Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tom crean story,monday 11th april rte1,21.35pm

• 11-04-2011 8:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭

any one watching this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Ya watching. I started a thread on it in telvision. We should jsut have this one so.

I will ask mods to remove the other one.

So far it is about why Charlie himself is interested. It is not about you Charlie. Why does he have to include himself it is. very disrespectful to the legend that is Crean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Yeh. Firstly it annoys me that Charlie bleedin Bird gets to go to Antarctica to tell us about Tom Crean, I've been mad into going to Antarctica for the last 25 years and couldn't afford it, how come he gets to go?

He says "....was into Tom Crean before he became popular" so was I can I please got on the RTE budget please as I know its not cheap.

He is such a grrrr sap

He is going to the South Pole, why? Tom Crean never made it to the South Pole.

Arrrggghhhh I'm Jealous thats whats wrong with me. He doesn't deserve to be paid to go there. It ain't cheap.

Product Placement - Great Outdoors !!

" I can't believe I am here"

"I first took an interest in Tom Crean"

"this is my first climpse of Antartica"

I thought this was about Tom Crean??

" I can't believe I am here"

"I first took an interest in Tom Crean"

"this is my first climpse of Antartica"

I thought this was about Tom Crean??

Here here - wrong man for the job, he is such is whinge

" I am lucky enough to do the same"

That is so disrespectful, it disgraceful

What Charlie is doing cannot compare. Different times. Dear god the neck of this man.

All Crean had to go through to get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Why oh why does rte insist on sending this guy on these journies? He's the most self obsessed, unadventurous, moany person imaginable. He moaned his way down the Amazon, then through India and now he's sent to Antartica following in the footsteps of Tom Crean.

What a wasted opportunity for a brilliant documentary.

"not a single tree grows in the 5 millions square miles of Antarctica" No sh1t !!

The amount of advertising this programme got is incredible also

This is so insutling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

NickDrake wrote: »
    So far it is about why Charlie himself is interested. It is not about you Charlie. Why does he have to include himself it is.

He was just like this in the series he made in the Arctic. One programme in particular was all about how his guides were trying to show him a wild polar bear.They couldn't find one, cue Charlie talking to camera about how disappointing it all was for him. Finally they spot one and he practically wets himself with excitement and . . . that was it. It wasn't a documentary about the Arctic and it's wildlife, it was a documentary about how great it is to be Charlie Bird going to see the Arctic and his wildlife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

Around $65,000 per head to do this trip(www.quarkexpeditions.com) and sponsorship from Great Outdoors. Nice one Charlie!

I thought it was 150 miles myself !:)

Nice way of spending my licence fee.

Around $65,000 per head to do this trip(www.quarkexpeditions.com) and sponsorship from Great Outdoors. Nice one Charlie!

Nice one camera crew - nice one RTE:mad:

You would thing some of this amazing travelling would make him less self obsessed.

Very little about Tom Crean. All about Charlie.

This is so very insulting.

Hold on did he not just arrive in Antarctica by ship and now he is flying from SA to continental Antarctica ?? What the..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭dx22

vicwatson wrote: »
    Here here - wrong man for the job, he is such is whinge

I remember he made similar comments when covering obama's inauguration... something like ' this is one of the important days in US history- and im here to witness it'
    Hilarious

Hope Charlie doesn't start getting lonely out there as he has no friends :)

Poor Charlie, ah he is so lonely in Antarctica, Billy No Mates !

Oh hold on he found someone

to bore !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 tenpasteleven

aye yer man just happened to be there! likely story!

Actually a bit about Tom Crean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

On the trail of Tom Crean?????

How many FLIGHTS is this now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 slystone

Hold on did he not just arrive in Antarctica by ship and now he is flying from SA to continental Antarctica ?? What the..
    Yeah, and he was on a helicopter in between.

this is what our tv licence is going towards?? to fund him on the trip of a lifetime!!!

Another Plane did he not go ON THE TRAIL OF TOM CREAN jaysus

Put the heating on Charlie ya big wuss !:)

It is so disrespectful to Crean. Just hopping on planes and making it seem like nothing .

Mentions him once in a while then it is back to Charlie

Cue walking 200 yards to the South Pole (where incidently TOM CREAN NEVER made it to)

nothing in the budget for razors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 slystone

Wow, they even have a CB double to pull the sledge.

It is so disrespectful to Crean

Completely agree

++1

Is this a nature program or a prgram about Tom Crean? Come on RTE

a small blister - Charlie ya wuss

He is such a lilly liver.

A little blister and oh woe is me ! Get over it Bird

Completely agree

++1

Is this a nature program or a prgram about Tom Crean? Come on RTE

It's about Charlie "I Failed The Leaving You Know" Bird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 denisc

Feel sorry for that poor guy Ronnie. Not hangin back for chats I notice.

"I can feel the cold biting my nose" - and what a nose it is.

Would you not consider a snood Charlie ?

This program is no more about Tom Crean than RF Scott (and Charlie Bird of course)

A whinge fest begins - I'm so tired, I can't go any further, I'm not playing, I'm taking my ball

Charlie - no one cares whether you are damn tired or not:rolleyes:

ah quit yer moaning big bird

Poor Charlie.

Can we get back to Tom Crean now or is that too much to ask??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

He is a such a whinge bag....can't stand him. He never shuts up about the cold.....what did he expect? Would hate to see what he'd be like if he had frostbite!

Great Pint here http://www.irisheyes.org/crean.html

and STACKED full of TC stuff and Antarctic Exploration and NO Charlie Bird in sight - yee haw

He never shuts up about the cold.....what did he expect? Would hate to see what he'd be like if he had frostbite!

Imagine him in the Winter !!!:eek::eek::eek:

Head cold, is miserable, feels terrible - YOU MOAN, go HOME:)

look at the wirey head on him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 denisc

I'm cold.
    Me toes hurt.
    I've got a blister.

This stuff is beyond satire.

What is the point to all this?

What about Tom Crean??

I don't know but I am guessing this is an independent production that RTE paid one of their staff's production company gizzilions of euro for?????

What about Tom Crean??

Sure look it doesn't matter CHARLIE made it there (even if he did have to walk 200 yards for the cameraman to the pole !)

Charlie and his Scapulas - what the heck - is this real?