Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Ho Hum Bandit"

• 23-04-2011 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭

Is it time to get those "Free The Ho-Hum 1" placards out yet?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2011/0423/1224295312343.html
    Irishman arrested in US over 'Ho Hum Bandit' robberies

CÍAN NIHILL

POLICE IN the US have arrested an Irish immigrant whom they suspect of being the “Ho Hum Bandit” – so called for the casual manner in which he has robbed two dozen US banks.
    Adam Lynch (34) – originally from Dublin and with an address in Corte Madera, California – is accused by the FBI of committing as many as 24 robberies across the US west coast.
    He was arrested in Denver, Colorado, on Monday, and has been charged by a federal jury with one bank robbery so far.
    The name “Ho Hum Bandit” was given to the robber because of his inconspicuous and laid-back method of robbing banks.
    The robberies would usually involve simply handing the bank teller a note asking for money while telling them he had a gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

fair play to him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I guess he's facing bank charges!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Of course, we had some Ho Hum bankers, so-called for the casual way in which they managed to shit all over us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I hope the guy is one of those cool sleek robbers like in a movie rather than some random skanger...That way I can like him :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

"Mr Lynch was arrested while in FaDo’s Irish pub in Denver with his girlfriend. Staff at FaDo’s yesterday evening said Mr Lynch was a regular and was well liked by the bartenders.

“He was a really nice guy, quiet, laid back. He would come in with his girlfriend all the time; a few times a week to watch the soccer,” according to Jen McDuffie, a manager in the pub.

Mr Lynch was the owner of a dog walking business, Four Paws, in San Francisco, 15 miles from his listed home address in California."

"Mr Lynch was arrested while in FaDo’s Irish pub in Denver with his girlfriend. Staff at FaDo’s yesterday evening said Mr Lynch was a regular and was well liked by the bartenders.

“He was a really nice guy, quiet, laid back. He would come in with his girlfriend all the time; a few times a week to watch the soccer,” according to Jen McDuffie, a manager in the pub.

Mr Lynch was the owner of a dog walking business, Four Paws, in San Francisco, 15 miles from his listed home address in California."

Allegedly robbing the rich to give to the paw, if his business wasn't doing too well.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Allegedly robbing the rich to give to the paw, if his business wasn't doing too well.

Jeasus, that pun was woof!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

Just had a look for other sources on the story and found this from CBS. Article doesn't say much but I love the one comment on the page.
    This economy,or lack thereoff,is killing Americans.He was probably denied a federall job in favor of a immigrant/refugee/foriegner.Look at any post office and you wll learn.So he said ‘Suck it” if you cant join them,then rob them.More Americans are facing this reality daily.

:p

Link also has a picture of the accused Ho-hum bandit

Biggins wrote: »
    Jeasus, that pun was woof!

Yeh, I was probably barking up the wrong tree with that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Wonder was he a builder or developer at one stage :D
    The name “Ho Hum Bandit” was given to the robber because of his inconspicuous and laid-back method of robbing banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

"Those damn Paddys"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

The call of the Irish bank robber:

"Airs in the hands mother stickers, this is a fùck up!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

He was probably taking from their banks to put back into the Irish banks. Fair play, he should be recognised as an Irish hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Is it time to get those "Free The Ho-Hum 1" placards out yet?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2011/0423/1224295312343.html

....'Free the sore bum 1', if them prison stories are true....

Yeh, I was probably barking up the wrong tree with that one.
    Well it was more than cat! It was barking nuts! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Anybody else think he was going to from China or Vietnam or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Sounds like your typical laid back Man Utd fan

...except when they loose

Latchy wrote: »
    Sounds like your typical laid back Man Utd fan

...except when they loose

I wonder if he's used the laid-back expression "ah sure, it'll be grand" yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I wonder if he's used the laid-back expression "ah sure, it'll be grand" yet?
    I'm sure he has said it at least once to every American who's made his aquaintance including the counter assistant of the bank he robbed ,that's the style and failure success of the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Ah that's just cause when he's robbing the banks he's thinking of all the ho's he's going being driving around in his new hummer.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Ah that's just cause when he's robbing the banks he's thinking of all the ho's he's going being driving around in his new hummer.

If he's convicted, he won't be doing too much humming when he becomes his cell-mate's ho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Baldrick :......They say he's half way to being the new Robin Hood.
    Blackadder : Why only half way?
    Baldrick : Well he steals from the rich, but he hasn't got round to giving it to the poor yet.