Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shoes...

• 08-04-2011 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭

I haven’t worn shoes (as in formal shoes) in well over a year, I’ve been covertly wearing black converse runners to work and formal events, while living in runners the rest of the time and I don’t think I’ll ever go back to them.

Am I some type of freak, a hero refusing to play by societies rules or are there more like me out there?

Note: I am not a hippie and/or pot head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

smokedeels wrote: »
    I haven’t worn shoes (as in formal shoes) in well over a year, I’ve been covertly wearing black converse runners to work and formal events, while living in runners the rest of the time and I don’t think I’ll ever go back to them.

Am I some type of freak, a hero refusing to play by societies rules or are there more like me out there?

You're not a hero or a freak, but wearing black converse to formal events will make you look like a complete spa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Don't forget to wear really white socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

You're not a hero or a freak, but wearing black converse to formal events will make you look like a complete spa.

But my feet.... they remain so comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Single???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Used to wear black adidas astro runners to school instead of school shoes,thought I was so cool ''sticking it to the man!''

In reality I ruined the runners by coloring over an iluminous stripe on them with black permanent marker,was handy for PE though.

Dovies wrote: »
    Single???

Nope, she loves me for more than my choice of footwear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Never been a fans of runners or Cons myself.
    ecco boots are the only way to fly..

They are feet mouldingly awesome and you can get away with wearing them anywhere..

Wazdakka wrote: »

Your car stealing abilities?

Yes, In my culture a man must steal and videotape the theft of 20 cars before proving himself a worthy suitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

Or young. Get with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Sprrratt wrote: »
    Or young. Get with it.

Young/spa... Is there really a difference?

Old/Sad? Guess not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

You're misguided. I would suggest you frequent some forums on men's fashion. It won't take long before your mind is changed. If you're going to suit up, buy yourself a classic pair of oxfords. Really, runners and a suit is not a good look. You're not Ellen DeGeneres. She's a scum.

You're misguided. I would suggest you frequent some forums on men's fashion.

Would I not be better off buying what I like and wearing that?

Yes you would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

I still do it too. I'm a girl but in work I'd happily wear a tailored trousers and top, but always pair it with pink or purple cons or some ridiculously childish Claire's Accessories earrings..

However, I've got to the stage where I'm getting a bit aware of it and am trying to grow up a bit in the way I dress. :( Peter-pan syndrome can't last forever.. *wipes tear*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Good to see somebody fearlessly flouting convention and putting it up to the squares.

I suggest changing your name to Daddio.

stovelid wrote: »
    Good to see somebody fearlessly flouting convention and putting it up to the squares.

I don't care what shape people are, and I checked and Daddio is already taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Get a pair of ecco shoes. They feel like a pair of runners.

I don't care what shape people are, and I checked and Daddio is already taken.

By me! :cool: *pops collar*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Nope, she loves me for more than my choice of footwear.

Just as fecking well...

Seriously, I only wear runners at the gym, wouldn't wear em outside it, I do love my shoes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

:DUntill just now, i always read your name as Smoke Deals and assumed you were a stoner! Now i see it's Smoked Eels - which is just plain odd!!

Ps: converse rock - i have a pin stripe pair that i wear with suits and so on..........and the ladies love me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

[/B]

:DUntill just now, i always read your name as Smoke Deals and assumed you were a stoner! Now i see it's Smoked Eels - which is just plain odd!!

Ps: converse rock - i have a pin stripe pair that i wear with suits and so on..........and the ladies love me:D

Funny, I read it as smoked heels which,bearing in mind his shoe fetish....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I normally wear a dress and converse when I'm going out, and I have worn it to some formal occassions too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I LOVE converse! I've got them in all sorts of colours, hi tops and low tops. I've got 13 pairs and counting :D I've a huge thing for skater shoes DC's, Vans, Converse :D

I don't mine being formal though but I do like adding in a bit of my personality into what I wear.

[/B]

Also read the name as "smoke deals"!! :o Would never have known it was smoked eels if i hadn't read your post..

....I should have used an underscore.

Asphyxia wrote: »
    but I do like adding in a bit of my personality into what I wear.

A person in the 15-30 age bracket wearing converse is certainly pushing the boundaries of self-expression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I used to wear converse to school. I was considered quite wild.

A person in the 15-30 age bracket wearing converse is certainly pushing the boundaries of self-expression.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Meh, I choose comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Sorry man, I'm the only Daddio around here. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Wearing runners all the time will cause your arches to fall and you will then have problems with your knees later in life. Get yourself a nice pair of timberland, caterpillar or ecco stomper boots. They look good with jeans too and they provide good support for your feet and ankles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Shoes?
    No recession in your house. :mad:

Aoifey! wrote: »
    Meh, I choose comfort.

Pyjamas and slippers are your only man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

As soon as you put on a suit, you'll be hugging skyscrapers and speaking in non-sensical corporate jargon!

I quite like wearing suits whenever I get the chance at formal occasions, I feel all sharp and snazzy.

Anyways, never liked converse, probably because I associate them with the amount of people I've met who are all "quirky" and "against the man". More of a boot man, myself.