Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Engine cleaning

• 20-04-2011 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭

Under my bonnit looks like a pig house. All those runs down to meath of recent I reckon. I also had an oil leak solved the other day and the fella never bothered to use abit of engine degreaser to clean it up abit afterwards. I really hate sloppy workers:mad:

Steam clean or an engine detail job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

www.detailer.ie

/thread

mondeo wrote: »

Steam clean or an engine detail job?

Autoglym degreaser/machine cleaner, spray on, agitate with an old paintbrush and hose off without getting your alternator, electrical looking bits (spray them with WD40 before and after) or starter soaked.

Quick, easy and cheap :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=69915303 (scroll down a bit for pics)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Hmm. Long as they dont knock out any connections with their toothbrushes etc I would probably go ahead with them. Do they come to your house or whats the craic? Dont like leaving my car anywhere to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

mondeo wrote: »
    Hmm. Long as they dont knock out any connections with their toothbrushes etc I would probably go ahead with them. Do they come to your house or whats the craic? Dont like leaving my car anywhere to be honest.

They are based in blanchardstown (ballycoolin) shouldn't take much more than an hour to do that and they have a waiting room with a TV and xbox to keep you occupied when you are waiting.

I know ballycoolin ye. Might give them a bell so and get an accurate quote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

FYI : I got my car engine power hosed for €8 in Kavanaghs on Font Hill road, immediately behind Ronanstown Garda Station.
    ( About 1km from Liffey Valley Shopping centre, in Dublin)

They said to leave the engine running while they did it.
    And it ran a little rough for about 1km afterwards, probably because water got into the air intake, but was absolutely fine afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Water in the intake, I don't like the sound of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

A good degreaser, a steam cleaner and a bit of time is all you need. I know myself i get a bit of enjoyment from doing it rather than forking out for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Could hydrolock the pistons breaking the engine, as the air is being sucked in it could bring water in with it. Bad idea to leave it running imo. Id clean it with a cloth +/- chemicals. Not worth causing 000 in damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

I have never, and will never clean an engine with anything other than a bit of a rag soaked in petrol or spirits.

Anyone who thinks it is a good idea to go powerhosing alternators, starter motors and a million different "watertight" connections and sensors needs their head examined.

Anyhow, nothing wrong with an engine looking like... an engine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

maidhc wrote: »
    I have never, and will never clean an engine with anything other than a bit of a rag soaked in petrol or spirits.

Anyone who thinks it is a good idea to go powerhosing alternators, starter motors and a million different "watertight" connections and sensors needs their head examined.

Anyhow, nothing wrong with an engine looking like... an engine!

likewise does anyone going cleaning electrical components with petrol and spirits... one spark, all that vapour... :pac:

the risks/ level of risk is pretty similar i'd imagine.

using water is perfectly safe as long as you use your head.

There is no need at all for a power hose though, normal mains (low) pressure garden hose does the job grand with a degreaser, only need it to wash the shtuff away.

I'm going to clean the engine myself after all. I'll do what I use to do years ago and buy a big bottle of wd40 and a load of paper towels and clean the day away. I decided I'm not paying someone 80 - €100 to do what I'd normaly do myself.

So ye:p