Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Commissioner 'concerned' over growhouses

• 20-04-2011 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭

The Garda Commissioner says the increase in the number of cannabis factories across the country is a concern.
    But Martin Callinan says gardaí are making significant in-roads in tackling the criminal gangs involved.
    60 growhouses have been discovered in the last 9 months.
    Around 40 people are now before the courts in relation to them.
    Commissioner Martin Callinan says there is several reasons for the rise in growhouses around the country
    this is a complete waste of the tax payers money, people enjoy marijuana threre is no serious side effects marijuana makes people more claim and considerate is this not what we look for in a society, it has endless medical uses, why not go after the heroin dealers and now becoming more of a eye sore crack dealers two far more destructive drugs than marijuana can every be this is what the gardai should be chasing not this harmless plant

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

We're not allowed to say 4/20?

What is the appropriate forum for that anyhow?

I'm curious after yesterday's thread closure.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

damn hippies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

Government are jelly people are making so much money from it and don't get a cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Theoretically it would be nice to ignore them, but the problem is that they rely on existing dealer networks to sell their product.

Dealer networks who are the usual scum that are also dealing heroin and coke and murdering people on a weekly basis.

This isn't specifically about targetting marijuana, it's about disrupting money supplies for Limerick and Dublin gangs as well as the CIRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭orangebud

Don't post PMs without consent.

damn hippies
    real constructive arugment there buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

What is it about weed that seems to make its proponants unable to use punctuation?

Seriously, look at the last few threads, it's a pattern dammit!

What is it about weed that seems to make its proponants unable to use punctuation?

Seriously, look at the last few threads. It's a pattern, dammit!

Muphry's Law never fails. Even for non-stoners.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

orangebud wrote: »

you go off and get baked... and take your half baked ideas with you.

drugs are illegal and discussion is frowned upon here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

You have been killed by XxX_SmoKiN-BudZ-420_XxX.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/carrying-cannabis-medicine-to-be-legal-152033.html
    DEPARTMENT of Health officials have been instructed by the Department of Justice to enact an EU agreement which allows people to carry legally prescribed narcotic or psychotropic drugs for medical use.

The move comes after Galway man Noel McCullagh, who uses a cannabis- based drug for multiple sclerosis, sought a guarantee that he wouldn’t be arrested for bringing it into the country.

McCullagh, however, lost his bid as the European ombudsman who said, although he was "deeply touched" by the case, had not found a breach of European law in the matter.

Mental Health campaigner John McCarthy who is suffering from motor neuron disease and uses cannabis to manage his pain and treat spasticity in his muscles said it is a disgrace that people cannot get proper advice on the matter.

"It is awful that people have to rely on supplies from friends, they don’t know where it came from, what it contains, how much to take and can’t get any advice on the matter legally."

Mr McCarthy said he has been getting at least one phone call a week since an Irish Examiner article last December, describing how he can get out of his wheelchair and walk short distances since he began taking small amounts of cannabis.

"These are people who are looking for a way out from pain and are afraid not of cannabis but of the law," he said. "It is complete nonsense that you have to become a criminal to take something which will relieve painful symptoms and give a better quality of life."

Mr McCarthy said an international symposium of neurologists were looking at his case and were due to report back in a matter of months.

"This is not going to make me better but life is made much easier for me and my family as I can get up and walk to the toilet, that’s a big thing for me."

Article 75 of an EU agreement — the Schengen Agreement — allows persons travelling within the EU to carry drugs prescribed for medical use.

The Department of Health is seeking expert clinical advice on the matter.

To give full effect to article 75, as instructed by the Department of Justice, it would be necessary to put in place a legal mechanism to retain the prohibition on the importation of cannabis while permitting EU travellers to import legally prescribed cannabis products.

The Department of Health said this will be examined "during the current year".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

It is still an illegal drug. So the guards are forced to pursue it naturally.

Plus, the people dealing with large quantities of it are not doing it for you or other users pleasure. They are doing it for money, they are doing it to fund other criminal behaviour and/or the supply of more harmful drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

you go off and get baked... and take your half baked ideas with you.

drugs are illegal and discussion is frowned upon here.

Foxrock has spoken. All bow before its backseat moderation.

Nodin wrote: »

We need a Reddit-type ''Trees'' forum, so ''tree-lovers'' can talk about ''trees'' and related topics..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Hookah wrote: »
    Muphry's Law never fails. Even for non-stoners.

Oops !! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

They closed the headshops and since then, the number of drug seizures and drug related murders has shot back up. To every patethic little person who rang Joe Duffy and picketed to close them down I'd like to say one thing:

I told you so.

post two was curious why a thread was closed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

its a concern since the head shops have closed. more and more growing houses have been uncovered.

Oops !! :D

It works every time.

I thought I made a punctuation mistake.

Muphry's Law.

post two was curious why a thread was closed

I was more curious which was the appropriate forum, as per the moderators closing note.

Gardening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

this is a complete waste of the tax payers money, people enjoy marijuana threre is no serious side effects marijuana makes people more claim and considerate is this not what we look for in a society, it has endless medical uses, why not go after the heroin dealers and now becoming more of a eye sore crack dealers two far more destructive drugs than marijuana can every be this is what the gardai should be chasing not this harmless plant
    You do realise that it's not an either/or situation? The gardaí don't choose between stopping marijuana dealers or heroin dealers.
    DaveDaRave wrote: »
    Government are jelly people are making so much money from it and don't get a cut.
    DaveDaRave wrote: »
    You have been killed by XxX_SmoKiN-BudZ-420_XxX.

:mad:

And they say it has no ill effects?

We need a Reddit-type ''Trees'' forum, so ''tree-lovers'' can talk about ''trees'' and related topics..

Indeed. Though I haven't been near any 'trees' in over a decade (and never regularily), I think there is no harm in the appreciation of them in moderation.

A little too progressive and radical for the Ireland of our time, I fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭SirenX

It's ever since the head stores closed down that the need for dealers has shot up. this is what happens to a country where the government refuses to listen to it's people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

If the Garda Commissioner were to make a statement recommending that cannabis be legalised by the government he might be using his time more productively.

It can be done, and it will work with due regulation. It has worked in other countries, look at them and learn from what they did right and what they did wrong.

humanji wrote: »
    You do realise that it's not an either/or situation? The gardaí don't choose between stopping marijuana dealers or heroin dealers.

Operation Nitrogen was set up by the Garda National Drugs Unit ten months ago to investigate the increase in cannabis being produced and sold in Ireland. i say it again wast of our money

A little too progressive and radical for the Ireland of our time, I fear.

...like gay marriage, banking regulation, lack of shame about sex, prosecuting the guilty.....

bijapos wrote: »
    If the Garda Commissioner were to make a statement recommending that cannabis be legalised by the government he might be using his time more productively.

It can be done, and it will work with due regulation. It has worked in other countries, look at them and learn from what they did right and what they did wrong.

The deeper this recession gets, the quicker it's going to happen.

Money doesn't grow on trees, you know.

No, wait...

Operation Nitrogen was set up by the Garda National Drugs Unit ten months ago to investigate the increase in cannabis being produced and sold in Ireland. i say it again wast of our money
    How does that mean they're ignoring heroin dealers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭ressem

When Noel McCullagh was being interviewed a week or so back, he mentioned that one of the conditions attached to his standardized medicinal cannabis was a regular psychiatric examination. I believe that there are conditions on consumption of alcohol and even driving.

How many non-MS sufferers would be willing to accept these conditions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

it doesn't, it means they have a special branch to catch cannabis dealers...

hearing about seizures and grow house discoveries saddens me... supply goes down, demand stays the same, prices go up, quality goes down... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Gosh if only non criminals could grow their own the arse would fall out of the gangs weed economy..

RichieC wrote: »
    Gosh if only non criminals could grow their own the arse would fall out of the gangs weed economy..

grow your own = crime too.....

i not saying that just saying they have set up Operation Nitrogen to target growhouses i haven't heard of any operation Afghanistan or operation crackhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

420 lock

Actually let's have the same old arguments back and forth for a while and see if anyone changes their mind. Opened again.

i not saying that just saying they have set up Operation Nitrogen to target growhouses i haven't heard of any operation Afghanistan or operation crackhead
    Last year they raided 40 places in Kilkenny in a heroin bust operation. No idea what the name of the operation was, but it's not the only one they had going.

Growhouses are illegal. It is the job of the gardaí to clamp down on illegal activities. They clamped down on this particular illegal activity. If you want a drug to be legalised, complaining that gardaí probably aren't doing anything about other crimes isn't going to get you anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If the Gardai didn't raid weed houses, other flowers would be grown. Opium poppies, for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

the_syco wrote: »
    If the Gardai didn't raid weed houses, other flowers would be grown. Opium poppies, for example.
    Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Ever heard of "After Hours" mate? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

Really? Producing cannabis and producing heroin are two vastly different endeavours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

It's so easy for the police to find the new growers houses. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Korvanica wrote: »
    it doesn't, it means they have a special branch to catch cannabis dealers...

Yes..and lots of budding detectives are trying to join,trying to get to the grass root of the problem.

Personally i think they should leave them in peace.

Degsy wrote: »
    Yes..and lots of budding detectives are trying to join,trying to get to the grass root of the problem.

Personally i think they should leave them in peace.

I seed what you done, there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

The Chinese, a great bunch of lads for growing the herb!

I saw a couple of grow houses in Dromod leitrim getting raided a few weeks back. At last we have found a use for our ghost estates, cannabis factories.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I seed what you done, there.

Yes and i hash my own resins for doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭chalkitdown

You don't need to cultivate them, they're growing all over Dublin docks and elsewhere in Ireland already.

Field poppies, surely?

Can you grow opium poppies in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭chalkitdown

Field poppies, surely?

Can you grow opium poppies in Ireland?

No, opium poppies.

Yes, they are indigenous now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

You would need to grow a very large amount of poppies to make it worthwhile extracting opium/heroin .