Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iphone - Anyone using Agrinet or Kingswood on it?

• 25-04-2011 8:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭

Anyone using these on the iphone4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

don't think you can use iphone for the farm software. You need a windows mobile operating device (pda or a pda mobile phone)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭castletrader

Was talking to someone from agrinet last week about the very same thing.He said that maybe in the summer they might be able to bring out a web based package for your farm software and will be able to use iphones , android and windows 7 phones.Their software only works on windows 6.5 or less at the moment which is a few years behind the times at this stage,Its nearly easier to have a notebook and pen to write down things during the day and enter on the computer at night then.If the web based package comes out you should be able to register calves from the phone instead of going to the pc all the time, would make thing easier then.We will have to wait and see i suppose.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

use logmein to access the farm computer. i use it on an ipad. works a treat, can make changes to every thing on the ifc program on farm computer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

dar31 wrote: »
    use logmein to access the farm computer. i use it on an ipad. works a treat, can make changes to every thing on the ifc program on farm computer

I'm interested to hear more on this. With logmein from what I understand of it after a quick look at their website, you can access your PC from your smartphone. Does this mean you can input data onto Agrinet/ Kingswood on your PC through your smartphone?

Forgive my ignorance, but the "ifc program" - what's this?

just do it wrote: »
    I'm interested to hear more on this. With logmein from what I understand of it after a quick look at their website, you can access your PC from your smartphone. Does this mean you can input data onto Agrinet/ Kingswood on your PC through your smartphone?

Forgive my ignorance, but the "ifc program" - what's this?

ya no problem entering data. basically you have full control of the computer.

ifc- irish farm computers- agrinet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Caher

At last! I thought I was the only one wanting to record on the go. It would be great if there was a way you could do the lot on iphone/android - register calves, animal remedies, heat/service/ai, grass budgeting and receive reminders such as when repeat heats are due or a repeat dose is due or when a withdrawal period expires - what do ye think? Is there anything out there that can allow you to do this on the go and dispense with both the notebook and pc? Do any of you guys think this is a good idea or am I mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭castletrader

Thats a great idea allright.Hope the software companies look at these threads.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

just got a smartfone,any more news on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭JOAT

I'm going getting an iPhone soon and said i'd email agrinet about their product. Apparently in the next 2 months they hope to bring out something like an app that can be installed on the iphone to enter data on the go around the farm. He was saying they launched it at the ploughing this year but i missed them. Was anyone here talking to them about it at the ploughing? What other info were they giving out? The lad i have emailed a few times seems a bit shy with words!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

JOAT wrote: »
    I'm going getting an iPhone soon and said i'd email agrinet about their product. Apparently in the next 2 months they hope to bring out something like an app that can be installed on the iphone to enter data on the go around the farm. He was saying they launched it at the ploughing this year but i missed them. Was anyone here talking to them about it at the ploughing? What other info were they giving out? The lad i have emailed a few times seems a bit shy with words!! :rolleyes:
    Gavin @agrinet should tell you what you need to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Lofty0990

Kingswood have apps for calf reg ,breeding events and beta version just out for animal remedies on windows phones ,seem to be putting a lot of work into them.

At the time I opened this thread in April last year I rang the two companies ahd they were developing mobile versions for release soon (within a few months). By the sounds of things they're not much further along:rolleyes:

See above !

Lofty0990 wrote: »

See above !
    Agrinet 2months, I heard that 18m ago. Kingwood apps on windows phones. Hence my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Which phones are windows ? I have a samsung galaxy I must search for the kingswood app if its there
    I started using Kingswood a couple of months ago but Im not over fussed with it yet . I think someone on here said that a spread sheet can hold the same type of info and maybe they are right .
    I have my first calf to register with it over the weekend ,hopefully it will go right for me :D

Agrinet 2months, I heard that 18m ago. Kingwood apps on windows phones. Hence my post.

Point taken, in my case dealing with Kingswood a long time,so bought the "smart " phone to fit the farm if you know what I mean .

Being a Dinosaur have a windows pc rather than anything else so it makes sense to go Windows phone (in my case Nokia Lumia 800 and trust me it aint too sexy looking ) .On it at the mo are apps for calf reg ,animal remidies, and breeding events. There is also a grass budgeting thingy!

Just putting it out there.

Being a Dinosaur have a windows pc rather than anything else so it makes sense to go Windows phone (in my case Nokia Lumia 800 and trust me it aint too sexy looking ) .On it at the mo are apps for calf reg ,animal remidies, and breeding events. There is also a grass budgeting thingy!
    How is it as a phone? I've a fancy dan smartphone (samsung galaxy s2) but it's s**t as a phone. I end up using my bog standard nokia work phone for calls!

moy83 wrote: »
    Which phones are windows ? I have a samsung galaxy
    nokia phones. They've done a deal with microsoft but both companies are late to the smartphone market and are having trouble getting market penetration.

how do you find the galaxy for calls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Im very happy with it . Its my first smart phone , have it well over a year now and its taken as much hardship as any nokia I ever had . I think the fact that it has no buttons to let dust through has added a few more months to its life .

How is it as a phone? I've a fancy dan smartphone (samsung galaxy s2) but it's s**t as a phone. I end up using my bog standard nokia work phone for calls!
    Its grand as a smart phone probaly heavier than a htc ,samsung . As probally said else where it wouldnt have as many apps as an apple but is catching up all the time . It picks up the houses wireless from milking parlour door and uses it when it can do so rather than my allowance on phone plan

Txts are shown in thread form to each person you send or recieve one from historically - a good data source ie all creamery test results for the last months "swipeable" up and down screen. the future plan is to work on ip calving camera wireless to house router and viewable from anywhere at no extra phone charge (Rock on Santy:rolleyes:).

The things it is used most for on line appart from breeding events etc are checking met eireann mobile site and several other weather radars ,checking email and fav Spurs web site while following cows up the road. Oh and Tesco does very fast wireless when shopping (cough) with her indoors;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 09898531

Point taken, in my case dealing with Kingswood a long time,so bought the "smart " phone to fit the farm if you know what I mean .

Just putting it out there.

Are you using the ProGrass and ProBreeding apps by that Irish company? What do you think of them? Got both o them but only got to use the ProBreeding one yet. Fairly handy but could do with a few changes. Push notifications for repeats and breeding summary in chronological order would be a big help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

does anyone use their head anymore? :p

09898531 wrote: »
    Are you using the ProGrass and ProBreeding apps by that Irish company? What do you think of them? Got both o them but only got to use the ProBreeding one yet. Fairly handy but could do with a few changes. Push notifications for repeats and breeding summary in chronological order would be a big help.

used the pro grass for a short while.
    thought it would be good to get farm covers when finished measuring, and then enter data to arginet for my budgets.
    it would be great if it linked to bigger grass budgeting program, as an app it dosent provide enough information, and to leads to double entering data.

thing ill stick to pencil and paper and agrinet

talked to ifc at the ploughing
    said they had planned a web app for earlier in the year, but as they got into it, they realised it would only be a half measure, and postponed in favor of a more comprehensive web based program, covering agrinet, herdmaster, and acc program,
    the sales pitch sounded impressive, but if they dont get it released by early spring, people will be annoyed as they have been promising something for the last 2 years now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 09898531

dar31 wrote: »

used the pro grass for a short while.
    thought it would be good to get farm covers when finished measuring, and then enter data to arginet for my budgets.
    it would be great if it linked to bigger grass budgeting program, as an app it dosent provide enough information, and to leads to double entering data.

thing ill stick to pencil and paper and agrinet

What other information do you think it needs? Had a look under the field manager there and it looks fairly comprehensive. On a related note, do you know any GPS area measurement apps? I got AgriGPS but it isn't working properly.

09898531 wrote: »
    What other information do you think it needs? Had a look under the field manager there and it looks fairly comprehensive. On a related note, do you know any GPS area measurement apps? I got AgriGPS but it isn't working properly.

map measure is great, got the pro version after only a week using free version.

grass pro is pretty good, but dosent suit what i am doing.
    would be great for some one starting grass measuring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 bredunl

Has there been any further update on this topic? I'm an IT student and have to do a project abd was thinking of developing an app for recording nmedications given to animals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

bredunl wrote: »
    Has there been any further update on this topic? I'm an IT student and have to do a project abd was thinking of developing an app for recording nmedications given to animals?

Agrinet now have an app with all farm info at your fingertips and it enables you record all animal data including Ai, calving and any medication administered.
    Think kingswood have same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭i_steal_sheep

C4d78 wrote: »
    Agrinet now have an app with all farm info at your fingertips and it enables you record all animal data including Ai, calving and any medication administered.
    Think kingswood have same.

Kingswood want €150 for the app. Sounds a lot to me having been a customer for a long, long time.