Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Knocklyon Open 2011

• 19-04-2011 11:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭

Hey guys myself and my brother are running our first golf tournament this summer. Go to www.knocklyonopen.com for all the relevant details.

I'm starting this thread to seek advice from people with tournament organisational experience and also to keep the competitors up to date with the goings on behind the scenes.

Anyway wish us luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Hi Lawman, for starters the text on the website is too small/unclear to read comfortably. Hard on the eyes so couldn't read on.
    Other than that I think I read the tournament was for up to 15 players so presume it's a small gathering between a group of friends/colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

This is basically a very formalised p1ss up.

Ha good idea, basically all your buddies ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Hi Lawman, for starters the text on the website is too small/unclear to read comfortably. Hard on the eyes so couldn't read on.
    Other than that I think I read the tournament was for up to 15 players so presume it's a small gathering between a group of friends/colleagues.

Cheers for the feedback Dr_Colossus no-one has mentioned that issue before. The next time we update it we may have to increase size or chnage font. By the way are you looking at it on a laptop, phone or other?

We're gonna have ~ 20 golfers and we are looking to grow it year by year. To start with this year it's been colleagues and friends and next will be opening a bit further.

You're close ssbob but I think the golf will take over.....as there are some competitive guys in the group.

the lawman wrote: »
    Cheers for the feedback Dr_Colossus no-one has mentioned that issue before. The next time we update it we may have to increase size or chnage font. By the way are you looking at it on a laptop, phone or other?

We're gonna have ~ 20 golfers and we are looking to grow it year by year. To start with this year it's been colleagues and friends and next will be opening a bit further.

You're close ssbob but I think the golf will take over.....as there are some competitive guys in the group.

Good luck to you anyway, would love to be involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭hades

You're better off with a sans serif font, the size really isn't the issue, but it could be +1 larger. Viewed on a 23" HD monitor.

ssbob wrote: »
    Good luck to you anyway, would love to be involved.

Maybe next year ssbob depending how this year goes.

Thanks Hades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

No, looking at it on a PC with a 17" monitor. It just like the text is not sharp and something like a water stained font. Other than that the site and pictures look pretty snazzy.

As one of the organizers in a small work society here's a few suggestions:
    1) Have a list of the groupings and tee times and circulate them the night before, inform everyone they're to be on the first tee at least 10 minutes before their tee time or else they will be deducted 1 point from their score. You'll be amazed how many people turn up late and expect to just slot in disrupting your organisation.
    2) Given that it's a grouping of golfers of mixed ability, for the first day arrange the groupings evenly so there are not any overly strong and therefore quick groupings. Give the weaker golfers a chance to learn some pointers from the better golfers. For the second day I'd be inclined to arrange the groupings based on their scores for the first day in a championship format with the leaders going out last.
    3) Personally I'd get rid of rule 8 "If a player scores over 35 points on day one his handicap will be reduced by 1 for round two." If you've going to adjust handicaps after round 1 then calculate the CSS and adjust accordingly to that. Having a set 35 points cut off is very unfair, what if someone brings in 36pts while someone else has 42, they both get cut the same 1 point?
    4) I'd include a small token prize for nearest the pin and longest drive each day, they're good fun and provide a bit of excitement for those maybe not in contention for the main prizes.

No, looking at it on a PC with a 17" monitor. It just like the text is not sharp and something like a water stained font. Other than that the site and pictures look pretty snazzy.

As one of the organizers in a small work society here's a few suggestions:
    1) Have a list of the groupings and tee times and circulate them the night before, inform everyone they're to be on the first tee at least 10 minutes before their tee time or else they will be deducted 1 point from their score. You'll be amazed how many people turn up late and expect to just slot in disrupting your organisation.
    2) Given that it's a grouping of golfers of mixed ability, for the first day arrange the groupings evenly so there are not any overly strong and therefore quick groupings. Give the weaker golfers a chance to learn some pointers from the better golfers. For the second day I'd be inclined to arrange the groupings based on their scores for the first day in a championship format with the leaders going out last.
    3) Personally I'd get rid of rule 8 "If a player scores over 35 points on day one his handicap will be reduced by 1 for round two." If you've going to adjust handicaps after round 1 then calculate the CSS and adjust accordingly to that. Having a set 35 points cut off is very unfair, what if someone brings in 36pts while someone else has 42, they both get cut the same 1 point?
    4) I'd include a small token prize for nearest the pin and longest drive each day, they're good fun and provide a bit of excitement for those maybe not in contention for the main prizes.

Thanks for all that coz I was having trouble thinking of the fairest way of getting the groups together.

I'll talk to the comittee with a view to changing rule 8 too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Just to add to Dr_Colussus' suggestions, you could also consider a booby prize for the worst golf over the two days. I know of one small society that does this and its great craic.

You basically purchase/steal the ugliest cup or trophy-type yoke you can find and award it to the person who was seen hitting the worst shot (not score) over the two days. The "winner" is forced to place it somewhere prominent in their home until the following year, when it is presented again. Winning criteria can be at the captain's pleasure. Its great fun and provides another talking point in the bar afterwards...

Good luck with it anyway, it sounds like a bit of fun and around a great track too!

BTW, I think the website is very good. The suggestion to change fonts is a good one, although not critical.

Anatom wrote: »
    Just to add to Dr_Colussus' suggestions, you could also consider a booby prize for the worst golf over the two days. I know of one small society that does this and its great craic.

You basically purchase/steal the ugliest cup or trophy-type yoke you can find and award it to the person who was seen hitting the worst shot (not score) over the two days. The "winner" is forced to place it somewhere prominent in their home until the following year, when it is presented again. Winning criteria can be at the captain's pleasure. Its great fun and provides another talking point in the bar afterwards...

Good luck with it anyway, it sounds like a bit of fun and around a great track too!

BTW, I think the website is very good. The suggestion to change fonts is a good one, although not critical.

Thanks Anatom thats actually a really good idea and I can see the winner already in my head!

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Yeah font size is tiny... it's set at 11px in the style sheet which is 8pt or .7em
    Too small for my eyes as well.
    Shove it up to around 14px / 11pt / 0.875em

Licksy wrote: »
    Yeah font size is tiny... it's set at 11px in the style sheet which is 8pt or .7em
    Too small for my eyes as well.
    Shove it up to around 14px / 11pt / 0.875em

Thanks Licksy we are looking into changing the font now after all the suggestions.

Should have started this thread when we were designing the site!

This is kicking off this weekend.

The 15 golfers have been given their welcome packs and all trophies have been picked and ordered.

It's our first attempt at this tournament so we're really hopeful it comes out well. Next year it might be open to all on here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

This is kicking off this weekend.

The 15 golfers have been given their welcome packs and all trophies have been picked and ordered.

It's our first attempt at this tournament so we're really hopeful it comes out well. Next year it might be open to all on here!!

Best of luck Lawman, hope it goes well for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Best of luck! Enjoy the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

How did the first Knocklyon Open go Lawman, whats ur assessment on Glasson??

tang1 wrote: »
    How did the first Knocklyon Open go Lawman, whats ur assessment on Glasson??

You beat me to the bump tang1!

Everything went brilliant over the two days. Glasson is a lovely course and in great condition. The staff were brilliant and looked after the 15 of us really well on both days.

Weather was great and we all got burnt.

I won in the end with 71 points over the two days playing off 12 and then 11 on day 2.

We will going next year so watch this space.

Guys the time for organisation has come for the 2012 tourney.

We have two similar prices for Dundrum in Tipperary and the Heritage in Laois.

To anyone out there who has played/stayed in both of the above: Which would you go for?

PS Did I mention I won the thing in 2011 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Can only help you on the Heritage, played it once and its a cracking course. Will test every part of your game. Was in pristine nick when i played it, greens were superb and teeboxes were better than some courses greens. Few tight holes driving wise but most have enough room fairway wise. Think its the 11th, driveable par 4, scary hole!!. Think its very reasonable price wise to. Best of luck defending the title.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

have only played the Heritage as well and its a fine course. First time was a society day and we had handicaps from 1 to mid 20's and everyone enjoyed it. Lovely food there too.

We had a boards day in Dundrum last year, was in great nick, greens are fast, fairways are a nice width but the course can play very long from the back sticks, it really is a good championship course. The pro there is a former European Tour member who played in some majors so it was great to have him starting us. The hotel itself is great too for food and banter, always seems to be busy(I also have a friend who lives close by)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Hey Lawman, great site, looks very well and a great idea.
    My extended family have a similar yearly meet, and I'd love to try and set-up a website for our folk. I've no experience in site development though, was it difficult to setup your site? Much costs involved etc?

only1stevo wrote: »
    Hey Lawman, great site, looks very well and a great idea.
    My extended family have a similar yearly meet, and I'd love to try and set-up a website for our folk. I've no experience in site development though, was it difficult to setup your site? Much costs involved etc?

Thanks for that only1stevo.

My brother is a graphic designer and he wrote and designed the pages. He then got some company/guy to write the code and put it on the web. I think the code side of it and hosting cost about €200.

If your interested my brother could help with the content and design (not sure on cost of this but I'm sure he could do a very good price) and also give you names of the code etc etc.

PM me if you want my brothers contact details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Hi, congratulations on the success last year. With regards to this years course choices I've only played the Heritage, once, a couple of years ago & it still sticks in my memory as a great trek. It has raining & really windy on the day but everyone still really had a great day & loved the course.

Lots of bunkers & plenty of water to contend with. Some really nice risk reward holes.

Best of luck this year. Is the plan to open it up to more entrants? (sorry if that's answered on website, haven't had chance to look at it)

Hi, congratulations on the success last year. With regards to this years course choices I've only played the Heritage, once, a couple of years ago & it still sticks in my memory as a great trek. It has raining & really windy on the day but everyone still really had a great day & loved the course.

Lots of bunkers & plenty of water to contend with. Some really nice risk reward holes.

Best of luck this year. Is the plan to open it up to more entrants? (sorry if that's answered on website, haven't had chance to look at it)

Cheers for that and for the feedback on the Heritage.

For now we are only really set-up for 20 to 30 lads which can be covered by family and friends.

The plan ultimately is to grow to 30 - 50 and the first place it'll be opened to will be guys on here. We just have to be patient with it now I guess but thanks for the interest it's most welcome and noted.

You never know however we may struggle for numbers this year and may well open it up further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Thanks for that only1stevo.

My brother is a graphic designer and he wrote and designed the pages. He then got some company/guy to write the code and put it on the web. I think the code side of it and hosting cost about €200.

If your interested my brother could help with the content and design (not sure on cost of this but I'm sure he could do a very good price) and also give you names of the code etc etc.

PM me if you want my brothers contact details.

Cheers, ah just wanted a general idea, have a few pals who might be able to do something, thanks for the advice.

only1stevo wrote: »
    Cheers, ah just wanted a general idea, have a few pals who might be able to do something, thanks for the advice.

No problem drop me a line if you need any tips regarding a comp like this.

Anyway while it's bumped; we've decided to go with Dundrum House. Deal was the same for both places but we felt Dundrum kinda wanted it more and where much more open to help. Heritage guys were first class though no complaints at all.

Dates are 25 and 26 August.

I may bump this again if I have some spots to fill!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Jul3s

Sorry to burst your bubble, but how is this an open when it's just for your family and friends, call it the "piss up" or "classic" or whatever, but an open it is not!.

Jul3s wrote: »
    Sorry to burst your bubble, but how is this an open when it's just for your family and friends, call it the "piss up" or "classic" or whatever, but an open it is not!.

You haven't burst my bubble at all Jul3s rest assured.

It's a semi open as its open to golfers and friends connected to us and connected to Knocklyon. Calling it the Knocklyon Semi-Open just doesn't have the same ring to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

It's a semi open as its open to golfers and friends connected to us and connected to Knocklyon. Calling it the Knocklyon Semi-Open just doesn't have the same ring to it.

id call it the knocklyon closed so lawman
    just to avoid confusion you see

mikeunt wrote: »
    id call it the knocklyon closed so lawman
    just to avoid confusion you see

How about "The Knocklyon Ajar 2012'?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Jul3s

So it's by invite only then yea? in that case call it an invational or as suggested above close.
    Either of those two reflects the true nature of your event.
    Also why do you have photos of Padraig Harrington on your site and photos of courses that are not even in this country and you probably have not played and most likey never will?.

Jul3s wrote: »
    So it's by invite only then yea? in that case call it an invational or as suggested above close.
    Either of those two reflects the true nature of your event.
    Also why do you have photos of Padraig Harrington on your site and photos of courses that are not even in this country and you probably have not played and most likey never will?.

Thanks for all the feedback Juls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

I have played both the Heritage and Dundrum House each year for the last three years as they are always popular on our weekend away list.

Firstly the courses ...... Heritage wins by a whisker, it has all the shots and you need to think your way around. Dundrum is good and to be honest, it could well be just a matter of personal choice or your experience on the day.

Secondly comes the accommodation & craic..... here Dundrum wins and again only just. The Heritage has the hotel bar which is not great, so most head out to the thatched pub at the entrance ..... we've had a few good nights there. First time we stayed in the Heritage we got an appartment and it was fantastic, but they have told us that option is no longer available so it the hotel or nothing. Hotel is v.good but almost too sterile when compared to Dundrum and its older but friendlier atmosphere. Food in the Heritage was average and we have been messed around if theres a wedding on.
    Dundrum will give you the apartments and grab them!! the club bar is going all day and the food is v.good ..... the dinner in the restaurant is excellent and breakfast is all you can eat. Another added bonus is that the weddings in Dundrum are easy to gatecrash and theres no hassle .... especially when you explain that you are a party of retired Archbishops on tour!!

Maybe you can see why we play both ..... heritage for the course and Dundrum for the craic. We have played Glasson, not bad but not enough of us wanted a return.

Enjoy wherever you go.

Oh I almost forgot ..... The Heritage has a Par 3 course, if you go for a weekend you can play it Friday evening with golf sat n sunday, so as I say golf is slightly better at the Heritage.

Thanks for the very concise descriptions Dtoffee. These points ate exactly the kind of things that help us. I'll enquire about the apartments tomorrow now you mention it.

Hopefully everything goes as well as your outings sound.

So we are playing this at the weekend in Dundrum Co. Tipp.

www.knocklyonopen.com

I can't find any guides on the 'course-guides' thread. Does anyone have a decent guide or breakdown of the course?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

Suggestion for next year re; the website, pay a professional or do it yourself, but whatever you decide don't go with a foreign exchange student again as the grammar is shocking to say the least and it's clear from the use of golfing terms that said student has a very limited knowledge of golf.

MP62 wrote: »
    Suggestion for next year re; the website, pay a professional or do it yourself, but whatever you decide don't go with a foreign exchange student again as the grammar is shocking to say the least and it's clear from the use of golfing terms that said student has a very limited knowledge of golf.

You gotta love the interweb for smart answers and comedians. :rolleyes:

You gotta love it even more for wannabes.

Hahaha that's made my day. Cheers R2D2.

Hahaha you're welcome, dont mention it Spock.