Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen BMW 335i

• 28-04-2011 8:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭

Stolen from my house last night, please keep and eye out. 06 D 78728, blue, yellow calipers. Cabinteeley Dublin 18 Fitzgeme is very very sad :(

335i09.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

:mad:

Did they break into your house for the keys?Or what happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Broke the back door lock and took keys, was asleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Sorry to hear man, stick it up on BMW-Driver if you're on it, I will if you're not. Those guys seem amazing for spotting cars.

That's awful :o
    Highly unlikely she'll be seen in Cork but I'll keep an eye out.

Perhaps this should be stickied for the next week or so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

RoverJames wrote: »

Done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

Dreadful scumbags.

Hope you get it back OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Indeed, let's hope the OP gets it back, and soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

sorry to hear that fitz. fingers crossed you get it back safe and sound quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

Even if they were to change the plates on it a 335 with yellow callipers is bound to stand out hopefully. I'll keep an eye out also. Really sorry to hear that :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Bad news OP, out of interest did you have the house alarm on?

I suspect those calipers would be repainted very quickly, so even if you see that car sans yellow calipers let the OP or Gardai know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Christ thats terrible!

Will keep my eyes open for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Af ffs. That's sickening. Hope you get it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

Joe Duffy liveline might be able to help,a few cars have been found after they gave out details on his show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭ballinue

Sorry to hear will be in Athlone Area today will keep a lookout very distinctive
    car should be easy to spot if it that area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

I'll keep an eye too.

Hopefully the gards will know theres a cash in transit robbery or a gangland shooting on the way, will have their ear to the ground about it and find the ****ers with your 'get away' vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

**** craic...

Sorry to hear that fitzegme I will take a walk round my underground car park and the underground carpark at work and look out for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Broke the back door lock and took keys, was asleep

Well, it could have been a lot worse. At least you're not injured or worse. Always leave your keys where thieves can find them. You did the right thing.

Gorgeous car BTW, hope you get it back :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Bad news, I'll stick this up on Octane if it isn't already there. Whereabouts was it stolen from?

Edit: from reading your profile I'm going to guess Sandyford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Was your house alarm on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Looking at the reg, was it an import? May narrow it down a little (and TBH, may have it on the ship to the UK). Blue would be fairly rare in these too.

Thanks guys, not an import seems odd to rob a coupe as a getaway car?. If the scumbags are reading this they got the key for my wifes car also but would seem the manpower was not there to take it,,,the lock on that car have been changed so FU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Did you have your house alarm armed OP?

seems odd to rob a coupe as a getaway car?.

I'd think so too, bigger AWD yokes are preferred for getaway cars really, wheel men that prefer high powered rwd yokes are few and far between. I would reckon either it's been robbed for parts or export or someone looking to earn an "easy" guts of a grand took it. Less likely to be the later though unless other items have gone missing too like home entertainment and laptops etc.

Edit - I really think the questions enquiring about the house alarm are a tad inappropriate.

Lads I would rather not get into too much detail as there is a lot of insurance involved in this. Dublin based, car is likely long gone but keep and eye out....thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

I'll be in the airport later so will have a look around the short term.

Have done the usual - ring the M50 toll operators - see has it been across? Also the DAA can check if it's in their car parks, they have number plate recognition technology on thier car parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Shared it on my FB, most of my mates are petrolheads, so here's hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

I'd think so too, bigger AWD yokes are preferred for getaway cars really, wheel men that prefer high powered rwd yokes are few and far between. I would reckon either it's been robbed for parts or export or someone looking to earn an "easy" guts of a grand took it. Less likely to be the later though unless other items have gone missing too like home entertainment and laptops etc.

Edit - I really think the questions enquiring about the house alarm are a tad inappropriate.

People are more than likely concerned about their own safety. I don't think it's inappropriate in the slightest. It's not like we know the chap and he's posted on here looking for help in the first instance.

Fair enough, in light of the insurance comment just made he doesn't want to answer but that's all it took. :)

Appropriate was the wrong word to use :)
    I struggle sometimes to literalise my sentiment :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Nightmare Fitz. Will keep my eyes peeled for it. Those yellow calipers should set it apart from most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

unkel wrote: »
    Well, it could have been a lot worse. At least you're not injured or worse. Always leave your keys where thieves can find them. You did the right thing.

Gorgeous car BTW, hope you get it back :(

The keys in our house are hidden. I would rather make it harder for the scum to get my cars tbh.

Here is hoping you get it back op or if not you get its value off the insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

The keys in our house are hidden. I would rather make it harder for the scum to get my cars tbh.

Do you have a family? Not being funny but if you did you surely wouldn't want the intruder(s) coming up the stairs looking for the keys?
    The car is insured and can be replaced. Mental and/or physical scars sometimes can not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭massy086

post on face book ask your friends to repost it my friend found his audi this way

Hide the keys and if the scum really want your car for whatever reason they may well threaten you or yours. No one is at their best in their PJs/boxers or the nip so the scum will have the upper hand. If they are armed with any sort of weapon and there is any sort of confrontation they will no doubt come off the better in 99% of cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I'd rather not wake up to the sight of a kettle with boiling water being held over the face of my wife or one of my kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭jimbooth

SOB'S :mad: !!! will keep an eye out around Limerick, if you are on facebook throw up a message there too, has worked for others in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

It's on Octane too anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

My keys are on a table inside the front door overnight (where they cannot be seen from outside). If they're scum enough to break into the house, they're welcome to them. That's what I have insurance for!

Homer wrote: »
    Do you have a family? Not being funny but if you did you surely wouldn't want the intruder(s) coming up the stairs looking for the keys?
    The car is insured and can be replaced. Mental and/or physical scars sometimes can not!
    Hide the keys and if the scum really want your car for whatever reason they may well threaten you or yours. No one is at their best in their PJs/boxers or the nip so the scum will have the upper hand. If they are armed with any sort of weapon and there is any sort of confrontation they will no doubt come off the better in 99% of cases.
    unkel wrote: »
    I'd rather not wake up to the sight of a kettle with boiling water being held over the face of my wife or one of my kids!

No, don't have a family and live in the country in a bunglow with two dogs so would usually hear anything and also have sensor lights outside which can be a deterrant in itself. Luckly we live in a quiet area and have never had any problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭yobr

Sorry to hear about that theft...at least you and yours are ok...hope you get some news on it soon...

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

Sorry to hear it mate as a fellow 335 owner. I loved the Mods you did to the car as well. The performance wheel and performance breaks were super looking.

No, don't have a family and live in the country in a bunglow with two dogs so would usually hear anything and also have sensor lights outside which can be a deterrant in itself. Luckly we live in a quiet area and have never had any problems.

Have alarm, sensor lights, big dog, live in a quite area didn't seem to help. Glad I slept through it, would be looking at a new house if my wife had be woken up by some scummer, at least I am only looking for a new car.

Fair point! Its right fooked up though when you can't even have a decent car anymore. Mabey I've been ok because my newest car is 13 years old :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Awful to hear.... kinda surprised they took a 335i, it's a bit of a sleeper on the looks front so it must have been to order or they just know a nice motor when they see it?

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Sorry to hear about his OP. Hope it can be recovered.
    -Chris- wrote: »
    Done

Just on this, I'm not sure about everyone else but I tend not even to look in the stickies when I click into this forum, so, in my case at least, I would be less likely to notice it. Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Sorry to hear about his OP. Hope it can be recovered.

Just on this, I'm not sure about everyone else but I tend not even to look in the stickies when I click into this forum, so, in my case at least, I would be less likely to notice it. Just saying.

It should stand out since it's a new addition to the top of the page. This way it stays on the front page for as long as possible. Rather than letting it fall off the page the whole time.

You saw it though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

You saw it though ;)

Lol yeah I was thinking this as I was writing the last post, it was just luck I never normally look at the stickies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

So sorry to hear all of this. Can't believe they came in with the dog aswell. Did he/she have any access to the entry point of the thief?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Sorry for your trouble.... :(

..based on the above, I'd say your car was spotted and followed at some stage: it was not an opportunistic theft.

Which is bloody scary tbh.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Dirty cnuts!

Hope ya get it back in one piece dude!