Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crimecall 10.15 Tuesday RTE1

• 24-04-2011 5:32pm

....... featuring a piece on the crackdown on modified cars :)

Might be worth a look, Xccelerate on TV3 though at 10.30pm, decisions decisions :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Crimecall it is......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

RoverJames wrote: »

Might be worth a look, Xccelerate on TV3 though at 10.30pm, decisions decisions :pac:
    They must have little to be doing:rolleyes:

Would answer them better to lock up these wanker bankers and corrupt politicians that have destroyed this country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Sky +...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

They must have little to be doing:rolleyes:

Would answer them better to lock up these wanker bankers and corrupt politicians that have destroyed this country!

Thats a job for the Garda Fraud Bureau.

Traffic Corps would know **** all about the workings of a bank or politicians with their offshore accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Will this be just another rehash of the same old youtube clips that they seem to shown every other month when they are talking about cracking down on boy racer's?

I think it will be featuring the latest fad of road side exhaust noise testing and tints etc :) So should be fresh enough stuff.

Load of skangers in jap sh1t claiming to be enthusiasts :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I think it will be featuring the latest fad of road side exhaust noise testing and tints etc :) So should be fresh enough stuff.

Load of skangers in jap sh1t claiming to be enthusiasts :pac:
    All the docks and socks:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Oh god... Here we go again...

Cheers lads, you already made everything so I would park up my skyline. So now it's just putting some salt on wound?

Don't worry, it's only enthusiast of the road, your common scumbag in punt with loud exhaust still there...

Crime? Are they really being serious now? I would better love to see those tax payers money go out on protection of citizens in streets, then catching modified cars...

Oh god... Here we go again...

Cheers lads, you already made everything so I would park up my skyline. So now it's just putting some salt on wound?

Don't worry, it's only enthusiast of the road, your common scumbag in punt with loud exhaust still there...

Crime? Are they really being serious now? I would better love to see those tax payers money go out on protection of citizens in streets, then catching modified cars...
    I cant sleep because some of the spa's super loud exhausts and all that.
    I know we shouldn't tar them all with the one brush though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Seen one, you've seen 'em all. Same **** different day. etc etc etc.
    How about doing a general show on idiotic drivers instead of the usual boy racer ****e that we've seen plenty times before. Sick of it tbh.

Plug wrote: »
    I cant sleep because some of the spa's super loud exhausts and all that.
    I know we shouldn't tar them all with the one brush though.

Skylines exhaust was pretty loud on idlesbut even if you had it floored it was not that bad.

Things is I newer ever had problems with neighbours or Garda in local town. Why? Because I newer ever went over 2,5k rev while in town zone.

One thing when they catching little dip****s in 1.2 punts with bigger exhaust then my 400hp car has, but when they just take all modified cars as Nazis it makes my blood boil.

I love hOw they just clamp down on modified cars with excuse that they are unsafe and... Somehow involved with crime...just because few people heard loud exhaust.

I lived in apartment with windows going to mainstreet. I had those stupid fecking Harley drivers, huge lorries, tractors, punts with fart cannons redlining. Only few cars were performance cars, you could not even hear dump valves on them go off, I amnot even saying about loud exhaust...

But hey, it's Ireland, people love to bash anything that gives anther people fun.

Little story: fella brought me pizza once, he sow my skyline and we had a nice chat with him. He owns twincam, it costed him around 20k to build. He loves it. Next time he came in his twincam, and it was lovely. I asked him if he had any hassle from Garda? He answered same words I allways said to everybody: " officer, I better spend my money on this car then do drugs and drink my self to death mindlessly, is that such a crime?". All Garda just "pffffffff" at him and continues looking for something to get him to turn up at Garda office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

"The crackdown on modified cars"

So modification of cars is illegal then? Thats a new one for me..

Guaranteed to be the usual aul rubbish anyway. IMHO, the amount of "boy racers" (and i hate that term) has dropped in the last few years, less money to be put into cars, i would guess..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

yawn at this stage...

I'd much rather see a piece done on the huge amounts of thefts of these types of car, solely for them to be stripped and parts sold on. Huge amounts of money illegally changing hands in this country every year because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Bump McBumperson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

'Crackdown on modified cars continues'

Well done, tar all of us with the one brush, who cares if you've done it right or not. Thanks you RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

I'm staying on TV3 for Xcellerate :D

Onkle wrote: »
    'Crackdown on modified cars continues'

Well done, tar all of us with the one brush, who cares if you've done it right or not. Thanks you RTE

Damn, totally forgot about this one. Any chance to see it somewhere?

What was the theme? Same ****?

Yeah, I was thinking that maybe I heard that wrong, but it seems I didn't. Shame on RTE.

Damn, totally forgot about this one. Any chance to see it somewhere?

What was the theme? Same ****?

The segment hasn't been shown yet, I was just talking about the intro, it'll be on in the next few minutes

As for Xcellerate, I'm recording it :)

M

I'd imagine it's going to be a complete gombeen fest of the car had "a loud exhaust", "dark windows" and "highly modified" without any mention of actual figures and rules which have been broken.

M

Gardaí are muppets on this show "the family Mercedes was found burnt out", could be anything from about 1000 models that Mercedes produce, complete gobsheen reporting, lads on the show should be put out to pasture.

What a horrible piece of television

Ridiculous piece!!

Why would one put an exhaust wider than a can of beans on a car with a small engine? Fair enough a lambo or any super car, throw on a few but a piece of sh!t. The mind boggles.

Boy racers / enthusiasts (if you like) across the country will be furious. The bit I saw seemed fair enough. All they are doing is enforcing the law, same as speed checks. If car is legal all is well.

Plug wrote: »
    Why would one put an exhaust wider than a can of beans on a car with a small engine? Fair enough a lambo or any super car, throw on a few but a piece of sh!t. The mind boggles.

If I could get the same performance from a smaller/quiter pipe I'd gladly have it. As you know all my mods have been dyno proven. In saying that I use a bung for my daily driving though

I doubt plug was on about the likes of your car though :)

Probably not but I do have quite a large exhaust, in fact it's safe to say my car was by far the loudest at the dyno day, even louder than stealthy's mighty MPowered Hyundai Lantra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Unfortunately i'm not surprised at all about what was on the show tonight. In fact, I don't think it was as bad as some of the other crap that has been shown before

Boy racers / enthusiasts (if you like) across the country will be furious. The bit I saw seemed fair enough. All they are doing is enforcing the law, same as speed checks. If car is legal all is well.

It was the tone of the piece that bothered me. The guys in the video doing handbrake turns etc aren't enthusiasts yet they were referred to as enthusiasts. Whoever the idiot was launching up and down in the red DC5 for the cameras deserves a slap, he did nothing to help a community he is probably part of. The piece was aimed at the Joe Duffy brigade to say 'look we're doing something'

Now I know that young lads have brought a lot of this on themselves by tearing around housing estates at all hours, driving defective cars etc etc but there was no mention of the guys that do it right and take a lot of pride in their cars. Instead we were all tarred with the one brush

Very true, the muppets do consider themselves car enthusiasts though. Still, any one out there with legal mods who drives responsibly has nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Trouble is the Joe Duffy Brigade dont know the diffrence between lads who have a passion for thier cars and those who go around in a 1.3 Starlet with a huuuuuge exhaust tearing the gee out of them in housing estates.

I wouldnt be offended by it as i know the guys on here are into thier motors and dont act the tit, but sadly they are the minority.

Edit; i'd love to hook the white widow up to the db machine!!!

I Was VB wrote: »

Edit; i'd love to hook the white widow up to the db machine!!!

Is that the Carina ?

Its a lovely 1994 Toyota Corona Ex in tampon white.

Its getting very loud recently, diagnosis; a wanked autobox so i'm off down the mine tomorrow morning to liberate a spare one from one of the retired fleet. Should be intresting as i've never taken a gearbox out of a car before. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

I Was VB wrote: »
    Its a lovely 1994 Toyota Corona Ex in tampon white.

Its getting very loud recently, diagnosis; a wanked autobox so i'm off down the mine tomorrow morning to liberate a spare one from one of the retired fleet. Should be intresting as i've never taken a gearbox out of a car before. :pac:

Was the gear box chucking ATF onto the paintwork to complete the look.

alias no.9 wrote: »

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Haha, that made me laugh! :D