Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Service actual salaries

• 08-04-2011 11:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭

If this is wrong forum can mods please move.....and apologies. With all the public sector bashing that goes on in the media, cut their pay, cut their salaries, sack them all etc etc can anyone give an indication of what the average Garda, Teacher, Nurse, Prison Officer,soldier etc actually gets paid... Published salary scales would not reflect the actual take home salary I would imagine.. A friend of mine (a junior civil servant) claims that Gardai with 20 odd years experience earned up to 80k in a desk job...surely this is incorrect? .opinions??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

I worked in the PS for a while a few years back so I will try to answer you from my personal experiance.

I left school in 2004 and joined the civil service in a department specific grade that was the equivalent of a clerical officer. My salary was, if memory serves, about 20k a year. Had I stayed in that job and not got promoted, my salary would probaly be something in the region of 30k today, six years later.

I never ask anyone what their salary is but guys with 20 years behing them, where i was working, probably would have been getting about 40-50k a year for desk work. Guards are a little different as they don't fit into the grade system as other PS workers do but 80k a year seems a little far fetched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭tannytantans

My boyfriend is a clerical officer, has worked there for almost 4 years and is on 398.00 per week, a lot less than what he started on - so under €21000.

I'm training to be a teacher, and with the 10% pay cut I'll be roughly starting on €25,000 (i hope!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

My boyfriend is a clerical officer, has worked there for almost 4 years and is on 398.00 per week, a lot less than what he started on - so under €21000.

Gross or net?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

The pay scales are here:

http://www.finance.gov.ie/documents/circulars/circular2009/circ282009.pdf

Most people start at the bottom, and work their way up an increment each year. Long service increments 3/6 years to get.

Some new entrants in the past may have got bumped up 2 or 3 increments to begin with due to past experience.

New entrants presently get paid a straight 10% less on these scales.

There are two scales, Appendix 1 is for people who joined before 1995 and dont pay PRSI, Appendix 2 is for people who joined after 1995 and pay PRSI so the scales are slightly higher to account for this.

Gross or net?

Sorry - meant to say that's after tax - before tax it's around €485 i think :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Sorry - meant to say that's after tax - before tax it's around €485 i think :(
    Which is €25,220 which is a perfectly good wage for a clerical officer tbh.

I shudder to think what he was on before considering you say that he's earning ''a lot'' less now.

The original post asked about take home pay which is what I answered. I never said €25,500 isn't good pay - I'm saying with tax etc he's earning less now than when he first started despite getting yearly increments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭bob skunkhouse

Two bits worth and I'll desist from turning this into a public/private sector bash. A close friend of mine is earning 64k a year as a secondary teacher.She's about 15 years experience so has worked up the food chain, but we both left college together, started work together and she's earning a good 25k more than me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Zipppy wrote: »
    If this is wrong forum can mods please move.....and apologies. With all the public sector bashing that goes on in the media, cut their pay, cut their salaries, sack them all etc etc can anyone give an indication of what the average Garda, Teacher, Nurse, Prison Officer,soldier etc actually gets paid... Published salary scales would not reflect the actual take home salary I would imagine.. A friend of mine (a junior civil servant) claims that Gardai with 20 odd years experience earned up to 80k in a desk job...surely this is incorrect? .opinions??

Highly unlikely that a Garda would be on €80k for a desk job.

I'm a Clerical Officer on 30k p.a. and I only come out at around 27k after taxes, USC, medical insurance, pension deductions, blah, blah, blah. Remeber, civil servants who are paying into a pension scheme are required to pay pension related deductions ( thank you Brian Lenihan >( ). This doesn't apply to private sector employees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Im 20 years in the CS in May. Started as a Clerical Assistant. I have had 3 promotions in that time and now work as a systems analyst in the CS and my net pay is €594 a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭positivenote

A close friend of mine is earning 64k a year as a secondary teacher.She's about 15 years experience so has worked up the food chain, but we both left college together, started work together and she's earning a good 25k more than me!
    well thats good for her... im in the education sector aswell. ive been in my position for nearly 9 years. I came onto the pay scale at the bottom and remained there for 3 years untill i gained enough teaching experience to be considered to start moving up the scale. I had previous to this spent 6 years working every weekend to try and pay for my time in college which took up the other 5 days of my week. at the moment I am on grade 6 of a scale that escalates to 8 and im earning approx 46k... but my take home is approx 24% less than what it would have been if I was in the same position as I am in now 3 years ago.
    the main issue is that people refer to what people are earning.... which is pointless because its what we get into our accounts at the end of the week/month/year that should be looked at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

RichardAnd wrote: »
    I worked in the PS for a while a few years back so I will try to answer you from my personal experiance.

I left school in 2004 and joined the civil service in a department specific grade that was the equivalent of a clerical officer. My salary was, if memory serves, about 20k a year. Had I stayed in that job and not got promoted, my salary would probaly be something in the region of 30k today, six years later.

I never ask anyone what their salary is but guys with 20 years behing them, where i was working, probably would have been getting about 40-50k a year for desk work. Guards are a little different as they don't fit into the grade system as other PS workers do but 80k a year seems a little far fetched.

Incorrect assumption on someone with 20 years experience getting 40-50k a year, this could only happen with promotion because imcrements stop after a length of time when you hit the top of the pay scale ( 10 years I think ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Zipppy

HI OP here...

Just to ad this NOT a PS bashing thread....

I'm just curious as to what your average Garda Nurse Prison Officer Secondary Teacher etc earns (gross) after say 20 years (mid point in their career)

Again no bashing the PS please...i

Highly unlikely that a Garda would be on €80k for a desk job.

I'm a Clerical Officer on 30k p.a. and I only come out at around 27k after taxes, USC, medical insurance, pension deductions, blah, blah, blah. Remeber, civil servants who are paying into a pension scheme are required to pay pension related deductions ( thank you Brian Lenihan >( ). This doesn't apply to private sector employees.

And this Administrator/Customer Service job pays €21000. Plus you need fluent French.

http://www.adminjobs.ie/administrator,customer-service-43845

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Automan

the main issue is that people refer to what people are earning.... which is pointless because its what we get into our accounts at the end of the week/month/year that should be looked at.

Also to add to that the amount of weekly hours they work averaged over the year.
    No point someone coming on here saying they only earn 30 grand a year but dont mention that there average working week is less than 20 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭sjms

well thats good for her... im in the education sector aswell. ive been in my position for nearly 9 years. I came onto the pay scale at the bottom and remained there for 3 years untill i gained enough teaching experience to be considered to start moving up the scale. I had previous to this spent 6 years working every weekend to try and pay for my time in college which took up the other 5 days of my week. at the moment I am on grade 6 of a scale that escalates to 8 and im earning approx 46k... but my take home is approx 24% less than what it would have been if I was in the same position as I am in now 3 years ago.

This is true. I am currently training to be a secondary school teacher. Lack of jobs and the automatic downgrade of your salary is not very encouraging. I understand and accept that I have to take a pay cut (that's if I get a job, another day's discussion) in order to help the country sort itself out. However, what I don't agree with is why the current teachers that are employed are being protected with their salaries. Having a two tiered salary scale withing a public profession is hardly fare. I would like to think that if I look up to a teacher who is further on in their career than me, that I could say I would be earning that at that stage of my career.

Teachers, the gardaí and nurses do deserve their salaries. The job is VERY demanding. I think that if someone has a problem with the fact that their peer is earning more than them as a teacher, I would have to say, tough. Are you going to jump ship just for money? Sounds crazy to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Follow this link to view average weekly earnings by sector, 1988 - 2008

http://www.cso.ie/px/pxeirestat/Dialog/varval.asp?ma=PSA01&ti=Public+Sector+Average+Weekly+Earnings+%281988+to+2008%29+%28Euro%29+by+Type+of+Public+Sector+Employment+and+Year&path=../Database/Eirestat/Public%20Sector/&lang=1

Click the blue tick in both boxes to highlight all fields. You can also view earings by other (private) sectors by going back through database direct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

The following is a link which will give you the gross pay for all employees of the Health Service (includes all grades/increments) http://www.hseea.ie/subNav.aspx?pid=payConditions
    and a similar one for secondary teachers http://www.asti.ie/pay-and-conditions/pay/salary-scale/ (note the extra allowance for having a degree further down the page in addition to the basic scale).
    I'm sure there are similar ones available for primary teachers, guards, soldiers etc.

The links only gives the gross pay (not the net pay) but it should give you a rough idea on who's on what. Also (as the poster above me noted) it doesn't give hours worked per week e.g. some clerical officers work 33hrs a week, nurses work 37.5 hrs a week (I think) while teachers with posts of responsibility only have ~18hrs teaching a week. Pay scales also don't give details about annual leave entitlements (which also differ between different jobs) which all effect on how much you actually get paid per hour.

To be honest I think you'll find it hard to get info on the 'average' public sector worker. There are too many variations between different posts, hours worked/annual leave, different point on the pay scales, qualifications, promotional posts, overtime and different allowances available in different occupations. Also in asking for net pay, public sector workers will have the mandatory pension contributions as well as the pension related deduction while a private sector worker who chooses not to pay into a pension won't have these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭mikeystipey

gazzer wrote: »
    Im 20 years in the CS in May. Started as a Clerical Assistant. I have had 3 promotions in that time and now work as a systems analyst in the CS and my net pay is €594 a week

Systems analyst, so you're at HEO level am I right? Do you mind me asking what your gross salary is? 594 seems very low for that level even if it's net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Don't forget the pension levy. It won't be reflected in the gross figures for public service pay but it's a hefty enough deduction in its own right. It's roughly the same as the universal social charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Which is €25,220 which is a perfectly good wage for a clerical officer tbh.

I shudder to think what he was on before considering you say that he's earning ''a lot'' less now.

Why?

OK I realise that there are too many varaitions in grade staffing allowances etc across the PS to declare average salaries...so....so back to my original query...
    Take a Garda, 40 years old, joined the Garda after school, to pof his incremental scale, based in Dublin, availabke for OT, shifts........what kind of gross is he making (I say gross cos I know each individuals net will be different dependant on their circumstances)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭positivenote

sjms wrote: »
    Are you going to jump ship just for money? Sounds crazy to me!
    i'll be in the education sector as long as I can continue to pay my mortage & feed my family. Its a career that I got into because it is what I have always wanted to do and I still love it... NOBODY else I know can truely say they wake up in the morning knowing that they are going into a job they love. Fcuk the begrudgers who think that teachers have a handy number... we dont and we dont do the job for the 'handiness' of it or the money, becayse our take home pay is nowhere near what it should be given thae time spent to qualify to do the job, as stated previously I spent 6 years in full time education working min wage at weekends to get my Masters.

*to many typos to correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭sjms

i'll be in the education sector as long as I can continue to pay my mortage & feed my family. Its a career that I got into because it is what I have always wanted to do and I still love it... NOBODY else I know can truely say they wake up in the morning knowing that they are going into a job they love. Fcuk the begrudgers who think that teachers have a handy number... we dont and we dont do the job for the 'handiness' of it or the money, becayse our take home pay is nowhere near what it should be given thae time spent to qualify to do the job, as stated previously I spent 6 years in full time education working min wage at weekends to get my Masters.

*to many typos to correct

couldn't agree with you more. i would love to see somebody come in and do what teachers do and accept a pay cut/not complain. I love going into teach EVERY SINGLE DAY! It's weird because I dread the weekends (when I work part-time) mainly because I know that it's something that I do not enjoy! I just hope I get a job come September!

I think people also forget that it is not just 'out of college and into a job' when it comes to teaching. I envisage myself teaching part-time or non-permanent for probably 5 more years! Lack of understanding, if you ask me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Burnbaby76

Okay - so i've done a little digging....

Heres the info re Garda Pay

On attestation (receipt of Garda Badge) Gross: 25,745.00, Net 21,081.36.
    After 6 years: Gross: 42,138.20 Net:29,565.52
    After 17 years: Gross: 45,792.88 Net:31,048.99

The above figures are for garda and don't take into account Overtime.

I've spoken to one of my mates - who is a garda and gave me the info above... With the introduction of the Pension Levy, Income Levy, USC charge - the average Garda is down a significant amount of cash!

Also, when you consider the fact that Overtime is essentially gone now, many are finding it very hard to survive.

Hope this helps. Got the info from www.GRA.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭donegal11

^^^ you kindly left out all the allowances, such as the 4000 euro rent allowance each garda gets.

4000 over a 52 week year works out at 76.00, and as it goes into their pay which is subject to a Pension Levy, Income Levy and USC charge...

so on paper ya... 4k... in reality a hell of a lot less.

Honestly speaking - the majority of situations people run away from - they run toward.

Thanks for the info...out of interest does the Garda salary cover all shifts or is there a further shift allowance on top, also maybe premium payments for sat sun night duty etc etc...

My understanding is that there are such payments - unsocial hours, etc... but in order to get these... you need to work the 3 relief system - not all garda's do.

So if you use your Garda at a desk job example... he works mon -fri 9-5 so wouldn't get any allowances.

All allowances are detailed on the gra.ie website.

None are tax free, pension levy free, income levy free or usc free!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

I'm a library assistant which is Grade 3. I started in November 2006 so my annual salary is €27,542.
    My fortnightly pay is as follows:

Gross Pay: €1055.68

PAYE: 56.97
    PRSI: 32.07
    Pension Rel. Ded.: 38.26
    Uni. Soc. Charge: 47.69
    Superannuation: 36.39
    Union Subs: 8.45

Net Pay: €835.85