Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are they gone yet?

• 11-04-2011 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭

All of the expert pundits who flooded the place last night?

Obviously, it's amazing the wealth of knowledge that can be gleamed from a few of hours of BBC coverage.

My favourite comment was about how Norman never won a Major.
    I imagine that one was based on the clip BBC showed about Augusta in 1996.

Others included labelling some of the challengers as "unkowns" and various expert opinions on what's required mentally to win a Major.

The masters is great for getting everybody talking about golf - but I genuinely couldnt believe the delight some people took in McIlroys downfall last night.

Anyways - hopefully we can get back to normal business now.

Alas, it all could have been so different..

Personally speaking - I blame Padraig Harrington.....!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Obviously, it's amazing the wealth of knowledge that can be gleamed from a few of hours of BBC coverage.

Others included labelling some of the challengers as "unkowns" and various expert opinions on what's required mentally to win a Major.

The masters is great for getting everybody talking about golf - but I genuinely couldnt believe the delight some people took in McIlroys downfall last night.

Stop Press! Incorrect sporting predictions have been made on the internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭GetInTheHole!

It wasn't the predictions - or anything even like that.

Some of the comments about McIlory however went over the top - and then there was bizaare logic used to jutsify them.

The funny thing is - McIlroy is not even close to being one of my favourite players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Unless anyone is breaking the rules then they are as entitled to their opinion as everybody else.......there's no clique here that decides on what is right or wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

uh oh, Shooter's having a Happy Gilmore moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

How dare they comment on OUR sport! :rolleyes: There's a lack of knowledge/golfing cop on displayed on here every day of the week so i wouldn't be getting all precious about things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Neonjack

The cheek of some people, posting an opinion on a public forum. What's the world coming to?? :rolleyes:

Ok maybe I didnt get my point across clearly.

In relation to a lot of the comments on McIroy last night - it was very much a case of playing the man, not the ball.

We got the whole Brit/Irish thing as well comments on how he "carrys" himself etc.

There just seemed to be more than golf to it anyway and I for one didn't like it.
    It also seemed to be stemming from lads who just arrived in time for his meltdown..

But of course - that's just my opinion.....!

ziggy wrote: »

Irony not your strong point then?
    Thought the underlining might have been enough myself.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

In relation to a lot of the comments on McIroy last night - it was very much a case of playing the man, not the ball.

We got the whole Brit/Irish thing as well comments on how he "carrys" himself etc.

There just seemed to be more than golf to it anyway and I for one didn't like it.
    It also seemed to be stemming from lads who just arrived in time for his meltdown..

Give getinthehole a break lads, he has a valid point.

I was watching in work last night and had some idiot, on the first hole who wasn't even watching ask "McIlroy choking, is he?"

I just don't like sh*t like that. I was dying for the poor lad watching that last night (I know, I know - nothing 'poor' about him) and the delight some people seemed to take in it and the amount of "I knew it, he's a bottler" comments I heard from lads who don't play or follow golf was terribly annoying. I usually quite enjoy reading and contributing to this forum during the final day of a major but last night I avoided it like the plague after about the 6th hole.

Having said that - you could copy and paste the above paragraph into the Horse Racing forum at Cheltenham time; the Soccer forum at World Cup time; the American Football forum at Super Bowl time...

C'est La Vie, eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Martin567

I'm not sure why you're getting such a hard time. I certainly understand and agree with your point. I'm amazed at some people who seem to be suggesting that all opinions are equally valid no matter how clueless they are. This is certainly not the case. I would never make statements about something unless I had a fair idea of what I was talking about.

Just randomly dipping into last night's Masters thread as an example, I see one poster openly admitting that they had never even heard of Adam Scott. To me, that would automatically invalidate any other vitriolic opinion that person might have about last night's action. Surely any opinion should be based on a certain basic knowledge of the subject you are expressing that opinion on?

I think the part highlighted above is all in your head to be honest. I don't think anyone wants that. By all means criticise but at least try to make it constructive. It is very difficult to win a Major, particularly from the front, as Rory discovered last night. All of these "lol", "choker", "idiot" comments (including many far stronger) don't add anything to any debate other than to infuriate people with a genuine interest in what they are watching.

I don't particularly like Tiger and I thought his post-round interview was another example of the continued lack of class he shows off the course. (Does he possess even basic manners?) However, I can't deny what he has achieved on the course. Should I call him a choker because of his failure to win a Major from behind or his missing a number of very short putts over the weekend? I don't think that would be right and I don't think it would lead to a better debate. It would simply lead to two or more people here throwing abuse at each other. Is that your idea of a good debate?

Martin567 wrote: »
    I think the part highlighted above is all in your head to be honest. I don't think anyone wants that. By all means criticise but at least try to make it constructive. It is very difficult to win a Major, particularly from the front, as Rory discovered last night. All of these "lol", "choker", "idiot" comments (including many far stronger) don't add anything to any debate other than to infuriate people with a genuine interest in what they are watching.

I don't particularly like Tiger and I thought his post-round interview was another example of the continued lack of class he shows off the course. (Does he possess even basic manners?) However, I can't deny what he has achieved on the course. Should I call him a choker because of his failure to win a Major from behind or his missing a number of very short putts over the weekend? I don't think that would be right and I don't think it would lead to a better debate. It would simply lead to two or more people here throwing abuse at each other. Is that your idea of a good debate?

Thanks Martin you summed up the point I was trying to make very well there.

Nice bit of consistency there alright....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Don't mean to go OT - but was just wondering what Woods said in his interview? I didn't see it. Cheers.

Woods really does lack class. He needs to take a few lessons from Mickelson.

Even the excessive fist-pumping and playing to the crowd in the final round is merely a tactic to unsettle golfers elsewhere on the course, imo. Who knows though, maybe it works - or maybe he distracted himself enough to miss a few short putts??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I love Woods

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Don't mean to go OT - but was just wondering what Woods said in his interview? I didn't see it. Cheers.

Woods really does lack class. He needs to take a few lessons from Mickelson.

Even the excessive fist-pumping and playing to the crowd in the final round is merely a tactic to unsettle golfers elsewhere on the course, imo. Who knows though, maybe it works - or maybe he distracted himself enough to miss a few short putts??

For me, it was more what he didn't say. He was almost completely monosyllabic and it seemed an effort to grunt out a yes or a no. It was just a basic interview where he was asked if he was happy with his game, how he had played on the day and what he thought of his chances (he was still only one shot behind at that stage). Basically the same questions every other player managed to answer politely. The sheer contempt in his voice as he spoke was what struck me and it seemed an effort for him not to roll his eyes to the clouds.

I know he's probably fed up answering the same questions after each round and he was probably disappointed with his score. But that goes for all the other players as well and nobody else behaves like Tiger. The TV guys must dread talking to him as there doesn't appear to be any question up to his standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Wood's interview was basically

"F*uck you white guy, you're beneath me"

Wood's interview was basically

"F*uck you white guy, you're beneath me"

That's plain stupid and the post should be deleted.

stockdam wrote: »
    That's plain stupid and the post should be deleted.

But I thought you said..
    stockdam wrote: »
    Unless anyone is breaking the rules then they are as entitled to their opinion as everybody else.......there's no clique here that decides on what is right or wrong.

I take it then you didnt even bother reading the posts in other threads I was referring to in my OP?
    That post is actually tame in comparison.

Or maybe this clique you speak of just been set up this afternoon then??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

For me, it was more what he didn't say. He was almost completely monosyllabic and it seemed an effort to grunt out a yes or a no. It was just a basic interview where he was asked if he was happy with his game, how he had played on the day and what he thought of his chances (he was still only one shot behind at that stage). Basically the same questions every other player managed to answer politely. The sheer contempt in his voice as he spoke was what struck me and it seemed an effort for him not to roll his eyes to the clouds.

I know he's probably fed up answering the same questions after each round and he was probably disappointed with his score. But that goes for all the other players as well and nobody else behaves like Tiger. The TV guys must dread talking to him as there doesn't appear to be any question up to his standards.

I'm no Tiger fan, but I saw the interview and what I took from it was that the interviewer fired a couple of woeful questions at him. He was quite clearly trying to blow smoke up Tiger's hole, but the questions were pathetic. I'm not surprised Tiger treated them with the cintempt they deserved.

Perhaps, but that wasn't how I saw it. I thought he just asked the same questions all golfers are asked after they finish their round. Nothing controversial, just pretty bland stuff. Everyone other than Tiger seems to be able to answer politely. What sort of questions do you think it is permissable to ask him?

But I thought you said..

I take it then you didnt even bother reading the posts in other threads I was referring to in my OP?
    That post is actually tame in comparison.

Or maybe this clique you speak of just been set up this afternoon then??

The post implies that Woods is a racist - were there racist comments in the "other thread"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭vincentdunne

I don't have any axe to grind here, just checked to see what the story was. Very sad to see Rory have his one bad round in such a media circus and Tiger Woods should be a bit more gracious. The two interviews afterwards spoke volumes about the men. (much more important than the golf in the scheme of things).