Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Collins Vs Dev. The final battle.

• 17-04-2011 12:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭

Which outcome would you have preferred?

Seeing as how Collins was killed, this is entirely hypothetical.
    However, I've put localised options in the (upcoming. Be patient, bitches) poll for kicks.

Collins or Dev 97 votes

From Cork and support Collins
    0%
    From Cork and support Dev
    6%
    D-GenerateomahaidNiall09LETHAL LADYbarbariansWorztron 6 votes
    Outside Cork and support Collins
    0%
    From Dublin and support Collins
    26%
    OffyAgent SmithUnpossibleR0ottallusgerrycollinsGerard.CDennis the StonemailrewopSchismflahavajIang87audidieselDwellingdwellerjimthementalbrummytomtonycascarinoTheReverendNoreen1peabutler 26 votes
    From Dublin and support Dev
    18%
    Capt'n Midnightchillywillydermo88phantom_lorddsmythydfx-BurgoRiddle101Handsome BobSanjuroCoriolanusScrambled eggRedlionIndubitableFukuyamaTFKNSNOAhSureTisGrand 18 votes
    Outside Dublin and support Dev
    3%
    newbie!degausserxoPdfile 3 votes
    The following count as one vote
    5%
    mikemacShagNastiiPomBearkildare9Cakes. 5 votes
    I'm an adult and realise that the civil war is over
    3%
    KnifeWRENCHMy name is URLTheZohanS 3 votes
    I don't care
    28%
    azezilentropibanquoTerryRichieCstrobesmellslikeshoesFremenkowloonTyler MacDurdenK-9minidazzlerepgc3fyqirnbsxSmartly Dressedliamygunner29Celly Smunt[Deleted User]AgricolaKeithAFCquestionmark? 28 votes
    Who is Dev?
    7%
    starbelgradesmurfy89rockmongrelupandcummingGunsfortoysDeus Ex Machinacocoshovel 7 votes
    Who is Collins?
    0%
    Pointless poll
    1%
    THall04 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

poll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

me no like patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I don't care
    Collins had a fierce uppercut but nothing to stand up to Devs prancing lizard technique.

Would love to see some alternative history with Collins as the boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭chalkitdown

There doesn't seem to be enough options available in the poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I don't care
    There doesn't seem to be enough options available in the poll.
    Sorry about that.
    Mods, could one of you please add "Support McCarthy Dundon" to the poll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭chalkitdown

Terry wrote: »
    Sorry about that.
    Mods, could one of you please add "Support McCarthy Dundon" to the poll?

LOL, you plick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

James Connolly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I don't care
    Collins would win, I know at least 5 people alive today named Michael Collins. How many Eamon De Valeras do you know?
    Simple mathematics, Collins would be victorious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

Dev wasnt executed in 1916 because he had an American passport? Is that right? So the Americans created unrest and then planted their own man in charge of the country, had Collins off'ed and look at us now :D oh this is AH not CT opps-a-daisy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Mary Harney would take both of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Dev= Dublin isn't all that strong of a connection. But if ye want to claim him feel free :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Who is Dev?
    I'm surprised that MTV hasn't done a Celebrity Death Match on this yet.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'm surprised that MTV hasn't done a Celebrity Death Match on this yet.

I'm not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I would naturally choose the Irishman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

An out of shape fighter, who relies on hypnotism to go the distance Vs an internet entrepreneur.
    Sounds like a battle not to be missed, I want ringside seats dammit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Will this be pay per view of free to air?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

I demand a video similar to this-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,795 ✭✭✭Worztron

de Valera sent Collins (who he knew was not as good a negotiator) knowing full well that Collins could not have gotten a better deal. That way Collins bore the brunt of the backlash. I do think that Collins saw the treaty as a stepping stone and not as a final step. We only got a free state but did get a Republic in 1949 (62 years today). A 32 county Republic may be impossible now due to Fianna FAIL economic suicide (how ironic for the anti treaty party).

Mitch Hedberg: "Rice is great if you're really hungry and want to eat two thousand of something."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Wheres the none of the above option ?
    Offy wrote: »
    Dev wasnt executed in 1916 because he had an American passport? Is that right?

Legally he couldnt have been executed for treason as he wasnt a British subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,795 ✭✭✭Worztron

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Legally he couldnt have been executed for treason as he wasnt a British subject.

Correct.

Mitch Hedberg: "Rice is great if you're really hungry and want to eat two thousand of something."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I don't care
    I ticked the "I'm an adult and realise that the civil war is over" box, but I still think Dev was a slimy bastard who would have hung his own granny out to dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Collins could've always told Lloyd George to piss on his treaty, it was an option.

If Collins wasn't killed would future generations have had such distain for Dev. I don't think so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I don't care
    Crosáidí wrote: »
    Collins could've always told Lloyd George to piss on his treaty, it was an option.

If Collins wasn't killed would future generations have had such distain for Dev. I don't think so

Collins has that James Dean type of mystique. Would he have been that different from Cosgrave? who was extremely conservative and a CnaG and FG figures that tended to be more conservative than DeV, I have my doubts.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

What time are the usual shower of shinners and misguided republicans due to turn up and hijack this thread with their usual guff about 800 years of woe and angst?

Should I reach for the popcorn now or come back later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭TFK

I got a B in my LC because of Collins (well not the actual him obviously) I remember feck all now but still, I'm proud of my result :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Lapin wrote: »
    .. woe and angst?

Touch of woe and angst yourself there sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

"I'm an adult and realise the civil war is over"-wha? I think everyone realises the civil war is over*. also, COLLINS COLLINS COLLINS!

*I have a malfunctioning sarcasm detector...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Pity those who ignored the will of the majority are still stirring it up.

The resources wasted during the civil war would have made a difference to winning the north back, whether by military means or hearts and minds or economic means is a matter of conjecture.

As for Dev how can you respect someone who more or less started the civil war (he could probably have prevented it at the least) over an issue that he later just ignored.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Touch of woe and angst yourself there sir.

And misery.

Lets not forget the oul misery.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

General Collins by a country mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If either Collins OR Dev had known how their glorious Irish Republic would end up, and their respective political movements, I doubt either of them would have bothered :(

Regardless of side, I imagine everyone who fought in our civil war is now turning in their graves at the sheer incompetence of the people who now call themselves their "counterparts".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I don't care
    Pity those who ignored the will of the majority are still stirring it up.

The resources wasted during the civil war would have made a difference to winning the north back, whether by military means or hearts and minds or economic means is a matter of conjecture.

As for Dev how can you respect someone who more or less started the civil war (he could probably have prevented it at the least) over an issue that he later just ignored.

You think they'd have beaten the Brits in the North? Ulster was relatively quiet during the War of Independence and the Brits would have backed it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If either Collins OR Dev had known how their glorious Irish Republic would end up, and their respective political movements, I doubt either of them would have bothered :(

Regardless of side, I imagine everyone who fought in our civil war is now turning in their graves at the sheer incompetence of the people who now call themselves their "counterparts".

If Collins knew how things were going to turn out, he would have shot Dev.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The following count as one vote
    These things go in cycles. Dev may be portrayed badly and as some Machiavellian schemer and Collins as some no nonsense take charge man but go back a generation and it was different.

Go forward a generation and it'll be different again and we'll blast Collins and praise De Valera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

Why doesn't the poll just ask 'Collins' or 'Dev'? Like looking at the feckin' census forms...