Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who play loud music on public transport

• 13-04-2011 12:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭

A serious pet peeve: Idiots who sit there on the bus, train or tram and just blare their rubbish gansta rap music out of their mini CD player for the rest of the train to hear. These people should be provided with a hefty fine for disturbing the peace and for being general all round d1ckheads!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

scouser82 wrote: »
    A serious pet peeve: Idiots who sit there on the bus, train or tram and just blare their rubbish gansta rap music out of their mini CD player for the rest of the train to hear. These people should be provided with a hefty fine for disturbing the peace and for being general all round d1ckheads!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭scouser82

Yeh I dunno. I was too lazy to check google on how to spell ghettoblaster! Still am too lazy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Unfortunetely my banjo doesnt have a volume control so people are just going to have to live with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

i do this, mainly because I want to drown out all posh kunts from dalkey talking as if they actually have something interesting goin on in their lives, "like i was doing like this like this like today".....smack the fook up bítch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

DB code of behaviour bylaws
    No person while on the vehicle shall sing, perform on any musical or other instruments or use any audible radio, television, record player, tape recorder or portable apparatus.

http://www.dublinbus.ie/en/About-Us/Dublin-Bus-Bye-Laws/Passenger-Behaviour/

ask the driver to fuck them off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

cosmicfart wrote: »
    i do this, mainly because I want to drown out all posh kunts from dalkey talking as if they actually have something interesting goin on in their lives, "like i was doing like this like this like today".....smack the fook up bítch!

I and im sure the majority of good law abiding citizens of Ireland would prefer to hear "like i was doing like this like this like today" than some chipmunk sounding, random noise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

JJ Kavanaghs college bus. Nenagh to Galway but I think it starts in Carlow.
    If you know the midlands you know JJ Kavanagh

Just under two hours of fiddly eye di die jig music blaring every Sunday night :mad:

ask the driver to fuck them off

Sometimes it's the driver who has the music on max volume

Pauleta wrote: »
    I and im sure the majority of good law abiding citizens of Ireland would prefer to hear "like i was doing like this like this like today" than some chipmunk sounding, random noise.

you probably like listening to the sound of your own voice to. I dont listening to rap btw its heavy metal which needs to be played loud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Sometimes it's the driver who has the music on max volume

take over the bus so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭FoamyMushroom

Just look at the guy or chick playing the music... a stair down... it will get madly awkward and the person will turn it down.. Works for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 MAndrew

Unfortunetaly there are people like that.. But remember - its crappy music for you, and your music is crappy to other people also. So it works both ways, not only for gangsta-rap ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

you probably like listening to the sound of your own voice to. I dont listening to rap btw its heavy metal which needs to be played loud

The Kings of Leon are not Heavy Metal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

I threw three people out from the computer lab yesterday because they were saying ignorant **** like this: By which I mean talking sh!t about people with southside dublin accents. You know the expression "Pain in the neck"? They annoyed me so much that I did physically get one.

They said "Do you mind if we stay if we're quiet?" I said "No, I do mind. Get out." I think that "Yes, I do mind. Get out," would have been more grammatically correct, but I was very annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭scouser82

Headphones also work

Pauleta wrote: »
    The Kings of Leon are not Heavy Metal.

DEICIDE utube them

Kadongy wrote: »
    I threw three people out from the computer lab yesterday because they were saying ignorant **** like this: By which I mean talking sh!t about people with southside dublin accents. You know the expression "Pain in the neck"? They annoyed me so much that I did physically get one.

They said "Do you mind if we stay if we're quiet?" I said "No, I do mind. Get out." I think it "Yes, I do mind. Get out," would have been more grammatically correct, but I was very annoyed.

thats a very funny story u should have become a comedian not a bully!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Just walk up to them and start pulling the cock off yourself in rhythm to the music.

thats a very funny story u should have become a comedian not a bully!!
    No you misunderstand. Expressing hatred of people because they talk differently to you is not acceptable behaviour. The people I refer to were even nastier than you, in fact, because they were all locals in a place where people with southside Dublin accents would be very much a minority.

Talking loud bigoted sh!t is bullying. My reponse was anything but - it was moderate to say the least.

No you misunderstand. Expressing hatred of people because they talk differently to you is not acceptable behaviour. The people I refer to were even nastier than you, in fact, because they were all locals in a place where people with southside Dublin accents would be very much a minority.

Talking loud bigoted sh!t is bullying. My reponse was anything but - it was moderate to say the least.

yeah well i disagree, i hate they way some people talk in this country be they posh D4 heads or skangers, what wrong with just speaking english you learned in school? your possibly luckly you didnt get ur ead kicked in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

their mini CD player for the rest of the train to hear. !!

You must be really annoyed if it's still bugging you from the 90s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Kings Of Leon at any volume are sh1te.

What a boring band

yeah well i disagree, i hate they way some people talk in this country be they posh D4 heads or skangers, what wrong with just speaking english you learned in school? your possibly luckly you didnt get ur ead kicked in
    I should count myself lucky for not getting my head kicked in because I took issue with people making loud bigoted remarks? What a lovely world you inhabit.

Here's a crazy idea: People with "posh" accents went to schools with other people with "posh" accents and grew up in areas where people speak with "posh" accents. People with "skanger" accents went to schools with other people with "skanger" accents and grew up in areas where people speak with "skanger" accents. Maybe they dont talk this was to annoy you personally, but it's just the way they talk. Kinda like having brown hair or fair hair, or light skin or dark skin.

Maybe you should move past judging people on their accents at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Recession tip! If you like Rihanna, any R&B stuff or anything techno, save yourself the money of buying the tracks/an mp3 player, and just sit on the Red line Luas every day for an hour to listen to them!

I should count myself lucky for not getting my head kicked in because I took issue with people making loud bigoted remarks? What a lovely world you inhabit.

Here's a crazy idea: People with "posh" accents went to schools with other people with "posh" accents and grew up in areas where people speak with "posh" accents. People with "skanger" accents went to schools with other people with "skanger" accents and grew up in areas where people speak with "skanger" accents. Maybe they dont talk this was to annoy you personally, but it's just the way they talk. Kinda like having brown hair or fair hair, or light skin or dark skin. Maybe you should move past judging people on their accents at all.

yeah i wouldnt take that ****e from you, and stop been a twat by comparing racism to simple pet hates. i dont judge people by 'just' their accents, however like most humans, a persons looks and sounds are the first things to judge a person by.

Recession tip! If you like Rihanna, any R&B stuff or anything techno, save yourself the money of buying the tracks/an mp3 player, and just sit on the Red line Luas every day for an hour to listen to them!

I'd give you your own show: How To Beat The Recession, Scumbag Style! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

your accent is a product of where you come from to a certain extent, not a choice (although some exagerate it), just a shame some are bloody annoying!

The d4 american twang is an exception, people seemed to bring that home in the suitcase after a week in new york.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

It could be worse. One morning in the Dart on my way to work, sleepy head... and this guy was listening full blast... Lady Gaga :confused: :mad:

Seriously, wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Good tip

If you want to listen to the same music and breath in second hand smoke from joints go to the top deck of Dublin Bus 78A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Just walk up to them and start pulling the cock off yourself in rhythm to the music.

Eye contact is important when doing this.

Either that or i just ask them to turn it down a bit politely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Actually, the most entertaining was when four Eastern-European guys in their mid-20s were blaring Miley Cyrus on their phone. When the song ended, they went back to talking in their own language but every few minutes one of them would randomly break into song "Always goooonnnna be an uphiiillll batttttle!".

Not sure if they liked the song or were just taking the piss...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

It depends what they are playing, last week I sat beside a guy who was blasting W.A.S.P on his, that was pretty cool.

yeah i wouldnt take that ****e from you, and stop been a twat by comparing racism to simple pet hates. i dont judge people by 'just' their accents, however like most humans, a persons looks and sounds are the first things to judge a person by.
    You put just in inverted commas, but I didn't use that word at all. Judging someone on their accent is no different to judging them on race tbh. I realise that you are rather close-minded, and that trying to introduce you to any ideas that challenge your existing views is a complete waste of time, so I won't continue trying.

You are funny saying you "wouldn't take that sh!te off me". This is the internet :)

Anyway yeah talking to you is a waste of time. So I'm afraid I won't respond to your next, em - cutting retort lol

You're a very sound fella, aren't ya? :rolleyes:

You put just in inverted commas, but I didn't use that word at all. Judging someone on their accent is no different to judging them on race tbh. I realise that you are rather close-minded, and that trying to introduce you to any ideas that challenge your existing views is a complete waste of time, so I won't continue trying.

You are funny saying you "wouldn't take that sh!te off me". This is the internet :)

Anyway yeah talking to you is a waste of time. So I'm afraid I won't respond to your next, em - cutting retort lol

i never said you said just, i was making the point that i dont 'just' judge people on their accents, and as for changing my views LOL dont think you actually know anything about me just because I get annoyed at the way some people talk! by now dont come back!

You're a very sound fella, aren't ya? :rolleyes:

yeah thats because I agree with everything like most sheep, not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I find it amusing that people always turned to the person listening to their music just a bit too loudly, but they'll ignore the group of girls giggling piercingly loud at the boys standing on the sidewalk, or the group of lads spitting on the floor and banging their fists against the window, or the half drunken middle aged couple who are arguing between themselves because the lad happened to talk to his ex at the bus stop, or the yuppie who decides to have a very loud conference call on his smartphone.

yeah thats because I agree with everything like most sheep, not

Yeah... what's your tin-foil hat syndrome got to do with feeling the need to be hard on the internet and call people twats?

excuse me with the twats post but well he came across to me that way and as for getting hard pmsl yeah look at me im Ard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Yeh I dunno. I was too lazy to check google on how to spell ghettoblaster! Still am too lazy!

Mini CD's, Ghettoblasters?! What frakkin' decade are you living in? :D

excuse me with the twats post but well he came across to me that way and as for getting hard pmsl yeah look at me im Ard

PMSL? You don't need to act hard, you know. This isn't a frat house or a bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

pmsl (píssing myself laughing) jebus you aint been on this interweb thing long have you?

Boards.ie I have to say is full to the brim of wanna be obnoxious people its seems to bring out the hard man in me pmsl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Not on a bus it doesn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Just ignore the foolish ones.

pmsl (píssing myself laughing) jebus you aint been on this interweb thing long have you?

Boards.ie I have to say is full to the brim of wanna be obnoxious people its seems to bring out the hard man in me pmsl

I'd reckon it's been about... 12 years now since I've being using it. But no, I don't really hear that acronym much. Though technically it should be "PML"...
    Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Just ignore the foolish ones.

I want to but... he's funny to me; I enjoy the smiles he creates on my face. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

There's no better feeling than strolling onto a bus after flashing me bus pass like a boss to the driver then giving a sly wink to the hottie downstairs, proceeding upstairs in me new kicks to take me position on the bus, the people unaware of the gift I'm about to give them, I can see how bored they are, they need someone to shake things up and take charge. They're praying for a bit of excitement in their lives and I am the one to deliver it, so I reach into me oversized bubble jacket with the furry bits along the hood and I take out me phone. Ahead of me is a poor lad on his ipodge listening to radioshite or shitehead I'm not sure what the bleedin name of them are, poor lad probably hasn't listened to good music in his whole life, don't worry mate I'll sort ye out is what I say to meself before I open me ringtones. So many choices to get this bus bouncin and chanting me name, "DECO DECO DECO!!" they'd say and the hottie downstairs would hear this and be drippin from the gee in seconds. I see the song, its the one for this bus I just know it, "On the floor" J Lo feat. Pitbull, I let the tuuune rip and the sound from my phone gives it that vintage feeling. People are turning their heads to see whats going on, I can tell that their minds are blown, even the lad who was on his ipodge is taken his hearphones out! He finally has been freed from his torturous slumber. I own this bus! These are me peoples! I jump off me stop but I know that today is only the beginning, I must spread the word... :P:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I must spread the word... :P:pac:
    Can you do that with paragraphs too? Thanks in advance:pac:

There's no better feeling than strolling onto a bus after flashing me bus pass like a boss to the driver then giving a sly wink to the hottie downstairs, proceeding upstairs in me new kicks to take me position on the bus, the people unaware of the gift I'm about to give them, I can see how bored they are, they need someone to shake things up and take charge. They're praying for a bit of excitement in their lives and I am the one to deliver it, so I reach into me oversized bubble jacket with the furry bits along the hood and I take out me phone. Ahead of me is a poor lad on his ipodge listening to radioshite or shitehead I'm not sure what the bleedin name of them are, poor lad probably hasn't listened to good music in his whole life, don't worry mate I'll sort ye out is what I say to meself before I open me ringtones. So many choices to get this bus bouncin and chanting me name, "DECO DECO DECO!!" they'd say and the hottie downstairs would hear this and be drippin from the gee in seconds. I see the song, its the one for this bus I just know it, "On the floor" J Lo feat. Pitbull, I let the tuuune rip and the sound from my phone gives it that vintage feeling. People are turning their heads to see whats going on, I can tell that their minds are blown, even the lad who was on his ipodge is taken his hearphones out! He finally has been freed from his torturous slumber. I own this bus! These are me peoples! I jump off me stop but I know that today is only the beginning, I must spread the word... :P:pac:

I think you're lying. I haven't seen anyone called Deco affording a phone. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Can you do that with paragraphs too? Thanks in advance:pac:

Me Deco isn't a Master of Paragraphs, he's a Master of Blastin Catchy Tuunes on his Phone the same way your the Master of Nothing