Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

knife worrys??

• 01-05-2011 12:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭

well lads,was just wondering there the other day...im a young lad that does a fare bit of shootin huntin and stuff..so i often carry a few tools with me if im just walking around and come across a broken fence or something along the lines..but the first thing i make sure i have is a knife..alot of the time i carry a little knife around with me anyways because im usually fiddling or tinkering with something.just say the gaurds were to pull me over and search me and found the knife,would the reason above cover me or could they still try and do me?not that im a trouble maker or anything.its just the older ones have a set opinion on young lads and a lot of the newer lads that come in to the station try to show off in ways ??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

It is an offense under Section 9 of the Firearms and Offense Weapons Act 1990 to carry a knife or "sharply pointed blade" without lawful authority or good reason.

Basically that means if you are coming home with the gun and get stopped, and show you were out hunting you'll be fine. If you are carrying the knife down the main street while out shopping its an offense.

Its an idea to only have the knife on you while out and hunting. Even if you stop off in a shop on the way to or from the places you shoot, take off the knife and do not give people a reason to "look" at you.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

was watching one of those police shows from england they pulled a young lad for speeding searched car and in the glovebox found a butterknife and cuffed him and brought to the station over it!hopefully there not that bad here!

A couple of differences.
    • The young lad was hardly coming back from a days bunny bashing.
    • Knife crime in the UK is/was out of control so they took the ultra hard stance on it.
    • The cameras are on the cops so they cannot be seen to let a lad go with a knife.
    • Most of the cops on those shows have a poker up their a** and need a personality transplant.:rolleyes:
    I agree with the cops stance on knife crime and believe anyone caught with one that intends to do harm deserves everything they get, but there is a dire need for common sense.

I mean if i were in my shooting gear and forgot to take off my knife before going into a shop (other than everyone knows me and there wouldn't actually be anything about it) i would hope anyone or a Garda would know i was just back from shooting.
    However if i were in a "boy-racer" car, in my best addidas gear, and was found to have a 9" kitchen knife in the door of my car or under the seat then i would really deserve whats coming to me.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

iknow,i just mean howsimple something silly could get you in trouble there have lunch in car and you forget to take the knife out could end you up in bother if you meet the wrong copper over there!ithink if you have your gear and rifle with you the knife is ok but if im not mistaken is there not alaw saying it has to be a folder under 3"?

bazza888 wrote: »
    ........... but if im not mistaken is there not a law saying it has to be a folder under 3"?

No.

There is in the UK where the length for an offensive weapon is deemed anything over 3", but there is no such specification in Irish Law. If it is a blade with a point its pretty much covered under the Act.

Its very much like the "how far from the road law". Its in the UK, but not here even though it is implemented here.

really?i always wondered when you see lads with bowie type knifes were they legal to have or not

I can find nothing about blade length in any of the SIs, Act, sections. As per usual it easier to cover/tar everything and then deal with it on a case by case basis. This allows for everything to be considered, and leaves the end decision with the authority involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Hondata92

Ezridax wrote: »
    However if i were in a "boy-racer" car, in my best addidas gear.

Nice to see people still judge a book by its cover

I dont own anything made by addidas but i do drive a car that would be consideed by the general public as to be a "boy racers" car

I take my cars as seriously as i take my shooting.

How many people here spend €70 every 3000km on oil alone or €200 on brake pads (even more on discs)

People who actually have half an interest in cars look after them and abide by the law arent "boy racers" yet are called such when the real boy racers are nothing more than scumbags who buy a cheap car and cause havoc on the roads.

Calling all modified car owners "boy racers" is like calling all shooters animal killers

To me your views on "boy racers" are the same as anti's on shooters

This has nothing to do with the OP's topic, but here goes.
    Hondata92 wrote: »

Have you not seen the cop shows, with the young lads being pulled out of cars wearing sports gear. I call them boy racers because they are being done for speeding and they are boys. If you read the thread correctly you would know i/we are refering to a TV show based in England.
    How many people here spend €70 every 3000km on oil alone or €200 on brake pads (even more on discs)

I service my cars every 6 weeks. So i guess i do.
    People who actually have half an interest in cars look after them and abide by the law arent "boy racers" yet are called such when the real boy racers are nothing more than scumbags who buy a cheap car and cause havoc on the roads.

Calling all modified car owners "boy racers" is like calling all shooters animal killers

Who mentioned modified car owners? You did. I used the words boy racer, with no malice intended i might add, and you infered all the rest.

You need to gain some perspective. I've been there and done all the "boy racer" stuff. I've modified most every car i've owned including my current jeep, much to the amusement of some here. Infact i'd hazard a guess that my accessories and extras cost more than most peoples cars. This is a small, petty, point in a thread that is discussing the OPs concerns on carrying a knife in public.

All of this is pointless, irrelevant and not in keeping with the topic of the thread. This is not the motoring forum. So if you would like to discuss this further either start a thread on the motoring forum or continue via PM, as i will not drag this thread further off topic with a pointless debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Lads,

"Butterfly" knives are illegal/banned in UK, that's probably why he was arrested not to mention the other reasons Ezri listed above ;)

Having lived in UK I would also like to confirm that ALL cops there "have a poker up their arses" :P But then again they do have to deal with a 'better' class of scumbag than most of the wannabe scumbags we have her ;)

And boy & girl racers should be banned off the roads as most of them use their cars like WEAPONS !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

Op, what if you carry a leatherman instead of a knife per say??? You still have your knife in it but can't be done for carrying a weapon as it's a multi tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

doyle61 wrote: »
    Op, what if you carry a leatherman instead of a knife per say??? You still have your knife in it but can't be done for carrying a weapon as it's a multi tool.

Well from now on I'm going to refer to my Swiss Army Knives as Swiss Multi Tools =D

(I'm pretty sure that won't work as if it has a sharp blade it's deemed a knife.)

Leatherman is sold as a multitool Swiss army knife isnt, big difference;)

it was really just a butter knife bunnyshooter nothing fancy,like youd get in a cheap knife and fork set!

bazza888 wrote: »
    it was really just a butter knife bunnyshooter nothing fancy,like youd get in a cheap knife and fork set!

OK sorry, I misread it thought you said "butterfly" :(

Apart from that, I stand by the rest of what I said ;)

Why would you have a butter knife in your car :confused:

I worked with ex military lads in UK that could cut you up with a pencil never mind a butter knife :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

have u not seen the wheels on ez's jeep? he's a boy racer :cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

The quoted anecdote I still hear on how this is judged goes like this:
    "If I see a lad coming up from the riverbank with a rod in one hand and a tacklebox in the other, and he's wearing a big knife on his belt, that's a tool. If I see the same lad with the same knife in the queue for a nightclub, that's not a tool and we'll be having words".
    When the gardai and the 1990 Act itself both say to judge the book on the cover, what else can you do?

The act does mention knives, but in the next line it mentions "any object".
    Meaning you could be done for carrying a leatherman or a hammer or a bunch of flowers if the arresting officer felt you had that object to commit a crime with. It's an incredibly general piece of legislation - and if the object is something like a large knife or a firearm, you have to prove your innocence to the court, rather than the Garda having to prove your guilt to it.

All that said, I've worn a swiss army penknife for nearly 20 years now, absolutely everywhere (even on the airline back from athens before the 2001 attacks, when I forgot I was wearing it until I hit security and after I'd checked my luggage). I've worn it in Garda stations, I've worn it in DoJ offices, I've worn it while walking all over the place, and I've never had a problem anywhere - but then, I've never really gotten into any real form of trouble or mischief either. So take from that what you will...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

garv123 wrote: »
    have u not seen the wheels on ez's jeep? he's a boy racer :cool::cool:
    boy??? :D :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I dont own anything made by addidas but i do drive a car that would be consideed by the general public as to be a "boy racers" car

I take my cars as seriously as i take my shooting.

ah hondata, come on now,
    you being into nice cars surely know the difference between a boy racer and a normal car enthusiast? Iv had my nice cars, iv had twice as many as the years iv been driving. What i didn have was a 1.4 civic done up to the balls to look like a vtec (scrap anyway), or a glanza, thinking im a flute with the fastest car around. You know the type, lining up outside tesco like hero's. Theres a difference in boy racers and enthusiasts that you should know about as an enthusiast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Trust me,you CAN get done for carrying an offensive weapon if you're caught with a leatherman. If it has a blade,it's a knife. FULL STOP. I found out the hard way:(

Longranger wrote: »
    Trust me,you CAN get done for carrying an offensive weapon if you're caught with a leatherman. If it has a blade,it's a knife. FULL STOP. I found out the hard way:(

Ok fair enough I never knew you could get done for basically carrying a pliers around with you...........I'll have to remember to take my snips out of my pocket in future:P. In fairness though, the Garda that done you for carrying a leatherman probally needs an operation to remove the pool que that's probally imbedded up you know where.............did he have nothing better to do:confused:

it dose seem slightly queer as they say. Usually the gaurds would have common sense unless they were looking for a reason to do someone....

Remember lads, legisaltion is "poorly" written or purposely vague for exactly this type of scenario. It leaves the authority to charge someone up to the Garda on the scene, and its up to him/her to decide whether or not to do you for it.

The legislation states "Knife" or "sharply pointed blade" which covers everything. I carry a Leatherman myself and even though 99% of the items on it are tools, pliers, etc there is still a blade, and yes its sharply pointed:rolleyes:, so technically i can be done for it.

Yes it would be bad form for a Garda to see a lad in hunting gear or someone in their Snickers work gear and to do either of them for carrying a knife when it is blantantly obvious why they have it, but under the law he/she could. Thats why it is wrtten the way it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Ezridax wrote: »
    Remember lads, legisaltion is "poorly" written or purposely vague for exactly this type of scenario. It leaves the authority to charge someone up to the Garda on the scene, and its up to him/her to decide whether or not to do you for it.

Dj,
    Ez hit it on the head with this one. It is sooooooo true. Some laws are so nebulous they could be interpreted in any way.

1) Don't give anyone any opportunity to interpret laws on your behalf.

2) Determine which is more valuable to you: carrying a knife or your firearms license.

Cover your @$$, don't carry it and keep it in the trunk during transportation.

In general, I have found the Gardai to be extremely helpful, professional, and patient.

However, suppose some well intentioned recruit decided to arrest you for carrying a concealed weapon? Later on the Supt susses things out and the charges are dropped.

Well, you were arrested, just not convicted.

I hope that doesn't cause problems on your application for a new/another firearm?

Get the idea?

Sorry if that sounds harsh, but again, cover your @$$.

FISMA wrote: »

Dj,
    Ez hit it on the head with this one. It is sooooooo true. Some laws are so nebulous they could be interpreted in any way.

1) Don't give anyone any opportunity to interpret laws on your behalf.

2) Determine which is more valuable to you: carrying a knife or your firearms license.

Cover your @$$, don't carry it and keep it in the trunk during transportation.

In general, I have found the Gardai to be extremely helpful, professional, and patient.

However, suppose some well intentioned recruit decided to arrest you for carrying a concealed weapon? Later on the Supt susses things out and the charges are dropped.

Well, you were arrested, just not convicted.

I hope that doesn't cause problems on your application for a new/another firearm?

Get the idea?

Sorry if that sounds harsh, but again, cover your @$$.

First things first,I WASN'T arrested(my record is clean,as in, I don't have one).They guy was a young fella and was probably being a bit over-zealous. Secondly,all it cost me was the knife(thankfully a tiger token job,not my real leatherman,Phew!) and thirdly,I still never leave the house without my trusty real leatherman on my belt because it is the single handiest thing I own. I'm just waiting for them to bring one out with a gutting hook,skinning blade and possibly a Mossberg 500 built into it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

well i have me answer now..thanks for that..and i think the subject will start slowly slipping towards something else :D
    thanks and i think this should be closed now:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

djflawless wrote: »
    well i have me answer now..thanks for that..and i think the subject will start slowly slipping towards something else :D

Myself and Me leatherman MUT Agree
    39614d1299636299-leatherman-mut-img_0135.jpg

djflawless wrote: »

I wholeheartily agree my friend:)

Dusty87 wrote: »
    .......Theres a difference in boy racers and enthusiasts.............

:confused: Really ............................ not where I live there's not ;)

all i know around me is anybody wit a proper car, its mostly garaged, and drove easy to keep it as is. You dont see many people who spend big money on a rare car driving the **** out of it. Unlike someone wit a 1.4 civic with alloys and an exhaust and a vtec sticker on it. There is a man down the road from me with a nissan skyline, well in his 30's, car is rarely drove, and looks the same as the day it came out of the garage. Is he a boy racer??

........ Is he a boy racer??

In his head he is :P

Hasn't got a whole lot to do with knives lads...

In his head he is :P

maybe, but i doubt it. Same goes for someone with a classic car. If its worth money. They're minded. Anyway im not posting back anymore bunny, two sh1t stirrers against each could end in a spoon fight;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

........two sh1t stirrers against each could end in a spoon fight;)

:confused: Who else is ****e stirring ........... apart from you of course :(
    Longranger wrote: »
    Hasn't got a whole lot to do with knives lads...

Neither do Leathermans ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Hondata92

ah hondata, come on now,
    you being into nice cars surely know the difference between a boy racer and a normal car enthusiast? Iv had my nice cars, iv had twice as many as the years iv been driving. What i didn have was a 1.4 civic done up to the balls to look like a vtec (scrap anyway), or a glanza, thinking im a flute with the fastest car around. You know the type, lining up outside tesco like hero's. Theres a difference in boy racers and enthusiasts that you should know about as an enthusiast

About the only person her who has spoken sence yet the general public/guardi generally see all modified cars/non convential cars as boy racers.

Ive been stopped both on my way to and from shooting, i tell the guards there is a firearm in the car, they ask if i have a license for it (of course) but have no interest in wanting to see my license. They then want to search the car ( no problem) but when the find a opinel no.6 in my gun slip they ask 20 questions and i get the third degree even when trying to explain to them my reason for having it (gutting rabbits).

Just like shooting, modified car owners are all tarred by the one brush because of a couple of bad eggs ( like poachers) but this been ireland shooters and genuine car enthusiasts wont stand together ( in thire respective groups) and have the discrimination against them realised and ended.

As was recently said how much media attention wes given to irish shooters who have won olympic or international competitions, same as how many (non rally) drivers have been given credit for their achievements internatonally.

Two very differnt hobbies that have alot in common

PS. Any hondas or glanza/starlet are barely able to pull the socks off a nun:P

Boy Racer

Boyracer.jpg

Car Enthusiast

matt_car_enthusiast.jpg