Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No tolerance for L drivers :(

• 27-04-2011 10:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭softmee

So, I am just disappointed with other drivers attitude towards me on the road. I thought L sticker is a good enough reason to be more patient and tolerant, but no. :( Of course not every one but it happens often enough to make me feel more nervous. It happens every day when i am learning with my friend. At least twice : beeping behind me when i am taking off "too slowly", unfriendly looks, sneaking just in front of me last second.
    :( Dont people remember when they were learning? I am just feeling so down today because of it and it makes me think i dont want to drive anymore sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭matt70iu

Ah ignore em. So many people think they were born with full licences don't they. Given to them just after the umbilical cord was cut:D

I'm afraid that sort of arogent driving doesn't stop once you get to take down those L plates. Don't let those people put you off. Make a stand, and decide you won't behave like them once you have your full licence.

Best of luck and stick at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

ignore.. show them the finger.. etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

shblob wrote: »

Please don't encourage people to act this way.

There are people out there who see red in situations where fingers are shown. You could end up with a broken nose as a result!

Ignoring them is the best way to deal with it. Just take a deep breath and forget about them. Best of luck with everything OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

softmee wrote: »
    So, I am just disappointed with other drivers attitude towards me on the road. I thought L sticker is a good enough reason to be more patient and tolerant, but no. :( Of course not every one but it happens often enough to make me feel more nervous. It happens every day when i am learning with my friend. At least twice : beeping behind me when i am taking off "too slowly", unfriendly looks, sneaking just in front of me last second.
    :( Dont people remember when they were learning? I am just feeling so down today because of it and it makes me think i dont want to drive anymore sometimes.

I was almost taken out twice by learner drivers in the last week so maybe I'm biased but - if you still need to be "learning with your friend" then you should think about learning from an instructor? The problem with my opinion of course is that you may be perfectly capable etc. and if you are, then it is very disheartening to get that abuse just because of the L-plates. Only you know if its because of that sticker or your driving, so if its the former I empathise, if its the latter with the greatest respect get a few more lessons!

edit: the whole sneaking thing you will find is a hazard no matter what stage you are at, unfortunately!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

Great advice until she does it to an off-duty guard ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭drunk_monk

The problem is that a car with L plates doesn't mean your having lessons, in fact most of the time people are not having lessons. So what's happened is over the years people who have L plates have become common place and people don't see them as learner cars and treat them the same as any other. Most drivers do have patients with an official instructors car though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭softmee

tommy21 wrote: »
    I was almost taken out twice by learner drivers in the last week so maybe I'm biased but - if you still need to be "learning with your friend" then you should think about learning from an instructor? The problem with my opinion of course is that you may be perfectly capable etc. and if you are, then it is very disheartening to get that abuse just because of the L-plates. Only you know if its because of that sticker or your driving, so if its the former I empathise, if its the latter with the greatest respect get a few more lessons!

edit: the whole sneaking thing you will find is a hazard no matter what stage you are at, unfortunately!

Sorry, but i've had 16 lessons already and i cant afford more at the moment. I never did anything dangerous on the road or what could really couse stress to other drivers. I would say i can drive already (i know it takes a while to drive well), but its just practise now, and i will take few more lessons with instructor. I am driving slowly now sometimes, but slowly is better then dangerous -isnt it? Well, not that slow, i am driving 60, were 80 is the limit for example.

There are people out there who see red in situations where fingers are shown. You could end up with a broken nose as a result!

Ignoring them is the best way to deal with it. Just take a deep breath and forget about them. Best of luck with everything OP.

I wouldnt do that anyways, no worries. :pac: Once i just felt like getting of the car and talking to that person behind me, but i dont think its worth my nerves. I would probably just hear. f... of. :rolleyes:

My accompanying driver and instructor used to glare at people for me when I was learning :pac: There was a near-yelling match on one occasion.
    It's a pity really because we were all learners once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭redz11

Sorry, but i've had 16 lessons already and i cant afford more at the moment. I never did anything dangerous on the road or what could really couse stress to other drivers. I would say i can drive already (i know it takes a while to drive well), but its just practise now, and i will take few more lessons with instructor. I am driving slowly now sometimes, but slowly is better then dangerous -isnt it? Well, not that slow, i am driving 60, were 80 is the limit for example.

As I'm sure you're aware, you would get marked down in the test for lack of progress if you were to drive 60k in an 80k zone (assuming of course that conditions would allow you to drive safely at the limit.)

Driving that slowly is a very bad habit to get into. Even if you can't afford more lessons at the moment, it might be best for you to take a break from driving until you can, as it's very easy to pick up bad habits like this if practising with a friend or family member rather than an instructor. There may be other bad habits you've picked up that you're not even aware of, and this may explain the attitude of other drivers towards you on the roads.

When you drive like that, you're creating an obstruction to other drivers. That sort of driving may also end up indirectly leading to an accident, where drivers stuck behind you get frustrated and end up feeling "forced" to overtake. Now of course, it's the other drivers' responsibility to ensure that it's safe to overtake before doing so, but really it's best to avoid creating such an obstruction in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

tommy21 wrote: »
    if you still need to be "learning with your friend" then you should think about learning from an instructor?

Technically the OP is right to be out learning with a friend as you're not allowed out by yourself.

Anyway, I somewhat agree that it's disheartening when you get treated bad on the roads because you have an L plate up. I've been lucky enough that I've not had it too bad but know people who've had terrible experiences.

Unfortunately driving slowly can be as dangerous as driving fast as the people behind you get annoyed and may overtake when it's not safe to do so etc. I was a bit like this as well but my instructor told me to get out of that habit as it's a hard one to break.

I wouldn't agree with redz11 completely on the taking a break from driving as this can cause you to regress in the learning process (in my experience) however I do think that he made a good point about the bad habits. Maybe take a couple of lessons now (not a whole course or anything) if you're able to try and get out of any bad habits & then continue practising with family & friends. If any of them try to correct what you learnt from an instructor don't let them. I know it can cause an argument but the instructor is qualified - they're not.

Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Just ignore the beeping OP. And keep up the practice. Nothing wrong with going out with your friend, as long as they have a full licence for more than 2 years. If you're a bit slow on the take offs, find a quiet industrial estate and practice stopping and starting.
    I am driving slowly now sometimes, but slowly is better then dangerous -isnt it? Well, not that slow, i am driving 60, were 80 is the limit for example.

Ye, I have to agree with the others, if it's safe to do 80, do it. It can be very frustrating for people behind if you're crawling along on a clear road.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭savvyav

Poor OP, I'm a learner and I get people flashing their lights at me for obeying the speed limit. There's a bit on the outskirts of my town where its still 50km/h for 2km, before it goes up to 80km/h, and I always observe it (can't afford a speeding fine haha), but people get really mad at me and beep, or flash or try to overtake! My mam doesn't bother taking down the L's when she takes my car and has commented that people seem a bit more aggressive with her- then again she may be more nervy cos she's driving my car! My advice is just take a breath and ignore them, they're probably idiots who have a few points on their license. Anyway, when their own kids/loved ones are learning to drive they'll prob be moaning about how dreadfully learner drivers are treated.....
    As for driving too slowly, maybe go to a quieter road with a 80km/h limit and build up your confidence on that? Would be a pity to fail your test for not driving fast enough...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Take it in your stride OP. Motorists will beep anyone who is slow off the mark, not just Learners. So it is not because you are a Learner they are beeping. It is because you are slow.

But you will improve. Just be mindful of your driving and sod the begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Look on it like this - of all the drivers who you encounter on the road, how many beep you ?

Now, how many don't beep you.

Equally, how many have made efforts to give you time and space on the road recognising your learner status ? Don't say none - there were/are loads (well me anyway) you just didn't notice them.

Ignore the beepers - they're a small minority and part of the stresses and pressures which you have to learn to cope with as part of learning to drive.

redz11 wrote: »
    As I'm sure you're aware, you would get marked down in the test for lack of progress if you were to drive 60k in an 80k zone (assuming of course that conditions would allow you to drive safely at the limit.)

Driving that slowly is a very bad habit to get into. Even if you can't afford more lessons at the moment, it might be best for you to take a break from driving until you can, as it's very easy to pick up bad habits like this if practising with a friend or family member rather than an instructor. There may be other bad habits you've picked up that you're not even aware of, and this may explain the attitude of other drivers towards you on the roads.

When you drive like that, you're creating an obstruction to other drivers. That sort of driving may also end up indirectly leading to an accident, where drivers stuck behind you get frustrated and end up feeling "forced" to overtake. Now of course, it's the other drivers' responsibility to ensure that it's safe to overtake before doing so, but really it's best to avoid creating such an obstruction in the first place.

Well, maybe its not really that bad. To be honest i was even driving too fast sometimes with my instructor and never created "obstuction" to other drivers. I am driving slower in my own car, but its not that bad.
    I agree its not ideal to drive with somebody who is not professional instructor, because people are telling me crazy things. Like:
    -some :" you have to start steering/turning while car is standing, other wise you wont turn", others : " you cant move wheel while car is not moving". ....
    -some : " you have to reduce gears before getting to the junction/roundabout", other" just make it neautral (i know its bad)

-and so on. :confused:

Its very confusing and I know now why some people dont pass even after 2 years driving on learners permit.
    Thank you every one for your replies. I wont give up, even if i sometimes miss relaxing times on the bus (or not that relaxing with school kids) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

OP as the other posters have said just ignore the knobs that beep at you we were all in that situation at one time or three times for me in our life,It's not the guys with the L plates that annoy the f**k out of me but people driving on the motorways at 60k and when you go to over take them they speed up:mad:.

I just realised that hmm ,you know -polite, well mannered people with some brain are unfortunately not majority in society and this can be clearly seen on the road. We just have to live with it. Life could be so easy and beautifull without some characters. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

It probably isn't a good idea, but it works.

The most important is not to get bullied by people beeping you when you cut out, or miss a traffic light, don't squeeze through a junction quick enough etc.. just take your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It probably isn't a good idea, but it works.

It depends on what you mean by "works". I've seen first hand when it "works" and one driver gets out of their car and confronts the other. That is not a situation i would ever want to find myself in.

The best thing is to ignore it. Don't be bullied by it, just focus on your driving. It's so easy to say now of course, but it is the best way to go about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭rachos89

OP, I feel your pain!!Had a truck see my L plates from a side road on the opposite side of the road to me and decide to pull out against me, halfway across my lane yesterday. If it wasn't for good brakes and (thankfully) good reactions, I'd be in a morgue somewhere because he'd have taken the whole right-hand side of the car with him. It really frustrates me when people act not only aggressively but dangerously around L drivers because it makes the learning environment even more risky and stressful! And I know exactly what you mean about speed limits, I drove to and from Kinsale yesterday with my mom and did the speed limit as marked in each area the whole way because the driving conditions were ideal, and I was still overtaken by at least 15 cars, who must have been speeding! I wasn't impeding progress, I was obeying the law and people treat it like an inconvenience! Final point of frustration yesterday was when I was pulling out of a carpark which had designated entry and exit points, only for a van to decide to come in the wrong way against me and then for the driver to sit there and try to stare me down! I just stared back and waited for him to move, it was either that or have a screaming match with a man at least twice my age....and I won in the end :P

rachos89 wrote: »
    OP, I feel your pain!!Had a truck see my L plates from a side road on the opposite side of the road to me and decide to pull out against me, halfway across my lane yesterday. If it wasn't for good brakes and (thankfully) good reactions, I'd be in a morgue somewhere because he'd have taken the whole right-hand side of the car with him. It really frustrates me when people act not only aggressively but dangerously around L drivers because it makes the learning environment even more risky and stressful! And I know exactly what you mean about speed limits, I drove to and from Kinsale yesterday with my mom and did the speed limit as marked in each area the whole way because the driving conditions were ideal, and I was still overtaken by at least 15 cars, who must have been speeding! I wasn't impeding progress, I was obeying the law and people treat it like an inconvenience! Final point of frustration yesterday was when I was pulling out of a carpark which had designated entry and exit points, only for a van to decide to come in the wrong way against me and then for the driver to sit there and try to stare me down! I just stared back and waited for him to move, it was either that or have a screaming match with a man at least twice my age....and I won in the end :P

Wow, thats scary! Well done for not letting him what he wanted to do. ;)

Thanks softmee, I'm extremely stubborn when I know I'm right :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

After I passed my test (I drive my mother's car) I left the L-Plates up as my brother started learning then. They were an absolute pain to take off and put back up so I just left them there.

I've never noticed any difference between having them up and not having them up. I haven't had it as bad as some people, it seems. I can't remember ever being beeped at, possibly once or twice, because I cut out when the lights when green at a major junction before.

However, when I was in my instructors car, which had L signs all over it, you'd get the odd car that would pull out ahead of you, assuming that I'd be going very slow because I was a learner (when in fact, that car would proceed to slow me down - actually it was usually a van, not a car!).

But there'd be times that I obey the speed limit and the car behind would be hoping to go a bit faster, regardless of whether there are L Plates up or not. But that's their problem - they can overtake when it's safe to do if they like. Don't speed up to accomodate an impatient driver / tailgaiter.

Not a hope would I ever speed up, I know they have speedometers too and just because they're impatient bastards doesn't mean I have to be an enabler ;) I haven't had much in the way of beeping either, although I do get a lot of people hugging my bumper, even when I stop for petrol! Had one woman my first day out in my car who pulled to within an inch of my bumper and refused to move even though I was trying to reverse out so that she'd get at the pump quicker....some people never fail to amaze me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I was doing my last test when a (no doubt full licence holding) taxi driver decided to drive about 1 metre from my back end and weave in and out in an intimidating manner.

From what I see, most drivers on the road are courteous and copped on, but the vast majority of the cretin brigade are not wearing L plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Forget L Plates.

I spent the week driving a BMW with UK plates.

Like driving a taxi with Hitler in the back !

On Irish plates now - incredible difference - have not had a van driver roll the window down and call me an English Gentleman given to Self Pleasure since.

Ah c'mere, I tried to practice parallel parking tonight and wasn't even in the way of traffic but sat still to not move into their way and STILL had a ridiculous fecker in a jeep blow his horn from 200 metres back until he'd passed me. No need, none at all. I resent these L plates and the curse they have bestowed on me and my poor innocent Clio! Needless to say I will be applying for the oul' test ASAP. It's no wonder so many L drivers are nervous wrecks with drivers like him discouraging them from even trying to learn to drive safely and responsibly! It's a good thing I'm more prone to angrily lecturing my mirrors/windscreen and pretending it's the offending inconsiderate driver than turning into a shaking wreck!

I think i've seen a paragraph in rules of the road about "road manners" and how you should treat learner drivers. So, if somebody brake those rules, does he/she brake the law? What if i would take reg.number and call guards? I mean if someone really would stress me. They would probably just ignore it? What you think?
    When i read some post above i start to think it wasnt too bad yet and it could be worse. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I'm teaching my girlfriend to drive.. and believe it or not, I do think there's more tolerance of L-plate drivers now than there was when I was learning for instance.

But then again, it probably depends on the person you're in front of as a learner.

Unfortunately, it comes part-and-parcel with learning although it's goddamn lousy that there's some real inconsiderate *censored* out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

I'm really surprised at the problems OP and others appear to be encountering with the L plates up. I'm driving round at moment on L plates as my kids are learning to drive and I have to say that when I'm alone in the car with the plates up I find drivers very courteous, letting me out of side roads, into lines of traffic, etc. There are many idiots out on the roads and whether you have L plates up or not they will try to cut you off, jump the lights, pull out in front of you, tailgate, etc. don't take it personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

The L plate isn't the only factor IMO. Bizzarely, the type of car is a big factor. L plates are invisible on family hatches (golf, corolla, focus, vectra etc), but will invoke lunacy when attached to small cars (micra, yaris, punto).

And if you drive a 'too expensive for a learner' car (almost anything <2 years old, any audi, bmw or non-agricultural 4wd), it will rain blood and fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭booksale

my friend who has a full licence one day drove his mam's car which has a L plate on.

he said people's manner is just unbelievable rude to him that day.

he uses his mam's car from time to time and it's that his younger brother now learning to drive, so the car has got the L plate on.

even you are at the limit, people would still over take you because of your L plate. but doesnt matter really, keep on your journey, drive your car to the left a bit when they overtake you to show your courtesy if you can.

So do you think there is point reporting any extremely rude driver or would they jusgt laugh at me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭booksale

So do you think there is point reporting any extremely rude driver or would they jusgt laugh at me?

why?

i'd say leave it. you have something more important to do than reporting those rude drivers.

dont take those rude manner too personal, keep on practicing and pass the test.

remember your experience as a learner. be patient and polite to those L drivers one day when you are on full licence.

all the best!

booksale wrote: »
    why?

i'd say leave it. you have something more important to do than reporting those rude drivers.

dont take those rude manner too personal, keep on practicing and pass the test.

remember your experience as a learner. be patient and polite to those L drivers one day when you are on full licence.

all the best!

Why? I dont know. You are probably right, but i hate idiots and i always feel like i would like to punish them somehow for beeing what they are and making other people lifes more stressful. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

younger people have little tolerance of L drivers. If I am on an open road I pull in every now and then to let them past. I am not comfortable driving more than 70km, but some people are in a rush and get irritated if the car in front is too slow.I just smile when when they honk at me for driving at 50 in a 50km zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Sparkie93

ive met a lot of rude people on the road recently im still a bit slow at moving off at traffic lights and i get a lot of people beeping and flashing their lights at me ive also had a man give me the fingers as he overtook me once :D
    there is a lot of people though who are patient

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

My brother was out driving (he's only a beginner) one day with me and my mother, and was waiting to turn right onto a busy road, and there were 1 or 2 gaps he could have made (completely normal for a learner to need a bigger gap than is necessary) so the van driver behind not content with flashing his lights stuck his head out the window and shouted "Just f*cking go".

I'd say that was quite off-putting :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Haha, remember once I was in the car with the GF and her sister, who was learning at the time. She's way too cautious anyway (as in dangerously overcautious...picked up from the mother), nevermind adding the L driver-ness to it. Took her about 10 minutes to get out from a junction. I've patience with L drivers cos I only got the pinky under 2 years ago, but still....that's extracting the urine. Easy to see how anyone could get annoyed waiting behind, heck, I was annoyed and I was in the car!
    Fuinseog wrote: »
    younger people have little tolerance of L drivers. If I am on an open road I pull in every now and then to let them past. I am not comfortable driving more than 70km, but some people are in a rush and get irritated if the car in front is too slow.I just smile when when they honk at me for driving at 50 in a 50km zone.

If you're not comfortable driving at the correct speed, then I suggest you stay off the roads. Otherwise you're just creating an obstruction and causing danger to other road users. It's not that everyone else has no patience, you're the one at fault - and really shouldn't be on the road if you're not capable of driving correctally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭colinod

On the other hand some learners think that because they have L plates they can get away with a lot more..

Cut across you on a dual carraige way, nearly hitting you, their reaction is its ok cos im a learner

two sides to every story

Haha, remember once I was in the car with the GF and her sister, who was learning at the time. She's way too cautious anyway (as in dangerously overcautious...picked up from the mother), nevermind adding the L driver-ness to it. Took her about 10 minutes to get out from a junction. I've patience with L drivers cos I only got the pinky under 2 years ago, but still....that's extracting the urine. Easy to see how anyone could get annoyed waiting behind, heck, I was annoyed and I was in the car!

If you're not comfortable driving at the correct speed, then I suggest you stay off the roads. Otherwise you're just creating an obstruction and causing danger to other road users. It's not that everyone else has no patience, you're the one at fault - and really shouldn't be on the road if you're not capable of driving correctally.

It never took me that long, but still longer then normal. Ehhh, i just think people need to learn more respect for each other..
    Dont say he is not capable of driving then he is not driving 80, but 70 on road with 80 limit!

colinod wrote: »
    On the other hand some learners think that because they have L plates they can get away with a lot more..

Cut across you on a dual carraige way, nearly hitting you, their reaction is its ok cos im a learner

two sides to every story

I wouldnt think its ok and i have never done anything like this. I think there is one side of the story. Too many egoistic ....... out there without memory and imagination. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭colinod

I wouldnt think its ok and i have never done anything like this. I think there is one side of the story. Too many egoistic ....... out there without memory and imagination. :pac:

You mightn't have but there is some out there that do

Its like a case of "I'm a learner, get out of my way"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

I once had someone beep me in my instructors car. Freaked me out completely! Luckily my instructor was a really calm guy and stuck his finger up at him.

Even though i've no L-plates anymore people still act the bollix on the road, driving an inch behind me in an urban area when i'm doing the speed limit. And its a limit people, not a target, nothing wrong with being a few km under it. I love when they overtake you and then you pull up behind then at the next lights haha! I hope you stress induced heart attack you got being behind me was worth the 2 metres you made up.

The other day i was out with my friend whose just learning to drive and very nervous. We were out late a night, absolutely no traffic around (shes much calmer then), shes not too familiar with her car yet and when she hit the indicator to turn right she flicked the headlights, she got into a slight panic trying to turn them off not helped by the only other driver on the road we had seen the whole time slowing down while driving by, roll down his window and proceed to shout at her. "F**k off shes only learning" was shouted back before i had time to think.

OP when people say ignore them, its the best advice. If you learn not to care, continue on your legal way, and be calm in these situations then all you do is end up laughing at all these eejits. I'd rather be calm driving along happily than getting worked up and stressed about someone in front on me doing 55 in a 60 zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

What's the "correct speed" though? You mean if you don't travel 80 on an 80kmh stretch of road then you shouldn't be driving??! Or the same for 100 or 120kmh areas?! Come on!! I mean I can completely understand someone not doin 50 when the speed limits 50 but it's a different scenario I think when the speed limit increases - and it's a speed limit remember not a target.

I wouldnt have felt very comfortable doing 100kmh when I was learning so the most I'd do would be 85 - I think that's acceptable - I've never had anyone beep at me anyway.

leahyl wrote: »
    What's the "correct speed" though? You mean if you don't travel 80 on an 80kmh stretch of road then you shouldn't be driving??! Or the same for 100 or 120kmh areas?! Come on!! I mean I can completely understand someone not doin 50 when the speed limits 50 but it's a different scenario I think when the speed limit increases - and it's a speed limit remember not a target.

I wouldnt have felt very comfortable doing 100kmh when I was learning so the most I'd do would be 85 - I think that's acceptable - I've never had anyone beep at me anyway.

While you don't 'have' to go at the speed limit, if it's safe to do so, you should. In fact, not doing so in the test would give you a lack of progress Grade 2 fault. I failed for having 4 of those :o (was being overcautious, not keeping up with traffic flow, etc.)

There's no 'correct speed' as such, it's very dependent on where your driving, what the road and weather conditions are like, etc. We all know that there are roads that are 80km/h that could barely support 40km/h, and I wouldn't go past a school full of children trying to cross the road at 50km/h either. Even some N roads have bad bends etc. where you'd need to slow down from 100km/h.

But again what I've said above - don't speed up just to accomodate an impatient driver behind. It's normal for a learner/beginner not to have the confidence necessary to go as fast as, say, 100km/h A learner's reactions are longer than a person who's been driving for a while, they don't do things as 'automatically' either (like changing gears, adjusting speed) so they have to think about everything.

But your sense of an appropriate speed will come with time anyway. On my very first lessons, my instructor brought me onto an N road that was 100km/h but it was only a secondary one (if anyone knows it, it's the N52 between Dundalk and Ardee). I definitely didn't feel safe doing 100km/h (it was my very first lesson as well, previously my driving experience had been driving around my house in first gear). Now though, I could easily and safely do 100km/h, with exception to a few very bad bends.

colinod wrote: »

two sides to every story

then you pity them cause their qualified driver sitting beside them must be a terrible driver.

My brother was out driving (he's only a beginner) one day with me and my mother, and was waiting to turn right onto a busy road, and there were 1 or 2 gaps he could have made (completely normal for a learner to need a bigger gap than is necessary) so the van driver behind not content with flashing his lights stuck his head out the window and shouted "Just f*cking go".

I'd say that was quite off-putting :eek:

the person honking is not necessarily the car directly behind you but possibly the third one behind you. I used to give the driver behind a dirty look when I heard the honking.

Last week they honked while I was waiting to go out onto a seriously busy roundabout so I just shot out. It could have been a tragic error of judgement influenced by other peoples impatience.

She's way too cautious anyway (as in dangerously overcautious...picked up from the mother),
    :o:o:o

Noo wrote: »
    IAnd its a limit people, not a target,
    leahyl wrote:
    and it's a speed limit remember not a target.

I think that little phrase is more apt for credit cards, not driving :)

I would echo what timbuk2 said -
    While you don't 'have' to go at the speed limit, if it's safe to do so, you should. In fact, not doing so in the test would give you a lack of progress Grade 2 fault. I failed for having 4 of those (was being overcautious, not keeping up with traffic flow, etc.)

There's no 'correct speed' as such, it's very dependent on where your driving, what the road and weather conditions are like, etc. We all know that there are roads that are 80km/h that could barely support 40km/h, and I wouldn't go past a school full of children trying to cross the road at 50km/h either. Even some N roads have bad bends etc. where you'd need to slow down from 100km/h.

But again what I've said above - don't speed up just to accomodate an impatient driver behind.