Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it worth my time getting shorts/bibs?

• 21-04-2011 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭

Finally getting my new bike in a couple of weeks time, and I'm ramping up my cycles to around 60km a run each.

Is it worth my time to get cycling shorts or bibs etc? at the moment on the mountain bike I'm just using gaa shorts and my under-armour shorts underneath.

Any opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

stetyrrell wrote: »
    Finally getting my new bike in a couple of weeks time, and I'm ramping up my cycles to around 60km a run each.

Is it worth my time to get cycling shorts or bibs etc? at the moment on the mountain bike I'm just using gaa shorts and my under-armour shorts underneath.

Any opinions?

Its a simple 'YES' from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Everyone is going to say yes. So YES.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056243971
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056245675
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055607264

The sliding slope of road cycling:
    1. Road bike,
    2. Tight lycra,
    3. Clipless pedal system with black shoes,
    4. White shoes,
    5. Leg shaving.

You have completed step 1. I'm at Step 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭macken04

yes to the shorts.

And feck, im just about to get a pair of white shoes, now how am i gona swing the shaving the legs buzz:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Lashed

I saw this as a reply to another thread not so long ago. Don't know who it was to give the credit but the answer stays the same
    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=the+yes+cartwheel&aq=0&oq=the+yes+c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭pointer28

YES, YES, YES, your arse will thank you for it.

So much more comfortable to ride in, I couldn't ever go back to riding without them, even on an MTB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

So ehh that's a yes to the shorts then? :p

What's the cheapest place to get shorts and other accessories?

I think I'll pass on shaving the legs, I know people may call cyclists femine etc, but lads that's taking it to another step :confused:

stetyrrell wrote: »
    So ehh that's a yes to the shorts then? :p

What's the cheapest place to get shorts and other accessories?
    have a look here, here and here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

1. Road bike,
    2. Tight lycra,
    4. White shoes,
    5. Leg shaving.

i graduated to step 4 earlier this week, but i dont think i can take that final step!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Pablo_

1. Road bike,
    2. Tight lycra,
    4. White shoes,
    5. Leg shaving.

QUOTE]

what a diagnosis !! :D... i'm also on stage 4, in that exact order ... with black over-shoes though ... signs of regression? and can't see me uping it any further to an IMAK blade either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

1. Road bike,
    2. Tight lycra,
    4. White shoes,
    5. Leg shaving.

I ve gone from 1 to 5 and just reached step 6 - hiding purchases from the GF. I reckon step 7 of full white kit wont be far behind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

yes. I had training yesterday and kept my bib shorts on afterwards when I left home to visit my grandaunt a couple of miles down the road, theyre so comfortable I'd wear them to the pub if I could! Ive 2 pairs of Santini bib shorts and the chamois makes a big difference, all my saddles are unpadded so now they feel great

kennyb3 wrote: »
    I ve gone from 1 to 5 and just reached step 6 - hiding purchases from the GF. I reckon step 7 of full white kit wont be far behind
    Hiding purchases from the wife is not something you mull over for months wondering whether it is a good idea or not. If you're married, I presume the decision to hide gets made pretty quickly once the 'place order' button gets clicked. I suppose my list is more "Things I didn't see myself doing but now I do them.... after alot of inner searching and helpful cajoling from strangers on the internet".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Step 6 came before step 1 for me !

ignore

In a way, started with a flat bar, wuss, then lots of additional purchases, then the road bike !

I thought u meant leg shaving. That's why I accused you of being a lady*...... before I edited my post!

* not that there's anything wrong with being one.

Ah, makes more sense now. Anyway, herself does it and sneaks them out of the wardrobe pretending she has had them ages so I can play at that game too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

Re step 5 !
    I slagged the arse off a mate of mine last year for shaving his legs!!! :)
    Am gonna take the plunge meself as I had a spill on the road and the road rash and hairy legs is a NIGHTMARE and fffing painful:( ..any recommendations there ..sssh :):)