Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy racers leaving 'donut' marks on the N17

• 26-04-2011 6:09pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 579 ✭✭✭

Has anyone noticed travelling from Limerick to Galway recently the very noticeable weaving 'S' rubber marks in the road followed by dozens of 'donut' ring tyre marks on the tarmac mostly between Gort and Galway city?

It's obvious that the 'boy racer' types are up to no good in the early hours.

I presume the people living adjacent to where these marks have been made must have been disrupted by it as I can imagine it must have involved quite a substantial amount of noise with tyre squeal, engines revving and tyre smoke etc etc.

There was even one on the Galway to Dublin motorway just a few miles from the Carnmore exit.

I expect these are being created in the early hours of the morning as otherwise they would be seen by other motorists and I expect the Guards would be called or notifief at least.

It is highly irresponsible and dangerous practice.

I've heard this is the latest game to see who can create the biggest mark etc. :rolleyes:

Has anyone seen these t**ssers in action or seen these marks I am describing?

I hope they are caught in the act sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

Seen the marks alright, be a job to catch anyone doing it, by the time anyone would have called the guards and had them come out, they'd be long gone.

There's thousands of miles of road in Galway and trying to catch probably one shower of idiots doing something stupid on them for less than a minute in the dead of night would be difficult to say the least - although they'll probably be stupid enough to post it up on Youtube at some stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 elpistolero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Yeah I've seen the marks too when out cycling. Bunch of idiots doing it...it's not going to end well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭T2daK

panama wrote: »
    Has anyone noticed travelling from Limerick to Galway recently the very noticeable weaving 'S' rubber marks in the road followed by dozens of 'donut' ring tyre marks on the tarmac mostly between Gort and Galway city?

I presume the people living adjacent to where these marks have been made must have been disrupted by it as I can imagine it must have involved quite a substantial amount of noise with tyre squeal, engines revving and tyre smoke etc etc.

There was even one on the Galway to Dublin motorway just a few miles from the Carnmore exit.

I expect these are being created in the early hours of the morning as otherwise they would be seen by other motorists and I expect the Guards would be called or notifief at least.

I've heard this is the latest game to see who can create the biggest mark etc. :rolleyes:

Sorry there is it not the N18 you're on about we tore it to bits over the weekend there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Whatever road people are doing it on they are idiots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭hanns.s

and then more of us get a fine and points for going a few miles over the limit - I know over the limit is over the limit and yards away at 2am, 3am, 4am you hear these fools out on the road been a hell of a lot more dangerous on the road and they get nothing! I don't know how many nights I have been woken by the fools and they get away with it, makes me mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I'd be more worried about speeders / tailgaters / people overtaking on a solid white line or on bends than young lads doing donuts in the middle of the night on empty roads to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

The only consolation is that the donut making tosspots spend an extra couple of hundred euro per year getting new tyres (of if we're lucky have a blow out on their way home from donut making and wrap the car altogether).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭hanns.s

Caliden wrote: »
    I'd be more worried about speeders / tailgaters / people overtaking on a solid white line or on bends than young lads doing donuts in the middle of the night on empty roads to be honest.

Point taken but on the road they have done these (the road beside where I saw them) is often used by walkers who don't wear hi-vis and think of 1am - 4 am when people maybe walking home from a few drinks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 579 ✭✭✭panama

The main Galway to Limerick/Cork road can hardly be described as an 'empty' one can it? Especially nowadays when people are travelling further away from their homes for work.

And yes I meant the N18 alright. The tossers at this craic are also likely to be speeders and tailgaters etc, that may be a generalisation but it's my opinion from what I've seen around the county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭galwegians

yep, seen the marks on the road today as you come into clarinbridge from kilcolgan,
    you are right a crowd of irresponsible tossers.
    have allso seen the marks on the motorway that you mention.
    lets just pray that nobody gets hurt by this antisocial behaviour.

Ah sure it's all part of growing up. Got chased by a garda for 45mins out those roads a few years ago. Most exciting day of my life. Lost them too and dont even drive a sports car. They got my reg though...

T2daK wrote: »
    Ah sure it's all part of growing up. Got chased by a garda for 45mins out those roads a few years ago. Most exciting day of my life. Lost them too and dont even drive a sports car. They got my reg though...

I have many words for the likes you...and they are not good.

It is not all part of growing up. In fact, what you were/are doing might mean the end of growing up and the end of a life for someone else.

Cop on would ya?

mars bar wrote: »
    I have many words for the likes you...and they are not good.

It is not all part of growing up. In fact, what you were/are doing might mean the end of growing up and the end of a life for someone else.

Cop on would ya?

I'm being honest, although I see your point.

I think there should be a rally track like the one in Tynagh closer to town where people can drive the crap out of their cars and get it out of their systems off the public roads. 30 euro for half hour?

They are doing it because they enjoy it, not to annoy people (although it obviously does).

I think there should be a rally track like the one in Tynagh closer to town where people can drive the crap out of their cars and get it out of their systems off the public roads. 30 euro for half hour?

They are doing it because they enjoy it, not to annoy people (although it obviously does).

Well, funny enough you should mention a racing track. My cousins are big into rallying and racing cars and one of them got as far as securing the insurance for a track he had planned and the people of the town near where it was going to be said no. This was in Galway County too.

You just can't win can ya?!

He thought getting the insurance would be the hardest part. It really was a brilliant business opportunity for him and some twonks managed to get the planning permission refused. Probably the same people who would be giving out about boy racers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭holidayhere

Going south out of Clarenbridge there is a huge tyre mark, which goes on for a few hundred yards. I suppose - whatever turns you on. I would hate to be coming the other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭morcheen k

when was it ever that different ? young kids and fast cars out all night going mad.

Going south out of Clarenbridge there is a huge tyre mark, which goes on for a few hundred yards. I suppose - whatever turns you on. I would hate to be coming the other way.

siezed brake on a lorry perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 CraftDaft

not brakes seized! How naive!
    These tyre marks are everywhere. On the link road between loughrea and the M6 and on the M6 itself. Will more youngsters have to die before anyone notices of inforces the law.

thats why nothing ever gets off the ground in this country. The do gooders step in and those who actually want to do something good just end up giving up. A track would be an excellent idesa.
    On the other hand,( and i do like to throw the cat among the pigeons) if the roads can't be policed, will the race tracks. Peoples scepticism may be justified. I guess there are too sides to every story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

They should do this, I'd say there would be allot of talented racers in Ireland if they had the facilities to practice and learn proper racing.

I've researched track days though and they're ridiculously expensive, around the €300 mark, even in the UK. The Nurburgring is about the cheapest place to go racing in Europe from what I can see.

Well, good for you! Getting chased by the Gards! What a Boy! What a Plonker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Mondello do a half day track training day for €50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

Exact same on the N84 Headford road. Numerous times the c*nts have woken me at 2-3 in the mornin as they have a particular spot they like to frequent near me.

They most love forkin out 200-300 euro on tyres every week! Tempted to start hurling stones through windows one of these days.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Mondello do a half day track training day for €50.
    Where did you get that price from? Is that with one of their cars? At that price I'd be up there once a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

You do it in your own car. This is from the website.

Car Track Days are one of Ireland’s best kept motoring secrets. A relatively small number of Ireland’s high performance and modified car drivers seem to be aware of the opportunities that exist at Mondello Park to enjoy driving their cars beyond the limits imposed on the public roads. Even for those that are aware of Car Track Days the idea of driving quickly on a circuit can look a little intimidating, but a new service being provided by Mondello Park aims to make circuit driving more accessible by educating drivers about track day's and helping them overcome their fears of the track.

Mondello Park's Car Track Day Training days provide drivers with a low cost opportunity to sample a car track day, without having to take to the circuit with more experienced drivers. Newcomers will be given classroom instruction regarding pre track day preparation, track behaviour, what to expect, how to get the best from a track day and the differences between road and circuit driving. Classrooms sessions will be followed by practical on-track instruction driving their own cars and the day will be completed by a twenty minute open track day session where they can put their new skills and knowledge to the test in a controlled and supervised environment.

Track Day Training days are priced extremely cheaply as their primary purpose is to encourage more drivers to take part in track days at Mondello Park. The course takes three hours to complete and morning and afternoon session will be available with both priced at €50.00 per driver. Prospective participants need to be at least eighteen years of age with a full driving license and must have their own car. For normal track days each driver is required to provide their own crash helmet but due to the introductory nature of the training days, Mondello Park will provide these free of charge for the day. Unlike a full Car Track Day passengers are not allowed and race cars of any type will not be permitted.

Car Track Day Training Format
    2 groups, one morning and one afternoon.
    Morning 10:00 – 13:00
    Afternoon 14:00 – 17:00
    Cost €50.00

Drivers must be 18 or over, with a full licence.
    Road cars only, no single seaters.
    No passengers allowed.

Morning Timetable
    10:00 Classroom instruction
    10:30 On track instruction
    11:00 Break
    11:15 Classroom instruction
    11:50 On track instruction
    12:30 Supervised free track time
    12:50 Debrief

Afternoon Timetable
    14:00 Classroom instruction
    14:30 On track instruction
    15:00 Break
    15:15 Classroom instruction
    15:50 On track instruction
    16:30 Supervised free track time
    16:50 Debrief

Looks like a good day, no sign of when the next one is. The normal track day prices aren't to bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭lezza

well i see these tyre marks all over the place and tbh i prefer to see these than a civic wrapped around a tree, if a donut goes wrong the driver and passengers wont die but if a civic and a sierra are racing 100mph plus on n17/18 which is common death is inevitable, more tracks should be made availanle but you will always have c##ts that will object

lezza wrote: »
    well i see these tyre marks all over the place and tbh i prefer to see these than a civic wrapped around a tree, if a donut goes wrong the driver and passengers wont die but if a civic and a sierra are racing 100mph plus on n17/18 which is common death is inevitable, more tracks should be made availanle but you will always have c##ts that will object

in case you think I support people who speed I am very strongly against that. Just referring to doughnuts etc.

Totally agree

There are people around Galway that just hate to see people enjoying themselves I'm sure of that.

Still though doing these things on a public road isn't ideal, the only thing I could see going wrong is that they lose a tyre, maybe damage a sign and the road if they try to drive home with a busted tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

I don't mind them doing it really. It's when I'm woken at 3 in the morning to the sound of screeching tyres that I get a bit annoyed.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Still though doing these things on a public road isn't ideal, the only thing I could see going wrong is that they lose a tyre, maybe damage a sign and the road if they try to drive home with a busted tyre.

OR spinning out of control and smashing into a wall/tree/oncoming car/passing pedestrian/nearby livestock/housing etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭lezza

OR spinning out of control and smashing into a wall/tree/oncoming car/passing pedestrian/nearby livestock/housing etc etc etc.

:rolleyes:no matter how careless you are if you do a donut you will not do damage to this extent!

It's been happening at night so I assume the main reason for doing it at night is secrecy so the likelihood of cars and people being around would be small. I don't know how livestock could get involved?

Any damage they cause would be minor enough but I don't see them sticking around should they damage someone's wall which could cost a fair bit to repair.

I don't think what they're doing is that dangerous but I don't think safety would be a major concern to those doing it so there's always the great potential for something to go wrong.

Treating public main roads like they're private racetracks simply cannot be condoned and if reckless acts like these are condoned it only encourages further idiocy, it's simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Id like to point out that after running one of Irelands largest modfied car forums for 4 years not one person has died or actually caused an accident doing donuts.

Now I dont condone it either just so you know, but those actually doing it have tremendus skill, in fact a high up traffic corps garda in Limerick once used that term to describe them.

It doesnt make it right, but those of you going on about it will cause an accident etc are just plain wrong.

And dont say it will happen eventually because it wont.. ive known people in the modified car world for over 10 years and this has been going on that long and none of them have been killed either. I know exactly how they go about it and its in a thought out manner.

Again it doesnt make it right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭morcheen k

some have great skill maybe but you would have to practice to be good and the roads aint the place for that.good to hear you know of nobody that has died or caused an accident from doing donuts,must be from doing it on quiet roads.

morcheen k wrote: »
    some have great skill maybe but you would have to practice to be good and the roads aint the place for that.good to hear you know of nobody that has died or caused an accident from doing donuts,must be from doing it on quiet roads.

While I know it looks crazy, there is more danger in FWD cars with younger lads. They do be into racing etc, blow outs etc can happen at high speed.

At least with a RWD car doing donuts your only travelling around 15km an hour in a circle.

cronin_j wrote: »

It doesnt make it right, but those of you going on about it will cause an accident etc are just plain wrong.

You can't advocate people acting recklessly on public roads, end of story, weaving across lanes on major routes like the N18 and doing 'burnouts' (or whatever it's called) is not a safe practice is it? If one of these gob****es is busy making his donut marks and a car comes in either direction at high speed etc, imagine the possible consequences, it is an incredibly dangerous practice on a public highway.

I have no problem with anyone playing with their cars on their own property or on racetracks/properly stewarded areas etc.

The reason for the thread was that this has been going on outside peoples houses on one of the busiest roads in the country and it is wrong, dangerous and needs to stop.

If this car coming a high speed didn't see another car in the middle of the road doing donuts I would be quite worried.

Any tyre marks I've seen have been on straight stretches of road with good visibility in either direction, unless of course you have evidence to contradict that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

Now I dont condone it either just so you know, but those actually doing it have tremendus skill, in fact a high up traffic corps garda in Limerick once used that term to describe them.

[/B]

lol! my hoop!

anyone with a RWD and any common sense can pull off a burnout.

The vast majority dont, why? cause they dont have the 1000's of euro to buy new tyres every year and new clutches unless daddy has deep pockets!

each to there own tho, if you wanna waste money on little **** boxes then work away.

tbh Your high horse post echos the attitude of most boy racers, that ye are somehow skilled drivers better then ordinary folk, lol!

If this car coming a high speed didn't see another car in the middle of the road doing donuts I would be quite worried.

Any tyre marks I've seen have been on straight stretches of road with good visibility in either direction, unless of course you have evidence to contradict that.

Are you trying to defend their actions?
    Regardless, the fact of the matter is, nobody should have to come across
    a car doing donuts or weaving across lanes making 'S' shapes as can be seen every few miles along the n18 currently between Gort town and Galway city and I'm sure in other places aswell.

And as regards your last paragraph, the nearest one to me, where I first noticed them a few weeks back is at the bottom of hill or incline in the road, where if you are where the skidding donut trye marks are which is also adjacent a busy junction, you cannot see over the brow of the hill, and there is a continuous white line for that reason to prevent overtaking on that stretch of road, a car travelling at speed coming from the opposite direction and down the hill would only have a very short stopping distance if they came upon a car in the middle of the road.

And I feel particularly sorry for the people living next to where these cars have been up to those antics, considering the racket they must have made in the middle of the night.

skelliser wrote: »
    lol! my hoop!

The vast majority dont, why? cause they dont have the 1000's of euro to buy new tyres every year and new clutches unless daddy has deep pockets!

each to there own tho, if you wanna waste money on little **** boxes then work away.

tbh Your high horse post echos the attitude of most boy racers, that ye are somehow skilled drivers better then ordinary folk, lol!

Who said anything about a burnout?

Im not a boyracer, I dont even own a RWD car, your sorely mistaken if you think its little **** boxes that daddys money bought are doing it by the way.

And I feel particularly sorry for the people living next to where these cars have been up to those antics, considering the racket they must have made in the middle of the night.

Agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

lol! my hoop!

The irony of you call croninj's post high horse when you are doing the exact same. Ring Joe Duffy and tell him your shít because no one here wants to hear it.

Quazzie wrote: »
    The irony of you call croninj's post high horse when you are doing the exact same. Ring Joe Duffy and tell him your shít because no one here wants to hear it.

croninj has come on here to try and defend these tossers by saying they have tremendous skill and that no one can be injured from one!!

i beg to differ!

The gort - galway road is imo one of the most dangerous roads in the country besides having to deal with these idiots.

The section coming into kilcolgan from the gort side being particularly bad. Many people have died on that stretch and there are loads of donuts and burnout marks on there which only appeared in the last 2/3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Id like to point out that after running one of Irelands largest modfied car forums for 4 years not one person has died or actually caused an accident doing donuts.

And dont say it will happen eventually because it wont.. ive known people in the modified car world for over 10 years and this has been going on that long and none of them have been killed either. I know exactly how they go about it and its in a thought out manner.

Again it doesnt make it right...
    croninj has come on here to try and defend these tossers by saying they have tremendous skill and that no one can be injured from one!!

i beg to differ!

The gort - galway road is imo one of the most dangerous roads in the country besides having to deal with these idiots.

The section coming into kilcolgan from the gort side being particularly bad. Many people have died on that stretch and there are loads of donuts and burnout marks on there which only appeared in the last 2/3 weeks.

Convenient the way you totally skipped the parts in Bold when reading croninj's post. Its in Bold. He done it that way on purpose because its harder to ignore it that way, but there's always one. He made a valid point stating that it takes skill and a certain caliber of car to perform these maneuverers. And he said he never said that no one can be injured from this, just that he never heard in his years of experience of anyone being injured. Nice of you to twist his words to fit your anti-boy racer agenda.

FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

As previously pointed out, read his full post.
    i beg to differ!

If you beg to differ, please provide us with a case where someone has injured themselves on Irish roads by doing donuts?

How is it dangerous? Is the tarmac particularly toxic, or are their wild lions on the side of the road? How is it dangerous?

The only thing that makes a road dangerous are the motorists who use it. That includes the 75 year old driving the Micra at 40kmph with absolutely no sense of whats going on around him/her. Not only the boyracer.

Above you mention that many people have lost their lives on this stretch. How were those accidents caused? I'd be willing to bet that speed was a much bigger factor than people doing donuts.

as i said already we have enough problems with speed and idiot drivers and now this in the mix.

are you saying that donuts and burnouts are fine on the public roads?

just because he reckons no one has been injured from them doesnt make it ok nor does it mean no one in the future will be injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

What makes you think there arent people who do both?

as i said already we have enough problems with speed and idiot drivers and now this in the mix.
    that's a bit OTT, it's not like people are racing in between the people doing burnouts during rush hour.