Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster fans in London - embarrasment

• 01-05-2011 11:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭lima

So in a club in London last night, these lads with Leinster jerseys thought it would be a good idea to dance on the podiums with their jeans around their ankles.. everybody was disgusted.. it wasn't even a cheesy type club, it was in a good house music club.. not a tourist club. so embarrassing. I told them I am ashamed to be Irish after their act. The jock-bogger just laughed it off. No one else was laughing.

Why do people do this? and why did they have to have their Leinster jerseys on? I am ashamed to be Irish. People like this will make people around the world continue to think of Irish people as drunken idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

You're ashamed of your nationality because some random people who you don't know, and who just happen to share your country of birth, made an arse of themselves?! Jesus, you're easily embarassed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

So you are ashamed to be Irish because of a few drunk lads?

I think you have more of a problem then them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭lima

Yes. Yes I am. People stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

lima wrote: »

People like yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Small people stereotype, fuck 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Good thing they weren't wearing Liverpool or United jerseys, so. The whole club would have been humiliated.

Or perhaps not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

it was in a good house music club..

So it WAS a cheesy club then. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

George Bush is left handed.

Therefore I am ashamed to be left handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

I'm ashamed to be part of the human race after what I saw in temple bar last night

Go on...

• "Fans do stupid (non dangerous) things because their team makes the final of the biggest competition they are eligible to play in".

yeah, so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Rochester

If they travelled Ryanair they probably only had what they wore.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I only had a few pints. Besides she deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

We all stereotype! As soon as anyone not Irish hears an Irish accent they go all oirish!

So a group of lads celebrating a win dropped their trousers and danced in their cacks!!! Meh, nowt new in that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If they happened to be British/French or any other nationality would you conclude that everyone else from the same country as them was a drunken idiot simply because of the actions of a few? I doubt you would somehow, and I doubt that any logically minded person would assume that the entire population of Ireland is portrayed by a few drunken fools on a night out.
    I am ashamed to be Irish.

This is the crux of the issue, not the actions of the people you speak of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

I don't know why the crotch grabbing game is so popular...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Was there any fanny on view?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Even cheesy clubs are wary of allowing folks in sports shirts in, and bouncers are on trouble like flies on sh1t, yet these guys got in AND you got to reprimand them before the bouncers got there?

I call shenannigans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm just ashamed that Ireland has an interest in rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I was in a pub last night with a English lads I know, one of them took out his dick and went for a piss on the floor. I'm glad I'm Irish and not English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

bonerm wrote: »
    "NO to foreign sports", he said in his Soccer jersey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I am ashamed to be Irish..

Why? Leinster you say? Sure they're only West Brits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

So in a club in London last night, these lads with Leinster jerseys thought it would be a good idea to dance on the podiums with their jeans around their ankles.. everybody was disgusted.. it wasn't even a cheesy type club, it was in a good house music club.. not a tourist club. so embarrassing. I told them I am ashamed to be Irish after their act. The jock-bogger just laughed it off. No one else was laughing.

Why do people do this? and why did they have to have their Leinster jerseys on? I am ashamed to be Irish. People like this will make people around the world continue to think of Irish people as drunken idiots.

I have never felt more ashamed to be Irish than I did after reading this post.

OP you are an embarrassment, shame on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

Op I wouldn't like to see your post after a week in Santa Ponsa after all the colleges finish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

"Drunken sports fans in harmless messing shocker"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭pmurphy00

ure always embarresed by ure own countrymen
    thats just the nature of the beast
    if u wanna get away from then london is a bad start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

tbh the OP embarrasses me being an emigrant in England yet still thinking they have the connection to this country to frequent a purely irish site. Try boards.co.uk chappy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I'm embarrassed you've never heard of the "Drop trou, grab ank" dance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

Every nationality is stereotyped and the Irish will always be the drunken paddys. However this is the stereotype? not all Irish drink believe it or not and not all act the fool.
    I am not embarrassed of my nationality because fellow Irish people let me down I am an individual and because I'm labelled Irish doesn't mean I act Irish. Those lads were idiots be it Irish or any other nationality but I understand the shame as people will automatically assume we all behave that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Bill Hicks on Patriotism

http://youtu.be/bYKy-xPq178

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Recently I was on a train from London to Holyhead. There were a number of Man United and Spurs fans on the train, as well as a fair few Irish getting the ferry home.

Some of the English fans were drunk, agressive and started taking the piss out of a harmless old Irish guy who was wandering up and down the train looking for a place to sit down, shouting stuff like 'Paddy Murphy, are ya goin to Oirland are ya?'.

Was I disgusted at their behaviour? Yes

Would it make me think worse of my English friends? No

You can't attribute to many the actions of a small few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

What else do you expect from rugby fans??? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

orourkeda wrote: »
    I only had a few pints. Besides she deserved it.

You should never do something like that to your ma, even after a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭EmacB

kfallon wrote: »
    What else do you expect from rugby fans??? :rolleyes:

blatant **** stirring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Luck the OP wasnt in Cologne last week, he would have gone into cardiac arrest

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭LimeTime

So a feckin' idiot who is IRISH saw to Leinster fans make a fool out of themselfs and is now claiming to be ashamed to be Irish.

Jaysus sure the Irish are all idiots I'm ashamed to be one.

:pac:.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

why did they have to have their Leinster jerseys on?

I'm Irish and living in Leinster and I wouldn't recognise a Leinster jersey if it jumped up and bit me. I'd say you're safe enough that nobody knew you were Irish let alone what part you come from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭lima

I've only even seen the 'pants dance' twice - once last night and another time on a snowboarding trip in France - a group of 50 or so from Cork and the lads were up on the bar grabbin' the crotch - didn't bother me back then though as they were munster fans :)

Maybe I should get involved, is this a new Irish craze?

bonerm wrote: »

The single sport that we excel in, you're ashamed of?

Your statement makes me ashamed to be Irish :P

davyjose wrote: »

Yeah sure we're ****e in golf, boxing, GAA, Horse Riding ect.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

davyjose wrote: »

I dunno, Irelands pretty good at GAA in fairness :pac:

OP provided the Irish fans didnt rip the fcuking stadium apart, throw bottles etc then its harmless and quickly forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

You have to laugh at the complete double standarts on this board.
    Me thinks if these gentlemen were kitted out in GAA jerseys over in London for a championship game ye would not be so forgiving.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

LimeTime wrote: »

haha.

dar83 wrote: »
    haha.

Yeah thanks for that informative point. It really helped the topic grow and added to the debate.

Actually while I have you. Why bother putting a full stop at the end of that ****e sentence (If you can call it that.) and not bother putting a capital letter at the start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

they sound like a bunch of twats, like those imbecile boggers who end up in Bondai in their "county" jerseys, drunk and dancing on tables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

LimeTime wrote: »

Horse riding isn't a sport. It's an excuse for gambling - nothing else.

Even when no gambling is happening?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Hit a nerve have I?

I clearly figured after being so lax with my grammar at the beginning of the sentence I better redeem myself and draw it to a proper conclusion. It also portrayed the abrupt laugh that your post produced well.

If I need to dissect this reply for you as well next, just let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

I'm Irish and living in Leinster and I wouldn't recognise a Leinster jersey if it jumped up and bit me. I'd say you're safe enough that nobody knew you were Irish let alone what part you come from.

The big Bank Of Ireland lettering on the front might be a hint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

You have to laugh at the complete double standarts on this board.
    Me thinks if these gentlemen were kitted out in GAA jerseys over in London for a championship game ye would not be so forgiving.....

Why?Do you think there's an AH vendetta/conspiracy agin ye!:rolleyes: