Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday Spin (Hilly!)

• 21-04-2011 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭

Meeting at 9.30am at Joe Daly's in Dundrum. The official Orwell Spins have now ended but I'm sure there will be a few folks there anyway. If your not up for the route below there will probably be a group going out on a shorter/flatter spin.

Plan is to head south towards Laragh via Enniskerry taking in a couple of those short sharp climbs in that area. Straight through Laragh(make sure your bottles are topped up!) and onto Shay Elliot. Back towards Rathdrum for a quick refuel then back to Laragh via Trooperstown hill avoiding the crap road between those two towns.

At Laragh people can chillax if they want to before heading back home via Wicklow Gap or Glenmacnass. I plan to head straight on over the Gap if I haven't stopped to top up water supplies.

All welcome!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

would be interested to do bit climbing again group migth push me bit more, really need get my new pedals thou not riding on clip ins at moment.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I am in, desperately need to get some climbing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Something like this? Time for the first assault of 2011 on Slieve Maan methinks.

thats a serious ride, if anyones willing carry me home id give it a try lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

oflahero wrote: »
    Something like this? Time for the first assault of 2011 on Slieve Maan methinks.

To quote my good friend JT 'ba da ba da ba, I'm lovin' it'.

We'll keep it together down to Laragh(people can bug out there if they want) and straight onto the S.E. and S.M. Have a break at Rathdrum. I'll head back over Wicklow gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

See yiz in the morning lads

Edit: Just looked at the route - you trying to kill us?

joker77 wrote: »
    Edit: Just looked at the route - you trying to kill us?

No, never.;) Slieve Maan will be new to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭get on your bike

What time do u think u will be in Enniskerry

if im up in time il probably tag along will be my first group ride since my crash, otherwise heading out by myself on flatter stuff.

velo.2010 wrote: »
    No, never.;) Slieve Maan will be new to me!
    There's over 2000 metres of climbing on the route that Owen put up. The one over Sally and Wicklow gaps a couple of weeks ago there was 1200. Bit of a jump!

What time do u think u will be in Enniskerry

If we leave at 9.30am then maybe 10. Thats only a rough guide though, we could set off a little late.

Ha ha! Well, as someone of this parish pointed out once - any way you look at it, Slieve Maan means a long day in the saddle. I haven't been down those back roads from Aghavannagh to Rathdrum via Greenane in a long while, the elevation profile looks a bit murderous but if the weather's anything like today it'll be onleee gorejisss.

From Laragh, there's always the flatter option back via Roundwood if neither of the dreadful choices of the Gap or Glenmacnass sound appealing... I might well end up doing that myself if the legs give out chasing velo.2010 up hills again.

get on your bike, if we were to wait at this crossroads just above the square in Enniskerry at say 10:10-10:15, would that be any use to you?

anyone heading to dundrum from dublin 12 area? could meet up to ride down to their?

oflahero wrote: »
    get on your bike, if we were to wait at this crossroads just above the square in Enniskerry at say 10:10-10:15, would that be any use to you?

Cant open that for some reason. If I see you all at the veg shop at 10.10 or so. Will you be coming down the back roads by church. How many of you will there be so I cam keep an eye. And thanks a mil

Veg shop, that's the one, 'Buttercups' shop across the way. Should be coming from the church side alright. Numbers depend on who shows in Dundrum.

Nice one. See you then. Thanks again

up since 3 with vomiting bug, won't make it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

That is some Sunday spin alright! Can the casualties participants please report back afterwards - would be interesting to know the survival rate :D

im back anyway, didnt go along with that group, headed up long way to miltary road, half with young lad, half with an older fella i meet along way, superb decent into knocklyon was worth all the climbing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Hmmm.... Sunday hammerfest. It was more tag along with a serious training ride. Serious pace on the hills and was dropped on the lower section of Old long hill. Regrouped at the top but I already knew the pace was too much for me. A quick pit stop in Roundwood then flew towards Laragh were I stopped for a bite to eat and one of the other guys headed for home(forgot name) Velo,get on your bike and oflahero carried onwards with the planned route. Nice grub and plenty of nice machinery at the cafe then it was up over Sally Gap and home to watch LBL.
    My stats: Dist:83.5K Ascent 1133m avg speed 22kph Max speed 70kph Time 3:50

Great spin today although very tough. Left the boys in rathdrum after a sambo and went to Dalkey for Easter Indian lunch via coast roads.

Think it was the toughest route and possibly fastest ive ever done. After slieve Mann was done I thought all major climbs finished but no. The road to rathdrum was a cruel.

Killiney hill nearly broke me on route to Dalkey. Overall a great day

Well that was basically a WW200 but with more climbs! Thanks to The tax man and get on your bike for coming out on the ride. Nice to put faces to names.

A few drags to get there then Old Long Hill, Shay Elliot, Slieve Maan, Coolgarrow Mountain, the drag to Baltyteige Wood before Rathdrum, Trooperstown Hill and Wicklow Gap. Somewhere about 2600m climbing for me.

We managed to do Roundwood to Rathdrum with the climbs mentioned above in one go(minus a little waiting at the top). Sambo stop in Rathdrum was rewarding. Fair play to get on your bike on for hanging in there. Oflahero gets up those climbs well for a big guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Somewhere about 2600m climbing for me.
    I can feel the strength draining out of my legs just sitting here reading that. I guess you just need to build up to it though ... I'll start tomorrow by riding 2600m on the flat :D

Hope de waiting wasn't too frustrating for yis but thanks for doing so.

What velo.2010 said. A most enjoyable day in the saddle. Legs horribly wrecked. Uploaded route history is here for thems what are interested. 156km, just under 6hrs, avg 26.1kph, and I'm sticking with the 705's 2600m ascent rather than ridewithgps' piddling 2362.

Amazing I even have the route data, the Garmin mount broke on a hairy descent off the arse side of Slieve Maan, it bounced all over the road at 60kph and was still working when I hauled back up to retrieve it. Blue Peter badge for Garmin.

Looking forward to seeing velo.2010 in action on the hillclimb TT on the 12th, judging by today's afterburner performance.

Great to see the other lads too, would've been even better to have more along to sit on their wheel on the way back to enjoy the fabulous scenery on the unnamed bastid hill from Aghavannagh to Greenane.

Hope de waiting wasn't too frustrating for yis but thanks for doing so.

Not at all. You were fine.

Sounds like a great ride, sorry to have missed it.

Weak as a kitten today, was woken up at 3am yesterday morning with stomach aches, was up every hour then till 9am in the jacks. Won't go into any more detail.

Some serious climbing done by the sounds of it, fair play lads. Amazing your Garmin is still alive olfahero!