Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Orsmond Clinics

• 07-04-2011 1:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭

So I joined up with one of Dr Eva Orsmond's Clinics yesterday and have signed up for a 12 week weight loss program. I'm starting off on a 600 calorie a day diet. Just wondering has anyone on here done one of her weight loss programs and if so what were their results?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

600 calories a day sounds f*cking insane to me. You'll lose weight alright but its not healthy and you'll be doing your muscle issue/bones no favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

Got to agree. Please tell me they is constant medical supervision, not just weigh-ins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

600 calories a day sounds f*cking insane to me. You'll lose weight alright but its not healthy and you'll be doing your muscle issue/bones no favours.

would agree, 600cals thats crazy, have you loads of weight to lose? Even some crash diets have people on 1000 cals a day and thats hard to maintain.If this is all you are allowed per day you'll end up very lethargic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Dixie Chick

Holy mother of god, please reply to the posts OP and let us know the deal with this 600 cals a day thing? That sounds just wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭pecker1992

MiniSquish wrote: »
    So I joined up with one of Dr Eva Orsmond's Clinics yesterday and have signed up for a 12 week weight loss program. I'm starting off on a 600 calorie a day diet. Just wondering has anyone on here done one of her weight loss programs and if so what were their results?

OP thats disgraceful...600 cal per day is slow suicide.........no fad diets are worth it in the long run...the only way to do it is an overall change of attitude,eating habits & excercise habits.....its mental that anyone would suggest 600 cal per day..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭MiniSquish

I have about 5-6 stone to lose. You start off on a 600 calorie a day diet which you do for the first month in order to reduce your body weight by 10%. Then there's Stage 2 which is an 800 calorie a day diet, then Stage 3 which is a 1000 calorie a day diet and then there's Stage 4 which reintroduces you to eating normally and healthily.
    I can't have meat, fish, fruit, milk, bread and stuff for this Stage. I can only eat their special pre-packaged smoothies or omelettes for breakfast, mid afternoon half one of their chocolate bars, a special soup that you have to prepare for lunch with 5 of their cracker things with one triangle of Low Fat Laughing Cow cheese spread between them and late afternoon the other half of the chocolate bar. I just had my dinner there which was this pre-packaged pasta and I had it with stir fried vegetables as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭theresaloo

Wow 600 cals a day! Im on 1000 and its ok so far but couldnt imagine trying 600!! Are they protein bars? I have two a day when im hungry and they work, they stop you craving!! Im tryin to lose 3stone have lost half a stone in two weeks, hope it work out for you best of luck!!

Thanks, fair play on the weight loss so far. I think they're protein bars because the diet is no carbohydrate, high protein. In a months time I'm expected to have lost 1 stone, 10 lbs. It sounds like a big amount but I need to. It's going grand so far but I've been getting headaches today and I never usually get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Not meant to offend in anyway at all

but

head, wall, bang.

600cals a day. Christ almighty. I had 800 for brekkie this morning!

I have about 5-6 stone to lose. You start off on a 600 calorie a day diet which you do for the first month in order to reduce your body weight by 10%. Then there's Stage 2 which is an 800 calorie a day diet, then Stage 3 which is a 1000 calorie a day diet and then there's Stage 4 which reintroduces you to eating normally and healthily.
    I can't have meat, fish, fruit, milk, bread and stuff for this Stage. I can only eat their special pre-packaged smoothies or omelettes for breakfast, mid afternoon half one of their chocolate bars, a special soup that you have to prepare for lunch with 5 of their cracker things with one triangle of Low Fat Laughing Cow cheese spread between them and late afternoon the other half of the chocolate bar. I just had my dinner there which was this pre-packaged pasta and I had it with stir fried vegetables as well.

OP this is a fad diet......everything you mentioned here is absolute insanity......meat fish & mik are all protien rich foods..you need these in your diet...... as unhealthy as it is low fat does work..but its not without its complications.....and they are serious......i did it years ago lost over 2 stone...i was under eating and to make matters worse i didnt even know..also i was unaware at the time of just how bad it can get until i noticed the bowels acting up and i got some chest pain and couldn't stay awake either....simple answer is to control your portions & eat the right foods coupled with a healthy exercise regime...if you think some starvation type diet is the answer to your problem then im sorry to say your in for a severe shock....there are some people on this forum who really know there stuff id consult them for advice because what your suggesting is complete lunacy..have you consulted a doctor??

Thanks, fair play on the weight loss so far. I think they're protein bars because the diet is no carbohydrate, high protein. In a months time I'm expected to have lost 1 stone, 10 lbs. It sounds like a big amount but I need to. It's going grand so far but I've been getting headaches today and I never usually get them.

The headaches are probably due to your body getting used to the new diet. A friend of mine gave up Coca Cola as he was addicted to it, drinking nearly 2L a day , the first week it was hell for him he couldn't sleep and had constant headaches, I guess its like giving up cigarettes or anything else, if your body is used to it then you get headaches and withdrawal symptoms when you don't have it.

Personally I don't like these kind of diets, a diet should also be about a making healthier food choices and incorporating some exercise into your life rather than losing weight really quickly. What happens when you come off the plan? Go back to eating what you did previously? I just read on another thread about about somebody who came off the Nu tron diet after six months and then piled all the weight back on. I thought the recommended weight loss is 2-3lbs per week obviously in the first few weeks people on a might lose more than that. I'm very surprised she endorses this kind of thing as it was the complete opposite when she was on Operation Transformation - it was all about healthier eating plus exercise and adapting a healthier lifestyle.

Anyhow seen as you've signed up for it I guess you have got to make the most of it.

This diet is only for a month. She asked me would I like to do the other ones but she said because I have so much to lose that starting with this one would probably be best as within a month I'd be down to a much healthier weight and would be down a grade or something in the classification of obesity. After I'm off this 600 calorie diet I'll be incorporating exercise and everything into it and I definitely wont be going back to eating like I used to. It's a fright and a shame that it came to this for me to cop on (I'm 22 and my Dad signed me up) but now that I'm in it I'm gonna make the most of it and hope that it works.

pecker1992 wrote: »
    OP this is a fad diet......everything you mentioned here is absolute insanity......meat fish & mik are all protien rich foods..you need these in your diet...... as unhealthy as it is low fat does work..but its not without its complications.....and they are serious......i did it years ago lost over 2 stone...i was under eating and to make matters worse i didnt even know..also i was unaware at the time of just how bad it can get until i noticed the bowels acting up and i got some chest pain and couldn't stay awake either....simple answer is to control your portions & eat the right foods coupled with a healthy exercise regime...if you think some starvation type diet is the answer to your problem then im sorry to say your in for a severe shock....there are some people on this forum who really know there stuff id consult them for advice because what your suggesting is complete lunacy..have you consulted a doctor??

Yes, she is a Doctor, and I am being closely monitored so if it isn't working out or I'm having very bad side effects I'll be taken off it. I am meeting the Nutritionist on Monday to see how its going.

Id struggle to credit anyone wiht the title dr that would suggest such madness....you do realise of course that you are in for severe muscle loss...which in turn makes it even harder to lose weight..i guess this ''doctor'' failed to tell you that-and the fact that slower weight loss is more sustainable..the more lean muscle you have the easier it is to lose weight.....and if your on a 600 cal diet with no proper protien sources your in for serious muscle loss...i strongly suggest seeing a proper doctor....and scrap this program....its appalling how anyone could suggest this lunacy...if you dont want to take my advice then feel free...but im 100% sure nearly every person on this forum will agree with the above comments

Without coming across as ignorant and rude, the question I asked when I posted this thread was : Has anyone else done the Dr Eva program and found it successful? Most of what I've got is people giving out to me and discrediting the Doctor's and Nutritionists that I have seen.

If some of ye yourselves are in those positions and are speaking from a knowledgeable place instead of just pre judging instead of actually finding out what the diet is about and what I actually do eat then that's fair enough and I do take your opinions on board. No nothing was mentioned to me about muscle loss but I will be bringing that topic up on Monday when I meet the Nutritionist again.

I am a 22 year old girl, 5' 6'', who was told that I have 71% body fat, my Metabolic Age is 37, and that I am at a 60% chance of getting type 2 Diabetes. I was also told that for my age and height I should be at least 5 stone lighter so I'm frightened enough into doing this if it's going to help and get me back on track.

It's not a Sustainable Weight program, after a while the intention is to re-introduce everything normal into my diet, although I will certainly not be eating as many carbs as I did before.

I have seen pictures of the girl that did the program last year and lost 14 stone in 6 months. I don't know what she weighed in the beginning but she's about my age and looks great. I know that it is a very speedy process compared to normal dieting but the intention is to have me at a healthy weight by the end of August. Initially when I said it was a 12 week program I was wrong, it's a 24 week program.

At the end of the Summer when I can wear all the clothes that my friends wear and not always feel like I look terrible next to them when we're out all of this will be worth it. Sorry for the really long post and if I came across as disrespectful that wasn't my intention.

Without coming across as ignorant and rude, the question I asked when I posted this thread was : Has anyone else done the Dr Eva program and found it successful? Most of what I've got is people giving out to me and discrediting the Doctor's and Nutritionists that I have seen.

If some of ye yourselves are in those positions and are speaking from a knowledgeable place instead of just pre judging instead of actually finding out what the diet is about and what I actually do eat then that's fair enough and I do take your opinions on board. No nothing was mentioned to me about muscle loss but I will be bringing that topic up on Monday when I meet the Nutritionist again.

I am a 22 year old girl, 5' 6'', who was told that I have 71% body fat, my Metabolic Age is 37, and that I am at a 60% chance of getting type 2 Diabetes. I was also told that for my age and height I should be at least 5 stone lighter so I'm frightened enough into doing this if it's going to help and get me back on track.

It's not a Sustainable Weight program, after a while the intention is to re-introduce everything normal into my diet, although I will certainly not be eating as many carbs as I did before.

I have seen pictures of the girl that did the program last year and lost 14 stone in 6 months. I don't know what she weighed in the beginning but she's about my age and looks great. I know that it is a very speedy process compared to normal dieting but the intention is to have me at a healthy weight by the end of August. Initially when I said it was a 12 week program I was wrong, it's a 24 week program.

At the end of the Summer when I can wear all the clothes that my friends wear and not always feel like I look terrible next to them when we're out all of this will be worth it. Sorry for the really long post and if I came across as disrespectful that wasn't my intention.

youve got to see it from our point of view......when you post something as drastic as that it sets alarm bells ringing in our heads...it dosent take a nutritionist to know that this diet is wrong..extremely wrong......what your talking about is a quick fix..and there are no quick fixes when it comes to wieghtloss.....if you are suffering like you say..then change your attitude today towards a healthier lifestyle....not some crazy drastic diet thats dangerous (i dont care how well monitored it is)..im sorry that your scared but life is scary.......no need to take it from one extreme to the other...... now like ive already stated if they didnt even tell you that you'd suffer from muscle loss...does that not make you think ( maybe these people dont know what there doing)....excercies is a vital part of it.....because i can guarantee no doctor would give the nod for a 600 cal diet that lacks in macronutrients, vitamins etc...as previously stated imo its like slow suicide..so OP i again ask you..visit your regular GP and ask him for a viable plan..nobodys here to put you down..were all here to help :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Hi OP, I lost what you now have to lose (6 stone) through slow and sustainable changes and educating myself through journals and books and deciphering good from bad so I have come from that place you stated in your last post.

However, now that you are in it, make the most of it i suppose like you say but please realise that this is starvatioon amount. Some people in the depths of an ED eat as low as this. The average person needs 1200 calories for their body to do what it needs to do (organs, pump blood, repair). Once you realise that and are not tempted to stay so low, fair enough. Problem is is that when people deprieve their bodies of nutrients they need, when they eat a regular amount the body is happy and it is much easier to gain. If this is for the rest of your life, take it step ny steo. No need to rush it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

I went to Dr Eva a number of years ago and i ended up putting back on what i lost 3 times over, i was in school at the time and the diet was completely impractical and really didnt keep me full, tbh i wouldnt reccomend her diet what so ever, both myself and my mother were going to her at the time and we got the head eaten off us by our own GP when she found out exactly what it entailed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Eating 600 calories a day is extremely dangerous.

Your basic organs including your heart muscles and your brain would be put under sever stress on this and could lead to all sorts of problems. And that's not even including the potential of developing an ED.

Diets such as this should be illegal imo.

At the moment I am looking for work so have all the free time to prepare the meals and all it entails, I think yes that if I was working or in college or something that yes this calorie intake would definitely not be enough to sustain me for the day. I think I am getting used to it now, I am not tired all the time, I go to bed slightly earlier than I used to and I find that I wake up now around 9 without the use of an alarm so I suppose thats a good thing.

If it was suggested to me to keep this stage of the diet up for more than a month I don't think I would though because it is quite boring and surprising the things that you can't eat that I would have previously thought were healthy. It's funny because the things I'm craving now are healthy, its not crisps and stuff I'm dying for, its fruit and I used to eat alot of tomatoes yet now I can only have one a day.

Hopefully it'll pay off for me, its definitely instigated a lifestyle change anyway. In stage 3 when I'm allowed to exercise properly and stuff I'm gonna sign up for swimming and Zumba with my friends so that should help me along too!

At the moment I am looking for work so have all the free time to prepare the meals and all it entails, I think yes that if I was working or in college or something that yes this calorie intake would definitely not be enough to sustain me for the day. I think I am getting used to it now, I am not tired all the time, I go to bed slightly earlier than I used to and I find that I wake up now around 9 without the use of an alarm so I suppose thats a good thing.

If it was suggested to me to keep this stage of the diet up for more than a month I don't think I would though because it is quite boring and surprising the things that you can't eat that I would have previously thought were healthy. It's funny because the things I'm craving now are healthy, its not crisps and stuff I'm dying for, its fruit and I used to eat alot of tomatoes yet now I can only have one a day.

Hopefully it'll pay off for me, its definitely instigated a lifestyle change anyway. In stage 3 when I'm allowed to exercise properly and stuff I'm gonna sign up for swimming and Zumba with my friends so that should help me along too!

Trust me that's BS to think that it's OK to eat 600 cal/day because you are not that working/in college. It's so far off the mark it's scary. You don't actually burn THAT much more calories by walking around a bit more. A couple of hundred on average at the very most.

You say you're craving healthy food?

That is simply because your body is being starved of essential nutrients, not because you are adopting some sort of ''healthy mental attitude''.

I appreciate your comments and stuff but nothing that you say will make me give it up a week in and €650 euro's worth of money invested into it. It is not a long term thing. You can respond with the same stuff ya've been telling me all along but it's not going to change my views on the subject.

So you want to damage yourself both mentally and physically just because you want to trick yourself into believing it will work because you spent money on it.

Reminds me of a program I saw where people were getting phone calls saying they have won €10,000 in prize money from some Asian lottery only to find out they need to pay €1000 in ''admin fees'' to be able to receive the money. They pay the ''admin fee'' but the money dosen't come. Then they are asked to pay a further €2000 to receive the money. And guess what? They pay it because they don't want to believe that their initial €1000 that they paid was a complete waste. And they never see a cent, ever. They know deep down it's a scam, but refuse to let themselves believe it. Interesting program.

Hard to believe isn't it? It's surprising the lengths people are willing to go to to feel that they haven't ''wasted money''.

Well, it happens and it's happening to you now.

Sad but true.

Sorry do you know me? Everything that you've said on this forum has been so opinionated yet when someone expresses an opinion different to yours clearly I must be brain washed or being lulled into a false sense of security believing in a program that ultimately in your opinion won't work?

I have seen your posts to other people that are trying to lose weight in Weight Management programmes and I can see that you clearly have a very negative view of them. I've also seen that you yourself have never been overweight per se so I fail to see how you fully understand what it's like.

I really do feel like you are being so condescending in your posts whether you feel you are giving me sound advice or not, it is not fair to make assumptions about people based on the few posts that you've read that you don't agree with.

Do you actually know anything about what you claim to be a scam? Have you after I brought it up looked it up and found out what it is about and that it has been designed by a team of Doctors over a 30 year period?

It is designed to be a quick way of losing weight yes, but what I do after I'm finished with it is up to me. As the poster who said they had put on three times what they had lost, I do not think that'll happen to me as this is going to initiate a complete lifestyle change for me.

It might not work however but then again you don't know that it will not work for me either. I don't mean to come across as a bi*** but it is disheartening and annoying that every time I come on this I have some kind of disparaging remark from you. I respect people like Metamorphosis' opinions because although they don't agree with the way in which I'm choosing to lose weight they are not coming across like they are judging me.

For the record I did not pay the money, my Dad did. Which is even more incentive for me to do it. I can't easily quit it now when he has shelled out that money to help me. Even if I wanted to try your methods of exercise and healthy eating instead I wouldn't let my Dad down by wasting his money like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

This may come across as harsh OP but what you have written above has been written pretty much word for word by hundreds through the years on this forum and they pretty much never come back with a success story.

At your bodyfat levels its clear you need to do something about it but even doubling your 600 cal (which is absolute madness) to 1200 cal would see you losing quite a lot of weight. Seeing as the money has been paid i would advise you to get a higher calorie program off them that incorporates exercise, you say you have a lot of free time at the moment so get them extra calories into you and get exercising. It is way more sustainable.

Good luck.

Thanks, I will be meeting the Nutritionist tomorrow and I'm going to be discussing all the points that people have brought up with me on this thread. I have an 800 calorie option and a 1000 calorie option programme too to think of so I'll likely be discussing the differences in those with her but I will be continuing with the 600 calories just to the end of this month so I can get the projected results for this month.

I have seen your posts to other people that are trying to lose weight in Weight Management programmes and I can see that you clearly have a very negative view of them. I've also seen that you yourself have never been overweight per se so I fail to see how you fully understand what it's like.

Do you actually know anything about what you claim to be a scam? Have you after I brought it up looked it up and found out what it is about and that it has been designed by a team of Doctors over a 30 year period?

For the record I did not pay the money, my Dad did. Which is even more incentive for me to do it. I can't easily quit it now when he has shelled out that money to help me. Even if I wanted to try your methods of exercise and healthy eating instead I wouldn't let my Dad down by wasting his money like that.

you know hes just giving you the cold hard facts...like it or not what you speak of is lunacy......you realize of course that on a 600cal per day diet your probably risking organ failure.......if you really mean what you say that you dont want to let you father down.....then i suggest you speak to him about what kind of serious danger hes paid money to put you in and try and rectify it......( nothing offensive intended there)

nobody here would willingly give you bad advice..... this is one of the most helpful and informative forums ive ever come across.....and there's not 1 person agreeing with this OP.....you can try and raise arguments as you please...but bottom line is what your undertaking is extremely dangerous and unnecessary.... do the right thing and undertake a proper health and fitness program...you'll be glad in a few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

Thanks, I will be meeting the Nutritionist tomorrow and I'm going to be discussing all the points that people have brought up with me on this thread. I have an 800 calorie option and a 1000 calorie option programme too to think of so I'll likely be discussing the differences in those with her but I will be continuing with the 600 calories just to the end of this month so I can get the projected results for this month.

Op, you have clearly made you mind up and thats fine but just to point out i weigh just over 18 stone right now and my body uses 1900 calories( i was tested by the sports science people in ucd so is not just a random number) just to function so even 1000 calories is way to little.

Out of myself and the 3 family friends who went to the orsmond clincs we have all put what we lost and more back on very quickly afterwards.

I am back from the Nutritionist and I brought up all the things that were said to me about strain on the heart and brain and muscle loss. She told me that yes I would have all those problems if this was simply a diet replacing carbohydrates and all the nutrients and minerals you need with protein.

However all the products have been designed to incorporate all the minerals and nutrients that I will be missing out on and she also said that yes all of ye would be right if this diet was to be used as a long term thing.

She also gave me way more products and filled me in on all the things that I can eat myself as an additional snack such as Sugar Free Jelly and all of that stuff. When she weighed me today I had lost 4.5 pounds after only four days so I'm very happy with that.

I am back from the Nutritionist and I brought up all the things that were said to me about strain on the heart and brain and muscle loss. She told me that yes I would have all those problems if this was simply a diet replacing carbohydrates and all the nutrients and minerals you need with protein.

well either (a) youve clearly misunderstood what she said or (b) you need a new nutritionist..if you were to completley pull carbs out of your diet you can survive no problem ( your body will enter ketosis and you will start to burn fats as energy instead)..many diets are basd upon this atkins southbeach & to a lesser extent the paleo..however the same cannot be said for fat & protien....which are both essential....and both of which your ''short term'' diet lack severly in.........the muscle loss would be due to the calorie deficit and the lack of fat & protien so thats gonna happen anyway. as for the strain on the heart and brain....

lets just say especially with someone who has as high body fat as you claim you have.....you are already in enough danger as it is......long and the short of things..if a person whos healthy makes a few bad choices ok no big deal little change here and there...but a person thats as unhealthy as you claim to be.....a wrong move could lead to something much more serious and dangerous.......you dont have to listen to me just ask your doctor.. (G.P)

Yes she explained Ketosis to me, and that while I am not getting a huge amount of fat I still am getting some. I appreciate your comments and I did let them affect me to the point that I did go and ask about what was being said to me. However I AM sticking with this. I have only 3 more weeks to go and am not being starved either, I have only been REALLY hungry once at the point so far. Next month I will be moving up to more calories, I am happy with this and it's working for me and my GP already knows about it so until if and when I see really negative effects to what I'm doing, I will be continuing with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Curlymeister

Hey MiniSquish, I have just had my 2 week weigh in and am doing well. I am also on phase 1 and find it fine. My only vices are my eating habits, where I want something for the sake of it and becasue I have trained my self to eat badly for years. I turned 30 last month and have invested all of my birthday money into turning my life around and getting healthy. I found the first 2 days very tough, I had a dreadful headaches and nausea. I thought I would never get through it but I did. Since then I feel like a new person, my energy levels are through the roof and I just feel great. Loosing the weight is nearly an afterthought.

No matter how bad 600 cals a day may seem for a person, the way I was eating and abusing myself was 100 times more dangerous.

I am looking forward to a healthier me that will hopeflluy look good too :)

Best of luck MiniSquish ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

I am back from the Nutritionist

Nutritionist or Dietician?

A lot of people don't realise that while dietician is a protected term (in the same way that doctor is), anyone can call themselves a nutritionist, regardless of their training (or lack thereof) or their beliefs(eat sherbet and magic pixies will come out of your ears and mine the fat off your a**e - to paraphrase a Dara O'Briain sketch on Gillian McKeith)....

If it was my body and my health and I was doing something so extreme, I'd make damn sure that the person had some decent qualifications.

Hey MiniSquish, I have just had my 2 week weigh in and am doing well. I am also on phase 1 and find it fine. My only vices are my eating habits, where I want something for the sake of it and becasue I have trained my self to eat badly for years. I turned 30 last month and have invested all of my birthday money into turning my life around and getting healthy. I found the first 2 days very tough, I had a dreadful headaches and nausea. I thought I would never get through it but I did. Since then I feel like a new person, my energy levels are through the roof and I just feel great. Loosing the weight is nearly an afterthought.

No matter how bad 600 cals a day may seem for a person, the way I was eating and abusing myself was 100 times more dangerous

I am looking forward to a healthier me that will hopeflluy look good too :)

Best of luck MiniSquish ......

Thats great. Ya I have to say I don't find a drop in my energy levels or anything and I actually quite enjoy some of the foods. The little bit of suffering at the moment will pay off in the long run. Hope things go well for you too! :)

Nutritionist or Dietician?

A lot of people don't realise that while dietician is a protected term (in the same way that doctor is), anyone can call themselves a nutritionist, regardless of their training (or lack thereof) or their beliefs(eat sherbet and magic pixies will come out of your ears and mine the fat off your a**e - to paraphrase a Dara O'Briain sketch on Gillian McKeith)....

If it was my body and my health and I was doing something so extreme, I'd make damn sure that the person had some decent qualifications.

The woman that I'm meeting with is both a Nutritionist and Dietician, sorry I keep changing from job title to job title, she has also tried out the programme herself so I trust her and know that she is speaking from experience.

I don't mean to pick holes in your reply, but I find it really, really, really hard to believe that someone who is a qualified dietician would also call themselves a nutritionist. It's a bit like a doctor calling themselves a homeopath rather than a doctor... I just don't get it.

Has she explicitly said that she herself is a dietician?

She was introduced to me as my Dietician and Nutritional Advisor. I know everyone means well but I have went to a reputable brand, where everything is backed up with evidence and testimonials and everything is done in a professional manner. I don't believe that I'm being advised by a woman who is not an expert on the subject or at least has not studied it extensively. Loads of people on here probably aren't and people still take and ask for their advice. It might not be everyone's cup of tea but I feel like it's working for me and I trust in the people who are helping me.

Hi OP,

Noone here wants to appear condescending, they're really helpful people that do their best to guide others away from bad choices such as yours.

I'm not going to repeat what has already been said by others, but I picked up on this part of your post and wanted to say that you really should have a look at pictures of excess skin after rapid weight loss. Alot of people have to undergo surgery to have excess skin removed after losing as much weight as your suggesting in such a short time. Just something to consider.

Best of luck on your journey whatever road you choose :)

If I told you that I've already considered excess skin and that there is already a plan to have it removed if thats the case I'd probably get a lot of criticism. I was told because I'm young that I might not have excess skin but I am planning on joining the gym as soon as I'm allowed to do heavy exercise so I am hoping to combat that, that way. My friend has lost 6 stone and she has no excess skin. So hopefully I'll end up like her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

If the OP was skinny/under/normal weight, wouldnt the whole 800cal muscle waste thing affect her more then? i.e. if she has 5 stone to loose, will the body not start using the fat first to metabolise, rather than muscle? In all fairness, she probably has very little muscle at present.

If a fat/obsese person was to starve themselves, how would it affect them? Would it affect them like a skinny person with little or no fat?

Basically everything that you said there is what the Doctor told me, more or less, so I think you're right. I'd rather get down to a healthier weight and then begin incorporating healthy eating and exercise rather than start all that straight away, which I know I would give up easily. I live next door to a gym so in a couple of months I'll have no excuse not to go! :)

I live next door to a gym so in a couple of months I'll have no excuse not to go! :)

To be honest, gyms make me want to gouge out my eyes with boredom.

If you start doing something you hate, you won't keep going it and will drop out and it will re-enforce low self-esteem and motivation.

You should find something that you love, be it, spinning, tag rugby, running, zumba. Something that you look forward to. Otherwise you're just setting yourself up for failure.

T
    You should find something that you love, be it, spinning, tag rugby, running, zumba. Something that you look forward to. Otherwise you're just setting yourself up for failure.

+1 don't join a gym for the sake of losing weight, try it out before joining and see if you'll enjoy it. I know too many people that have thrown money at gym memberships, go with gusto for the first six months and then give up.

Ya now that I think of it I did join the gym before and never went. My friends do zumba and one of my friends wants me to go swimming with her so I could do those, probably be more fun than the gym! :)

11 lbs in two weeks, this restricted diet that was starting to drive me crazy has really paid off! Only two more weeks til I am finished this Phase and on to Phase 2 and normal food :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭theresaloo

11 lbs in two weeks, this restricted diet that was starting to drive me crazy has really paid off! Only two more weeks til I am finished this Phase and on to Phase 2 and normal food :)

Wow well done that is brillant! It took me 4 weeks to lose 10.5lbs so well done!!!! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 nenna

Hi, Now that it is the end of May - let us know how you are doing and if it is any easier to be on the 800 cal / day?

Hi, thanks for asking. I met Dr Eva again today and I am now down 2 stone, 2 lbs, my BMI has went from 37 to 33.1, my waist has gone down 8 cm, my hips 10 and I have moved from Class 2 Obesity to just a couple of pounds away from being just classed as Overweight. It's going great, I have a lot more variety now. In a weeks time my diet will start to include carbs again. My next target for when I'll meet her again is to be down another 21 lbs, and that is not for another 5 or 6 weeks or something. She told me I'm doing great and she said that I have lost 12% of my body fat so far.

Glad to hear its going well. You should now start psychologically preparing yourself for what you will eat and do when you come off the Orsmond plan.

If you return to your previous diet and lifestyle you will soon be back to your previous weight and probably heavier as outlined earlier in this thread.

It doesn't have to be that way though. You can stay slim for the rest of your life if you have a plan.

Use the coming months to establish why you have been going through life consuming more calories than you burn up.

Maybe its a really poor diet - this can be easily fixed. This very forum can help you lots.

Maybe there's a genetic element - annoying but you can get around this by adjusting diet or doing more exercise.

Maybe there's a psychological element - eg comfort eating - if you suspect this then you should see a psychologist in my honest opinion.

The main thing is you cannot simply go back to your previous ways. You need to eat the amount of calories you burn up. Sure you can have days where you treat yourself but the other days have to balance them out

This is a hell of a lot easier when you eat healthy foods. Personally I think lowering carbs and increasing veg is the most pleasant way of going. Google lo-gi diet. Though there may be other plans to suit you better.

So just realise it is easy and manageable to stay in shape once you plan ahead