Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mooney show feral cats

• 29-04-2011 3:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭

anyone hear the money show disscussion on feral cats?some good and bad points and some really silly ones made on it!try listen to it if you can it might be on a playback on sat morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

caught the tale end of it,will listen to it saturday ,thanks for that,;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

made a trap for foxes a few years back out of a sheet of plywood , used a rat trap to trigger the door to drop , didnt catch any foxes but caught a load of feral cats , all released back into the wild ,to wreak havoc among anything they came across , pound for pound feral cats are worse than mink ........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭jett

Surely you cat shooters don't think there is anything gung ho about shooting a moggy that is looking you in the eye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

jett wrote: »
    Surely you cat shooters don't think there is anything gung ho about shooting a moggy that is looking you in the eye?
    Cause if you shot my pet you would be spitting teeth!

Your cat got permission to be on someone else's land killing their property?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

my fecking cat is coming home every morning with young rabbits. hear the screaming and off out take the rabbit off the cat and bring him back into the fields behind the house.
    one of our cats before caught a big rabbit and brought it down to the rottie who caught it by the scruff and brought it down to the front door and nursed it like a baby until we came home to set it free :pac:

do feral cats do damage to pheasants and the likes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

is your cat feral jett?i started the thread about the mooney show talking about feral cats not shooting cats,have a listen to it on saturday morning on radio 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

garv123 wrote: »
    ............do feral cats do damage to pheasants and the likes?

No, they kill 'em as will pet cats ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

garv123 wrote: »
    do feral cats do damage to pheasants and the likes?

Depends on the numbers about - countryside near urban areas probably have alot more then more rural parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Feed all the feral cats lead pills. They are death to the song bird population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Surely you cat shooters don't think there is anything gung ho about shooting a moggy that is looking you in the eye? Cause if you shot my pet you would be spitting teeth!

Mod

Reconsider your future posts before posting in this forum again jett.

Other contributors have also been PM'd and warned about their behavior including regulars who should know better.

Report an out of order post & don't reply to it as it makes more work.

/Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Feral cats will kill rabbits and pheasants if they get them. There the same as foxes in my eyes. We have some around my house and you can't get near them with out them tearing your arm off. They will do the same damage to poultry and smaller animals as a fox would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

in my opinion just to make MY point clear, a feral cat is no different than a fox..just a different colour in my eyes..at least 10 that i know of in my area are causing havoc.still though..nothing can be done unfortunately..i wonder would the so called animal lovers be there to help find and heal any wild life that might have been injured by a feral cat???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭mr lee

its true cats and foxs do kill desirable animals such as song birds and pheasants but they kill a helluva lot of undesirables such as rats and the like.

We have some around my house and you can't get near them with out them tearing your arm off

must be some big cats out your way,time to call in the big game hunters.

ryu.jpg

Spunk84 wrote: »
    ryu.jpg

thats funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

dear mr jett, some of us who rear birds and fowl also dislike feral cats as they kill for fun too, having had a rather large and obnoxious feral tomcat kill all of my rarebreed fowl one christmas morning did colour my opinion of such beasts ,:rolleyes:however our cat who sleeps in the sheds where i rear my birds and catches mice is a welcome creature there is a place for everything
    you are lucky you are not living in new zealand they are strict on moggies 3 strikes in the national park and its gone ;)

a feral cat is just that, feral. I had lurchers and greyhounds in my teens and our moggie could walk in and out of their pens any time:eek:it liked, dont know what it was but the dogs took no heed to it but whilst out hunting a feral cat would become game?

Australia have some very strict laws in reference to animals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭jett

Banned for 7 days for not heeding the warning and trolling the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

well sounds a lot to me that your sticking up for the cats..IMO it does'nt matter wether its a feral cat or someones precious felix, they all do the same damage when their roaming the fields.
    they will still kill rabbits, young rabbits, poults and chicks.if people were so worried about their cats coming across accidents through lads who are just trying to work hard and protect what they've spent a year working/raising/fundraising and caring for, maybe they should get on to some eletric collar producers to make a collar which can be used for their little darling moggy so it stays within a general safe area for every songbird/gamebird can be considered safe :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

warned off this thread, .................
    Why?because I am a Republican who believes in free speech.........

Excellent, welcome back :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

if a dog was roaming someones fields causing trouble it would be shot, cats are treated the same

If a dog is chasing your live stock you have the right to stop it, so what's the difference when a cat is worrying your poultry or killing native and protected birds? If it has a collar then it's someone's pet, if it has no collar and running the fields then it's a feral cat:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Rosahane

warned off this thread, and I am still posting.
    Why?because I am a Republican who believes in free speech.
    I cannot see how anyone can differentiate between a pet and feral cat at say 75 yards.
    I agree that if cats cause a damage to a persons property then that damage should be prevented.
    As with foxes and fowl, provide a secure environment.
    If you are lax then nasty things may happen.
    Please support field sports by acting resposibly and not giving the antis reason to critisise shooting.
    I have worked my guts out for mine and others firearm retention.
    Don't make my efforts be in vain by supporting cruelty.

A feral cat is readily recognisable, it doesn't have a bell and collar and is not in it's own back garden;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

The last night i was out lamping i saw a cat in a ditch... this was miles from any houses and near our pheasant pen.. i see cats all the time. How do you know if they are feral or not? Wouldnt like to shoot someones pet... but maybe ive been blaming charlie for bird losses when the cats could be to blame! Whats the story then? Do you shoot feral cats on sight or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Trap neuter spay and eventually the population of feral cats will diminish. It is not their faults that they our roaming the streets, starving and dying of all kinds of horrible diseases.

Most civilised countries and that wouldn't include Ireland, have at the very least a policy to control feral cats - we don't even have a policy.

There are a few random totally voluntary individuals trying their best to trap these cats and neuter them using their own monies to do so. But it is a huge problem and without proper local county council intervention it will not go away by itself.

Unfortunately from what I am reading here it is the usual jokers and "not my problem" postings, whilst remaining clueless with regard to this hideous and shameful escalating problem that we have lurking in our back yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

My local vet catches cats in a cage and neuters them before releasing them... it takes abount 5 minutes to neuter a cat done by the vet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Chinasea wrote: »
    Trap neuter spay and eventually the population of feral cats will diminish. It is not their faults that they our roaming the streets, starving and dying of all kinds of horrible diseases.

Most civilised countries and that wouldn't include Ireland, have at the very least a policy to control feral cats - we don't even have a policy.

There are a few random totally voluntary individuals trying their best to trap these cats and neuter them using their own monies to do so. But it is a huge problem and without proper local county council intervention it will not go away by itself.

Unfortunately from what I am reading here it is the usual jokers and "not my problem" postings, whilst remaining clueless with regard to this hideous and shameful escalating problem that we have lurking in our back yards.

You will find none of the lads here are walking down the streets shooting every cat that they see.
    If those pet owners who love their cats so much did the right thing and neutered them it may solve some of the problem. If those pet owners who take the attitude of driving out to the countryside spotting a farmyard and dumping the litter of kittens all because "farmers love to see cats around their yards".
    Then you have the attitude of a fed feral cat will not bother catching birds, well seeing as there are 4 being fed by me in my yard both morning and night as well as my neighbour feeding them and yet they have managed to decimate the song birds in the garden to such a degree its not even funny.
    You will find that the "usual jokers" are well aware of the damage being done by feral cats

Mod note:

Last chance saloon after this point guys. If posters can't stay within the charter of this Forum, I advise against posting. End of.

Carry on with the topic.

/Mod note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

But who pays for the TNS? You Me Or the Vet?
    Last I heard the discounted rate for spaying was €50.
    Thats a lot of money to pay out if there is more than one feral cat around.
    Not to mention the cost of the trap and the time to set and check it. Because as all responsible trappers know it's not humane to simply set a trap and not check it regularly.
    The scale of the problem is not solvable with TNS, you have to reduce the population a lot before it becomes doable.
    I don't blame the cats for their plight, irresponsible owners are the problem but you can't expect people to simply put up with feral cats running around doing huge damage to bird populations wild and pen reared.
    Cats have decimated the population of not only bird species but also lizards and small mammals like voles and rabbits in many areas.
    TNS sounds good but is a long way from being the panacea that its made out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Just to throw my spanner in,but does anyone actually know where I stand if I shoot a "feral" cat,or as I would call them,a cat with no collar who isn't supposed to be in my in-laws yard killing their poults! Sorry if I upset anyone,but if a law is good enough for a dog,then it's good enough for a cat. Pet or no pet,problem animals can, to my knowledge, legally be shot if they are a threat to stock. Just my 2c....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭serenacat

Longranger wrote: »
    Just to throw my spanner in,but does anyone actually know where I stand if I shoot a "feral" cat,or as I would call them,a cat with no collar who isn't supposed to be in my in-laws yard killing their poults! Sorry if I upset anyone,but if a law is good enough for a dog,then it's good enough for a cat. Pet or no pet,problem animals can, to my knowledge, legally be shot if they are a threat to stock. Just my 2c....

That could be a lost cat that you shot? You should take a photo and try to reach the owners first, if not bring him to the vet!!

As there is no policy with regards to TNS'ing of the ever increasing problem of feral cats it is left up to indivduals to pay for the neutering, I mean who do you think pays?

As for setting a trap it takes seconds, and any of the cats that I caught were in the traps within minutes and it was no big deal whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

A cat with no collar, stalking songbirds in someone else's garden should be captured, photographed and the owners sought out? I've had pet cats since I was seven, and even I think that's wrong. Pet owners have responsibilities. You let your pet roam all over without collar or restraint and it gets shot because it's killing songbirds in someone elses garden, then it's your fault as a pet owner for being irresponsible. Not the fault of the shooter. For heaven's sakes, that's the first thing you teach a child on the first day that he or she gets his or her first pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Sparks wrote: »
    that's the first thing you teach a child on the first day that he or she gets his or her first pet.

Sadly, not any more. I don't by any means wish to impugn the positions of anyone who's posted here, but people just are not willing to take responsibility for the actions of animals with whose care they're charged in a lot of cases. Dogs and cats in particular are free to do as they will.

why is it some folk assume that their cat has a right to roam where it wants
    if people treated dogs the same way as they do cats there would be hell to pay
    if i have a cat killing my young birds wether it is feral or not i'll deal with it the quickest way i can im not going to say 'mouse' to it while i get a photo to go hang on the supermarket notice board , the country is full of abandoned/strayed away /dumped cats irresponsible owners who won't take it to the vet to get it neutered results in more litters of semi wild hedgrow cats roaming at will and wiping out songbirds
    if it's your cat then it should be on your property where you can monitor it's actions not the im allright jack actions of most owners i have come across
    most cat owners like cats because they are easy maintanence it's there when you are , when it want's to go out ,off it goes to do it's buisness they don't care what it's up to once it's out of sight and mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

You cannot (as far as know) go blasting away at peoples pets just because they are in your garden.

You cannot (as far as i know) go around shooting peoples pets because they may kill song birds. In fact i have never seen it in print that you can shoot anything because it may be killing other wild life which is actually nature whether we like it or not. Even though problems are caused by irresponsible owners.

The only reason a dog may be shot is after it has attacked livestock (sheep) and after a process where you have tried to capture the dog and only by the person in charge of the livestock as explained in another topic and here question 28 http://www.ispca.ie/Legal-Chapter-11-2.aspx

Livestock only applies to Live cattle, horses, sheep, goats, pigs and deer as far as i can find out anywhere

fodda wrote: »
    You cannot (as far as know) go blasting away at peoples pets just because they are in your garden.
    Who is talking about pets here? The issue is feral cats.
    If a cat is on my property killing my poultry, I consider it to be vermin.
    No need to prove anything as it is not a licensed animal unlike dogs, cattle, goats or pigs.
    If the owner valued the cat it would be kept indoors or in the owners property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭bruskey

CAT FACTS.
    It is reckoned there are roughly 7 million PET cats in England.Not accounting for feral cats.Research has deducted that over 187 days these PETS will have killed 561 million small birds and mammals.These are facts taken from a very reliable author.I wonder if dogs caused the same damage what would happen.How many old cat lovers have been eaten by their cat if they are unfortunate enough to have died and the cat cant get out.Cats are wild and will only stay around humans if you feed them.They dont need us to survive as most other domestic pets do, so if he has no belled collar and not in his owners property I fail to see any problem.

it is left up to indivduals to pay for the neutering, I mean who do you think pays?
    I don't know thats why I am asking the question, So if there is 6 ferals hanging around my place, I should buy a trap,trap them all bring them all to the vet, pay the Vet over 300 and bring them back to my place and release them to kill again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

CJhaughey wrote: »
    I don't know thats why I am asking the question, So if there is 6 ferals hanging around my place, I should buy a trap,trap them all bring them all to the vet, pay the Vet over 300 and bring them back to my place and release them to kill again?

Or for around 30 quid* they could never kill again.

*depending on the ammo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

on the mooney show it said that 2 cats un-neutered have the potential to turn into 400,000 in 7years if left unchecked,i cant remember the guys namethat was on the show, he was doing a study about feral cats

From my understanding of the whole TNR scheme, it need between 70-90% of all the cats in an area to be neutered to be successful.
    If the required percentage isn't neutered then all you have is some neutered cats doing nothing and other whole breeding cats producing more kittens that grow into whole breeding cats in short order.
    Saying that they keep out other cats is also apparently not true, as the amount of feral cats in an area is related to food availability not territory.
    Simply put the more food there is the more cats will gravitate towards the area.
    Perhaps the TNR scheme may work in a more urban environment but in a rural setting I think the amount of work required to TNR 70-90% of the cat population would probably scupper any chance of getting it to be successful.
    I know that around me there are unquantifiable numbers of ferals, I see them crossing roads all around me in areas where there are no houses for miles!
    I couldn't honestly see any TNR program working here even with a dedicated fulltime team who were doing nothing but TNR.
    besides I don't think its good for biodiversity to have all these introduced predators around, you can argue that its nature but its also an alien species that is being allowed to flourish because humans have an attachment to the species in its domestic form.
    Mink get bad press but I would wager that cats have done more damage in their history on this Island.

fodda wrote: »

You cannot (as far as i know) go around shooting peoples pets because they may kill song birds. In fact i have never seen it in print that you can shoot anything because it may be killing other wild life which is actually nature whether we like it or not. Even though problems are caused by irresponsible owners.

The only reason a dog may be shot is after it has attacked livestock (sheep) and after a process where you have tried to capture the dog and only by the person in charge of the livestock as explained in another topic and here question 28 http://www.ispca.ie/Legal-Chapter-11-2.aspx

Livestock only applies to Live cattle, horses, sheep, goats, pigs and deer as far as i can find out anywhere

Q.28 Are there any instances where it will be lawful to shoot a dog?

Yes there are specific instances where such a shooting would be held to be lawful. These are set out in Section 23 and must be proved by the Defendant -

a) the dog was shot when it was worrying, or was about to worry livestock and that there were no other reasonable means of ending or preventing the worrying; or

b) the dog was a stray dog which was in the vicinity of a place where livestock had been injured or killed, and

the Defendant reasonably believed that the dog had been involved in the injury or killing, and there were no practicable means of seizing the dog or ascertaining to whom it belonged; and

he was the person in charge of the livestock, and

he notified within forty eight hours the member in charge at the local garda of the incident.

These provisions will be satisfied if the Defendant believed and had reasonable grounds for his belief that these provisions had been satisfied.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    As far as im concerned Fodda you can shoot a dog if hes in, near or around any livestock where you think their worried.:cool:

Cool website i found http://www.wildlifecontrol.ie/cat-control-ireland/
    Feral cats are not a protected species in Ireland and may be controlled in order to protect poultry etc. or to prevent a health and safety hazard.
    _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

CJhaughey wrote: »
    That is one option, but if you really want to be pro active with regards to Ireland's feral cat problem then ring up your local authority's animal welfare department and ask them what they are going to do about the situation??

Ask your TD the next time they visit what are they proposing to do about it? Like I said, Ireland is one of the very few countries with NO POLICES or RESOURCES allocated to this problem in good times and now the handy excuses of bad times.

Be proactive - it is surely one step in the right direction for the good of ALL.

Be proactive

Most people in this thread are. I see little point in trapping, transporting , involving a vet and neutering a feral cat that could be shot on the spot.

One option is cheap, quick, and humane.

Another option is bureaucratic, drawn out, stressful to most involved and costly - cost of the trap, fuel and time of the trapper and to whomever pays the vet at the end of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

serenacat wrote: »
    That could be a lost cat that you shot? You should take a photo and try to reach the owners first, if not bring him to the vet!!
    Thats crazy, cats will travel miles so that could be alot of area to canvas looking for the owner! and while your doing that the cat could be causing more trouble or moving on to another area
    Dusty87 wrote: »
    Or for around 30 quid* they could never kill again.

*depending on the ammo
    That would cost me about €2.28 for all 6 or half that if i used the shotgun:p
    Spunk84 wrote: »
    As far as im concerned Fodda you can shoot a dog if hes in, near or around any livestock where you think their worried.:cool:

Cool website i found http://www.wildlifecontrol.ie/cat-control-ireland/
    Feral cats are not a protected species in Ireland and may be controlled in order to protect poultry etc. or to prevent a health and safety hazard.
    Never seen that website before but it looks good, good find

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

That is one option, but if you really want to be pro active with regards to Ireland's feral cat problem then ring up your local authority's animal welfare department and ask them what they are going to do about the situation??

Ask your TD the next time they visit what are they proposing to do about it? Like I said, Ireland is one of the very few countries with NO POLICES or RESOURCES allocated to this problem in good times and now the handy excuses of bad times.

Be proactive - it is surely one step in the right direction for the good of ALL.

Of all the stupid things I've read on boards, that takes the cake!
    With all the real issues going on in Ireland, do you honestly think TD’s or broke Co Co’s are going to put resources in to cats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Of all the stupid things I've read on boards, that takes the cake!
    With all the real issues going on in Ireland, do you honestly think TD’s or broke Co Co’s are going to put resources in to cats?

i love to see what the ISPCA would do if ya arrived with the 6 cats and told them to neuter them! Do some looking at ya id say.