Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calm down dear!

• 27-04-2011 5:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭

Basically the Brit PM is reading a letter and tells a member of the opposition(a woman) to "calm down dear".

Cameron is now being accused of being sexist.
    The Deputy Leader of the Labour Party, Harriet Harman said: "David Cameron's contemptuous response to Angela Eagle MP at Prime Minister's Questions today shows a patronising and outdated attitude to women.

Bloody hell its not often I'm on here defending English politicians but what an absolute load of sh!te.

It was clearly a joke for gods sake. Or have we come so far along the PC route that Cameron's comment constitutes sexism?

There have been calls for him to apologize, I think he has nothing to apologise for. What says AH?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-13215524

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭jimcoolding

What a load of cock.

Surely they can stop being so petty and deal with the bigger issues at hand? Deary me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

What a load of cock.

Surely they can stop being so petty and deal with the bigger issues at hand? Deary me

Calm down dear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I think it is a disgrace and a disgrace to women to insult her like that. I hate the tories now. Fup them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

A hoo hah about nothing. It's a patronising turn of phrase, for sure, but she's trying to shout him down as he answers a question; all part of the cut and thrust of parliament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Cameron looks orange.

Don't think he meant anything by it but as PM he should be very careful what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I think it is a disgrace and a disgrace to women to insult her like that. I hate the tories now. Fup them.

Calm down dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Calm down dear
    I wanted to make that joke when some feminist took issue with Cameron.

I hate you.
    I say one thing so you have to say the opposite? :pac: Can't we just agree for once?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Michael Winner would be proud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Can't we just agree for once?

ULSTER SAYS NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Bit of an ott reaction if it is the case, if he had of said "Shut up you aul' ****" it would be justified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Tame stuff

When Tony Blair and William Hague were around they used to rip into each other with smart comments and put downs

Both very skilled at it

That's a hideous tie on the Speaker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I wanted to make that joke when some feminist took issue with Cameron.

I hate you.

I say one thing so you have to say the opposite? :pac: Can't we just agree for once?
    No mo chara. In hell we will unite. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

No mo chara. In hell we will unite. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Meh.
    If he'd put on a mockney accent and told her 'not to get yer knickers in a twist, luv', everyone would think he was a gas man altogether.
    It's Ed Miliband who comes out of this looking like an idiot, braying away there on the opposition benches, practically nudging Harriet Harman to see if she gets the Michael Winner reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Earthhorse wrote: »
    A hoo hah about nothing. It's a patronising turn of phrase, for sure, but she's trying to shout him down as he answers a question; all part of the cut and thrust of parliament.

Exactly. They are always taking little pops like that at each other in the British parliament. Total mountain out of a molehill stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Oh for some cut and thrust in the Dail.

mumbles into chest while reading a piece of paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Joan Burton said something like this to Vincent Browne on her meltdown night, did anyone accuse her of sexism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Harriet Harman is one of the most sexist, vile women in England. She can shut the **** up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Harriet Harman is a nasty, sexist, radical feminist thinking dinosaur that tries to push through inequality legislation dressed up as: "equality bills", so I would pay ZERO attention to anything that came out of that one's mouth for a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Bloody hell its not often I'm on here defending English politicians but what an absolute load of sh!te.

It was clearly a joke for gods sake. Or have we come so far along the PC route that Cameron's comment constitutes sexism?

There have been calls for him to apologize, I think he has nothing to apologise for. What says AH?

Total ****. He should tell them to feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They've all had it in for Dave since he made the comment about Britain being responsible for most of the World's troublespots. I thought he was a bit of a wet lettuce until he came out with that, but he's now gone up in my estimation.

He can say what he likes, fuck 'em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

I have to say, if faced by the grinning idiot that is Ed Miliband, the "most annoying man in politics" - Mr Ed Balls, and the all round vile human being Harriet Harman, I would have probably lost the plot completely many months ago.

I'm not Camon's biggest fan, but he handles himself much better than the labour front benchers.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    They've all had it in for Dave since he made the comment about Britain being responsible for most of the World's troublespots. I thought he was a bit of a wet lettuce until he came out with that, but he's now gone up in my estimation.

He can say what he likes, fuck 'em!

For being totally incorrect in order to get the Pakistani government and intelligence services onside?

I really don't think Labour would care much about that, if anything they would be far more supportive than those in his own party.

For being totally incorrect in order to get the Pakistani government and intelligence services onside?

I
    It is therefore not surprising that they had been trying to foment communal unrest between the two communities all through the early part of the 19th century. For instance, as early as 1821, a British officer under the assumed name of "Carnaticus" wrote in the Asiatic Review that : "Divide et impera should be the motto of our Indian administration, whether political, civil or military." The fright of 1857 made the British even more purposeful in how they used communal propaganda.

One of the insidious practices initiated by the British was to encourage Quranic fundamentalism in the guise of "Islamic Reform" which in practise meant erasing the sufi ethos and forcing Muslim ocnverts to give up their long held affection for earlier tribal or Hindu or other Indic beliefs and practises. In "purifying" the Indian Muslim, British-sponsored clerics (such as Wahhabis) from the Arabian peninsula and other Quranic fanatics helped lay the foundation of sectarian organizations such as the Muslim League in East Bengal who sought to destroy the camraderie that had previously existed between Hindus and Sufi (or moderate) Muslims.

At the same time, they encouraged rumor-mongering, incited riots and deliberately favored one community over another.
    "We have maintained our power in India by playing-off one part against the other," the Secretary of State for India reminded Viceroy, Lord Elgin (1862-63), "and we must continue to do so. Do all you can, therefore, to prevent all having a common feeling."
    Lord Curzon (Governor General of India 1895-99 and Viceroy 1899-1904, d.1925) was told by the Secretary of State for India, George Francis Hamilton, that they 'should so plan the educational text books that the differences between community and community are further strengthened'.
    http://india_resource.tripod.com/hist-2nation.html

And that of course, is just India....

The principle of divide and conquer is well documented, and is not a matter of dispute among most historians. I'd suggest that Mr Cameron is well aqquainted with his facts, perhaps better than some of his critics.

Nodin wrote: »
    I

http://india_resource.tripod.com/hist-2nation.html

And that of course, is just India....

The principle of divide and conquer is well documented, and is not a matter of dispute among most historians. I'd suggest that Mr Cameron is well aqquainted with his facts, perhaps better than some of his critics.

I fail to see where he mentioned the corruption and complete and utter incompetence that has been rife throughout pakistani government since the birth of the country - something that has had far more of an impact in the country being the state it is today than British rule. Of course though, Dave doesn't want to give the full story and is happy to tell the locals what they want to hear. This is the man who is supposed to represent and promote the United Kingdom abroad btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Basically the Brit PM is reading a letter and tells a member of the opposition(a woman) to "calm down dear".

Cameron is now being accused of being sexist.

Oh if only he had said that to Bernadette Devlin!

OK, all you whippersnappers will totally miss that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

He said it like a right smug git and that's probably what made it seem so sexist.

I fail to see where he mentioned the corruption and complete and utter incompetence that has been rife throughout pakistani government since the birth of the country - something that has had far more of an impact in the country being the state it is today than British rule. .

.....and perhaps if the British hadn't promoted division as a means to maintaining the empire, there would have been no need for a Pakistan to be formed in the circumstances that it was.

Why do you have a problem acknowledging historical fact?

This is the man who is supposed to represent and promote the United Kingdom abroad btw.

Perhaps he's decided that in these days of reduced British power, honesty will go further than arrogance and denial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

He should have whacked her over the head with his cock.

Nodin wrote: »
    .....and perhaps if the British hadn't promoted division as a means to maintaining the empire, there would have been no need for a Pakistan to be formed in the circumstances that it was.

Why do you have a problem acknowledging historical fact?

Perhaps he's decided that in these days of reduced British power, honesty will go further than arrogance and denial.

He hasn't been totally honest though, has he? He has told the Pakistanis exactly what they want to hear, leaving out many reasons why they live in such a country.

Still, I suppose you are right - intelligence is power in the modern world and if Cameron's visits to Pakistan and his works are useful in bringing the Pakistani government, and therefore the ISI onside, his trips and speeches are justified.

Harriet Harman is the Ivana Bacik of Britain except about ten times worse. Pay her no mind whatsoever.

She's one of these "feminists" whose idea of equality is "Men lose their privileges but we can keep ours."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

He was winding her up and good for him. She can now run around, like a pig, and scream and bitch and moan and complain and play the victim and everyone will be like 'calm down, dear.'
    Sexist? Fuck off. She's one of the most sexist MPs, nay, politicians, going.

He hasn't been totally honest though, has he? .

The statement "....., as with so many of the world's problems, we are responsible for the issue in the first place" is in fact, true. You might add the caveat that the other imperial powers are similarily to blame, but that doesn't really subtract from truth at the heart the statement.

I'd suggest accepting the reality. You'll note it wins people far more kudos than denial.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Prime Minister UK in trouble for saying "Calm down dear" to opposition female MP who was heckling him

some politicians/journalists/campaigners are now claiming he should apologise as they claim it is sexist, it is now on the bbc news

so is it sexist or (cliche alert) political correctness gone mad?

I think the latter personally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Search function.

Annoyed?

Calm down, dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

When did Michael Winner become Prime Minister of England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i am pretty sure i saw a thread for this already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I think there's already a thread on this.

Personally, yeah it is overreacting. On the other hand, he's the leader of the Conservatives so I'm quite glad he's made a twat of himself. Is a catchphrase from years ago the most current thing he can think of?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

What's worse
    1 being condescending to someone
    2 talking over someone and interrupting them when they are trying to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I'm not sexist but...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

<333333 weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Winnergate only affirms that Cameron is a smug, sexist twat. Who'd have thunk it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

knird evol wrote: »
    What's worse
    1 being condescending to someone
    2 talking over someone and interrupting them when they are trying to speak.

I think its that second one dear....

How the hell is "dear" a sexist term? It's condescending, but it's hardly sexist - Joan Burton used it against Vincent Browne during her live metldown.

Equality is equality. It's either wrong in both directions or neither. I'm effing sick of all this "equal rights except where we have privileges" feminism. Total equality or none. Take your pick.

Roughly 50 seconds, although I embed at 40 to give context:

When did Michael Winner become Prime Minister of England?

There is no such thing.

How the hell is "dear" a sexist term? It's condescending, but it's hardly sexist - Joan Burton used it against Vincent Browne during her live metldown.

Equality is equality. It's either wrong in both directions or neither. I'm effing sick of all this "equal rights except where we have privileges" feminism. Total equality or none. Take your pick.

Roughly 50 seconds, although I embed at 40 to give context:

brummytom wrote: »
    I think there's already a thread on this.

Personally, yeah it is overreacting. On the other hand, he's the leader of the Conservatives so I'm quite glad he's made a twat of himself. Is a catchphrase from years ago the most current thing he can think of?

You have admitted that it is overreacting. Therefore surely those who are making such a fuss are the ones who look like twats?

Labour should have a look closer to home before blasting others as sexist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

It's condescending and he was using sexism to be condescending. Stupid in his position but it doesn't make him a sexist person imo
    Media will pull the usual hoo haa, he should apologise sincerely and move on. They'll have forgotten about it next week.

Gardai "threatening" rape, when?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

That sounds very mild altogether

I'd be saying "Jaysus fuck it will you ever calm the fuck down missus and dont mind fucking complaining and get back behind the fucking sink where you belong!!!!!" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

serious glitch in the matrix