Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weeks match in Croker and tickets

• 19-04-2011 2:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭

How much will the tickets be into Croker on Sunday? Planning on taking myself, the better half and the little brother. Any chance of them bein sold out? And any recommended stands?

Sound

edit: so thats two adults and one child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

TZ

Stand €25
    Terrace €15
    Child €5 (Cusack and Davin Stand only)

I would go for the Cusack as opposed to the Davin due to the fact the you will be along the length of the pitch rather than behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

tickets available on ticketmaster

not a great choice down low in the corners.
    If you can get a ticket through a club you may get better seats with the posibility of a proper view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Trampas

if anything is like all the other matches you could sit anywhere you wanted.

you might need to move if you sit in someones seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Right. The thing is, I fookin hate GAA.. I just wanted to see Croker for the first time. I wont be payin that much in to be put asleep. Thanks for the replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Cracking thread op, well done.

Orizio wrote: »
    Cracking thread op, well done.

Are you assuming that I'm trolling? What do they say about Assumption being the Mother of all fook ups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

How much will the tickets be into Croker on Sunday? Planning on taking myself, the better half and the little brother. Any chance of them bein sold out? And any recommended stands?

Sound

edit: so thats two adults and one child.
    Sound more like one adult, and two children.

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Sound more like one adult, and two children.

That's mature. What made you say that?

Draw your own conclusion.

Enjoy your day out in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Qwerty27

How much were you actually expecting to pay?!

€25 for 2 matches is very good value, and dont thin you can complain at a fiver for a child in fairness!

Its not the €5 Im complaining about. That's grand. Its the €25. The little brother has been tellin me the last few days that it'd be €12 a pop for myself and the better half. That's about managable for me - €25 each just isn't.

All may not be lost. What did the first reply mean when he said stand and terrace? Im thinking terrace = the Hill. Correct or incorrect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭howiya

Qwerty27 wrote: »
    How much were you actually expecting to pay?!

€25 for 2 matches is very good value, and dont thin you can complain at a fiver for a child in fairness!

In fairness to the OP it's been €13 for two matches during the Spring Series or €11.25 if you bought the €45 ticket that covered all the matches.

And for that money you got two matches that you wanted to see. Not one Dublin match and a match that you have no interest in. Now you have to fork out €30-50 to watch both Dublin teams in their league finals.

You can't argue that it's very good value when it was cheaper two weeks ago. However it is better value than the equivalent rugby or soccer outings but why should we compare ourselves to them.

And for the record I've no problem paying to see my teams in a league final or any other game. Long may it continue. But the GAA's pricing policy is outdated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

This IS the best value you will get in this country for a top class sporting event IN WORLD CLASS FACILITIES. Eh Aviva for a soccer and Rugby match €150 for a pair of tickets with no concessions for kids for competitive games I believe.

Croke Park is a fabelous stadium. Easy to access, well laid out and a good view from every seay in the stadium. Yes Terrace = Hill 16. You are guarenteed a good crack here. Quite a few Cork folk will be on the hill and the banter will be great but by times not for a childs ears.

2 games plenty of scores, no segration of fans, friendly atmosphere, great crack. A real good days entertainment.

LeoB wrote: »
    This IS the best value you will get in this country for a top class sporting event IN WORLD CLASS FACILITIES. Eh Aviva for a soccer and Rugby match €150 for a pair of tickets with no concessions for kids for competitive games I believe.

Hold on now Leo. Its not too long ago I paid €10 for a ticket to see Shams and Sligs in the new Lansdowne Road, you can't argue that that was not good value.

And to be quite honest, if I was given the choice to pay €15 to get into Dalyer and watch a Dublin Derby over the exact same price into Croker to see two matches - I'd pick the Soccer every single time.

Hold on now Leo. Its not too long ago I paid €10 for a ticket to see Shams and Sligs in the new Lansdowne Road, you can't argue that that was not good value..

If the F.A.I didnt do that for the Cup final how many would have been at it 5,000 or 10,000 max. They would have looked right idiots showing off their new shared stadium and it only 1/4 full. Now to say that was quality cup final apart from penalties you are easily entertained
    And to be quite honest, if I was given the choice to pay €15 to get into Dalyer and watch a Dublin Derby over the exact same price into Croker to see two matches - I'd pick the Soccer every single time.

So why bother going at all? You are obviously a soccer fan but really a decent G.A.A go-game has more action, more skill and a lot less lying down than a lot of League of Ireland games. But thats just my opinion.

Right. The thing is, I fookin hate GAA.. I just wanted to see Croker for the first time. I wont be payin that much in to be put asleep. Thanks for the replies.

Jaysus man, I gave you the benefit of the doubt knowing your history of jibes about Gaelic games but you went and proved my initial instincts right. I gave you a straight forward reply to a straight forward question but you still had get your digs in. Why?
    Hold on now Leo. Its not too long ago I paid €10 for a ticket to see Shams and Sligs in the new Lansdowne Road, you can't argue that that was not good value.

It is great value but it is the exception rather than the rule when it comes to ticket prices for soccer games in the Aviva. I paid €11.25 each for the last 4 Dublin matches in Croke Park and €13 to all the away fixtures. That's consistent great value.

And now €25 for each of the next two matches in Croke Park.

howiya wrote: »

So you're saying you don't expect tickets to be more expensive for a final?

No its still 4 games as they are both double headers, 2 football league finals and the U/21 Football and Division 1 hurling final so superb value
    In fairness to the OP it's been €13 for two matches during the Spring Series or €11.25 if you bought the €45 ticket that covered all the matches.

And for that money you got two matches that you wanted to see. Not one Dublin match and a match that you have no interest in. Now you have to fork out €30-50 to watch both Dublin teams in their league finals.

You can't argue that it's very good value when it was cheaper two weeks ago. However it is better value than the equivalent rugby or soccer outings but why should we compare ourselves to them.

And for the record I've no problem paying to see my teams in a league final or any other game. Long may it continue. But the GAA's pricing policy is outdated

Its dearer ok but still good value. You are getting to watch 4 national finals. At €25 its €12.50 to see a national final if we compare it to the spring offer for Dublin games.

How much is the cheapest ticket to the soccer final in Aviva in May? Its very fair to compare these things as while the G.A.A ticket system might be outdated its still affordable for a family to follow their team and the same cant be said of soccer and Rugby

So you're saying you don't expect tickets to be more expensive for a final?

You only expect tickets to be more expensive for a final because this is what you are used to. In reality it's still a game of football between two teams and the presence of a trophy for the winner shouldn't dictate that you pay extra for your ticket.

And there's a difference between more expensive and doubling the price.

This is the same GAA who will be quoted on national radio and in the newspapers saying that they don't increase their prices. It's happening now and it happened last summer. As Dublin progressed through every round of the qualifiers ticket prices increased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

I'd rather gouge out my eyeballs after watching the rubbish that Bohs and Rovers served up last Friday night (I'm a very, very fairweather Bohs supporter but I nearly fell asleep after 15 minutes).

How come you never went to Croker when the Irish soccer team was playing? Oh yes, I forgot. The FAI shot themselves in the foot by charging MORE than an All Ireland final ticket to watch the Boys in Green play quality opposition like Wales.

Oh by the way, enjoy Sunday if you do go. You'll discover that rival fans can sit side by side and have the craic not run halfway down the pitch at the final whistle to hurl abuse and missiles at each other :rolleyes:

You only expect tickets to be more expensive for a final because this is what you are used to. In reality it's still a game of football between two teams and the presence of a trophy for the winner shouldn't dictate that you pay extra for your ticket.

This is the same GAA who will be quoted on national radio and in the newspapers saying that they don't increase their prices. It's happening now and it happened last summer. As Dublin progressed through every round of the qualifiers ticket prices increased

All sporting organisations increase their prices as competitions get closer to Final. The G.A.A are fairer than other major sporting organisation in the way they handle tickets.

The only real problem I have with them (G.A.A.) is using ticket master instead of clubs for distributing tickets as throlls can go on line and get tickets while genuine G.A.A supporters go into a club lottery

It happens the world over. Look at ticket prices for the Champions league final or the Superbowl as two examples. Don't just make this out to be a GAA thing because of some agenda you seem to have. Even at €25 it's still €10 cheaper than the cheapest ticket for the upcoming Carling Nations Cup game between Rep of Ireland and Scotland. Of course ticket prices are going to increase as the competition progresses. It's the basic economics of supply and demand.

If the F.A.I didnt do that for the Cup final how many would have been at it 5,000 or 10,000 max. They would have looked right idiots showing off their new shared stadium and it only 1/4 full. Now to say that was quality cup final apart from penalties you are easily entertained
    So why bother going at all? You are obviously a soccer fan but really a decent G.A.A go-game has more action, more skill and a lot less lying down than a lot of League of Ireland games. But thats just my opinion.

I for one thought it was a great match. I got to see the two top teams in the country at the time - the League champions and the side that were playing THE best football in the country besides Fingal. Don't try and make me look like a fan of the FAI. You'd be hard pushed to find a LOI follower who would remotely like the FAI.
    Why bother going? I thought the tickets would be €12, its lovely out and Iv never been to Croker before.
    I think if you actually attended some League matches you'd find there's a lot less 'lying down' than you would initially have other believe.
    dcr22B wrote: »
    I'd rather gouge out my eyeballs after watching the rubbish that Bohs and Rovers served up last Friday night (I'm a very, very fairweather Bohs supporter but I nearly fell asleep after 15 minutes).

How come you never went to Croker when the Irish soccer team was playing? Oh yes, I forgot. The FAI shot themselves in the foot by charging MORE than an All Ireland final ticket to watch the Boys in Green play quality opposition like Wales.

Oh by the way, enjoy Sunday if you do go. You'll discover that rival fans can sit side by side and have the craic not run halfway down the pitch at the final whistle to hurl abuse and missiles at each other :rolleyes:

That was indeed a bad.. bad match, but I went for the buzz of the event more so than the football. I assure you, if I wanted to see quality football, Bohs and Rovers would be the last two teams I would go to to find it.
    Why didn't I go? Calm down, it's got nothing to do with the FAI's priorities. More to do with the fact that while Ireland were playing there, I had no or little interest in the National team, the National league or (and this is the real reason) I was under 18 and hadn't got a cent to my name.
    Really? Rival fans sit side by side and nothing bad happens? Maybe you should chat with my two brothers about the various scuffles they see while on the Hill every second weekend.
    Jaysus man, I gave you the benefit of the doubt knowing your history of jibes about Gaelic games but you went and proved my initial instincts right. I gave you a straight forward reply to a straight forward question but you still had get your digs in. Why?

My history of Jibes about Gaelic games.? Hold the fooking phone :pac: I welcome you to go on over to the Soccer Forum and find five quotes from me making fun of the Gaelic games. While I make no bones about what I think about the Games themselves - I think you'll find you have me mixed up with some of the more militant LoI fans. For ONYD, bohsboy, stovelid and/or CiaranC - I am not :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Really? Rival fans sit side by side and nothing bad happens? Maybe you should chat with my two brothers about the various scuffles they see while on the Hill every second weekend.

Not wanting to be pedantic but you don't sit on the Hill and yes, there are isolated incidents (I'm not trying to paint every GAA supporter as a saint) but for the most part, rival fans will have a cut off each other during games but will be the first to congratulate/commiserate at the final whistle. You'll never see that at a League of Ireland game.

I've been going to GAA games since before you were born so I reckon that I'm well qualified enough to comment on the relationship between rival fans.

Not wanting to be pedantic but you don't sit on the Hill and yes, there are isolated incidents (I'm not trying to paint every GAA supporter as a saint) but for the most part, rival fans will have a cut off each other during games but will be the first to congratulate/commiserate at the final whistle. You'll never see that at a League of Ireland game.

Damn my sleepy head.

It's true, you won't - but we can't go comparing two different sporting cultures now, can we?

I'm still waiting on those quotes Franky.

My history of Jibes about Gaelic games.? Hold the fooking phone :pac: I welcome you to go on over to the Soccer Forum and find five quotes from me making fun of the Gaelic games. While I make no bones about what I think about the Games themselves - I think you'll find you have me mixed up with some of the more militant LoI fans. For ONYD, bohsboy, stovelid and/or CiaranC - I am not :)

Why should I need to find five? You have made one in this thread and I can remember one from the last week. The fact that you haven't reached the mark of five makes any other jibes less valid?

Also to deny that you are trolling in this thread is laughable. Your reply to my post was a quite obvious attempt to get poster's back's up. Imagine one of the prominent GAA posters started a thread on the soccer forum asking how much tickets for a LOI match were and then after they were replied to said actually I hate LOI soccer and implied it was boring. How would that not be considered trolling?

It happens the world over. Look at ticket prices for the Champions league final or the Superbowl as two examples. Don't just make this out to be a GAA thing because of some agenda you seem to have. Even at €25 it's still €10 cheaper than the cheapest ticket for the upcoming Carling Nations Cup game between Rep of Ireland and Scotland. Of course ticket prices are going to increase as the competition progresses. It's the basic economics of supply and demand.

The only agenda I have is that cheaper tickets means more people see gaelic games.

We'll revisit the basic economics of supply and demand when we see the attendance figure for the league finals

Why should I need to find five? You have made one in this thread and I can remember one from the last week. The fact that you haven't reached the mark of five makes any other jibes less valid?

Also to deny that you are trolling in this thread is laughable. Your reply to my post was a quite obvious attempt to get poster's back's up. Imagine one of the prominent GAA posters started a thread on the soccer forum asking how much tickets for a LOI match were and then after they were replied to said actually I hate LOI soccer and implied it was boring. How would that not be considered trolling?

Is it really THAT hard to comprehend that someone might just want to be honest about how they feel about something without trying to get a rise out of other people?

Someone yes but however you I'm afraid not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭francie81

Is it true that only 'The Hogan' stand is to open for saturdays Div3 & 4 finals?

I hate sitting!

Someone yes but however you I'm afraid not.

C'mere, mate. I'v never had an anti-GAA agenda. I'm thinking you've read one or two of my posts where I referred to it as Gah or Bogball.. but they're surely not the worst things you've read about your sport.

Granted no but when you come onto a GAA forum after making such comments and then belittle a game that people on here obviously have an affinity with you have to understand when people question your motives.

Can you accept that?

You're looking for Horse Racing fans, mate.

Granted no but when you come onto a GAA forum after making such comments and then belittle a game that people on here obviously have an affinity with you have to understand when people question your motives.

Can you accept that?

I can accept that people may question my motives, that's fine. But I'm not a militant LoIer. I don't even have a team to support since mine went pop during the close season :o

I've been going to GAA games since before you were born so I reckon that I'm well qualified enough to comment on the relationship between rival fans.

Thats fair comment. There are a few idiots who go to the Hill but you will probably find the same ones in the Jodi Stand, or on the Luas hassleing people on the way to Tallaght stadium. I have brought numerous bus loads from Glasgow, Birmingham and Liverpool to Croke Park and they were stunned by the way people mixed inside and outside the stadium
    The only agenda I have is that cheaper tickets means more people see gaelic games.

We'll revisit the basic economics of supply and demand when we see the attendance figure for the league finals

Thats fine but I still feel the G.A.A are way cheaper and better value than the other major sporting organistions in Ireland.

In this case it appears you are only interested in rising people. Be honest on the soccer forum and ask that players will stop falling over looking for free kicks, getting lads sent off and blatently cheating to gain an advantage. Hardly sportsmanship and not much of a role model to the kids.

I stopped going to L.O.I matchs a few years ago when I saw the behaviour of some fans. Any Sunday there was a match in Dublin I use to go (in disguise) if there was no G.A.A games on

I can accept that people may question my motives, that's fine. But I'm not a militant LoIer. I don't even have a team to support since mine went pop during the close season :o

Fair play for accepting the point. I'm not trying to change your opinion and you may be the victim of being seen with the wrong crowd as you alluded to earlier. I actually did get along to a SF game and quite enjoyed it and was sorry to hear of their demise.

Thats fine but I still feel the G.A.A are way cheaper and better value than the other major sporting organistions in Ireland.

I accept that its better value but that doesn't mean it can't be cheaper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

- I think you'll find you have me mixed up with some of the more militant LoI fans. For ONYD, bohsboy, stovelid and/or CiaranC - I am not :)

I'd rather you left me out of your stirring on other forums. Thx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Trampas

I renewed my annual dublin season ticket for €75.

what did i get for that?

7 league matches, league final and first round of the championship.

All double headers so that is 18 games for €75.

So €4.17 a match.

You wouldn't get a pint for that in some pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Yep its unbelievable value.
    And even for someone without the season ticket, 25 euro for two national finals is damn good value.
    I suppose if you don't like gaa, or hate it like the op claims to, no amount will be good value.

Whatever floats your boat.

Now pardon me while I go on the threads of all the sports I don't like to let them know what I think ;)

I'm sure they will all be deeply concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I hope there'll be tickets available on Sunday; my best mate is coming over from the UK... She doesn't understand my love for the game :D

Tbh, prices are alright if you watch both matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Ok lets get it straight the prices have not doubled for the league final you are getting TWO finals out of it, even if you dont want to see the first match you are still getting access to it :eek: So that is 12.50 for the League Final if im not mistaking that is cheaper than the rest of the matches during the league :pac:

COYBIB

Joekers wrote: »
    Ok lets get it straight the prices have not doubled for the league final you are getting TWO finals out of it, even if you dont want to see the first match you are still getting access to it :eek: So that is 12.50 for the League Final if im not mistaking that is cheaper than the rest of the matches during the league :pac:

COYBIB

You are mistaken because during the league you could see two matches for as little as 11.25 which is less than six euro a match so prices have doubled if it's now 12.50 a match

That was only for home Dublin football matches which were only less than 5% of the matches played. This is only because of the Dublin county board's fantastic initiative. So Joeker's statement is true for a large majority of patrons. There are other counties in the GAA besides Dublin.

Trampas wrote: »

what did i get for that?

So €4.17 a match.

They weren't all double headers.

Armagh, Galway and Monaghan were all stand alone games.

The first round of the championship is not guaranteed to be a double header.

That makes, 14 or 15 games. Still good value but lets be factual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Roland27

Does anyone have any rough idea of the expected attendance for the division 1 and 2 finals on Sunday? Was looking at purchasing tickets on Ticketmaster.ie, but they only offer tickets for sale in certain parts of the ground (to the left in the Hogan, in the Canel End). Are all the other sections sold out? Is the upper decks even open?

Roland27 wrote: »
    Does anyone have any rough idea of the expected attendance for the division 1 and 2 finals on Sunday? Was looking at purchasing tickets on Ticketmaster.ie, but they only offer tickets for sale in certain parts of the ground (to the left in the Hogan, in the Canel End). Are all the other sections sold out? Is the upper decks even open?

I've heard figures of 55,000 being thrown around.

Ticketmaster get an allocation of tickets in certain areas of the stadium. You will be able to purchase tickets outside the stadium on matchday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Roland27

Thanks Frank. That makes sense that Ticketmaster only gets tickets for certain areas of the stadium. I think I'll try get tickets in the Croke Park ticket office on Dorset street instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

Trampas wrote: »

what did i get for that?

So €4.17 a match.

And Jedward ! Twice ! :D