Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA Fundraiser

• 12-04-2011 9:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Hi i am wondering if anyone has any good ideas for a fundraiser for our GAA club, we are looking to raise around 5 or 6 thousand. In the last couple of years we have done a race night and a barbeque/barn dance which were very good but we are just looking at doing something different this year. We already have our weekly club lotto. Would be grateful if anyone could help with some ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

A sponsored weight loss programme, we recently ran one over a six week period and it was a huge success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

Kilmoron wrote: »
    Hi i am wondering if anyone has any good ideas for a fundraiser for our GAA club, we are looking to raise around 5 or 6 thousand. In the last couple of years we have done a race night and a barbeque/barn dance which were very good but we are just looking at doing something different this year. We already have our weekly club lotto. Would be grateful if anyone could help with some ideas.
    you could do a who wants to be a thousandaire show, in 2010 there was an average profit of €28,000 for each committee who did a show. The lowest amount raised by any committee was €17,000 and some committees raised over €40,000. this is their website http://www.thousandaire.ie/index.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭factnee

A few clubs that I know of are trying this:

www.sportsprofit.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

The 2 big ones in Ulster are Take Me Out and Strictly Come Dancing! But as I've said on previous thread, the days of the €100 ticket are over, now you need a lot of people to give you a modest amount of money. Both these events will achieve that but you will have to fork over a reasonable sum to the organisers. Theres a few cowboys doing TMO and Strictly is pricey but very good. So the best idea, and any club can do this, is Stars in your eyes. You get local people making an arse of themselves in front of their friends and neighbours. And you get to keep all the cash. Not the most subtle thing in the world but who cares. Pm me if you want details on reputable Take Me Out shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Balloon Race.

Yes folks a baloon race is a great fundraiser. Our aim is to sell a minimum of 1,000 heilium filled balloons for €5 each as part of our family day. The balloons have a tag attached with a number and whoever finds it is asked to retun it or text location to the number on the tag. There is a 28 day limit and whichever balloon is found furthest away wins €500. We apy for the balloons we use only so every balloon is profit of nearly €5.

The key is give yoursellf enough time before hand to sell them. Give every member 10 or 20 to sell. Its affordable and its been proven to work.

Well we had our Baloon race yesterday and what a success. 1,080 balloons at €5 each. We had it as part of our family day with novelty races and events. Great success with near €5,000 profit.

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]5679607204_34de234ca8.jpg[/EMAIL]">

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]5679075641_3206d5faa5.jpg[/EMAIL]">

Each balloon has a label on it with a number to text details to and the Balloon that travels furthest wins €300. We feel now if we had it next week we could have sold another 3-400 as schools were off and quite a few were away for easter break. It will be bigger and better next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

A lot of Gaa clubs are now doing White Collar Boxing.. Charging €20 per ticket. we recently sold 1000 tickets for our one, but it was split between 3 clubs. Still a nice profit though. The players trained for 10 weeks before hand. Takes alot of organising but the return is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Alot of other clubs are having Texas Holdem Nights... Charging €20 or €50 per ticket. Then each person can buy back as many times as they want so some people end up spending as much as €100 on the night and also have good takings form the raffle. A local football club made €7/800 on one of these recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

We had one of our fundraisers over the weekend. It's been done before in other clubs and it's always a bit of craic. We let a cow out on the pitch and mark where it's first S*** hits the ground. We cross reference this with a map of the pitch that is split up into boxes. The winning box gets 500 euro. We also put all the tickets into a drum and pulled out two 50 euro winners. This was as part of a sports day we had, cic fada, 100m sprint, 400m run and a puc fada (we're a football team so this was a good laugh) for all underage team and adults. We let the cow out on the field at 6, waited 20 minutes for her to do the business and finished the day with a match between the over 30's and under 30's. The over 30's won the toss and played with the wind in the first half and funny enough we had the wind in the second half too, we just about beat the young lads. We also had music in one of the local bars at the end of the night.
    Great craic by all we've not counted the money yet but it should be over 2K profit but not only that everyone enjoyed the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 tinytim55

I would also say a Texas Hold 'Em Night. You can get a poker hosting team to host the night for you.

They take 5 euro per person and you take all the buy backs etc. Apparently after discussions with a poker host he said 50 people usually return 1000 profit for the club.

The joy of this is that "you" as a club pass the responsibility to the tournament director if any issues with rules etc arise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Duck race - sell the ducks with numbers on them. €5 or €10 a duck.
    race them down a stream or river with prizes for the first few.
    have a big club day

Strictly come Dancing - heard of a club recently clearing 20K on a one off event in a big hotel. Male and female players and local 'celebreties' dancing off to win a bit of a prize.

Texas Hold'em has been done to death...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

LeoB wrote: »
    Well we had our Baloon race yesterday and what a success. 1,080 balloons at €5 each. We had it as part of our family day with novelty races and events. Great success with near €5,000 profit.

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]5679607204_34de234ca8.jpg[/EMAIL]">

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]5679075641_3206d5faa5.jpg[/EMAIL]">

Each balloon has a label on it with a number to text details to and the Balloon that travels furthest wins €300. We feel now if we had it next week we could have sold another 3-400 as schools were off and quite a few were away for easter break. It will be bigger and better next year

How can you tell which balloon wins? What if there are loads of balloons that can't be found?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,634 ✭✭✭celt262

Can you explain in detail how the balloon race works?

Will reply later lads. Have to head out for few hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Do a last man standing for the Premiership or National League or something. Takes very little organisation, costs nothing and is good fun.

My housemate who plays for Ballinora (of Celebrity Bainisteoir fame :p) got myself and a bunch of my friends into their one and they seem to have gotten several hundred people involved. At a tenner a head that's not to be sniffed at.

Blue Magic wrote: »
    How can you tell which balloon wins? What if there are loads of balloons that can't be found?

There will be loads of Balloons that cant be found. If balloon labels are not returned or found its hard luck. Once you set the parameters, put a time limit on it and know how to measure the distance. We measured as the crow flies from our club so the balloon that travelled furthest from our club and had the label returned on time won
    PM SENT
    celt262 wrote: »
    Can you explain in detail how the balloon race works?

You might need a little sub committee. You will need at least 5 helpers on the day to help with labels and collect money

Its a simple enough fundraiser to run. We got a company in who supplied balloons and labels. We just had to have a few people there to attach the labels to balloons
    1)You put a time limit on labels being returned. If you release your Balloons on 1st of June the labels must be returned within 4 weeks.
    2) Each Balloon has a label attached with a number, lines for name and address of person who finds it.
    3) Every balloon label has a number say from 101 to 1,000 €5 x 1,000 = €5,000 for your club. We had BBQ and some novelty events on the day which boosted our profits

You are relying on goodwill from people who find them to return them we got a good response and I posted in a good few regions here on boards and had it mentioned on a few radio stations

You can print your own cards that your members sell and as the cards come back to you allocate a balloon number to each person. Put up a master sheet with the numbers on it.

For added interest you could put a map of Ireland up in you club house or local shop and mark off places to keep locals interested as the labels come back to you. We are in North Dublin so one of the first we marked off was Rathoath Co Meath, We then added towns as they came in Longford, Athlone, Boyle etc. Our winner came from Belmullet Co Mayo. The person who sent back winning label got €75 I think, and the person who owned the winning label got €500. We sold the Balloons for €5 each and combined with a family day we raised about €7,000. Give yourself time to sell the balloons, 5 or 6 weeks. We could have raised more but didnt give ourselves enough time, We then announced the winner at half time in a match on the big screen in our club.

If you are letting the balloons off near an airport you must tell air traffic control. If you need any extra detail give me a shout. This generated great interest in our club and it was talk of the town here for weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Smurphy2014

Has any club every organised an5k run or a short fun run as a fundraiser? I'm thinking of organising one. Charge participants €15 and get some prizes and refreshments donated. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Yes my club has an annual one a 10k which takes in 2 beachs and our main street

The biggest problem you have is getting people to assist with stewarding the event. Hi Viz yellow jacket at every junction. Safety is your number 1 goal for every participant.

We give our players sponsorship cards and we have 2 courses a 10 k and a shorter one maybe 3-5k for smaller kids. Be careful not to clash with other clubs within 10 or miles as a lot of people go around doing these 10ks as a hobby so you could lose out if one is being held not 2 far away this happened to us the first year. Advertise it well. Have a race within it for 3 or 4 club members which will be a novelty part of it but it gets people talking about it. Depending on how big your club is you can make serious money where as if you charge an entry fee you limit what you can take in. You could charge €15 for 10k and sponsorship for the kids.

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Smurphy2014

LeoB wrote: »
    Yes my club has an annual one a 10k which takes in 2 beachs and our main street

The biggest problem you have is getting people to assist with stewarding the event. Hi Viz yellow jacket at every junction. Safety is your number 1 goal for every participant.

We give our players sponsorship cards and we have 2 courses a 10 k and a shorter one maybe 3-5k for smaller kids. Be careful not to clash with other clubs within 10 or miles as a lot of people go around doing these 10ks as a hobby so you could lose out if one is being held not 2 far away this happened to us the first year. Advertise it well. Have a race within it for 3 or 4 club members which will be a novelty part of it but it gets people talking about it. Depending on how big your club is you can make serious money where as if you charge an entry fee you limit what you can take in. You could charge €15 for 10k and sponsorship for the kids.

Best of luck

That's great thanks for your feedback. So do you give players a sponsorship card and charge them €10 or €15 to enter the race as well?

I think we will manage the stewarding if we can get it organised

That's great thanks for your feedback. So do you give players a sponsorship card and charge them €10 or €15 to enter the race as well?

I think we will manage the stewarding if we can get it organised

No players get sponsorship cards and we encourage them to get as much as they can. If you get 100 juveniles bringing in €20 each it a nice earner with not a lot of effort. Juveniles are good for getting sponsorship and most will get €20 or more. Adults pay the entry fee these past 2 years as we have opened it up to casual runners who are not members but we give them goodie bags with drink, Fruit, energy bar and t-shirt. Think they also get some samples from local chemists. Last year we had 170 runners.

I am not involved with this event but if I get any more info I will pass it on to you.