Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Companion needed for Tour of Ireland

• 25-04-2011 9:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

I am looking for a companion for a tour of Ireland. It will take about 30-35 days. Camping most days with some rest days in B&B/ hostels. I plan on going at the start of June. The tour will mostly stay along the coast.

So if your interested feel free to drop me a line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

where do you intend to start from,
    how many miles a day do you see yourself doing,
    what kind of speed,
    are you easy to get along with:D
    are you a good cook:P
    what age group are you;)
    to be honest this is something i would love to try,( i do tour btw )
    i don't really like solo touring like a bit of company and the craic ,i'm not a drinker but i do like a pint at the end of the day.i'm a crap cook as long as you know.
    money is not to plentyful out of work like most others:rolleyes:
    i could not go for 30 days mind you the wife would kill me besides i couldn't afford it .anyway if you think i come up to your standards pm me .
    see if we can come up with a plan.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Chazziemann

Thanks for your reply, I haven't planned the trip in fine detail as i prefer not to have strict plans, as you know the best of plans are hard to stick to. but i have looked at the map a few times and have a fair idea of the route, the rest we could plan on the way!!.

So id say 60 to 80km a day, maybe 100 on a good day. As for speed sure a nice medium relaxed speed just enough to enjoy the cycle. Ya id say i am easy to get along with, don't drink either, pretty handy at cooking, love cooking out doors to be honest. The food tastes better for some reason. I am 34 out of work as well and like you money is in short supply.

Sure if you wanted too you could cycle part of the tour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

sounds good will you let me know when you have a route planned
    i live in drogheda btw, the distance sounds good to me .
    i could probably do 7 or 8 days with you providing you don't kill me by day two:D
    anyway can't talk just now sorry ,let me know your thoughts on route at least that would be a start.
    cheers
    anto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

You might get people to accompany you for legs of the journey if you keep us informed of your current location.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

If I had more time to prepare (mostly just to get time off work) I'd go with you. It would help me plan my running tour of Ireland. :pac:

You might get people to accompany you for legs of the journey if you keep us informed of your current location.

Thats a good idea, will keep it in mind, thanks..

sounds good will you let me know when you have a route planned
    i live in drogheda btw, the distance sounds good to me .
    i could probably do 7 or 8 days with you providing you don't kill me by day two:D
    anyway can't talk just now sorry ,let me know your thoughts on route at least that would be a start.
    cheers
    anto.

Thats great.... ill let you know more soon,,