Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft and hot weather.

• 10-04-2011 5:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭

I feel I should mention this.

With the weather we're having at the moment, and if it continues, remember lads and ladies, drink plenty of water and fluids, if you're not dying for a piss, you're not drinking enough! It's something small, but it's something we can tend to forget or neglect and nobody wants heat stroke. There's no shame in sitting out for a few minutes for a drink and a rest, it's only a game guys.
    Don't forget the sunscreen either! :D

Ger:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

So ... has HRTA dried out then? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭richieffff

all-out-of-water-better-drink-my-own-piss.jpg?imageSize=Medium&generatorName=bear-grylls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Got dehydrated to the max at Red Barn on Saturday, just kept forgetting to drink.

Can happen when your too occupied causing absolute devastation....

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Good rule of thumb here is the colour of your pee - vulgar as it sounds but if it's clear you're fine, if it's really yellow and stinks then you really need fluids soon.

Same goes for any sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

HOWEVER... as pertinent as lefty's point is. DO NOT DRINK TOO MUCH. You will flush your body of minerals and salts, and have a worse time of things than dehydration. It can happen easily, and I had a girl in my unit once studiously drink so much water, she did the very thing I talk about... It wasnt plesant.

Drink enough, but drink smart. Isotonic powders in your canteen or camelbak are great for this.

Berocca (sp?) will sort that Fk.

It's actually hard to overdrink water if you're active as you just get bloated and sloshy but the point is valid. :)

AGB_Ghost wrote: »
    Off topic, noticed steve now has a bold lettered name and silver stars :P
    Aye - testing out the new modcam - kindalike multicam but is dynamic. :D
    Never once actually needed to pee in an airsoft game ever, maybe once at the trainstation home but never when I arrived or was about to leave...... im strange that way, word of advice, running a lot can take a toll on you, between games I suggest taking off any unnecessary items off your AEG or GBB or your body gear, the lighter you are the safer you are.
    Fitness helps too. Good trick to keep cool is to 50/50 fill your water bottle with crushed ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Wouldn't want to pass out in a forest wearing camoflauge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Spooky-Vinny

AGB_Ghost wrote: »
    Crushed ice and vodka :cool: what I do is i wrap a bandanna with ice crushed ice up in my vest pocket then take it out and put it on to cool down, I find it helps a lot.
    How long does that last? :confused:
    xXx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Steve wrote: »
    Aye - testing out the new modcam - kindalike multicam but is dynamic. :D

Fitness helps too. Good trick to keep cool is to 50/50 fill your water bottle with crushed ice.
    tbh crushed ice will **** you up more than room/air temp water!
    so grill bear says so,an he is right.sorry steve:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

deco nate wrote: »

Without straying to far off topic. The advice Mr. Grills give regarding ice, was not to EAT the ice, but allow it to melt in your water bottle. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Without straying to far off topic. The advice Mr. Grills give regarding ice, was not to EAT the ice, but allow it to melt in your water bottle. ;)
    true,but if you are in hot weather,an drinkin ice cold water.it has the efect of dehydratin you...so just drink warm water:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scody94

true,but if you are in hot weather,an drinkin ice cold water.it has the efect of dehydratin you...so just drink warm water:)

The effect of icy water in hot weather is that as you drink in is chilling your insides and your body reacts to kept it warm which in return if not really benefiting you. So just water in a bottle would be grand even if it is warm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

http://www.dietitian.com/fluids.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Bolas

Some points everyone should be aware of as there is a lot of info being posted that is incorrect or inaccurate:

1. Water temperature has been shown in testing to have no effect on the level of hydration effectiveness. What has been proven is that colder fluids pass more quickly through the body than those at body temperature. Correct hydration should be a regular smaller intake instead of as many people do, a large intake during breaks etc. The body needs constant top ups in order to function properly, a bottle of water at lunch time will not rehydrate properly as the body can only process a certain amount at a time and eliminates the rest (taking with it essential salts and minerals as already stated by Firekitten).

2. Ingesting cold water in hot weather will not cause the body to try to heat up, the body is already sweating in reaction to its elevated temperature. The difference in cold or warm water is simply that the cold water will feel more refreshing and will aid in a certain level of cooling before quickly matching the core body temperature. The only case where cold or iced water should be avoided (this is what generally causes the confusion) is in cold climates. Dehydration can occur even in freezing temperatures, in this situation the eating of ice or drinking of cold fluids can further cool the body which is already trying to maintain heat. In cold weather fluids should be kept close to the body so that their temperature is near body temperature.

3. Electrolytes. Much has been discussed in media etc about how effective sports drinks and other isotonic/electrolyte drinks really are. In normal activity and light exercise these drinks have little or no benefit. The purpose of taking electrolytes is to replace lost minerals and salts excreeted in sweat (mostly potassium and sodium) which are essential to the bodys electrical activity and to water retention. For activities like airsoft these drinks can actually be of benefit. Prolonged periods of activity in layers of clothing carrying loads and in heat results in a lot of sweating which will result in electrolyte loss. In saying this, a banana and packet of crisps can also top up on any lost sodium and potassium (while salt might seem strange as it makes you thirsty when taken in quantity, it actully assists the body in retaining fluids IN VERY SMALL QUANTITIES)

4. Pre-hydration can be very useful in preperation for your day. If you know there is going to be high temperatures for your day start hydration the evening before. Two or three glasses of water the night before and 3 - 4 glasses before leaving for your event can help you greatly. Pre-hydration basically tops up the bodys fluid levels so you start your activity in the best condition to be able to maintain good hydration levels during the day.

5. Additional things to keep in mind as regards hydration. AVOID caffinated drinks such as tea, coffee and many 'energy' drinks. Caffeine is a dieuretic meaning it causes you to urinate more frequently, definately not what you want to do when trying to replace lost fluids. The energy you would get from these drinks would do you more harm than good as it would encourage you into further activity while further dehydrating you. Sweetened drinks that have a carbohydrate level of more than 8% will actually lower fluid absorption and should be avoided. Remember, the body can go from marginal to dehydrated very quickly and will continue to dehydrate until treated.

Water is your friend, it is what the body needs and craves. While the various sports drinks can have a beneficial effect they should not be your main hydration. They are useful for the electrolyte content but use water as your principle source of fluids. Foods are also important, avoid sugary sweets and go for pastas, wholegrain breads and fruits etc. These will give a slow steady energy release into the body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

Please, please, please nobody ever pay any heed to what that poser has to say. His crap might be entertaining in an action movie kind of a way, but in the same way, it has little basis in reality. Doing something because Bear Grylls does it is about as sensible as doing something because Data from Star Trek: The Next Generation does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I find lucozade sport excellent in the hot weather as you really need something like this for a day airsofting.

Water is grand and I use it regularly for runs...but for long runs (10 miles+) I use the lucosade sport to replenish lost minerals.
    Remember...you're out airsofting for a couple of hours at least..add in the high temps plus the fact you're wearing camo gear and you're taking a huge risk in dehydration.
    Best thing is to mix and match...drink water for the first half of the day and have a isotonic drink etc if you're playing for more than a half day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

It is important that you stay hydrated if you want your body to function properly. Every living cell in your body needs water, and is made up predominantly of water. However, as Firekitten said, it is not the be all and end all. There are other minerals and salts that are also required. In balance (i.e. Homeostasis), your body is at its optimal functionality. I really wouldn't worry about drinking too much, as the odds of actually achieving that are slim to nil, but it is worth keeping note of.

Isotonic drinks...now there's a kettle of fish I expected to rear its head. Isotonic drinks were made for the ELITE ATHLETE. Gatorade, one of the more infamous 'Sports Drink', originally tasted like crap. That is of course until it was bought by Pepsi, and marketed to sedentary acne-ridden teens for profit. Isotonic drinks are proven to be effective, but only for the elite athletes...the benefits for other people are just not there. In fact the opposite is most commonly the case...people tend to drink the sports drinks, and undo the positive calorie burn. On top of that, you will replace the salts and minerals lost through exercise/physical activity through your diet. The elite athlete needs a much faster replenishment of the minerals due to the need to keep going e.g. Marathons, Ultra Marathons etc. which requires those very minerals and salts.

To elaborate a little further; most people have bouts of exercise - they work out for an hour, maybe more, perhaps even less...and then they're done. This means that they have more than enough time to replace lost calories, minerals and salts through their diet, without their body turning catabolic. Airsoft is not an intense enough activity to necessitate things like Isotonic drinks, as you are not under the urgency to replace the minerals, unlike the ultra-marathon runner who cannot break for food. This is true even for MilSim as you will still be able to eat. It's just not intense enough. Soldiers I can understand, as it doesn't weigh anymore to have additional sustenance, and they are in a position of real danger where they may have to keep going, and their lives could depend on their quick reactions...whereas we play a game, and if it gets too much, we can go and eat.

When you are physically active, you require additional water. Why? As you expend calories to fuel your exercise, your heart rate increases, body/core temperature increases, and your neuromuscular tissue's activity increases.

Water (among many other things) is required for quick, clear and effective neuromuscular activity (i.e. the signal sent through the Central Nervous System, into the Periphery Nervous System and stimulating the muscles to work) - without adequate water, the firing off of the neurons is much slower, and often quite sloppy...you will use more energy than required, or too little and fail in your task. Basically you impede the electrical impulse when you are dehydrated.

When your body temperature rises, you excrete water/fluid in the form of sweat. This is your body's coolant system. The more active you are, the more you sweat, the more fluid (and salt) you expend. When physically active, you should regularly consume water in order to replenish what you have lost through exercise. If you feel thirsty, you are already in a state of dehydration - the trick is to drink regularly; when nothing's happening, take a drink. When you're hit, take a drink. You shouldn't feel thirsty. However it is not a perfect world, we are not robots, and odds are you'll forget until thirst hits. BUT! When you feel thirsty, do not pour the water down your throat as fast as you can. Instead, use the thirst as a reminder to consume water at regular intervals.

Why? When your stomach is filled with water, your body says to itself "This is grand, I don't need to absorb this - I've got plenty coming to me; better flush the system" and it just goes through the motions, as you then pass water (diplomatic way of saying 'urination'). Sure some gets absorbed, but it is far from optimal. If you drink small amounts regularly (lets say a mouthful every 10 minutes or so), you should stay hydrated (depending on exertion placed on the heart, lungs and muscular system). Also, when you gulp, it's like swallowing a brick - you'll feel sluggish.

I have to add a caveat to this next paragraph, and I will explain why; the link provided for the 'Ask a Dietitian' contradicts what I am about to say, however I will back up my own point, and leave you to form your own conclusions.
    Room temperature water is optimal for absorption into the body during physical activity. When you are physically active, your body temperature has risen, so if you drink cold or chilled water you divert blood & oxygen away from the physically active muscles in order to raise your core temperature, and to heat the water for more effective absorption. It's like rapidly cooling a hot glass - you can cause it to shatter, or breakdown. When you consume room temperature water, it has NO cooling properties - you are drinking it for hydration, as you are 'warmed up' - the cooling will come in the form of sweat.
    The dietitian link on the other hand testifies that cold water is optimal, and that it is absorbed faster. This is true when you are inactive, as the water cools your insides, and it is slowly absorbed, as your body is under no great urgency, unlike the state it's in during physical activity. The key difference is when you are drinking in a more sedentary state, you are drinking to cool down. whereas when you are active your main goal is re-hydration.

And finally the fun part; the warnings. I am a fully qualified Personal Trainer & Fitness Instructor, so this is the kind of stuff I need to know. I am not a dietitian, and I do not pretend otherwise. Please remember that this is the internet - do not take what I say as fact; do some research for yourselves, and if you like, use the information I've given...but yeah, take it with a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

Need to drink loads o fluids....

36356.jpg

tumblr_liuzbqmmPk1qbvc38o1_250.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Captain Commie

i noticed that i started de-hydrating when i was out lsat weekend, thinking of getting a camel pack or something as could also help when im on the bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

From airsoft to mountain biking you can not go wrong with a Camelbac tbh i use one and last summer i would of dropped with out one . Well worth the money , does anyone know of a good isotonic you can add to water ?

Berocca (sp?) will sort that Fk.

It's actually hard to overdrink water if you're active as you just get bloated and sloshy but the point is valid. :)
    Its not overdrinking persay... a level of activity, and constant studious drinking of water, as one reading this topic may do, can result in you flushing your body of the essential minerals and salts without getting 'sloshy' as it were. When I said she drank too much, she drank too much 'straight' water, while active. The process is hard to spot as it happens, and can result in being light headed, fainting, and loss of concentration.

Another thing to be careful of, is wearing wicking tops... Some like to wear the helly hansen style wicking long sleve teeshirts, and they can allow you to sweat, and not realise how much water you're losing. Efficent and comfortable, sure, but keep up a good intake when wearing them so you dont dehydrate.

jewan: Best place, is an outdoor sports shop, they sell sachets of powder you can mix with water in the field. Each lasts a few canteens, or one or two camelbaks, and its well worth it. A brand I use, is High5 (red and yellow packet) Great results, and doesnt taste too bad either!

Firekitten wrote: »
    Its not overdrinking persay... a level of activity, and constant studious drinking of water, as one reading this topic may do, can result in you flushing your body of the essential minerals and salts without getting 'sloshy' as it were. When I said she drank too much, she drank too much 'straight' water, while active. The process is hard to spot as it happens, and can result in being light headed, fainting, and loss of concentration.

Another thing to be careful of, is wearing wicking tops... Some like to wear the helly hansen style wicking long sleve teeshirts, and they can allow you to sweat, and not realise how much water you're losing. Efficent and comfortable, sure, but keep up a good intake when wearing them so you dont dehydrate.

jewan: Best place, is an outdoor sports shop, they sell sachets of powder you can mix with water in the field. Each lasts a few canteens, or one or two camelbaks, and its well worth it. A brand I use, is High5 (red and yellow packet) Great results, and doesnt taste too bad either!

Cheers will have a look out for them

You'll also do grand with a pinch of salt and some fruit squash mixed in with your water.

I normally Just have Robertsons or miwadi in my camalbac has always worked well but i though with senny coming maybe get some isotonic for it .

The salt will make it more or less isotonic. Hey, it's your money. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

Leftyflip wrote: »
    , if you're not dying for a piss, you're not drinking enough!
    Ger:)

buddy of mine was a TI and thats exactly what he said to his recruits. he'd ball them out when doing long days in the field saying that if they didnt feel the need to pee every few minutes then they were not drinking enough water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

jeawan wrote: »
    From airsoft to mountain biking you can not go wrong with a Camelbac tbh i use one and last summer i would of dropped with out one . Well worth the money , does anyone know of a good isotonic you can add to water ?

Dioralyte, you can pick it up in any chemist, great for hangovers to ;)

The salt will make it more or less isotonic. Hey, it's your money. :)
    The naked man has a point... for a 1 litre canteen, a tea spoon of salt, a table spoon of sugar, some fruit squash, and chow down a banana at lunch time, and you're sorted. :)
    Faolchu wrote: »
    buddy of mine was a TI and thats exactly what he said to his recruits. he'd ball them out when doing long days in the field saying that if they didnt feel the need to pee every few minutes then they were not drinking enough water
    He's also right lol. Though I'm sure he never had to try and convince the girls in a mixed unit, that it was in thier best interest to need the loo every five minutes ><

As for hangover cures... British army screech powder... one sachet, in a pint glass, fill with water, stir till disolved... drink
    No more hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Sealcon

I just noticed this got thread of the day on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

does anyone know of a good isotonic you can add to water ?
    Cheers will have a look out for them

Granted, Shane & FK have mentioned some home-made concoctions that are just as effective, but to add a little info for jewan; you can pick up boxes (maybe 20 sachets?) of High5 in varying flavours for about €25 if I recall from the last time I bought a box (they last a while ... ) from Cyclogical on the quays in Dublin. But most cycle shops with an eye to attracting performance/athlete customers will provide it or similar products.

One sachet will happily take care of several canteens or a couple of 3L camelbaks.

Edit: of the varying powder mixes and/or energy bars I've had over the many years of mountain biking; I've found High5 to be consistently the best in terms of appealing after-taste.

Lemming is a fussy warrior... He whines if he gets his tactical tea late ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Jimkil

Hey lads and lassie lets not get carried away. Were not marines carrying 80lbs packs. Its Airsoft. 1lit of water drunk between breaks is enough for anyone playing here in Ireland. A 3lit bag of hydro juice carried on your back is just crazy and will prob do you more harm than good.

On a separate note. How fit are arisofters?. A buddy of mine is involved with http://www.braveforce.ie/index.htm. He asked me to ask if the airsoft community could muster a few good men to show up in gear to try and complete the course. If anyone is interested let me know.

Just want to re-iterate the caveat that this is just a discussion between amateurs and bear in mind that you should always be skeptical of most of what you read on the internet.

No disrespect intended to anyone who may be giving qualified advice :).

Jimkil wrote: »
    Hey lads and lassie lets not get carried away. Were not marines carrying 80lbs packs. Its Airsoft. 1lit of water drunk between breaks is enough for anyone playing here in Ireland. A 3lit bag of hydro juice carried on your back is just crazy and will prob do you more harm than good.

On a separate note. How fit are arisofters?. A buddy of mine is involved with http://www.braveforce.ie/index.htm. He asked me to ask if the airsoft community could muster a few good men to show up in gear to try and complete the course. If anyone is interested let me know.
    1. Carried away? Not remotely.
    Not every site has 'breaks' between games of capture the flag,
    2. 1 litre isnt remotely enough for a day of high activity.
    3.Plenty of airsofters carry camelbaks, the fact people may add things is merely to help them, and trust me, 3 litre ones are not that big, infact, the way its carried, it doesnt feel remotely heavy.
    4.yeah, lol, some of us DO carry 50-80lb packs for milsim games, and its all necessary kit too.
    Not everyone's game style is the same Jimkil, and its best to give advice and support that is too much, rather than not enough. I've seen soldiers and airsofters go down from dehydration and heatstroke, and both are entirely possible, and very serious. Hell, I saw one chap go down at the start of the day, without even playing, because he was decked out like a swat jobbie in full blacks. (yeah, don't do that)

As for the event idea...Airsofters can be fit, but you don't have to be fit to play airsoft. I think you'd find fit players, however, the idea of airsofters running an assault course for some adventure race, in full kit, would be plain embarassing, and bring the wrong sorts of publicity and attention to the sport.
    Just want to re-iterate the caveat that this is just a discussion between amateurs and bear in mind that you should always be skeptical of most of what you read on the internet.

No disrespect intended to anyone who may be giving qualified advice :).
    To quantify my experience with my comments (I know you didn't mean just me) I have British Army CMT qualifications to back them up :)

My statement was a general one, certainly not targeted. I could make the same claim as you but it can't be proved or disproved in the context of an internet forum. Site policy has always been to lock down any discussion that verges even remotely on being medical advice.
    For example - if you (or me or anyone) claimed that you were an army survival specialist with medical qualifications and you recommended that people could survive by eating dog faeces and drinking rat urine and surprisingly enough some eejit tried it and died...??
    Again, no disrespect, just saying why I had to post the caveat :)

Jimkil wrote: »

One the of days last summer playing in hellfire 4 people came down with heat stroke and dehydration the lads that carried camelbacs didn't that day i went through two 3L Camelbacs .

That Braveforce look like a bit of fun .

My statement was a general one, certainly not targeted. I could make the same claim as you but it can't be proved or disproved in the context of an internet forum. Site policy has always been to lock down any discussion that verges even remotely on being medical advice.
    For example - if you (or me or anyone) claimed that you were an army survival specialist with medical qualifications and you recommended that people could survive by eating dog faeces and drinking rat urine and surprisingly enough some eejit tried it and died...??
    Again, no disrespect, just saying why I had to post the caveat :)
    For all you know, I could be an Eastern European Piano tuner... I completely agree Steve, however, none of the advice given here, has strayed into 'medical' advice on treating conditions, only health, and fitness avoidance tips for common conditions. Comparable to saying 'wear a coat in cold weather' on a practical level.

On that note, If anyone DOES come down with any problems, my only advice is to get the help of a qualified first aider, which every site will have. Do not attempt any medical intervention for heatstroke or dehydration without licenced and insured medical training recognised by the site owner, and thier insurance policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

That Braveforce look like a bit of fun .

Commando Challenge ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Bolas

2. 1 litre isnt remotely enough for a day of high activity.

Agreed, it is generally accepted that we all should be consuming 2 litres of water a day in drinks and food (trained dietitian and nutritionist btw). This does not include water to rehydrate during and after activities. People should never underestimate the amount of fluid that is required to avoid dehydration. Carry whatever you are comfortable with and top it up if needed from a reserve in the rest area/car. It is too easy to say people are over reacting but this is a matter of personal safety as much as wearing safety glasses or masks at an airsoft site. Just because it is airsoft and not a marathon does not reduce the need for a constant fluid intake. If anything, a trained and conditioned athlete will most likely need less water to remain hydrated than the average airsofter who generally will not do any conditioning training.

I may sound as if I am overstating the case, but, we should take our activity as seriously as any other physical activity if not more so in some cases. Wearing camo gear, carrying equipment and vests etc is not only a load to be concidered but also is layers of items which work to insulate the body in warm weather and increase the risk of dehydration. Remember, every year people are taken to hospital from the beach, where they have been inactive, due to dehydration and heat stroke due to not being mindful of the risks of dehydration.

Sorry to go on about it but I see people at the end of a day, pale, aching and cramping, all early signs of dehydration. Please, for the sake of throwing an extra 2L bottle of water in with your kit when going to a site and drinking it during the day, you will be making it a lot safer and more fun for yourself. Also remaining hydrated during the day will also help reduce the day after stiffness and improve your response time and awareness during the games.

none of the advice given here, has strayed into 'medical' advice on treating conditions
    Therin lies the issue - where is the line? If you're thirsty, take some water vs if you have a headache take an aspirin vs if you're big toe is sore then you need a hip replacement... :)

I'm a realist - but still have to read all this stuff in the context of being a mod and having to somewhat idiot proof the forum.

That said, and back on topic, the general opinion of little and often seems to make the most sense. I'm still of the opinion that colder water is more beneficial as it helps lower core temperature better and therefore reduces the body's need to sweat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

lol, only in the airsoft section could a thread started as

"weathers getting hot lads, dont forget to drink plenty when your out playing"

result in a 4 page thread on what EXACTLY to drink, WHEN and HOW to drink it followed by "I'm a qualified <instert professional title here>" :D:):)

I'm still waiting for someone to come in with "well IM made of 90% water so I know what Im talkin about!:mad:"

lolz. :)

hightower1 wrote: »
    lol, only in the airsoft section could a thread started as

"weathers getting hot lads, dont forget to drink plenty when your out playing"

result in a 4 page thread on what EXACTLY to drink, WHEN and HOW to drink it followed by "I'm a qualified <instert professional title here>" :D:):)

I'm still waiting for someone to come in with "well IM made of 90% water so I know what Im talkin about!:mad:"

lolz. :)
    You'd be suprised how many people don't know about drinking during physical activity... not, to do it, but how. Make fun if you wish, but its a very serious subject.

As for water content; Its roughly 72% in males, and 68% in females, due to the relative water content of muscle and fat.

If you have 90% water content Hightower1, you must have a rather large hump at the moment, Or, you're a fruit, or sap... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

Keep hydrated people! but more importantly be aware of the Communist subversion and the international Communist conspiracy to sap and impurify all of our precious bodily fluids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

K.I.S.S
    Carry what you need for a days gaming a small bottle of coke isnt your friend,if you don't have a hydration pack or camel bax. A bottle/canteen should be carried as essential gear and refill throughout the day ,I've seen sports shops selling half litre sports bottles for 2.50 worth picking up a couple and for carrying on a belt or in back pack.
    Loose the heavy vests and hoodies loose fitting shirts or long sleeved tshirts will keep you cooler ,pick up a cap or boonie to keep the sun off your head,don't forget some sunscreen especially for younger / fairskinned players,
    Keep an eye on your team mates for signs of over excersion remind people to drink and take breathers when needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

The vast majority of airsofters are people who work in offices during the week and get little or no other excercise than airsoft. I should know ;)

Thing is if you are in anyway out of shape don't hit the field carrying every bit of kit you can and then start charging around like Rambo.

There is a small chance of heart attack, stroke and a bunch of other stuff Evilrobotshane could fill you in on and it's made worse in hot weather.

Marshals are usually great at spotting players who might be at risk but they cant be everywhere. As others have already said, keep an eye on your mates and tell them to take a break if they are looking a bit peaky. It's just a game so there is no sense in blowing out a valve or something over it.