Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you witnessed an assault or a row,would you step in?

• 25-04-2011 12:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

If you saw someone getting into a vicious argument and getting the bejaysus beat out of them,would you step in?,have you personal experience from this?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Why do you ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

only if i could get someone to hold my camcorder for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Yes, If I could not help then I would get help for the injured party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

The greater good should always be stood up for so long as you're not nominating yourself to get beaten as badly as the other kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Help if i could or seek help if i wasnt able to do it on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Got knocked out cold when I tried to stop a scumbag from hitting his girlfriend outside Dorans in Temple Bar a few years ago,had a concussion for a week or so after too!

If it's just two guys fighting I'd let them have at it,if it was a group of lads/ladies on just one person I'd call the guards,like I had to do last Thursday night when a crowd of lads jumped on some random guy on Cathal Brugha Street.

Oh i see how it is now so...yes, yes i would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Yes, and I have several times. And yes a couple of times I got a kicking for my troubles. To be blunt scrapes and bruises hurt a lot less and for a shorter period of time than the guilt of walking away would for me. I did walk away once when I was 16. I heard afterwards the guy ended up permanently brain damaged. Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭tororosso

If you saw someone getting into a vicious argument and getting the bejaysus beat out of them,would you step in?,have you personal experience from this?.

Yeah, but partly because I would get so angry because I got the sh@t kicked out me a good few years ago so it pi@@es me right off. A fight is one thing when people are trading blows, but when somebody is lying prone on the ground receiving a beating they need your help.

It is easier said than done though. If there were 2-3 sc:mbags at it you are best calling the Gardaí and seeing if anybody else is around to try to get the sc:mbags to leave the scene...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I would try help myself in most cases, but if it was too dangerous I would try to get help.

strobe wrote: »
    Yes, and I have several times. And yes a couple of times I got a kicking for my troubles. To be blunt scrapes and bruises hurt a lot less and for a shorter period of time than the guilt of walking away would for me. I did walk away once when I was 16. I heard afterwards the guy ended up permanently brain damaged. Never again.

Give over will ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

It all depends. If i am on my own, or with a friend who can handle himself then yes. If i am with my girlfriend then she comes first and i won't start or become involved in anything which might end up with her getting injured.

Sorry strangers.

I've gotten involved in stuff in the past and 50% of the time it was broken up and the other 50% of the time i just ended up fighting to defend myself.

Classic case in point was at a gig i was playing in a club in Dublin, went outside for a smoke after my set and there was a big row happening on the street...was happy enough to not get involved as the numbers were even and it was mostly pussy slaps being thrown so very little risk of injury. All of a sudden this braveheart decided to launch a kick into this poor lasses face and that was it, i had to move in and sort that **** out. So that was something I initially decided didn't need intervention becoming something i found it impossible to stay out of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Depends how bad a beating they're getting. If its to the point that they cant defend themselves, yes I'd like to think I would. Done it before and got the head bust off me but ya dont feel it at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Was on the Luas recently and some hammered guy was getting a bit of a beating of another hammered guy, I honestly took out my phone and start recording it - super brave me i know but i aint gonna get a smack cause 2 idiots are drunk - if it was an unprovoked beating or a girl getting a slap i'd probably stand it!

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Give over will ya

Come again?

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Was on the Luas recently and some hammered guy was getting a bit of a beating of another hammered guy, I honestly took out my phone and start recording it - super brave me i know but i aint gonna get a smack cause 2 idiots are drunk - if it was an unprovoked beating or a girl getting a slap i'd probably stand it!

Why did you record it? Just have a black sense of humour or figured you could pass the video on the cops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Menapians

i have but will never do again as i tried to help a lad who was getting a severe beating only to get stabbed myself and have your lad run off

strobe wrote: »
    Come again?

you're demanding arent ya

Yes? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Im 19 so they'd probably be around my age so no :eek:

If they were about 14 and it was like knacker kids attacking a normal or "goth" kid as ye'd say(a stereotypical bastards :p) then I would but not older then that as they'd be too big.When Im older sure but now I'd just die :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Yes, always.

I remember coming back from a Championship match on the train between Meath and Kildare, I was about 15. Meath won, so we were all celebrating, most of the kildare lads were pretty sound but ofcourse there were a minority of dickheads/sore losers.

We were having the craic with 2 polish fellas anyway who could barely speak english, we got them singing "come on you boys in green"..

Anyway, outside Leixlip, the 2 lads got off. 5 Scummy kildare cnuts jumped off and started absolutely battering the 2 foreigners. All of my older mates (in their 20s) stood there as me and a few other kildare lads jumped off to help them. Got a slap or two, didn't really make much of a difference as I was only a young lad trying constrain adults, but I felt better about it than all of my chicken **** mates who stood there and watched.

Point is - in most cases it's always best to help. I'd like to think if something happened to a friend/sibling, a stranger would have the balls to lend a hand.

Seloth wrote: »
    Im 19 so they'd probably be around my age so no :eek:

If they were about 14 and it was like knacker kids attacking a normal or "goth" kid as ye'd say(a stereotypical bastards :p) then I would but not older then that as they'd be too big.When Im older sure but now I'd just die :eek:

Ha i love that you just want to fight 14 year old kids

Why did you record it? Just have a black sense of humour or figured you could pass the video on the cops?

Entertainment reasons

Easy wins are the best wins.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Entertainment reasons

Bit of a dick move so to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Xplor.er

in my profession i see this every day, i always step in and seperate them until they either go there seperate ways or when the guards take over

Xplor.er wrote: »
    in my profession i see this every day, i always step in and seperate them until they either go there seperate ways or when the guards take over

How long have you been a professional hero?

just over a year now:p

Well yeah as the people said easy wins :L.
    Like Im 6'2 and they'd be at most what..low 5' somthings..Kick their arses...Cept the tall ones...They're just bastards :(

just over a year now:p

And how is it going, you busy?

Bit of a dick move so to be fair.

Indeed - i did think a lot after it that maybe i should have stepped it, both guys were really hammered and not really hurting each other is probably why i didnt

- I have stepped in between fights before just this time i didnt -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You walk down the street, I used to be a barman so walk home sober when everyone falls around Eyre Sq in Galway
    See a lad slap his girlfriend so you step in and try to cool heads.

"Ye starting on me fella??" and then the girl and the guy gang up on you

If there is a solution I do not know it (find a garda in Eyre Sq at night? lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

If I had the ould shotgun or a chainsaw handy now I'd have no bother stepping in

Seloth wrote: »
    Well yeah as the people said easy wins :L.
    Like Im 6'2 and they'd be at most what..low 5' somthings..Kick their arses...Cept the tall ones...They're just bastards :(

im 6'6 and 19st and i know from experience that the smaller ones should not be underestimated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Thats the ould Stockholm syndrome kicking in :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Jezzabelle

Would have to intervene - if not directly, then I would call the guards. Personal safety has be taken into account, especially nowadays when you have scumbags carrying knives and the like around.

So I might not go over and try break it up myself but if I saw some young lad getting his head kicked in by a gang there is no way I could just ignore it. I don't know how people can do that...I always think it, god forbid, could be my brother or boyfriend some night and I would like to think people would not just do nothing.

And how is it going, you busy?

pubs/nightclubs are very quiet at the moment so no not really, theres word a few of us could be getting laid off:(

im 6'6 and 19st and i know from experience that the smaller ones should not be underestimated

No small people are vicious...Im on about those who havent achieved their full heighyet..thus 14 year olds the snakes :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭pitbull_fanatic

unfortunatly yes. it gets me in trouble most nights i go out. i hate seeing people outnumbered so i'l always dive in. simply because i went to my first underage disco in the city when i was 14. been to local ones but first in main city. and i got me head kicked in by bout 20 fellas. wyl people jus crossed the road and walked past. i no how it feels to need help but see people walk past scared or not so never a thought in my head. i'l pull the person out but if it continues i wont back down

Anybody else smell that??

wat ya implying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 larry kehoe

You walk down the street, I used to be a barman so walk home sober when everyone falls around Eyre Sq in Galway
    See a lad slap his girlfriend so you step in and try to cool heads.

If there is a solution I do not know it (find a garda in Eyre Sq at night? lol)

i used to drive a cab and seen this loads of times, often stop the car to get the guy to calm down next thing you know she`s clawing the face off you aswell as the guy wanting to fight you...

wat ya implying?

That you live in a fantasy land and that the events in your post never happened. That is all really.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

It depends on the situation and my own view on whether or not I'd be safe.

I've jumped in before. Up for the weekend in Dublin. Saw a girl running down O'Connell St. being chased, she slipped and four or five girls started laying into her, kicking her and thumping her on the back. I put myself between the girl on the ground and the girls attacking her. Not punching them or anything, just staving them off with my reach. They disengaged enough for the girl on the ground to get up and move away, at that point the guys I was with managed to drag me off. I was extremely pissed off at them for not helping, their attitude was "It's Dublin, anything could happen" bunch of pussy culchies.

oh right!! so first off we have a funny man and second off why would i lie?? we not all cyber liars but. jus coz u are dont mean every one else is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

most of the time its hard to judge the reason behind and argument.... and thus hard to formulate a response

if it was clear that A had murdered a baby and was trying to kill B... then yes (if he looked weakish), but if A was a child molester and B was attacking him, No, its all relative to the situation and circumstance.
    but most of the time it could be any reason and who knows, maybe the person getting attacked mught deserve it in some cases.

oh right!! so first off we have a funny man and second off why would i lie?? we not all cyber liars but. jus coz u are dont mean every one else is

Well said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

I wouldn't to be honest.

Reason being is that you don't know what the source is.

I would have maybe a few years ago but have learned hard lessons from stepping into something that isn't your business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Jezzabelle

Buceph wrote: »
    I was extremely pissed off at them for not helping, their attitude was "It's Dublin, anything could happen" bunch of pussy culchies.

I have to say this attitude from some people from the country really irritates me. I don't know if its small mindedness / ignorance / snobbery or a combination of all three. And I wouldn't mind but many of the small so called rural towns are as rough as fook - the "big shmoke" hasn't a patch on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

i used to drive a cab and seen this loads of times, often stop the car to get the guy to calm down next thing you know she`s clawing the face off you aswell as the guy wanting to fight you...

your right. happens time and time again. guy and girl fighting then they turn onto the "helping" individual :rolleyes:

I think alot has to do with context. I personally think that if a two guys are going at it... leave them to it. With a couple fighting... best to leave them to it aswell. It would be a different story if the girl is curled up in a ball on the ground and her bloke is kicking her.