Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what do you wear the gym?

• 19-04-2011 5:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭

Im a guy thinking about joining the gym sometime soon but dont know what to wear. The gym in question does have lockers but im not so sure about the security of the place so im just going to go dressed in my gym clothes and the go back home in them.

What is ok to wear the the gym? its kinda annoying here in ireland-if i wear nike tracksuit then i look like a skanger, if i wear anything from canterbury then i look rather d4. Neither look appeals to me..what is basic gym clothing? where can i buy it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

To be honest I don't think anyone at the gym will be paying a blind bit of heed to what you are wearing, usually everyone is too busy concentrating on what they are doing to be judging anyone on their attire!
    I wear O Neills and a tshirt or nike dri fit pants and a tshirt. I am a girl but most lads wear shorts and tshirts or tracksuit bottoms and a tshirt.

Find some comfortable, non restrictive, breathable gear and you will be grand, its important imo to be comfortable above all else :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

It doesn't matter what the hell you wear - you're there to exercise :)

I would recommend buying some good athletic gear, including dri-fit type tops and leggings, as these will wick away the moisture.

I have an assortment of Adidas/Reebok/Nike training tops (like t-shirts only make from dri-fit type material) which I wear with either knee-length leggings or a full-length yoga type pants.

The main thing is that your gym gear is comfortable and allows you to move. Oh, and invest in a good sports bra (if you're female)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭LilMissCiara

I find leggings and a baggy top the most comfortable. I find jogging bottoms quite restrictive (O'Neills ones) or too warm (Canterburys).

Edit: Oops, you're a guy..! :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I personally go in board shorts and baggy t-shirts.
    The board shorts are great because they're so lightweight and dont stick to you at all when you get sweaty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

Knee length crop pants (not skin-tight, I'd scare people away) and a (not tight again) t-shirt. Can't stand tracksuit pants for the gymI feel they're flapping all over the place. Nobody takes any notice of what you're wearing in my gym, it's great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Leggings and a loose t-shirt. You will see girls in skin tight head-to-toe lycra stuff, but you'll also see people in tracksuits, board shorts etc. Whatever you feel comfortable in really like everyone has said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Sibylla

I hate gym clothes but you have to be practical you're there to exercise, Leggings and a top or shorts. It's all about comfort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CK2010

well im a girl but the same goes for guys- wear something that'll keep you cool.
    i wear the dri-fit stuff as well as some others here- knee length pants and a tank top thing.
    mostly guys wear loose shorts and the dri-fit tops similar to mine, i think. like someone else said, you dont notice other people, well i dont anyway!

although id rather showering after a workout and putting on fresh clothes to leave in. especially if you're wearing tracksuits, you'll get quite sweaty. most places are grand with lockers, just dont keep money etc. in them if possible. its entirely up to you though, whats good for some isnt for others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 immachickbtw

I was a bit iffy about leaving stuff in my locker too, but in my gym you can put a padlock on the locker so it's all good. If you can't do that, I'm sure as long as you try not to leave valuables in the locker you should be grand. I (female) wear Body Logic pants and I have a couple of loose fitting t-shirts I alternate. My OH wears tracksuit bottoms and a t-shirt. You can get nice gear in Elvery's, Champion Sports or any of those kinds of shops if you want to go all out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I wear Dri Fit leggings and either a loose t-shirt or a vest. I find tracksuit bottoms too baggy and they annoy me when I'm trying to run as I can feel them swishing around on my legs. I see guys in the gym wearing shorts a lot though.