Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The nightmare of polish barber shops

• 30-04-2011 8:05pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 265 ✭✭

this is the last time i will ever go to a polish barbers. these have to be the worst place to get your haircut in ireland. ive had two bad haircuts in the last 2 months and im never going back.
    im wondering do they have any idea of how to cut hair since the shaved head look is so prominent in poland. have you ever had a bad experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭AndrewJD

Have you considered the abstract possibility that the problem surrounded how you went to a bad barber rather than how you went to a Polish barber?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,467 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

3rd time lucky?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

I dont understand that if you went the first time and they screwed it up why did you go the second time ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

I always thought uncle junior was bald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

AndrewJD wrote: »
    Have you considered the abstract possibility that the problem surrounded how you went to a bad barber rather than how you went to a Polish barber?
    I agree 100% with the OP i have been to about 11 different polish barbers each one woeful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 265 ✭✭unclejunior

AndrewJD wrote: »

no because i went to a different polish barbers the second time round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Shouldn't have asked for the Gulag cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

its cause you have a weird shaped head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I honestly don't think I've ever been to a barber who gave me what I would consider to be a good haircut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Lavattack

"Fool me once shame on you,
    Fool me twice shame on me"

No sympathy for you seen as you returned to a bad hairdresser.

Also just because you went to one bad hairdresser that happened to be Polish doesn't mean that all Polish are bad hairdressers! Its like telling people you ate a bad Chinese last-night and have now come to the conclusion that all Chinese restaurants are bad.

Grow up OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

I agree 100% with the OP i have been to about 11 different polish barbers each one woeful.

Fool me once shame on you
    Fool me eleven times ..........

you can see where this is going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

All hairdressers are bad hairdressers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Pics or GTFO.

We'll tell you how bad it really is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Lavattack wrote: »
    "Fool me once shame on you,
    Fool me twice shame on me"

No sympathy for you seen as you returned to a bad hairdresser.

Also just because you went to one bad hairdresser that happened to be Polish doesn't mean that all Polish are bad hairdressers! Its like telling people you ate a bad Chinese last-night and have now come to the conclusion that all Chinese restaurants are bad.

Grow up OP

The OP already said he went to a different polish barber the second time.

Its true though, I had my haircut by a couple of different polish female barbers, luring you in with a big €5 for a dry cut sign. One time I the girl made such a balls of it I just asked her to shave the lot off.

CoalBucket wrote: »

I cant help it though every barbershop in town has them working,I actually have to go to peter mark now to get my hair cut.At least the women are nice though and you get a cup of tea

How do you know they were polish? They could have been from anywhere. Did you ask them if they held a polish passport? Sounds like your trying to start something here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

You should try the baber shop style barber shop in Blackhall - Run by nice guys - always full - occasional baber shop tune and always Chelsea on the box -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

ye der **** got a short back and sides there once and they even ****ed dat up

CoalBucket wrote: »

That joke does not make sense i did not return to the same barber every time notice the word "different"

The OP already said he went to a different polish barber the second time.

He hadnt before I Started to post

Its true though, I had my haircut by a couple of different polish female barbers, luring you in with a big €5 for a dry cut sign. One time I the girl made such a balls of it I just asked her to shave the lot off.

It doesn't matter really tho. It looks to me that the OP has an issue with Polish people as do a couple other that posted in my opinion. Ye only get what ye pay for lads in fairness. I personally always go to my local hairdresser(I live in a small town) that charges me €12 for my haircut. I usually give her her the €3 as a tip and never have a problem. She knows she is gonna get €15 from me so gives me a nice cut every-time. I bet if you offer the same Polish person who you say you pay €5 to, €15 she would be every-bit as good as my local one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Adhamh

Hair is hard to cut just right in the first place, but that doesn't mean that there aren't bad barbers.

Had a Pole cut my hair, it was neither good nor bad except she was very rough with my poor scalp and not very friendly. Nothing really to do with being Polish I'd reckon.

Had a Chinese guy cut it once as well, now that was a disaster.

'Just scissor it, no blades, except to tidy up over the ears a bit', I say to him.

He squints for a bit and then runs a blade through the middle of my head. He made a really good job of it actually, and was better than what I had pictured in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

12TH TIME LUCKY

recyclebin wrote: »
    How do you know they were polish? They could have been from anywhere. Did you ask them if they held a polish passport? Sounds like your trying to start something here.

Get the same feeling as I mentioned in my post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭seanwhite20

not quite the same but willie's barber shop in ballyfermot have a polish guy working there and he's a great barber also a sound chap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

If you've got a nice looking face the hair should be easy manage, people giving out about gettin bad hair cuts always look a little rough to begin with IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I get my haircut by a beautiful Polish girl who works in a Turkish barbers,and she always does a good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

this is the last time i will ever go to a polish barbers. these have to be the worst place to get your haircut in ireland. ive had two bad haircuts in the last 2 months and im never going back.
    im wondering do they have any idea of how to cut hair since the shaved head look is so prominent in poland. have you ever had a bad experience?
    Never had this problem iv'e been bald for the last 17 years *laughs at all you suckers paying to get bad hair cuts.

ha f'n ha

cruiser178 wrote: »
    Never had this problem iv'e been bald for the last 17 years *laughs at all you suckers paying to get bad hair cuts.

ha f'n ha

Id rather have a bad haircut than be bald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Id rather have a bad haircut than be bald.
    Ya but i look windswept and intresting,just saying

It doesn't matter really tho. It looks to me that the OP has an issue with Polish people as do a couple other that posted in my opinion. Ye only get what ye pay for lads in fairness. I personally always go to my local hairdresser(I live in a small town) that charges me €12 for my haircut. I usually give her her the €3 as a tip and never have a problem. She knows she is gonna get €15 from me so gives me a nice cut every-time. I bet if you offer the same Polish person who you say you pay €5 to, €15 she would be every-bit as good as my local one.

For €15 I'd expect a BJ along with the haircut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

I've had my hair cut by several Polish barbers, never had a problem. They're generally pretty hot too. And generally more polite than Irish barbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I wouldn't go a barber of any nationality. I get the impression that they're only for people that want a crew cut or their hair totally shaved off. I don't think I've ever seen anyone walk out of a barbers with a haircut any longer than about half an inch. That's not to say that some hairdressers aren't as bad.

I've gotten a few terrible haircuts in the last year but I think I've finally found somewhere decent now. It costs €20 but that's preferable to paying €7 for the kind of haircut that you'd get in an asylum or a concentration camp.

EDIT - I wasn't thinking when I wrote that. The concentration camp remark wasn't directed at Polish people. I just meant they had terrible haircuts in concentration camps.

I'll stop digging now.

Well thats what sets some people apart. I pay good money and I expect a good service, you pay small money you cannot actually expect the same service. Its just not the way it works. My advice is cough up a few more €'s and you wont have a problem.

As for the BJ remark, thats just childish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Did you ever look at a polish persons hair? You can always tell they are Polish. I got my hair cut from this Polish one and I came out looking like a Polish lad. Never went back. Pole me once shame on you, Pole me twice shame on me.

Go down Soi 6 and im sure you could get one ;)

I actually got one in a salon after getting my haircut down a Soi off WS one lunchtime. I think it might have actually been called Soi BJ.

Yeah I have heard of a place that does them,must have a look when im back in the summer :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

2 heads for the price of one, bargain. One fella is complaining that pole hairdressers suck, the other is bragging that hairdressers suck pole, its hard to keep up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I find 'Polish' female barbers to be excellent...

fit as fcuk too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I didn't know barbering was something Polish now. Haven't been near one in years. I had long hair up until the bald patch came along and just shave it myself ever since. Why people would pay someone to shave my head is completely beyond me.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I didn't know barbering was something Polish now. Haven't been near one in years. I had long hair up until the bald patch came along and just shave it myself ever since. Why people would pay someone to shave my head is completely beyond me.

I for one would not pay for you to get your hair cut, but have no problem paying for my own haircuts :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

LOL. 11 times and you still haven't learnt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I for one would not pay for you to get your hair cut, but have no problem paying for my own haircuts :)
    Though luck taxpayer I can spend your dole money however I see fit. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Bought a really good head shaver a few years ago, saves me an absolute fortune, though I do miss the pretty Polish girls.

Solnskaya wrote: »
    2 heads for the price of one, bargain. One fella is complaining that pole hairdressers suck, the other is bragging that hairdressers suck pole, its hard to keep up.

lmfao

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

I honestly don't think I've ever been to a barber who gave me what I would consider to be a good haircut.
    I found one, a most peculiar man and you have to catch him in the right mood, speaks in nothing more than grunts and rarely opens both eyes, but I'll tell you he knows how to handle a pair of scissors.

I have to say the worst haircut I ever got was from a Russian woman, and here was me thinking I was being all engaging by conversing in her native tongue, but I came out literally bleeding from the back of my neck where she took the straight razor to it. Might have had more to do with the location of the shop than the nationality though.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

I wouldn't go a barber of any nationality..

Fairly limiting your options there!

The best barber in my hometown is a Polish guy! (and I dont mean that in a "the rest of them are obviously terrible" kinda way)

Though luck taxpayer I can spend your dole money however I see fit. :P

Unfortunately for you I have never once contributed anything to the system. Not in the Irish employment system anyway. I also get the same Dole you do these days my friend and am able get by quite well on it, I can even afford the odd haircut believe it or not!!