Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man costs State e40k a year

• 11-04-2011 1:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/courts/judge-lashes-student-over-stolen-laptops-2614824.html
    A "SYSTEMATIC, intelligent criminal" is costing the taxpayer up to €40,000 a year in State handouts, a court has heard.
    Moses Luke (36) was caught in possession of electronics equipment that had allegedly been stolen from people while he was being put through college and getting rent allowance at a cost of €562 a week.
    Judge Cormac Dunne calculated that in total Luke was costing the state €40,000 annually while breaking the law. He described him as a "disgrace" to taxpayers who were working hard to keep the country going.
    Judge Dunne was commenting after Luke appeared in Dublin District Court on charges of handling stolen property.
    The accused, with an address at Russell Crescent, Russell Square, Tallaght, was charged with possession of a stolen laptop, Apple iPhone, projector and projector screen at his home on January 11, 2011.

TROUBLE
    The charges are under Section 17 of the Theft And Fraud Offences Act.
    Judge Dunne adjourned the case to give Luke an opportunity to show he was "behaving", but warned he would jail him for eight months if he got into trouble again.
    Luke claimed he was "misled" when he received the stolen property. His barrister said he admitted accepting the objects but did not steal them himself.
    The court heard the accused was in receipt of an education grant of €350 a week and was getting €212 in weekly rent allowance.
    He was from Nigeria and had been in Ireland for nine years.
    "He is getting his education paid for and rent allowance and still he is upsetting the people of this State," Judge Dunne said.
    "What would happen in Nigeria if you committed these crimes?" he asked the accused.
    "What would you get? Ten years? You are a disgrace to all the people who are working hard to keep everything going.
    "This man is a systematic, intelligent criminal who has thankfully been detected. It's time he woke up and realised how good he is getting it here."

Wow,a judge thats in touch with common people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Thing is though :

Judge Dunne adjourned the case to give Luke an opportunity to show he was "behaving", but warned he would jail him for eight months if he got into trouble again.

So basically the judge is telegraphing another suspended sentence on the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭jim69

why are we letting nigerians in to begin with ,most of them seem to be criminals and conmen

Mod

Poster banned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

jim69 wrote: »
    why are we letting nigerians in to begin with ,most of them seem to be criminals and conmen
    See ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

suspended sentances aren't worth the paper they are written on. guaranteed a lot of people carry on where they left off but just learned from their mistakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

For all the Judge's bluster he still let this thief walk away

Give me Judge Mary Fahy of Galway. Humiliates all who appear before her, a women to be feared.
    Goes a bit overboard sometimes with her rants though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

So this is the black market?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Morlar wrote: »
    Thing is though :

So basically the judge is telegraphing another suspended sentence on the way.

Wouldn't locking him up cost the state more???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

See ya!

If only the judge had your attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

why give him a chance ? he should be deported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

to be honest I doubt this chap gives a **** if people are disappointed with his behaviour... he's about to get off scott free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

jim69 wrote: »

Pah! The Nigerians are a great bunch of lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

The court heard the accused was in receipt of an education grant of €350 a week and was getting €212 in weekly rent allowance.

am wtf!? this isn't possible, surely? i mean these figures have to be wrong. no one has 212 a week to pay in rent, never mind getting it in rent allowance. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

There are a lot of people working full time who don't bring home that kind of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Meh, he should be deported. Along with anyone other immigrant who has been shown to abuse the opportunities that this country has provided them with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭little lady

They should stop his state benefits and let him pay his own way and if he cant afford it then he should go home and either work at home or claim benefits in his own county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

surprise surprise .... our legal system is flawed !!

who'd have thunk it ?

any non-Irish person here should be sent back to their own country if they break the law here - throw them out of the country and do not let them back,

all Irish people who continually commit crimes like these should be stripped of any/all state benefits (why should the state support them if they are not willing to behave according to the rules of the state.... you break the rules you get punished.)

- human rights should be given to those in prison who did not break the human rights of another ....all criminals who have broken the rights of another person should not deserve to be given any rights ....treat a criminal like a criminal !!!

- (before the PC brigade start on me) .... if a person has done their time .... then thats fine, carry on with life again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Is this thread about the crime, the cost to the state or the fact he's nigerian?

If its the crime, yea we have alot of that...
    The cost to the state is nothing unusual, what do you think the average unemployed person receives from the state by wy of welfare, rent allowance, medical cards?

Not far off 40k id say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Send him home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

If it was any other country he would be deported.

So I have a simple question - why is he not being deported?

Edit: And another thing - how the **** was he getting 350 Euro a week 'education grant' when I got just about **** all when I was studying; same story with other students in my position. This sort of thing ****ing annoys me.

O RLY?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

nope

He should be forced to pay it back and then deported

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

The pc brigade have taken over the asylum.

jesus christ, get a hold of yourselves. he's here for 9 years, so he's eligible for citizenship. so go way with your 'deport him' ideas. another thing, the article says 'allegedly' so why the assumption he's guilty? another thing, the real problem here is obviously the SW system. not him for getting that, unless it's fraud.

oh and i completely agree that this state does bollocks all to people that deserve it. feckin suspended sentences is all you ever hear about any more.

because our politicians/judges live in their own little world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

I've said it before and I'll say it again, the judicial system in this country is a farce.

Any immigrant involved in serious crime should be deported, as simple as that.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, the judicial system in this country is a farce.

Any immigrant involved in serious crime should be deported, as simple as that.
    Does that include Irish immigrants abroad?

jesus christ, get a hold of yourselves. he's here for 9 years, so he's eligible for citizenship. so go way with your 'deport him' ideas. another thing, the article says 'allegedly' so why the assumption he's guilty? another thing, the real problem here is obviously the SW system. not him for getting that, unless it's fraud.

but but but.... the paper says so !!

(it must be true)

oh and stop with your bloody PC-ness .... if you are caught with stolen goods in your possession and plead guilty to possession of stolen goods .... then you are GUILTY !!

he admitted accepting the objects but did not steal them himself.

Eligible for citizenship .....eh ... I believe one of the criteria is that you do not hold a criminal record ....so NOT Eligible anymore !!! (assuming he had a clean slate before the case)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

yayyyyy another suspended sentence!

The Catholic Justice System blows, man.

I think it should apply to them....if you move to another country you should respect the laws of that country.....breaking those laws means you do not wish to integrate into their society.

oh and i completely agree that this state does bollocks all to people that deserve it. feckin suspended sentences is all you ever hear about any more.

I don't believe this man in particular should be deported for this alleged crime, but what should happen is:

- A swift investigation into these figures of 40k a year in state benefits, which if the gardai were in anyway fit to police, would surely uncover fraud of some kind.

- If either offences are proven, a sufficient punishment and warning for the future.

I wouldn't classify this man as a serious or violent criminal, those are the ones that should be deported instantly.

Overheal wrote: »
    yayyyyy another suspended sentence!

The Catholic Justice System alterboy blows, man.

FYP :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Send him home.

dead right , better still lets send all the nigerians etc etc home we can charter a few planes , then when we have sent them all home we can get the planes organised again to bring back all the ''paddys'' from around the world (there are dudes like you in every country you see) should be no more than couple million , grand that will 2.3 million on the dole , you will notice i deducted 150k off the register to cover the nigerians and others that you want shot of who might be sighing on so u cant say i have not done my homework , can you ?

anyway it will be great!

Considering any sort of criminal offence can already prevent entry to either Australia or USA, then yes I would say it should include them.

"Luke claimed he was "misled" when he received the stolen property. His barrister said he admitted accepting the objects but did not steal them himself."

so what if he is here 9 years, he should have more respect for the country and it's citizens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

snyper wrote: »
    Is this thread about the crime, the cost to the state or the fact he's nigerian?
    Was about the judges remark,usually they are reserved and careful incase they get the "discrimination" remark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

This is f**king outrageous, I'm self employed, hanging on by by finger nails for the last 3 years trying to pay my mortgage, my bills and I've a medical prescription which costs me €120 a month. I'm entitled to NOTHING from the state because I'm self employed (haven't been able to buy myself as much as a pair of socks in the last two years, don't drink or smoke) ands this Nigerian scum is here living off the state and committing crime?? We need a few lynch mobs cos it's painfully obvious our legal system is a bleedin joke (unless you're a law abiding Irish person of course in which case you'll feel the full wrath of the law if you ever slip up or make a mistake):mad::mad::mad:

Handling stolen property could easily be a mistake though, it's not something I would classify as serious.

yes if the are there to commit fraud or other crimes.

PCPhoto wrote: »
    but but but.... the paper says so !!

(it must be true)

oh and stop with your bloody PC-ness .... if you are caught with stolen goods in your possession and plead guilty to possession of stolen goods .... then you are GUILTY !!

he admitted accepting the objects but did not steal them himself.

Eligible for citizenship .....eh ... I believe one of the criteria is that you do not hold a criminal record ....so NOT Eligible anymore !!! (assuming he had a clean slate before the case)

oh right if he pled guilty then grand. sorry, must've skimmed over that part. (i'm not pc btw)

I'd expect that not having a criminal record is criteria when you enter the country.
    I don't believe this man in particular should be deported for this alleged crime, but what should happen is:

- A swift investigation into these figures of 40k a year in state benefits, which if the gardai were in anyway fit to police, would surely uncover fraud of some kind.

- If either offences are proven, a sufficient punishment and warning for the future.

I wouldn't classify this man as a serious or violent criminal, those are the ones that should be deported instantly.

yep I would agree that he should be punished, but unless it's a violent / more serious crime, I don't think I agree he should be deported. he's been here 9 years, and so surely should have some right to stay.

but the big problem with this here is that no investigation is going to be swift. the SW doesn't give money to people who need it, and gives it too freely to those who don't. a complete overhaul of the system is what's needed.

please let's not turn this into a SW claimant-bashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Racist comments will result in infractions and bans.

Fair warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Kick him out

Handling stolen property could easily be a mistake though, it's not something I would classify as serious.

Tell that to the person who is at the loss of their property. who will compensate them ?

TheAnswer wrote: »
    This is f**king outrageous, I'm self employed, hanging on by by finger nails for the last 3 years trying to pay my mortgage, my bills and I've a medical prescription which costs me €120 a month. I'm entitled to NOTHING from the state because I'm self employed (haven't been able to buy myself as much as a pair of socks in the last two years, don't drink or smoke) ands this Nigerian scum is here living off the state and committing crime?? We need a few lynch mobs cos it's painfully obvious our legal system is a bleedin joke (unless you're a law abiding Irish person of course in which case you'll feel the full wrath of the law if you ever slip up or make a mistake):mad::mad::mad:

Maybe it's time to get creative with your accounting. I agree though 40k a year is disgusting.

A separate probe should be made into his financial affairs. Of course it would because the judges and gardai are both incompetent and corrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Yes, lynch the Nigerians because the government have failed you. Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Are you serious? This part of your post disgusts me. You are the 'bleedin' joke'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭brokenhinge

In a lot of countries like Japan, the minute you get out of jail for something as minor as public order, drink driving or cannabis consumption you're fcuked out. And yes, Irish people have been in that category too. As they rightly should.

If you go to another country you respect their laws & customs and if you don't you face the penalties.

hondasam wrote: »
    Tell that to the person who is at the loss of their property. who will compensate them ?
    The person who robbed it?

It's perfectly plausible the robber sold it on the black market. I know plenty of people who are regularly offered dodgey goods which most of the time were probably stolen.

Yes, lynch the Nigerians because the government have failed you. Brilliant.

Not just the Nigerians, all law breakers regardless of nationality. Look at some of the Irish scum walking the streets committing crime whilst out on bail or on early release for "good behaviour". Bring back hanging, it's the only way. If you commit a serious crime in another country your right to remain in that country should be automatically revoked. I know this guys crimes are at the lower end but it's a slippery slope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭jimcoolding

Are you serious? This part of your post disgusts me. You are the 'bleedin' joke'.
    Why, the answer - the poster you quoted, has presumeably given loads of taxes back to the state and he gets nothing in return for his hard graft. Yet this FOREIGNER, comes in and takes 40,00 grand a year while our own people get nothing. I would deport this fella or send him to jail for many years, a tougher stance is needed and it is needed now

Hahaha, funny coming from someone who likes to f**k trees, his sister, the neighbours dog or anything alive or dead that has a hole.

Sorry, mixing you up with someone else (hoorsmelt) not that I really give a flyin' f**k.