Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best HT mtb for a €1000

• 19-04-2011 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭

well guys im off buying a second bike for myself as having the one just is not enough for me :D (especially considering the one i have spends more time getting repaired than ridden), what would ye consider the best hardtail mtb i could get for a €1000? id also love to be able to use this for a bit of racing as my current bike is a trail bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

yeah i was looking at that bike, seems really nice for the price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

subbing on mobile, don't mind me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

Hi Icyseanfitz,

You may already be aware of this but I've got the exact bike which Morgan has linked. Can't fault it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

You would get a Cube LTD Pro for about that money (assuming you squeezed the dealer for a discount)

http://www.cube.eu/en/hardtail/ltd-series/ltd-pro-black-anodized/
    http://www.cube.eu/en/hardtail/ltd-series/ltd-pro-white-metal-grey/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭julio_iglayzis

Lemag wrote: »
    Hi Icyseanfitz,

You may already be aware of this but I've got the exact bike which Morgan has linked. Can't fault it.

I was out with the lads from Epic last weekend, one guy was on this bike - it's savage, you really get a fantastic machine for the price, excellent components and apparently great for racing too - he couldn't recommend it highly enough anyway.
    Apparently the Canyon shipping/delivery speed is fantastic.

yeah going to see if my dealer will get canyon in for me, he orders all his bikes in anyway (doesnt really keep stock) so hopefully, is the bike as light as the page says it is?, whats the craic with the btw scheme and dealers getting in these bikes? is it impossible?

yeah going to see if my dealer will get canyon in for me, he orders all his bikes in anyway (doesnt really keep stock) so hopefully, is the bike as light as the page says it is?
    I haven't weighed mine but it seems pretty light. I previously had a Trek Remedy which I never bothered to weight either but this is a lot lighter (as would be expected HT Vs. Full Sus). Not a very exact and scientific response, I know.

Btw, why would you be getting it through this dealer? They can only be bought directly from Canyon so he'd be looking to stick his cut on top of that. AFAIK, the warrenty isn't transferable so this would create a further complication should there be a fault with your bike down the line.

I've just read your edit.

Your dealer won't be able to get it but your employer will be able to get for you from Canyon provided that your employer hasn't placed any restrictions on where the bike is to be bought.

I got mine with the BTW scheme.

i actually want to give this guy my business as he has helped me out so much over the last couple of months, i know he is a lapierre dealer so is there anything from them similarly priced? i was also shown this, il have a talk with your lad today and see what the craic is

TBH, I'm not that familiar with the market out there at the moment. I have a Canyon road bike, when it came time to getting the mtb the Canyon mtb was the first one which I had in mind. I looked around to campare specs with similarly priced hard tails out there and couldn't find anything to compete with it so I just went for it.

Good luck with your search.

thanks for all the advice lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Ah_go_on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

Logged on to ask an identical Q to the thread title.

Also want to get it off my local guy as he looks after myself and my dad v well. Let us know how you get on with seeing if your bike store lad can get it.

Also getting mine through the BTW scheme.

Cheers :D

will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭SuiteCheex

I've just read your edit.

Your dealer won't be able to get it but your employer will be able to get for you from Canyon provided that your employer hasn't placed any restrictions on where the bike is to be bought.

I got mine with the BTW scheme.

Feck yous all!! You have me convinced to buy one now!!

Lemag, can I ask how you got it sorted through the BTW scheme? I thought the scheme was restricted to a list of specific Irish suppliers only. How were you able to buy it directly from Canyon?

Cheers.

yeah my dealer said he couldnt get one in as they are a buy direct only bike, instead i ended up buying a 2011 lapierre pro race 200 this cant wait to get it and fix my bionicon edison up...again :D

SuiteCheex wrote: »
    Feck yous all!! You have me convinced to buy one now!!

Lemag, can I ask how you got it sorted through the BTW scheme? I thought the scheme was restricted to a list of specific Irish suppliers only. How were you able to buy it directly from Canyon?

Cheers.
    The BTW scheme as per the rules set out by the revenue service states that overseas purchases are fine. If your company choose to bring a third party company to administer the scheme for them then there might be restrictions as to where the bike can be purchased from. My company doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭SuiteCheex

The BTW scheme as per the rules set out by the revenue service states that overseas purchases are fine. If your company choose to bring a third party company to administer the scheme for them then there might be restrictions as to where the bike can be purchased from. My company doesn't.

Thanks for that Lemag. My company is currently considering implementing the BTW scheme but I don't know if they'll administer it themselves or get the likes of biketowork.ie to do it for them.

Think I'll have a few words with my boss to convince them to do it themselves, just so I can can get me a Canyon!

anyone got any opinion on lapierre's ? specifically the pro race 200? cant find any review on them

I looked at them but opinions I got were the Cube LTD Race was better for the money but that the frame seemed to be good on the Lapierre.

i got it at a nice price so i aint complaining :)

Cyclesuperstore were pushing the Pro Race for about 1150 and 1175 for the Cube as far as I remember

on their site it says they are charging €1,345 for the lapierre, i got it for a nice bit less than that so im happy, just cant wait to actually get it and have my bionicon in working order again, one thing that is going to annoy me about the lapierre is the lack of a QR seatpost

on their site it says they are charging €1,345 for the lapierre, i got it for a nice bit less than that so im happy, just cant wait to actually get it and have my bionicon in working order again

They knock 10% off in there before you even say hello to them, esp for Lapierre because they have a higher margin on them then other bikes.

Waiting for the company to sort your Bike to Work now? Painfull how long it seems to take some companies

yeah im hoping it doesnt take forever but Irish companies really arnt known for their efficiency, it will be a painful wait until i can get my current bike up and running or get my new one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭instinct

cant get Canyon through my employer (unfortunately).

so have now ordered the LTD Pro from buildabike.ie on Mary street.

Went into cyclesuperstore and they are indeed cheaper but I didnt have time to be standing around like a plank wiating to be served.

buildabike are giving me 2 years free service !!!!! cyclesuperstore offered a free 'tune up' in 6 months but the feeling I got was, buy your bike and sling your hook.

the final straw was over hearing a customer complaining about customer service and how he was waiting over a month for a lock he ordered for his bike that he got through BTW from them. He wasn't a happy camper.

Either way, enjoy your bike :)

same to you, that cube looks like a nice bike

SuiteCheex wrote: »
    Thanks for that Lemag. My company is currently considering implementing the BTW scheme but I don't know if they'll administer it themselves or get the likes of biketowork.ie to do it for them.

Think I'll have a few words with my boss to convince them to do it themselves, just so I can can get me a Canyon!
    There really isn't much administration required for the scheme. It is a little more complicated when buy from abroad, however.

If you are to get a Canyon bike they'll have to sell it to your employer without the VAT (19% in Germany). Your employer will then have to add VAT at the Irish rate of 21% on to what they've paid Canyon and subtract this gross figure from you wages before deductions in whatever number of installments they've agreed with you. Your employer will ultimately have to pay this VAT to the revenue. If the total amount exceeds 1000e then the excess is to be given to you as a BIK. This was the case for me. What I agreed with my employer was that I'd lodge an amount into their account which was equal to the BIK.

Hope it works out for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

one thing that is going to annoy me about the lapierre is the lack of a QR seatpost

You should be able to change the clamp easily enough.

any idea where i can buy a qr clamp? crc maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,150 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

any idea where i can buy a qr clamp? crc maybe

Don't you have bike shop's near where you live? :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Whitehawk

Id get a Cube (something like -LTD race)

and buildabike will give you a very good deal! id say you would get it for 1000, and id take money off a bike before i look at getting services on the bike for free as a lot of that info is online and can be done at home! (Remember you will still get charged on parts)

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Don't you have bike shop's near where you live? :rolleyes: :D

i do but the only one i trust is a good 30 mins away and petrol is pricey :D cant wait to get up and running again,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 osiri

yeah my dealer said he couldnt get one in as they are a buy direct only bike, instead i ended up buying a 2011 lapierre pro race 200 this cant wait to get it and fix my bionicon edison up...again :D

The pro race looks like a nice bike. Have you had a chance to try it out yet? Thinking about picking one up myself, do you mind me asking where you got it?

no problem, im getting it off Denis O'Shea in killarney, his shop is called the big little bike shop, i had a look at the 2010 model and its a nice bike, very light and good components on it, also looks pure smexy :D

Thanks, it's a bit far from me unfortunately!

check your local bike shops and see what brands they get in, also ask them if they can get the brand you are looking for, btw where you situated?

dublin, there are loads of shops and I think cyclesuperstore do them so I will check there, hope you get on well on the new bike.