it wasn't a Paddy wagon?

It was a paddy wagon... So?

How do you know the call wasn't work related?,most Guards use there mobiles to talk to each other instead of there radios.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Road Traffic Act 2006
    (2) Subsection (1) does not apply to a member of the Garda Síochána, an ambulance service or a fire brigade of a fire authority (within the meaning of the Fire Services Act 1981 ) who is acting in the course of his or her duties and holding a mobile phone in relation to the performance of his or her duties.

/smugness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

How do you know the call wasn't work related?,most Guards use there mobiles to talk to each other instead of there radios.

Exactly - a lot of the radios (until this year) were unsecure, so anyone could listen in. Mobile phones are a bit harder for your average voyeur to listen in on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 amoXx

I assume they mean that if the colleague was sitting beside them surely it would be safer for the passenger to be taking the call rather then the driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Sorry I was just being sarcastic

No never,you,orourkeda been sarcastic,id never have thunk it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭angeline

Taxi drivers must comply with all road traffic legislation, they are not exempt from any even though they often think they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yes the Gardaí are allowed to do things that members of the public aren't allowed to do, like speed and carry a baton. This is quite normal for a police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

yes, they are perfectly entitled to use them while driving,in the line of duty. apparently a garda will not cause a crash while driving and using a mobile whereas you or me will. figure that one out.!!!:eek:

This study on the RSA website indicates that using a mobile phone means you are 4 times more likely to have an accident.

It does not state that Gardai have lower probability of an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

correct, propably more likely if anything.!!!

This study on the RSA website indicates that using a mobile phone means you are 4 times more likely to have an accident.

It just means that when you see one coming at high speed with the blues & twos and the driver has a mobile, you move further out of the way. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Nobody says otherwise, but it's a bit impractical for a Garda to have to pull over to the side of the road every time they have to communicate with a colleague, when they're in pursuit or whatever. Hence it's a risk we have to take unless the powers that be start giving out handsfree sets or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Dave! wrote: »
    Nobody says otherwise, but it's a bit impractical for a Garda to have to pull over to the side of the road every time they have to communicate with a colleague, when they're in pursuit or whatever. Hence it's a risk we have to take unless the powers that be start giving out handsfree sets or something.
    Like everyone who uses a mobile phone while driving should have hands free sets, or phone off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

purity wrote: »
    They're the guards of course they can do whatever they want:) speed use the phone, treat people like crap but hey they're entitled to that they did get 5 Ds in their leaving afterall;)

Bet I did better than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Question:

Answer:
    Road Traffic Act 2006
    (2) Subsection (1) does not apply to a member of the Garda Síochána, an ambulance service or a fire brigade of a fire authority (within the meaning of the Fire Services Act 1981 ) who is acting in the course of his or her duties and holding a mobile phone in relation to the performance of his or her duties.

Sorted.