Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heat your home for only €400 a year...

• 10-04-2011 11:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

On the Brendan O'Connor show last night, Ming the Merciless said that you can heat your home for only €400 a year on turf. This seems like great value.

How would I go about doing this?

On the Brendan O'Connor show last night, Ming the Merciless said that you can heat your home for only €400 a year on turf. This seems like great value.

How would I go about doing this?

Exchange money to purchase turf, burn turf?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

You don't feel the cold when you're wasted...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I'm guessing he's got a solid fuel range hooked up to the central heating system and burns turf in it to keep the place warm. I think €400 is a little low unless you know a guy who has his own bog or something. The ash it produces would break your soul with all the cleaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Buy 400 euro worth of turf, cut it up into small pieces, then sell it as hash to gullible spanish students who are here for the summer.

Use the profit to heat your home.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I was going to suggest that you'd have to pay a lot more to get the central heating installed but you could just go for a brazier with a handle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Try running the electricity off the gas and the gas off the electricity.
    I saved a fortune that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Smoking turf//:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

he has his own turf, my guess is the 400 lids is what it costs to get it to has shed/yard, why was he not asked to give us a breakdown on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

This seems like great value.

He's not buying enough turf for €400 to heat a home for a year. Not doable. Different story if you have a bog and cut your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

1.cut turf.
    2.burn turf.
    3.run out of turf.
    4.????
    5.get baked.

Ming's five point plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If he invites his TD colleagues to his house, and stores the hot air from the bullsh1t that they spout, he could heat his house for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Onikage

Ming pimping the turfcutters again. Votes please thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

bluewolf wrote: »
    Exchange money to purchase turf, burn turf?

No No No youre doing it wrong

Its
    1. Exchange money to purchase turf
    2. burn turf
    3. ?
    4. PROFIT !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭budgemook

If you had a back boiler or something like that installed you could easily get by with enough turf for the year for 400 euros. It costs about 1.50 a day in the winter for a nights worth of turf burning, you just need something efficient installed to store up that heat rather than having 70% of it going up and out the chimney.

Doubt there's enough turf around for the whole country though. Not for long anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

If you own a Slean/Shlawn ( spade like thingy for cutting turf) and have access to a bank of bog, it wouldn't cost you anything and you could have all the turf you like. But it's serious hard work:
    ~Cut out each sod of turf and place on bank
    ~after one side has dried turn each sod
    ~when other side has dried, foot turf for further drying ( make into little pyramids)
    ~Gather all your turf and take home to shed, for this you need some kinda car trailer and it can be done with or without bags (usually used fertilizer bags) either way it's a pain in the hole.
    When Ming said $400 I think he meant you pay a contractor that much to cut it, which is whats usually done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

turf gives off fcuk all heat, better off sticking with the coal, its better value for money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

johngalway wrote: »
    He's not buying enough turf for €400 to heat a home for a year. Not doable. Different story if you have a bog and cut your own.

He has a bog as far as I know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I'm guessing he's got a solid fuel range hooked up to the central heating system and burns turf in it to keep the place warm. I think €400 is a little low unless you know a guy who has his own bog or something. The ash it produces would break your soul with all the cleaning.

Hire bloke with turf cutting machine to cut turf €200
    Spread it, foot it, save it. Diesel for the tractor and trailor to take it home... maybe €30?
    It's expensive if you are buying it already "saved". Think it's €300 a load?

Some of us thorughbred culchies have our own bogs though.
    I used to use heating oil to heat the house and only had open fire in the living room. Invested in a stove which now heats entire house and water (no longer use emersion). Havent put oil in tank in ....Christ it's 2 years now.

Throwing out the ashes, pain in the hole. Lugging in turf, pain in the hole. Saving about 2k a year on heating house and water = Well worth it.
    turf gives off fcuk all heat, better off sticking with the coal, its better value for money

Load of bollix tbh.

If you had a free coal mine, then yeah. ounce for ounce, coal had a higher output. Tell me if you had a free bog you wouldint use it?

A good day on the bog, midges eating the head off ya, mushy egg sanguages, and a flask of táe. Living the dream!:P

Us culchies have fúck all perks. The bog is one of them. Handy for the odd body or three as well.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If you look at the figures we've already reached peak turf. And there is very little investment in exploration to find new fields. And we'll probably find that Bord na Mona were over reporting unproven reserves :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Dizraeligears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

themadchef wrote: »
    Us culchies have fúck all perks. The bog is one of them. Handy for the odd body or three as well.

....another perk is stealing heating-oil from people's hovels in the middle of nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

steddyeddy wrote: »
    He has a bog as far as I know!

Don't most houses have a bog these days, sod that running to the end of the garden with a dock leaf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 BrockSamson

Kiith wrote: »
    You don't feel the cold when you're wasted...

Your thinking of alcohol were people can go days without food or heating i have seen more people not eating so they can buy alcohol. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/8586893@N08/4566670300/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

themadchef wrote: »
    Hire bloke with turf cutting machine to cut turf €200
    Spread it, foot it, save it. Diesel for the tractor and trailor to take it home... maybe €30?
    It's expensive if you are buying it already "saved". Think it's €300 a load?

Some of us thorughbred culchies have our own bogs though.
    I used to use heating oil to heat the house and only had open fire in the living room. Invested in a stove which now heats entire house and water (no longer use emersion). Havent put oil in tank in ....Christ it's 2 years now.

Throwing out the ashes, pain in the hole. Lugging in turf, pain in the hole. Saving about 2k a year on heating house and water = Well worth it.

Load of bollix tbh.

If you had a free coal mine, then yeah. ounce for ounce, coal had a higher output. Tell me if you had a free bog you wouldint use it?

A good day on the bog, midges eating the head off ya, mushy egg sanguages, and a flask of táe. Living the dream!:P

Im going to be going to the bog to collect turf for the first time in my life in June. Lived in Dublin most of my life so when I moved 'down the country' I heard about how you can hire a piece of the bog and then you have to dry and collect the turf I decided I would like to give it a go. They are slagging me in work saying I wont be able for the hard work that goes into it but I would like to give it a shot. Spent a small fortune on fuel this winter so anything to save money is good with me.

Im going to rope some of my dublin friends into helping me collect the turf. They dont know it yet though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

gazzer wrote: »
    Im going to be going to the bog to collect turf for the first time in my life in June. Lived in Dublin most of my life so when I moved 'down the country' I heard about how you can hire a piece of the bog and then you have to dry and collect the turf I decided I would like to give it a go. They are slagging me in work saying I wont be able for the hard work that goes into it but I would like to give it a shot. Spent a small fortune on fuel this winter so anything to save money is good with me.

Im going to rope some of my dublin friends into helping me collect the turf. They dont know it yet though :)

The sad thing about this thread is that Ming is right, pity all the gobs dont realise it. It costs sfa to heat your house with turf, yes it is hard work but its a fraction of the price of oil and we dont have to import it. With a back boiler or range it is easily done. If the government say its bad then it must be bad, they wouldnt lie to us after all!
    How much tax do they get of oil? How much tax do they get of turf? One and one is what? Three? Yupe the gobs have it right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Turf is really handy for a stove/range, we light the fire in autumn and keep it going until the spring! All you need to do is load it up at night then close down all th vent and it will smoulder away until morning when you can open it up again, maybe fire in a bit of wood, and it's blazing away instantly.

I can't stand turf in an open fire though, it smells and you get dust everywhere. And it just isn't hop enough, coal and wood ftw

But one thing is certain, the bog is hard f*ckin work. Great place to reflect though, I always get mildly philosphical in a bog...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

gazzer wrote: »

Im going to rope some of my dublin friends into helping me collect the turf.
    You could make a small fortune selling tickets to this event:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

My old man got a guy to cut some turf for him last summer, which cost a couple of hundred euro. Only yer man cut a lot more than my dad expected. I had just put my back out, and it was torture getting it all saved. The amount we got could be enough to last about 2-3 years though, which is fairly handy.

Luckily, since the bog is on the side of a hill and there was a good breeze most days we didn't have to put up with midges. Its good black turf as well, lasts ages in a fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

There is not enough turf in the country for everyone to heat their house this way. Its also a fossil fuel and is therefore a finite resource. It might be ok for a relatively small amount of the population to use turf in this way but its not sustainable and is a short-term solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Moojuice wrote: »
    There is not enough turf in the country for everyone to heat their house this way. Its also a fossil fuel and is therefore a finite resource. It might be ok for a relatively small amount of the population to use turf in this way but its not sustainable and is a short-term solution.

Sure aren't all fuels finite resources.

Half the country already uses briquettes which are just compressed turf for 10x the price.