Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off with her head!!

• 17-04-2011 2:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭

éirigí behead an effigy of the British Queen outside the GPO yesterday.

I was emailed the above video today and I personally thought it was a good form of symbolic protest, the references to the French revolution etc, I see little wrong with it, except maybe being a bit in bad taste.

However another lad I know said it shouldn't have been allowed and it was taking "peaceful protest" in the guise of street theater too far. In response I said its grand as long as no one is being hurt.

The opposition to the Brit Queens visit is really starting to kick off now and will only gain momentum in the coming weeks. Over the course of the buildup to the visit more and more protests will be held, what form, if any, of "peaceful protest" is too much or too far? Should this form of protest be stopped? Or should any protests be allowed as long as they are peaceful?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

Who gives a toss where she visits? I say the whole country should ignore her visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm a leftie do-gooder pinko, and I'd be sympathetic to non violent republicanism, but by Jesus do I detest Eirigi.

Who cares.. It's just an old woman visiting Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Why are people getting so worked up about an OAP visiting?

Move on for Christ's sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Who cares?

Nice model though, better than half of Madame Tussauds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭bunnymunro

this crowd are some shower of tools....they have little to be worrying about..if any of them are on here could i just say a big P.F.O to ye all ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Blah blah blah I hate the Brits

Wolfe Tone, I bet you came all over yourself watching that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm not supportive of her visit but that shit's just unnecessary. I can't stand Eirigi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Yawn ....off with this thread more likely .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Jesus Christ will you lot just get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm a leftie do-gooder pinko, and I'd be sympathetic to non violent republicanism, but by Jesus do I detest Eirigi.
    Wouldn't be the biggest fan of them myself either tbh, although that would be more to do with their stance on the GFA rather than the attention seeking.

Wolfe Tone, I bet you came all over yourself watching that.
    Thats a gross misrepresentation of my post, and a quite pathetic jibe at myself. How about you read the OP and try to make a decent contribution and attack the post and not the poster?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

..should any protests be allowed as long as they are peaceful?

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Dey tuk our spuudddddds

krudler wrote: »
    Dey tuk our spuudddddds
    They gave them to us, then took em away, bastards! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

I was emailed the above video today and I personally thought it was a 1. good form of symbolic protest, the references to the French revolution etc, I see little wrong with it, except maybe 2. being a bit in bad taste.

However another lad I know said it shouldn't have been allowed and it was taking "peaceful protest" in the guise of street theater too far. In response 3. I said its grand as long as no one is being hurt.

The opposition to 4. the Brit Queens visit is really starting to kick off now and will only gain momentum in the coming weeks. Over the course of the buildup to the visit more and more protests will be held, what form, if any, of "peaceful protest" is too much or too far? Should this form of protest be stopped? Or should any protests be allowed as long as they are peaceful?

1. WTF! If that's street theatre, tell me what street and when and I'll avoid it like the plague. I get enough sleepless nights from my youngest having nightmares about mime artists.

2. Very bad taste and also very bloody childish.

3. The whole country is being hurt by this crap. Are they trying to drag us into the stone age again with this sort of rubbish. If it was an effigy of Obama they were 'beheading' they'd be cleared off the street in a thrice. Why is it ok to stage a fake beheading and yet people get their knickers in a twist over beheadings in the Middle East. The so called Irish people behind this mockery are so warped and full of bitterness I doubt they'd hesitate if they actually had the Queen in person and Youtube it within seconds of the deed being done.

4. Are they coming for the Gay Pride Week in Dublin? :confused: The auld biddies who picketed the lap dancing club in Kilkenny will have a field day.

I've said it before.. back in the last recession I moved to London, got a job in a couple of days and bought a house within two years, was always in work and never made feel unwelcome once in nearly 15 years and I wasn't the only one. The UK was a refuge from the misery of mid 80s Ireland.

Why is there this insistence on propagating and perpetuating anti-Royalist sentiment? If they want to behead something that actually makes a real point, shouldn't they be using effigies of those people who were actually in power!

Ireland will never be whole or healed until the carping old biddymen on either side STFU!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Skangers acting skangerish in the name of politics. Doesn't take much visual display to appease the tracksuit wearing children.

I'd love to know why they didn't bother their holes to protest when our own committed economic treason.

You know, something that has actually affected up now rather than a symbolic figure head in the form of an old lady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I think we could do without this nonsense tbh, can you imagine the international tabloid media getting a hold of this upon the queens visit and making an international story out of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭-Vega-

OLD, give it a rest, no one gives a **** anymore, we can go there if we want, she can come here. No one cares, except ****ing idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

To imitate chopping an old womans head off is in bad taste!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Out of interest whay is Eirigi's stance on the death penelty ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Who ever is talking in that video is an absolute idiot.
    Couldn't give two ****s about the north myself, but what is he ****eing on about "not forgetting about the 6 counties" and not accepting British rule.
    If this dumb**** is going to go on like that at least update his opinions to reflect modern day life. Spas like this should be buried alive. Get a ****ing life and move on. The ****head has probably never been in the north, unless he's doing a bit of shopping on the weekend.
    He's going on about wanting the youth of Ireland to get involved, that's the last thing we ****ing need right now, going back to that crap when it's nearly over and done with. Lets start resenting the English again, our biggest nation for tourism and exports, good one.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Chuuuuuuuuuuuuck chuck chuuuucky ar laaaaa? Just go away with ye. Please. Build a bloody bridge and get over it for fúck sake. Haven't we enough things to be worrying about than this?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

As long as she leaves those pesky Muslamic Rape Gangs back in England we'll be fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Wibbs wrote: »
    Chuuuuuuuuuuuuck chuck chuuuucky ar laaaaa? Just go away with ye. Please. Build a bloody bridge and get over it for fúck sake. Haven't we enough things to be worrying about than this?
    Exactly, these ****ers need to get a life of their own and bitch over that instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Fcuking losers, each and everyone of them. That said, I am a supporter of free speech, so they can say or do what they like, but given this is incitement to violence, in my eyes, maybe they shouldn't be allowed protest.

Also, note how they are dressed, would not surprise me if they knew sweet fcuk all about the politics of the north. Their blind hatred allows them to forego all other points of view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I hope this kind of carry on isnt picked up by the international media when the queen does come to visit as these idiots will only embarrass the country at a time when we need tourists visiting the country and foreign investment more than ever.

I can only imagine the outrage here if a group like the BNP beheaded an effigy of our president. While i think as long as its peaceful protests they should be allowed but they're only further tarnishing this countrys reputation abroad.

1. WTF! If that's street theatre, tell me what street and when and I'll avoid it like the plague. I get enough sleepless nights from my youngest having nightmares about mime artists.

2. Very bad taste and also very bloody childish.

3. The whole country is being hurt by this crap. Are they trying to drag us into the stone age again with this sort of rubbish. If it was an effigy of Obama they were 'beheading' they'd be cleared off the street in a thrice. Why is it ok to stage a fake beheading and yet people get their knickers in a twist over beheadings in the Middle East. The so called Irish people behind this mockery are so warped and full of bitterness I doubt they'd hesitate if they actually had the Queen in person and Youtube it within seconds of the deed being done.

4. Are they coming for the Gay Pride Week in Dublin? :confused: The auld biddies who picketed the lap dancing club in Kilkenny will have a field day.

I've said it before.. back in the last recession I moved to London, got a job in a couple of days and bought a house within two years, was always in work and never made feel unwelcome once in nearly 15 years and I wasn't the only one. The UK was a refuge from the misery of mid 80s Ireland.

Why is there this insistence on propagating and perpetuating anti-Royalist sentiment? If they want to behead something that actually makes a real point, shouldn't they be using effigies of those people who were actually in power!

Ireland will never be whole or healed until the carping old biddymen on either side STFU!

Thats why I was asking if this type of thing should be stopped or not.

It was outside the GPO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I can only imagine the outrage here if a group like the BNP beheaded an effigy of our president. While i think as long as its peaceful protests they should be allowed but they're only further tarnishing this countrys reputation abroad.

You think people would give a sh*t about that? A bunch of Gorillas cutting the head off a doll? I certainly wouldn't!

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Out of interest whay is Eirigi's stance on the death penelty ?
    They would be against it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

bunch of gob****es and no mistake

they give republicans a bad name - im not up for her visiting but dont care if she comes or not ,
    ill just ignore it and get on with my life , hope she has a lovely time
    and recommends ireland 2 all her mates

it warms the cockles of my heart 2 see after nearly 40 post and 99% of people think that those lads a a bunch of pricks and should **** off back under what ever rock they crawled from under , SPAS

WindSock wrote: »
    Skangers acting skangerish in the name of politics. Doesn't take much visual display to appease the tracksuit wearing children.

I'd love to know why they didn't bother their holes to protest when our own committed economic treason.

You know, something that has actually affected up now rather than a symbolic figure head in the form of an old lady.

Considering eirigi protest about everything and anything I imagine they did!

Not in my name, Eirigi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

I wonder if any of those knackers (or if they've the capacity to do so) are reading this and will dare come on and defend their actions?

Probably not.

Sick of this bullsh!t. England's good enough for them when it suits them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

what a bunch of gob****es .............. i welcome the queen , they were happy to give us 7 billion euro to help our economy , i didnt hear eirigi complain about that !

Really? They gave us 7 billion for free? We wont have to pay it back at all? Or pay it back with a pile of interest? Sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

What is it with fundamentalists and their effigies, I noticed someone wanted to burn that one too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Really? They gave us 7 billion for free? We wont have to pay it back at all? Or pay it back with a pile of interest? Sweet.

correct me if im wrong but the cash the brits " gave us " is at the lowest interest rate and also they did not have 2 give it to us because the are not part of the EMF
    Portugal is a good point - they as good as told them to feck off

maybe the brits were felling guilty - or maybe if we go down they come with us :eek:

either way we got the cash - well done brit land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

bunch of queer's on the dole....

waste of life that éirigí bunch...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

They would be against it.

So consistency wouldnt be their strong point then ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Absolutely, even worse than a bunch of queers on the dole.

These idiots actually cost money to control.

Unfortunately these gobshítes have idiots in the background trying to gain publicity for them, misguided fools who have been inculcated into a regime which was obsolete yonks ago.

Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Well OP,if you posted the video in the expectation of us nodding our heads sagely and thinking "These boys may have a point" I'm afraid it's a fail.Nul Points.

cml387 wrote: »
    Well OP,if you posted the video in the expectation of us nodding our heads sagely and thinking "These boys may have a point" I'm afraid it's a fail.Nul Points.
    Did you read what I wrote? Maybe you should.

I was wondering if people felt if that type of protest should be allowed or not, or if they think its ok to do as no one is hurt.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Whats the bets when lizzy does come over all they will do is fight/attack with their own Irish Police force, the Gardai.

All the time claiming they are engaging in a peaceful protest.

Then when lizzy is gone they will have another "peaceful protest" about Garda brutality in their last protest.

Whats with the use of the word "queer"?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Reintroduce internment for all these Éirigí scum.

Lock them up for crimes against Ireland.

And let them stew in the Joy.

Shower of idiotic twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Did you read what I wrote? Maybe you should.

I was wondering if people felt if that type of protest should be allowed or not, or if they think its ok to do as no one is hurt.

...and what do you think,then,since you went to the bother of seeking out and posting that shyte?

cml387 wrote: »
    ...and what do you think,then,since you went to the bother of seeking out and posting that shyte?
    Seeking out? It was emailed to me.

I think it should be allowed.

However I think it is a bit in bad taste and a bit too close to the unionist past time of burning effigies of the pope for my liking.