Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinn Feinn & Anti Monarchy?

• 11-04-2011 11:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭

Been hearing Sinn Feinn going on abit over the last few days about the queens visit and how they oppose monarchy. Do they oppose all monarchies or just the bristish monarchy? I didnt hear them going on much about prince albert from monaco last week and Im sure in the past other european royals have visited ireland without much of a whimper from the shinners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

neris wrote: »
    Been hearing Sinn Feinn going on abit over the last few days about the queens visit and how they oppose monarchy. Do they oppose all monarchies or just the bristish monarchy? I didnt hear them going on much about prince albert from monaco last week and Im sure in the past other european royals have visited ireland without much of a whimper from the shinners
    By the way you phrased that question I'm guessing you already know the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 bouse23

well i dont think the principality of monaco is guilty of oppression against the irish people

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

They oppose the Queen's visit because some people like to be offended; apparantly she represents all that is base and evil about Britain's involvement in Irish history. The vast majority of people, meanwhile, living in the 21st century, see her as the head of state of our nearest neighbour, a country with whom we share an identical culture, indispensible economic ties, and is a convenient source of work for unemployed Irish people.

There will be protests at her visit. Perhaps the neanderthals will be let loose in Dublin again as she dares visit sites such as the Garden of Remembrance and Croke Park. This is clearly a mission of reconciliation; a signficant development in the relationship between our two countries. Unfortunately some people are obsessed with a vulgar form of nationalism that developed over the course of the 19th century; whilst the rest of the civilised world has embraced liberal democracy, secularism and internationalism, we still have some tobacco chewing anachronistic buffoons stuck in their own pathetic timewarp.

sinn fein oppose the queens visit because they are patriots and not west brits. as a gaa member i dont think the queen should have been invited into croke park until a gaa congress was called to discuss the issue and a democratic vote taken. some might think fawning over the british monarch is a sign of progress i think it means the opposite we have gone backwards

i don't consider kissing an old woman's arse who already thinks the world smells of fresh paint a sign of progress. you say republicanism truly is a virus a disease that needs to be eradicated once and for all? jaysus that sounds like something paisley would have said in his heyday you might be waving a union jack when she arrives but i wont i still have some pride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Denerick wrote: »
    'They are patriots and not west Brits'.

You sure told him boss.

Anyway, back to the point. If you think inviting the Queen of England to take a holiday in Ireland is going backwards, I wonder what you consider to be a sign of progress? The cold blooded murder of Lord Mountbattan perhaps? Was that a noble day in Irish history? When a group of savages shot a person in cold blood because of his birth and his family?

Republicanism truly is a virus that destroys all that is moral or logical in politics or humanity. A disgusting disease that needs to be eradicated once and for all.

just point out to mountbatten was not shot he was blown up ,still why not let a good rant replace facts if it makes you happy !

Unwise words and comments, probably better not to bother.

no i wont be protesting it never achieves anything ill probably be working and if i have a day off illl try to avoid it all i think ive already given her too much attention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

bouse23 wrote: »

well i dont think the principality of monaco is guilty of oppression against the irish people

Sure why would they? Wasn't Prince Albert's grandad called John Brendan Kelly?
    bouse23 wrote: »
    sinn fein oppose the queens visit because they are patriots and not west brits. as a gaa member i dont think the queen should have been invited into croke park until a gaa congress was called to discuss the issue and a democratic vote taken.

You don't play for a club called Sarsfields, do you?

Didn't I read somewhere that Princess Diana was a direct descendant of Sarsfield and that therefore the Queen's grandsons William and Harry are also his descendants?

Won't it be a grand day of festivities in all those clubs when their patron's great great whatever grandson becomes King of England! :D

And anyway, Sinn Fein was at heart a monarchist party when it was founded. Check out Arthur Griffith's "Dual Monarchy" solution to the Irish Question.

One king for you, one king for us.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

neris wrote: »

Let the Queen come and visit if she wants but not a cent of taxpayers money should go towards her trip, this country is broke.

Her trip is far more high profile than other visiting monarch's as her Government still lays claim to part of this island.

Also, a monarchy has no place in a modern society. The thought of a anti-democratic, sectarian and incestuous monarchy such as the British one is a bit odd in a so called modern day state.

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

All that money has been paid back... in spades.

Perhaps the neanderthals will be let loose in Dublin again as she dares visit sites such as the Garden of Remembrance and Croke Park. This is clearly a mission of reconciliation; a signficant development in the relationship between our two countries. Unfortunately some people are obsessed with a vulgar form of nationalism that developed over the course of the 19th century; whilst the rest of the civilised world has embraced liberal democracy, secularism and internationalism, we still have some tobacco chewing anachronistic buffoons stuck in their own pathetic timewarp.

Seriously... did you manage to say that with a straight face???!!! LOL!!! Monarchies by definition are archaic and devoid of democracy... and the monarchy you're defending is head of the Church of England - how secular is that???!!!

:D:D:D:D:D

You need to brush up on some history mate - you need to take a refresher course in which country invaded the other and the amount of deaths that they were responsible for... but how dare we fight back eh?!

Seriously... did you manage to say that with a straight face???!!! LOL!!! Monarchies by definition are archaic and devoid of democracy... and the monarchy you're defending is head of the Church of England - how secular is that???!!!

:D:D:D:D:D

You need to brush up on some history mate - you need to take a refresher course in which country invaded the other and the amount of deaths that they were responsible for... but how dare we fight back eh?!

She is a powerless figurehead who smiles at the opening of elderly care homes and shakes the hands of foreign Presidents.

I know my history and I also know that any attempt to manipulate it for present political gain will only earn you the ire and contempt of your descendants. Take your propaganda to one of the many Republican websites where you all backslap each other and celebrate past murders and outrages.

She is a powerless figurehead who smiles at the opening of elderly care homes and shakes the hands of foreign Presidents.

I know my history and I also know that any attempt to manipulate it for present political gain will only earn you the ire and contempt of your descendants. Take your propaganda to one of the many Republican websites where you all backslap each other and celebrate past murders and outrages.

Lovely post... but utterly pointless as you ignored my substantive points in my previous post - care to deal with them now and engage in debate or would you just prefer to continue in your ignorance throwing mud and pointing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Lovely post... but utterly pointless as you ignored my substantive points
    You literally used the expression "???!!! LOL!!!" and not one, but 5 of those stupid grinning emoticons.

What's worse is that I consider myself a Republican - not a nationalist mind you but in the sense that I disagree with the monarchial and hereditary representation of free individuals. What a pity that people with names like "bobbysands81" have hijacked such a reasonable and democratic political movement and reduced it, in Ireland at least, to little more than a by-word for asinine, IRA sympathetic, violent thuggery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Why is the Queen visting anyway? I mean whats the point, it will just generate angst and cost the tax payer. Even those who arent political dont give a crap about her. Its utter provocation. If you want to see the Queen that bad, pay for it yourself and get the boat over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

They oppose the Queen's visit because some people like to be offended; apparantly she represents all that is base and evil about Britain's involvement in Irish history. The vast majority of people, meanwhile, living in the 21st century, see her as the head of state of our nearest neighbour, a country with whom we share an identical culture, indispensible economic ties, and is a convenient source of work for unemployed Irish people.

There will be protests at her visit. Perhaps the neanderthals will be let loose in Dublin again as she dares visit sites such as the Garden of Remembrance and Croke Park. This is clearly a mission of reconciliation; a signficant development in the relationship between our two countries. Unfortunately some people are obsessed with a vulgar form of nationalism that developed over the course of the 19th century; whilst the rest of the civilised world has embraced liberal democracy, secularism and internationalism, we still have some tobacco chewing anachronistic buffoons stuck in their own pathetic timewarp.

Mr Myres, is tha you?

Identical culture? You're a gas man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

What is the point?. An old woman that did nothing but suck off a state and is the head of a deeply inbred family is going to cost us how much to host?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

Doesn't take much for the S.F. party to kick off, so much for we've left our past behind us now let's move forward........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Irish Fire wrote: »
    Doesn't take much for the S.F. party to kick off, so much for we've left our past behind us now let's move forward........

Towards what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

What is the point?. An old woman that did nothing but suck off a state and is the head of a deeply inbred family is going to cost us how much to host?.
    cost you ?,it has cost the british tax payer [includes those in the north] 7 billion to bail out the republic. with out that money, and money from the EU you would end up as a banana republic, what is it about the hand that feeds you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭petroltimer

cost!! and how much is your SF mates going to cost when they rampage through the city? and most of them all ready costing us for their dole payment every week, SF the party for freeloading layabouts.

Whats your problem with calling her inbred thats hardly her fault, and to be fair her mother and father were not related, she is in fact directly descended on her mothers side from Richard Colley Wesley(brother of the Duke of Wellington) a Meath man, so she has a much stronger Irish link than the much celebrated Irish link of President Obama

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

a country with whom we share an identical culture, indispensible economic ties, and is a convenient source of work for unemployed Irish people.
    Ah come on Deneric, similar yes, identical no, even the very topic of this thread, ie monarchy, is one of many differences.
    The reason many of my English friends give for living here as opposed to Britain, are these very differences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,746 ✭✭✭✭maccored

getz wrote: »
    cost you ?,it has cost the british tax payer [includes those in the north] 7 billion to bail out the republic. with out that money, and money from the EU you would end up as a banana republic, what is it about the hand that feeds you ?

we as a country have to pay that back with interest so they arent really doing us *that* much of a favour. If I go to the bank, get a loan and pay a ton in interest, the bank isnt doing me any favours.

I personally dont give a toss about the queen visiting, but I dont think we should be paying for it. times are tough enough as they are.

cost!! and how much is your SF mates going to cost when they rampage through the city?

SF 'rampage through the city' quite regularly do they? Or is that just claptrap?
    and most of them all ready costing us for their dole payment every week, SF the party for freeloading layabouts.

what a condescending, inaccurate post if ever there was one.

maccored wrote: »
    SF 'rampage through the city' quite regularly do they? Or is that just claptrap?

what a condescending, inaccurate post if ever there was one.

Love Ulster Parade, thats one more than anyone else has caused in Dublin recently, they constantly whip trouble around marching season in Northern Ireland, causing the need for extra police to be deployed.
    how is it inaccurate, are you going to say that on a percentage basis the SF don't get the biggest share of their votes from the Unemployed.

Its the middle class people that pay for this country, we pay for the queens visit and we'll have to pay to keep the undesirables under control while she is here.

we as a country have to pay that back with interest so they arent really doing us *that* much of a favour. If I go to the bank, get a loan and pay a ton in interest, the bank isnt doing me any favours.

I personally dont give a toss about the queen visiting, but I dont think we should be paying for it. times are tough enough as they are.
    you may not of noticed but it isent only ireland that is having it tough,a visit by the queen of the UK and the commonwealth,will boost the irish tourist industry in a time when most people in the UK are looking to take holidays nearer home,after all two thirds of the tourists who come over are from the UK,and irish tourism is one of ireland biggest employers.as well as the trading ,business, and political benefits for ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Brilliant post & very true, and I guess Sinn Fein will also be protesting at the forthcoming Royal Wedding, which I understand will be celebrated by many Irish families up & down the country in their own homes. Just listening to the radio this am & apparently there is massive interest in the Royal wedding here, with people organising home parties & inviting family & work colleagues RSVP, people want to forget their woes for just one day, with most taking a day's holiday in the ROI to enjoy the spectacular wedding day for what it is, (a celebration) which will be a breath of fresh air in an otherwise economically depressed & insular environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

LordSutch wrote: »
    Brilliant post & very true, and I guess Sinn Fein will also be protesting at the forthcoming Royal Wedding, which I understand will be celebrated by many Irish families up & down the country in their own homes. Just listening to the radio this am & apparently there is massive interest in the Royal wedding here, with people organising home parties & inviting family & work colleagues RSVP, people want to forget their woes for just one day, with most taking a day's holiday in the ROI to enjoy the spectacular wedding day for what it is, (a celebration) which will be a breath of fresh air in an otherwise economically depressed & insular environment.

lol. Said people must indeed be depressed and illiberal.

Love Ulster Parade, thats one more than anyone else has caused in Dublin recently, they constantly whip trouble around marching season in Northern Ireland, causing the need for extra police to be deployed.

so SF were rioting against the love ulster campaign? Incorrect again sir.
    how is it inaccurate, are you going to say that on a percentage basis the SF don't get the biggest share of their votes from the Unemployed.

Feel free to post up the stats backing your point. As far as Im aware, SF have supporters from all walks of life, not just the unemployed. Stereotyping anyone? As I say, post up the stats to back your claim.

Its the middle class people that pay for this country, we pay for the queens visit and we'll have to pay to keep the undesirables under control while she is here.

Is it nice up on that high horse?

getz wrote: »
    you may not of noticed but it isent only ireland that is having it tough,a visit by the queen of the UK and the commonwealth,will boost the irish tourist industry in a time when most people in the UK are looking to take holidays nearer home,after all two thirds of the tourists who come over are from the UK,and irish tourism is one of ireland biggest employers.as well as the trading ,business, and political benefits for ireland.

Are the people in the UK paying for their queen to visit here? Nope, so whats your point? All I know is that we, as taxpayers, shouldnt be forking out. the queen is rich enough to pay her own way.

it was ireland that invited the the queen of the UK, who is also shared as queen of canada,australia,new zealand,and many other countries, to visit ireland,,what ever the irish tax payers has to pay for her visit,it will be a good investment,after all a big part of the money that ireland received from the EU, over the years came out of the british tax payer,i dident complain and throw my dummy out of the pram

i am sick and tired of people believing all this 'it'll be good' bull****. no it wont be good for our economy, just like there was no 'soft landing' and all the other tripe we heard.

Unless of course we should be licking the ground in thanks for britain agreeing to loan us money, or because "a big part of the money that ireland received from the EU, over the years came out of the british tax payer".

You talk as though we owe them a favour. We dont, and we cant afford to be spending millions on some rich doll from england - full stop. when as a country are we going to stop this cap in hand crap?

so SF were rioting against the love ulster campaign? Incorrect again sir.

I'm sorry! when i say SF i don't specifically mean party members, I use Sein Fein in more a general term for all the dregs of society, but it is usually the SF party who whip these types into a frenzy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Just listening to the radio this am & apparently there is massive interest in the Royal wedding here

Not a patch on the Eurovision, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

What is the real harm the visit could do? The excuses don't really add up to be honest. The UK is a very important country to the ROI. Lots of Irish people work in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

with people organising home parties & inviting family & work colleagues RSVP, people want to forget their woes for just one day, with most taking a day's holiday in the ROI to enjoy the spectacular wedding day for what it is, (a celebration) which will be a breath of fresh air in an otherwise economically depressed & insular environment.

Ha ha ha, at least being a Republican I can have the sense to realise I subscribe to a fringe political way of thinking. It's people coming out with the cringing nonsense above and deluding themselves into thinking fawning over a shower of inbreds constitutes "maturity" is what makes me laugh.

Gas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I saw the thread title and started thinking back to Leaving Cert history, fadó fadó

When the party was setup didn't it support monarchies? Arthur Griffith did anyway

sorry, bit offtopic

guitarzero wrote: »
    Why is the Queen visting anyway?

She was invited. Was known for quite a while that this was something likely to happen right before Mary McAleese finishes. She only has a few months left

I'm sorry! when i say SF i don't specifically mean party members, I use Sein Fein in more a general term for all the dregs of society, but it is usually the SF party who whip these types into a frenzy.

jesus - thats amazing. you use SF "in more a general term for all the dregs of society" - unbelievable. whipping into a frenzy? do you actually have ANY idea of what you are talking about at all?

KeithAFC wrote: »
    What is the real harm the visit could do? The excuses don't really add up to be honest. The UK is a very important country to the ROI. Lots of Irish people work in the UK.

costs too much money and we cant afford it. the UK isnt a country either. and its not that important to a lot of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

costs too much money and we cant afford it. the UK isnt a country either. and its not that important to a lot of us.
    1. We can afford it.
    2. It will be economically benificial to us in the long run.
    3. What has the UK being a country got to do with anything?
    4. Thankfully most people aren't bigots with a chip on their shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    1. We can afford it.

In what way? Seriously.. I don't care whether she visits or not but how will it be economically beneficial to us in either the long or short term?

Does it take the visit of a monarch to bolster trade between two free markets? Do British people on the whole base their views on other nations on whether or not their monarchs visit? British tourists to Ireland will exist regardless of the visit.

It may increase tourism around the time of the visit but certainly not in the long run.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    1. We can afford it.

1. no we cant afford it. to say we can is amazingly blinkered
    2. Just HOW will it be beneficial?
    3. Is the UK an actual country or a collection of countries?
    4. Please at least have the balls to call me a bigot with a chip on my shoulder (which I am not, and I dont have) if thats what you are insinuating.

Can't afford it..

Just seems like a big pile of rubbish excuses to be honest. And ok, countries. :)

dont know if you missed it, but us down here in the south are financially f*cked

In what way? Seriously.. I don't care whether she visits or not but how will it be economically beneficial to us in either the long or short term?

Does it take the visit of a monarch to bolster trade between two free markets? Do British people on the whole base their views on other nations on whether or not their monarchs visit? British tourists to Ireland will exist regardless of the visit.

It may increase tourism around the time of the visit but certainly not in the long run.
    We live in the short term though. So more money being pumped in via tourism will surely be a good thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Who gives a rat's ar$e what SF think? Or the forelock - tugging tossers in the media?

Them and the British monarchy are as backward as each other.

Both of them, (SF & Royals) and also the rest of the civil war parties on the island, should be done away with. That would be "progress".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

KeithAFC wrote: »

more english people living in ireland than other way around per head of population keith .visit wont do any harm , its a unique opportunity for the english queen to apologize ,something long long overdue . are you coming down to wave your little butchers apron ?

danbohan wrote: »
    more english people living in ireland than other way around per head of population keith .visit wont do any harm , its a unique opportunity for the english queen to apologize ,something long long overdue . are you coming down to wave your little butchers apron ?
    No. Not that one anyway.