Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Hurling League Final

• 01-05-2011 3:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭

Unreal stuff from Dublin so far. Dont seem to be able to miss at the moment and now Larkin is sent off for a wild pull. 10 points to 1-1 with 28 mins gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

very poor performance from Kilkenny and the Dubs are fired up. Larkin off too now, last thing they need. Daly has his dubs all fired up and it worked, I've seen wilder pulls go un-noticed.

Can Dublin sustain their high tempo for the remainder of the game?
    Wadding killing the game as usual, poor ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Lago

What a stupid thing to do by Eoin Larkin. Someone touches him on the shoulder, so he decides to turn around and belt them with his hurl? Absolutely idiotic thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Can Dublin sustain their high tempo for the remainder of the game?
    Wadding killing the game as usual, poor ref.

they havent scored since the sending off. shooting from far out with no accuracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭John The Bad

We started threads about the same time -- http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056255164.

Can we merge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭Patser

Very breezy though and the Dubs have the wind this half.

Could be like one of those games we all remember from school, when you played on a pitch with a slope and a strong wind. One team would score 2-20 in the first half and end up hanging on for dear life in the second:p

Lago wrote: »
    What a stupid thing to do by Eoin Larkin. Someone touches him on the shoulder, so he decides to turn around and belt them with his hurl? Absolutely idiotic thing to do

hindsight is a great thing but in the heat of battle etc...yes it was a dumb thing to do, KK losing their cool approach these days.
    C'mon the Cats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

what the fcuk happened there. Wadding making a balls of that situation.

jesus, I've never seen such a bunch of big lads in blue jerseys falling over like skittles and all the moaning going on about that goal that wasn't, the ref blew the whistle well before the goal.

That's the most pathetic half from KK I've ever seen.

4/5 free's missed.... You're wasting your time at this level if you can't score your free's.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

pity the ref didn't blow 5 seconds later. Looking forward to seeing why the dub player was on the ground. Super performance so far by the dubs. KK look like a rabbit in the headlights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Cody still giving out about the sending off. The thick can't complain about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Dubs have a nice lead, but it should be and probably needs to be bigger tbh. Too many silly wides since the red card.

Kilkenny will reel them in relentlessly second half. Their experience will show.

That's the most pathetic half from KK I've ever seen.

4/5 free's missed.... You're wasting your time at this level if you can't score your free's.

I think they know what they need to do at 'this' level somehow but yes, terrible performance. Well off the pace and what sort of bench do they have given the large amount of injuries they have.
    It's frustrating to watch.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

KK number 2 should have got a RED aswell - not a nice bit of play at the end of the half !!

Ah the ref is making a mess of this. That was a goal for Gods's sake. A 6 point lead won't be enough to stop the Kilkenny comeback considering how strong that wind is.

I hope the Dubs win and I'm shouting for them. However, the sending-off was harsh. I would like to see it again. I have a hunch that the Dublin player made a meal of his "injury". That sort of soccer antics has no place in hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Jeez the real kilkenny is starting to shine through here. Dirty shower. Come on Dublin.

jesus, just saw the incident after the Dublin goal, KK lucky not to have a second red....as a KK man I'm disgusted to see that, WTF is Cody telling them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Should have been a second red card for KK. I hate it when refs do that at the end of a half when there is a big scuffle and completely fail to deal with it. They simply blow the whistle. Complete cop out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

The sending off was deserved, not harsh. Pulling on someone is pure stupidity and deserves red.
    Dirt at the end of the half aswell.

Who is KKs no2. Missed the lineups at the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

There'll be 3 KK players up in front of the CCCC after this so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    KK number 2 should have got a RED aswell - not a nice bit of play at the end of the half !!

Absolutely. Fcuking dispicable. Shocking carry on. If that happened outside a nightclub you'd go to jail for assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

Ah christ just saw the replay as half time whistle blown. Cats are losing the run of themselves altogether. Way out of order

Great midfield play by the Dubs. Keep up the good work!

hindsight is a great thing but in the heat of battle etc...yes it was a dumb thing to do, KK losing their cool approach these days.
    C'mon the Cats!

I'm sorry but even in the heat of the moment, that's such a stupid thing to do. Hindsight is great, but disipline is better.

Brutal game so far. Kilkenny are acting like a bunch of dirty bastards and Dublin just keep provoking them

Ah the ref is making a mess of this. That was a goal for Gods's sake. A 6 point lead won't be enough to stop the Kilkenny comeback considering how strong that wind is.

I hope the Dubs win and I'm shouting for them. However, the sending-off was harsh. I would like to see it again. I have a hunch that the Dublin player made a meal of his "injury". That sort of soccer antics has no place in hurling.

I think the same, I'd say the Dub played it a lot but the thing is, why did Larkin even do it? He should just walk away. I'm annoyed with KK's indiscipline.

As RED as the Cork jersey!!!!! And the corner back should have gone aswell. Drew the hurley into the ribs od the dub and then drew a kick on him while he was on the ground - as dirty as you can get, he should be ashamed of himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,233 ✭✭✭jacool

That is the most disgusting assault I have seen on a pitch in a while. It should have been a goal and a definite red card for Dalton. Cody can go and stop giving out about the other red now.
    Come on Dublin, but it'll be tough into this wind now with those huge decisions gone against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

That's one of the dirtiest moves I've seen thanks to Eoin Larkin....even following it up with a sly kick and another smack of the timber. There was no need for it at all, and its not the first time during the game that he's caused commotion!

KK are very sloppy today it seems, not driving forward when they need to either. While the Dubs are playing fairly handy considering...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

I don't think they were complaining about the ref blowing up before the goal more a case of wondering why there was a player down injured.
    If you want to talk about a goal that wasn't, then you have to mention the KK goal that shouldn't have been! He wasn't even on the pitch when he caught the ball and then took a wild pull at Boland when he laid the ball off.
    People criticise the northern football teams for their cynical play but KK are bringing the cynical edge to this game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭bmurphy8177

.....the sending-off was harsh. I would like to see it again. I have a hunch that the Dublin player made a meal of his "injury". That sort of soccer antics has no place in hurling.

Are you for real. He struck with the hurl. Sending off, end of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

What was the explanation given for the dublin goal being disallowed?

You could clearly hear the whistle before the ball was even struck.... the 2mins was up.

There's no debate about it.... you can't say ''we were attacking he's not allowed to blow it up''.... if the two mins weren't up or if he blew just as the Dub player was shooting then fair enough but that's not the case.

As for KK coming back?.... not a hope, they can't even score a free with any degree of distance or win any ball in the half forward line.

To think this squad was going for five in a row beggars belief, one or two injuries and they look ordinary.

SeaFields wrote: »

Half time.... he blew up 17secs over the 2mins added on, about 3/4/5 secs before the Dublin player took possession and ran in on goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭bmurphy8177

Personally, no problem with goal being disallowed one bit. Whistle had been blown in plenty of time and the injury time had been fully played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bren2001

If you want to talk about a goal that wasn't, then you have to mention the KK goal that shouldn't have been! He wasn't even on the pitch when he caught the ball.

The ball never left the pitch. I'm assuming the umpire got it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

jacool wrote: »
    That is the most disgusting assault I have seen on a pitch in a while. It should have been a goal and a definite red card for Dalton. Cody can go and stop giving out about the other red now.

Seconded. Dirty scum

Ref should have let the run of play continue until the ball went dead. There was intense play at the time so the ref should have let it continue.

I don't think they were complaining about the ref blowing up before the goal more a case of wondering why there was a player down injured.
    If you want to talk about a goal that wasn't, then you have to mention the KK goal that shouldn't have been! He wasn't even on the pitch when he caught the ball and then took a wild pull at Boland when he laid the ball off.
    People criticise the northern football teams for their cynical play but KK are bringing the cynical edge to this game!

you don't need to be inside the line to be in play, as long as the ball is and the ball was in play, it's a fair goal.
    You are thinking of rugby there old chap;)

To think this squad was going for five in a row beggars belief, one or two injuries and they look ordinary.

about 8 injuries, don't get carried away, Dubs have won nothing yet.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Wow that was some shocking stuff at the end of the half, disgraceful behaviour. Embarassing stuff to see being a kilkenny fan.

SeaFields wrote: »

I heard him blow the whislte about 3 seconds before the goal - fair enough, the time was up, but for no-one ( umpires) to see the DIRTY corner back play was even worse, he will certainly be hearing from the CCC

Mutz wrote: »
    Seconded. Dirty scum

Ref should have let the run of play continue until the ball went dead. There was intense play at the time so the ref should have let it continue.

why should the ref have done that? Just to suit the dubs? Time was up, ref can blow. Ball going dead is another rugby one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

reffing like that reminds me why I stopped watching the football...absolute coward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

you don't need to be inside the line to be in play, as long as the ball is and the ball was in play, it's a fair goal.
    You are thinking of rugby there old chap;)

1.10 For a run-up to a free puck, side-line puck, or puck-out, a player may go outside the boundary lines, but otherwise players shall remain within the field of play

So it should have been a free out regardless

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I heard him blow the whislte about 3 seconds before the goal - fair enough, the time was up, but for no-one ( umpires) to see the DIRTY corner back play was even worse, he will certainly be hearing from the CCC

Unfortunately, Umpires are the biggest undecisive cowards going. There is no hope relying on them lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Really surprised by how dirty KK are. Shameful.

jesus, another wide. dubs fouling the KK forwards now, finally an easy free to score. typical booing from the dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Whatever about the goal, the assault after it was a disgrace! He's a thug.

just over 42000 - great crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bren2001

SSK wrote: »
    1.10 For a run-up to a free puck, side-line puck, or puck-out, a player may go outside the boundary lines, but otherwise players shall remain within the field of play

So it should have been a free out regardless

It shouldnt of been a free. He was forced off the pitch. You regularly see players forced off but keep the ball in. I'm a Dublin fan, it was a legit goal.

Are you for real. He struck with the hurl. Sending off, end of story.

I am indeed "for real". You're right, strike with the hurl and walk. I suppose what bugged me was the idea that the Dublin player might have made a meal of it. I think we can all agree that any of that carry-on has no place in GAA.

Now all of that has been overshadowed by John Dalton's thuggery. Which is a shame because this is a good game in many ways.