Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming with a mother of a hangover

• 25-04-2011 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭

up this morning miking at six dying and depressed after a serious session, no mood to do anything, drinking and farming, can it be done????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

No, not well. Things don't get done, work starts to slide, mistakes are made, deadlines missed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

In the short term, yes. :D

Long term (and on a slightly more serious note), many's the farm has been pegged across a bar counter :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

was dyin last year up in the morning getting the cows with the jeep, and fell asleep , milkman went mad waiting for the cows comming up!, propably should be on the AA thread:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

think you are better off outside than inside , have a big cup of tea and all will be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

kevthegaff wrote: »
    up this morning miking at six dying and depressed after a serious session, no mood to do anything, drinking and farming, can it be done????
    Of course it can. If you dont mind missing cows with mastitis, missing cows bulling, cows sick and taking short cuts.

One or two days a week when you are young may be alright but long term, would you let someone like you milk your cows for you?;)

Edit. Just realised im starting to show my age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

whelan1 wrote: »
    think you are better off outside than inside , have a big cup of tea and all will be grand

got up this morning-drank a bottle of cava last night-not normally a wine drinker-head was thumping

shaved all the cows tails as they came out of the parlour-had a man coming 2look at some milking heifers

sweat p***ed out of me but feel great now. far better to get on with the work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

750ml bottle of lucozade sport(non-fizzy one) i find works a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I remember once many years ago the drinking went on at the house after the pub when I told the party of friends that id be back in about an hour
    They had a great laugh at me outside the window staggering around the field at
    7.30 in the morning bringing in the cows to be milked
    No hangover that morning still pissed if I wasnt working for myself I should be fired.Not something Id recomend just remember cows have to be milked and jobs have to be done.

had a lad milking for me one morning - as i had been out the night before... i went out to the dairy to find him asleep at the wash trough with the milking machine on , he was in a very badly hungover state , so if you are getting someone to milk instead of you maybe check that they are not going on the lash too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

750ml bottle of lucozade sport(non-fizzy one) i find works a treat.

"Diabetes in a bottle" is how people with a medical background refer to any type of lucozade. Just look at the label for its contents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Well, only time i have it is when i'm after drinking. Maybe 1 bottle a few weeks!!, know some lads who drink it daily..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Hangovers can be worked through, problem is checking the cows after getting the taxi man to leave you at the shed (still in dress and heels) and there's a cow calving. If anyone had to see me pulling a calf in my full going out gear and half pished!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

work,its the curse of the drinking classes!
    get up,milk ,go back to bed,its the only cure.

i broke my ankle checking the cows on the way back from pub about 12 years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Karen112 wrote: »
    Hangovers can be worked through, problem is checking the cows after getting the taxi man to leave you at the shed (still in dress and heels) and there's a cow calving. If anyone had to see me pulling a calf in my full going out gear and half pished!
    I always put on the welllies but leave the dress on if i am in a hurry:p

Ha! I always do it if a cow is near to calving. Mr Taxi man, I want to get out at the shed (cue the usual ...the wha? Are ya mad?) No no no I'm not mad, the cow is near calving.....The amount of concerned taxi drivers that have been bewildered watching me singing while walking down the lane to the shed.
    Heels also get stuck in slats :(

pulled a calf one night rotten, when the auld lad checked them in the morning, the calf had the ropes still on!

That's given me the best laugh I've had in a while! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

its the worst feeling in the world having to get up to do the milking hungover but going back to bed is the best feeling EVER when its done :D...joys of being your own boss :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

not a hangover, but a bloody tummy bug this morning, go to about 10 this morning when the puking started, finished up and left the father to the herding, bed for the day really took hold then, draged my self out for evening milking at 3, man that was tough, its been one st**y day.

secret to milking cows the morning after is(was i my case) stay out till about 5ish, do the milking when you come in and sleep till evening milking, and hope the cows went to the right field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Micheal H

Had to bale a 20 acre field of haylage one Sunday a few years back. Got about 4 hours sleep after a heavy nights drinking the night before, so the hangover was just kicking in. 25 degrees with no air-con and facing into this field almost made me cry. After a few hours I'd run out of water to drink and could barely keep my eyes open. Nodded off a couple of times, only to be waken by the buzzer telling me the baler was full. Never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

kev iv got it milking once a day would solve all your probs:D:D

dar31 wrote: »
    not a hangover, but a bloody tummy bug this morning, go to about 10 this morning when the puking started, finished up and left the father to the herding, bed for the day really took hold then, draged my self out for evening milking at 3, man that was tough, its been one st**y day.

secret to milking cows the morning after is(was i my case) stay out till about 5ish, do the milking when you come in and sleep till evening milking, and hope the cows went to the right field
    think i had that bug a few weeks ago... it was terrible , takes alot to make me go to the sick bed, still had pains for a few days after

keep going wrote: »
    kev iv got it milking once a day would solve all your probs:D:D

i might look into it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭farmerjohn

quality :D

love friday evenings when i dont have to milk saturday morning... have a glass of wine in my hand ... happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭vcsggl

The two - drinking and farming - used to go together very well! I remember my great uncle Georgie telling how he walked into town for the Fair Day - about 6 miles, drank 18 bottles of stout, walked home for the evening milking and then headed back to town to make a night of it!

I do remember well an old chap on a neighbouring farm who whenever he met a newcomer would ask them to look down his throat and tell him what they saw - not a whole lot was the usual reply - well I'll tell you, there are 3 farms of land down there, he'd say, can you not see them! The same old fella used to enthuse about the white lines they put down the middle of the main road - great for guiding you safely home when walking back from Clones!

There is of course a down-side to the drink - another neighbour set off to town with his wife - they were both very fond of a drink! - in the pony and trap. They took the baby boy with them and on the way home turned the trap over, they eventually righted the trap and went on home. After a while Mrs
    asked " where's the baa?" The baa was found later reasonably safe and well in the hedge bottom. He paid a price for being introduced to the drink - his mother used to put a "wee drop of whiskey" into his bottle to help him sleep! When he was about 67 he was found dead under the tractor one February morning - he'd been into town for a few drinks and on the way home turned the tractor over at more or less the same spot that his parents had turned over the trap.

Those were the good old days!!!

George

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Out til 5am lastnight

Went feeding today and everything seemed to take ages...no pep in me at all ;-(

Only about right now... Went for a run, gym and sauna

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

I am only currently just about recovered from last night now.

Happily I'm not at home or I would have actually died full on dead.

When moving cattle when hungover, a single bullock will ALWAYS turn heel and belt back down the field when they're all up at the gate. The running, the stomach + headache = disaster. ugh.

*sits in corner rocking back and forth mumbling at the memories*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

was out st night and a mad session was had, stayed out til half 4, ws up milking at half 6, was absolutely steamed, long story short had to get the father up to help I was that legless it wasn't safe milking on my own where antibiotic milk is involved, only coming right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

gadetra wrote: »
    When moving cattle when hungover, a single bullock will ALWAYS turn heel and belt back down the field when they're all up at the gate. The running, the stomach + headache = disaster. ugh.

Ignore him, he's only looking for attention. Leave the gate open, by the time the rest are out the gap he'll be at your heels wanting to follow them.

That only happens if you're not hungover. Whilst fighting with the direction of the contents of the stomach, he brings a couple of his friends with him-then it's mutiny! I have seen stars and the ground disappear whilst moving cattle whilst 'tired and emotional'. I think the fact that I didn't fall over makes that some kind of superpower right? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I must be the only farmer in Ireland not to get a hangover.
    I've drank my fair share of whiskey and i would always be clear headed to milk.

You must be under 25. You can say goodbye to the clear head the morning after the mid twenties :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

"Your fair share" ain't enough. Ya want to do the dog on it altogether that you're not right for days. Start mixing the whiskey with something like rum and pernod. That'll sort ya out.

I was on the beer for a straight week last year in college I was very tired, slept for a whole day after but no hang over.
    Drank a 1l one evening in about 4-5 hrs. Sick as a dog next morn but no hangover

I was on the beer for a straight week last year in college I was very tired, slept for a whole day after but no hang over.
    Drank a 1l one evening in about 4-5 hrs. Sick as a dog next morn but no hangover

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9YtbgyV1wY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Same as that I never get a headache or anything just get really tired, if I do the dog on it I get the sick stomach but only for drink can still eat tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭visatorro

I used to get up no bother and work away. Sweat it outta me. I'm 29 now and I'm not able to do anything after a nights drink. Just have no energy at all. Getting old I'm afraid

visatorro wrote: »
    I used to get up no bother and work away. Sweat it outta me. I'm 29 now and I'm not able to do anything after a nights drink. Just have no energy at all. Getting old I'm afraid

It's a terrible realization ain't it

Ya if im goin on the ratte i get a lad in for the following day otherwise only a few pints. I just have no go in me even tho i mightnt be that sick. Dairy farming and drink dont mix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Ya if im goin on the ratte i get a lad in for the following day otherwise only a few pints. I just have no go in me even tho i mightnt be that sick. Dairy farming and drink dont mix

I think when you get into your 30's takes body longer to recover than when you are young

I used to work 7 days a week in UK sometimes 2 hours sleep was the max but I'd be 2 days getting over that now

Bodacious wrote: »
    I think when you get into your 30's takes body longer to recover than when you are young

I used to work 7 days a week in UK sometimes 2 hours sleep was the max but I'd be 2 days getting over that now

Same as that after a 24 hr duty. Straight home and work not a bother. Nowadays I still work the day after only at a slower pace and less interest :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Bodacious wrote: »

Haven't hit the 30s yet, but have heard this "can't handle hangovers like we use to back in the day" etc from many friends. I think alot of it is just nostalgia ha, we just tend to forget about the serious hangovers back in the day, and remember the day that we were lucky enough not to have a serious hangover after a night dogging it. I think its more to do with just in general having more commitments/responsibility when you get older, you tend to drink less, or at least binge much less, so have less tolerance for bad hangovers. Maybe also its just your outlook as well ha, when your in your a teen/early 20s having a hangover is seen as part of the trill etc, whereas when you get older it just becomes a big inconvenience when you have responsibilities the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Sick as a dog next morn but no hangover

That's what a hangover is!!!

I'd consider a Hong over a headache not an upset tummy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

if that'd the definition of hangover then half the country don't get hangovers! :D

Well everyone I know suffers from a headache afterwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Paying to get sick and losing a day or three put me of drink!

Reggie. wrote: »
    Well everyone I know suffers from a headache afterwards

Think I've had one headache my entire life. I just never get them:eek:
    Lucky me I suppose.

If I went on a session, I'd be physically sick as a dog for a couple of days. Also have low blood pressure so I'm prone to just being as weak as a kitten due to not being able to eat then! I think I will just stop entirely soon.