Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor Tax Cert arrived in the post torn in half

• 26-04-2011 5:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭

My motor tax cert arrived today in the post torn in half.

The envelope itself was torn in half but arrived in a plastic An Post see through sealed envelope
    and on the outside it said the letter was damaged in transit.

And an apology on the outside of the see through envelope

Has this happened to anyone else?
    Very inconvenient imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Well, the motor tax office didn't tear it in half. It was just a genuine error by an post. Happens a lot i'd say during sorting. Get on to the motor tax office and they'll probably just sent a replacement if it's really badly torn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

I never implied it was the motor tax office fault.
    Its beyond repair i'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Just get back onto the tax office who will re-issue another cert. It doesn't happen a lot in sorting offices,%wise it's very rare a machine slices into a letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Is it the disc or renewal cert that's torn? More than likely done by one of the sorting machines.

If it's the renewal, just fill out an RF100a and tax as normal. Or tax it online.

If the disc is torn, use Sellotape.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Postal services to Vladivostok were always a bit iffy, considering the journey your lucky it arrived at all! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

The motor tax office should re issue it no problem, but its likely they will ask you to send the torn cert back to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Don't be so quick to blame the sorting machines..... Virtually every letter that arrives in my letterbox shows signs that someone has tried to peel the flap away to see what's inside. I informed An Post but they didn't want to know.

Buffman wrote: »
    Is it the disc or renewal cert that's torn? More than likely done by one of the sorting machines.

If it's the renewal, just fill out an RF100a and tax as normal. Or tax it online.

If the disc is torn, use Sellotape.
    It was the Disc as stated earlier in the thread and its torn in such a way as that its beyond repair which has also been stated.

coylemj wrote: »
    Don't be so quick to blame the sorting machines..... Virtually every letter that arrives in my letterbox shows signs that someone has tried to peel the flap away to see what's inside. I informed An Post but they didn't want to know.
    The letter was torn down the middle from top to bottom so i don't think it was done by a sorter trying to sneak a peak unless Stevie Wonder is now working for An Post.
    Also its fairly obvious what's in the envelope without opening it from what's on the outside of the envelope

amiable wrote: »
    It was the Disc as stated earlier in the thread and its torn in such a way as that its beyond repair which has also been stated.

I don't see where you said disc? Also beyond repair would mean shreaded IMO, if it's a clean tear then it's fixable.

The envelope itself was torn in half but arrived in a plastic An Post see through sealed envelope

Very inconvenient imo.
    jaffa20 wrote: »
    Get on to the motor tax office

Good advice, 'as stated earlier in the thread':p

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

I don't see where you said disc? Also beyond repair would mean shreaded IMO, if it's a clean tear then it's fixable.

Good advice, 'as stated earlier in the thread':p
    Stop trying to be clever. It doesn't suit you.

The cert is a disc.

Disc/cert was torn in such a way through the middle that the info on it can't be read.

PS brains, i never asked for advice. I asked had this asked to anyone else.
    Please keep up. It would help if you stopped trying to be a smart arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

get a piece of paper and glue the pieces of the tax disc onto it with a bit of pritt stick.

don't worry about the info too much. sure you'll get a new one in a year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Stop trying to be clever. It doesn't suit you.

The cert is a disc.

Disc/cert was torn in such a way through the middle that the info on it can't be read.

PS brains, i never asked for advice. I asked had this asked to anyone else.

I think you are being a bit short with them. Your OP does NOT state disc, it says cert. I would assume this to be the tax renewal letter.

Also who is Brains, and why are you being so smartarsey to him?

The cert is a disc.
    Please keep up.

Ok, if you insist, there is no such thing as a tax certificate for motor tax in this country. It's officially a vehicle licence, but commonly refered to as a tax disc by everybody, including the goverment. Maybe it's called a cert in Vladivostok?

Anyway, to anwser your question, no it hasn't happened to me.

Ok, if you insist, there is no such thing as a tax certificate for motor tax in this country. It's officially a vehicle licence, but commonly refered to as a tax disc by everybody, including the goverment. Maybe it's called a cert in Vladivostok?

Anyway, to anwser your question, no it hasn't happened to me.
    Did i state the tax disc was for Vladivostok?

If you knew what i was talking about no need to be a smart arse.
    It proves nothing except that you are a smart arse.

Most other posters knew what i was posting.
    Not my fault you were looking to come across as a smart arse and came across dimly by not replying to the question asked.

PS, what's a renewal cert? Just playing your game:)
    A cerificate of renewal?

duty_calls.png

jaffa20 wrote: »
    duty_calls.png
    Well seedless its 11.30 and too early for bed for me but don't you look great now:D
    Bet you were waiting for ages to post that pic as someone else posted that towards you.
    Go show your Mammy how clever you are

Buffman has time to thank a post but not to admit he/she was wrong.
    Imagine that

It think this is desending into an After Hours thead.

Anyway, I know you didn't ask for advice, but I'm gonna give it anyway and leave it at that.:P

Maybe try and get the €6 back of An Post.
    If you require a replacement document for any of the following, Form RF134 must be completed and witnessed by a member of the Garda Siochana at a Garda station and presented or posted with the appropriate fee to your Motor Tax Office (pdf, 34kb)
    • Registration book - Replacement Fee 12 euro
    • RF 101 Vehicle Licensing Certificate /Registration Certificate - Replacement Fee 12 euro
    • Tax Disc - Replacement Fee 6 euro
    • Trailer licence 6 euro
    • Certificate of Roadworthiness (light and heavy) 7 euro
    Cheques should be made payable to your local County or City Council.

Well seedless its 11.30 and too early for bed for me but don't you look great now:D
    Bet you were waiting for ages to post that pic as someone else posted that towards you.
    Go show your Mammy how clever you are

Who the hell is seedless? Where are all these other posters that I can't see coming from? :confused:

ottostreet wrote: »
    Who the hell is seedless? Where are all these other posters that I can't see coming from? :confused:
    The person i quoted i'd imagine

Where are all these other posters that I can't see coming from? :confused:

Vladivostok?:D

It think this is desending into an After Hours thead.

Anyway, I know you didn't ask for advice, but I'm gonna give it anyway and leave it at that.:P

Maybe try and get the €6 back of An Post.
    Because you have been proved wrong you decide its an after hours thread

You are right. I didn't ask for advice

The person i quoted i'd imagine

His name is jaffa20 not 'seedless'. And no disrespect intended to you, but I think it is you who has had the attitude right from the start in this thread.

Vladivostok?:D
    Avoid the points made proving you were wrong
    Well done

His name is jaffa20 not 'seedless'. And no disrespect intended to you, but I think it is you who has had the attitude right from the start in this thread.
    No disrespect to you intended either but what is a Jaffa?

It's an ancient port city in Israel, believed to be one of the oldest in the world, according to Wikipedia. Well, that's one thing I've learned from this thread.

Oh feck it we're onto a real winner hear lads :)

It's an ancient port city in Israel, believed to be one of the oldest in the world, according to Wikipedia. Well, that's one thing I've learned from this thread.
    So A Jaffa is a city. Need help with the English Language now?
    Google is your friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,371 ✭✭✭Homer

OP, for somebody with as many posts as you have on boards your behaviour in this thread is bizarre and childish IMO regardless of where you're from!

I didn't even know that! The shame:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

i never asked for advice. I asked had this asked to anyone else.
    Youre really living up to your name in this thread,

Because you have been proved wrong you decide its an after hours thread

Hmm, proved wrong. Where?

Very inconvenient imo.

From my reading of your OP I was undecided as to what you were refering, the disc or the computer printed RF100B renewal form with online PIN. Your OP was unclear, so I asked.
    You are right.

Thanks for admiting I'm right.

So A Jaffa is a city. Need help with the English Language now?
    Google is your friend

A Jaffa is a city? No, the name is the city is Jaffa apparently.

If you are referring to a 'jaffa' that means an impotent man, I apologise, I wouldn't be quite as down with the kids as yourself. However, if this is the jaffa that you are referring to, then I can only assume that is personal abuse towards jaffa20, and such a post would have to be reported.

Are you calling jaffa20 an ancient sea port, or an impotent man?

A Jaffa is a city? No, the name is the city is Jaffa apparently.

If you are referring to a 'jaffa' that means an impotent man, I apologise, I wouldn't be quite as down with the kids as yourself. However, if this is the jaffa that you are referring to, then I can only assume that is personal abuse towards jaffa20, and such a post would have to be reported.

Are you calling jaffa20 an ancient sea port, or an impotent man?
    If you have a problem with my posts mr mod report them.
    However i think you'll find that back seat moderating a thread like you seem to be doing can be reported too
    Feel free:D

Youre really living up to your name in this thread,
    How original. I've never heard that before.
    How many thanks were you hoping for in that post?

Any stargate fans? I tought this was A Jaffa.:D

Jaffa_Armor.jpg

Homer wrote: »
    OP, for somebody with as many posts as you have on boards your behaviour in this thread is bizarre and childish IMO regardless of where you're from!
    Where am i from?

If you have a problem with my posts mr mod report them.
    However i think you'll find that back seat moderating a thread like you seem to be doing can be reported too
    Feel free:D

I don't see where any back seat modding has occured? I'm merely enquiring as to what you were calling jaffa20, as calling him an ancient port city in Israel really would be a little baffling?

And as a mod you can do that?

No, as a casual observer. I don't know why I'd have to be a mod to enquire as to what you are saying in an open public thread?

Oh my. As a ''casual observer'' you are so interested.
    Very good

Imo you are trying to take the high moral ground

If you have a problem with my posts report them.

If i feel you are back seat moderating the forum i will too:)

I thought you'd only find this sort of pedantry in the atheism & agnosticism forum. Fecking hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

OP , please tell me your drunk, the users of boards have been nothing but helpful and youve dragged your own thread off topic and picked fights with everyone for no reason

Oh my. As a ''casual observer'' you are so interested.
    Very good

Imo you are trying to take the high moral ground

If you have a problem with my posts report them.

If i feel you are back seat moderating the forum i will too:)

I am very interested. I hate to see people try to help an OP, who then gets uppity with them for no real reason at all.

I would encourage you to report away, if I am back seat modding (which I don't see how, as I don't see myself issuing any instructions, warnings or censure), I'm sure the mods will be along to warn me.

I just think it funny that you derailed your own thread by basically getting smart with someone for not being sure what form you meant.

I am very interested. I hate to see people try to help an OP, who then gets uppity with them for no real reason at all.

I would encourage you to report away, if I am back seat modding (which I don't see how, as I don't see myself issuing any instructions, warnings or censure), I'm sure the mods will be along to warn me.

I just think it funny that you derailed your own thread by basically getting smart with someone for not being sure what form you meant.

Where did I ask for help? You really are on a roll. It helps if you read the opening post

I read it, and I'm assuming this is what you were waiting for: You're right!

However, that may have been crystal clear to you, but it was not clear to me, or to other posters evidently. 99% of posts on the forum are looking for help and advice. I personally wouldn't have interpreted this thread as being a 'let's all tell stories about the day we received our motor tax certs in the post and they were ripped' thread. It's an oddly specific event to be looking for stories about it, without some element of advice being given. And to start showing attitude to the posters who did attempt to 'help' you, in my opinion, is very bad form.

Again though, you are right!

I read it, and I'm assuming this is what you were waiting for: You're right!

However, that may have been crystal clear to you, but it was not clear to me, or to other posters evidently. 99% of posts on the forum are looking for help and advice. I personally wouldn't have interpreted this thread as being a 'let's all tell stories about the day we received our motor tax certs in the post and they were ripped' thread. It's an oddly specific event to be looking for stories about it, without some element of advice being given. And to start showing attitude to the posters who did attempt to 'help' you, in my opinion, is very bad form.

Again though, you are right!

To be honest I couldnt care less as you didnt read the op initially

Out of interest, what kind of thread were ya going for? One which was full of replies such as

'Yes'.
    'This has happened me also'.
    'One day, I got my motor tax cert, and it was ripped'.

:confused::confused::confused:

what is a Jaffa?

jaffacake1.gif