Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy has his am almost cut off

• 22-04-2011 8:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭

I cant believe that someone would try and cut off another persons arm from the shoulder during a row.
    Maybe its a cultural thing...but im finding this very disturbing.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0422/northcircularroad.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

His am???? Was his pm unharmed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Ah sure it was just a bit of 'armless fun......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Voltex wrote: »
    I cant believe that someone would try and cut off another persons arm from the shoulder during a row.

Must have been a one armed bandit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

He didn't manage to get it off completely though?

Did the other bloke give him a hand. I'm sure they just needed a bit more elbow grease.

I feel so dirty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Heard this on the news earlier. I'm pretty much desensitised to reports of violence at this stage but this made me shudder a bit. Poor guy. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

What was he doing armed with a machete? Crazy bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

What was he doing armed with a machete? Crazy bastard.

on his way to his 'how to correctly use a machete class' maybe?

he clearly didn't make it....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭turnfan

He tried to walk to the hospital??
    Couldn't flag down a taxi I guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Is it me or are things just getting worse and worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

It will be the long arm of the law that will deal with this case from now on.
    Very alarming news, and hope someone will be awristed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I'd say they were aiming for the neck and mixed up horizontal and vertical (as you do)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...not cultural...its instinctive to raise the arm in defence, so when somebody is swinging a cleaver/machete, the inevitable happens. That young fella down smithfield a few weeks back nearly had his arm off for much the same reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Cultural thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭bullpost

Maybe its cultural within the armish community?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

Renn wrote: »
    Cultural thing :D
    The report happened to mention that a couple of Romanian lads were held. I was wondering if cutting off a lads entire arms or other apendages was some sort of shame punishment certain cultures like to excercise (saudis).

BTW.the lad in question is still critical...so our prayers are with him!!

for some reason I could reconcile a lad being shot quicker than some lads trying to cut off anothers fellas arm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Pity Fergus wasn't around to stop it.

The report happened to mention that a couple of Romanian lads were held. I was wondering if cutting off a lads entire arms or other apendages was some sort of shame punishment certain cultures like to excercise (saudis).

BTW.the lad in question is still critical...so our prayers are with him!!

for some reason I could reconcile a lad being shot quicker than some lads trying to cut off anothers fellas arm

Its more than likely they were going for the head and he shifted to one side.

Saudi cut off the hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

This gruesome incident merited less than a minute on the RTE1 9 o'clock news. Sign of the times, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Nodin wrote: »
    Its more than likely they were going for the head and he shifted to one side.

Saudi cut off the hands.
    I remember being told that after the 2002 World Cup the Saudi keeper had his hands cut off because he let in 8 against Germany. Surely not true? BTW that fella in the link posted earlier, punching your man in the face with the stump of his arm, is a total legend!

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    I remember being told that after the 2002 World Cup the Saudi keeper had his hands cut off because he let in 8 against Germany. Surely not true? !

Not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Them crazy armenians.

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    I remember being told that after the 2002 World Cup the Saudi keeper had his hands cut off because he let in 8 against Germany. Surely not true? BTW that fella in the link posted earlier, punching your man in the face with the stump of his arm, is a total legend!

...aye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭claire2010

AM? HA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

sure I partially self-decapitated shaving this morning :rolleyes:

Absurdum wrote: »
    sure I partially self-decapitated shaving this morning :rolleyes:
    #

...its always a risk when ye see the ugly bastard in the mirror, I find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

I'll see your severed arm and raise you with these two beauties involving severed body parts from the news lately..

Secretary Bites Off Boss’ Organ
    http://news.peacefmonline.com/social/201104/149983.php

and
    British woman bites off man’s testicles during altercation
    http://guyism.com/humor/british-woman-bites-off-mans-testicles-during-altercation.html
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tyne-13159145

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

#

...its always a risk when ye see the ugly bastard in the mirror, I find.
    that's because you're an ugly bas...oh wait I C WAT U DID THUr

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    I'll see your severed arm and raise you with these two beauties involving severed body parts from the news lately..

Secretary Bites Off Boss’ Organ
    http://news.peacefmonline.com/social/201104/149983.php

and
    British woman bites off man’s testicles during altercation
    http://guyism.com/humor/british-woman-bites-off-mans-testicles-during-altercation.html
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tyne-13159145

Its this one I always remember...

A woman who ripped off her ex-boyfriend's testicle with her bare hands has been sent to prison.
    Amanda Monti, 24, flew into a rage when Geoffrey Jones, 37, rejected her advances at the end of a house party, Liverpool Crown Court heard.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/merseyside/4253849.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

People who go around carrying knives, machetes or swords should be locked up even if they do not use them. Its not just in Dublin either.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1214/dundalk.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

People who go around carrying knives, machetes or swords should be locked up even if they do not use them. Its not just in Dublin either.

Yeh, and it's not Dundalk either it's certain people raised to think it's ok to do these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

At least he still has a leg to stand on.

Yeh, and it's not Dundalk either it's certain people raised to think it's ok to do these things.

Correct. I did remember this one though as i was staying with a friend nearby that night. No reflection on the GOOD people of Dundalk at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Maye they just wanted a am sandwich... yum yum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    This gruesome incident merited less than a minute on the RTE1 9 o'clock news. Sign of the times, I suppose.

A man died during the small hours in a hit an run accident an was given a whole 15 second segment.. What do ya expect from our nations broadcaster?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Are you saying that it's justified for the majority to restrict the rights of others because they don't approve of something they do?

flash1080 wrote: »
    Are you saying that it's justified for the majority to restrict the rights of others because they don't approve of something they do?

I think you will find that its not only justified, its the law
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0502/1224245840491.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Nobody seems to have updated this.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0423/northcircularroad.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

flash1080 wrote: »

you're ok with arm cutting?

Yahew wrote: »
    you're ok with arm cutting?

You're ok with two arms?

I have the right: two bare arms

...yet it's the rest of us must shoulder the burden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

Is it me or are things just getting worse and worse?
    Its you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

There was a Romanian man who was found in a suitcase in the Liffey a few years back. When they did the autopsy, it turns out that he died from drowning, so that means he was alive when he was tossed into the river in the suitcase.

The lads who were arrested dont seem to have Romanian names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Exactly.The "culture" involved here is closer to home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

My mate used to work in the cinema in Dundalk, he was leaving one night at 2am getting on his motorbike when a foreign chap approached him and asked him for a cigarette. My mate said he didnt smoke and your man started freaking out, roaring and shouting, opened his jacket and took out an 18" machete and swung it down onto his fuel tank, between his legs. And off your man strolled. Shook him up for days. Gardai caught him in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Oh well...
    no 'arm done!

YEEEAAAHHHH!

My mate used to work in the cinema in Dundalk, he was leaving one night at 2am getting on his motorbike when a foreign chap approached him and asked him for a cigarette. My mate said he didnt smoke and your man started freaking out, roaring and shouting, opened his jacket and took out an 18" machete and swung it down onto his fuel tank, between his legs. And off your man strolled. Shook him up for days. Gardai caught him in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Eleganza

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/courts/sex-offender-jailed-for-six-months-2539389.html

same name, same age, same address as guy who was charged.
    he should be serving a six month jail term this very moment according to that report from The Herald so couldn't possibly be him or could it?