Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LGBT forum Coffee meeting - THIS SATURDAY

• 07-04-2011 4:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭

Ok guys, here we go. Planning and voting for the time of the coffee/tea morning in the Tea Garden on the quays. I have allowed multiple choice so if you're free on all options, say so. The place only opens at 3pm hence the poll options. I've also allowed public posting so I can know who's down to come. I hope that's ok. I need to have a guide for numbers so I can book a space.

Here is general info on the Tea Garden: http://www.tea-garden.eu/

Here is their menu: http://www.tea-garden.eu/menu.html

Here is a map of their location: Map

What's the best time for the coffee morning? 33 votes

wednesday 13th April Afternoon (3pm -5pm)
    0%
    Wednesday 13th April Early Evening (5- 8 pm)
    6%
    baby and crumbleAndrewJD 2 votes
    Wednesday 13th April late (8pm-11pm)
    6%
    baby and crumbleAndrewJD 2 votes
    Thursday 14th April Afternoon (3-5pm)
    9%
    rainbow kirbybaby and crumbleAndrewJD 3 votes
    Thursday 14th April Evening (5-8pm)
    3%
    AndrewJD 1 vote
    Thursday 14th April late (8pm-11pm)
    9%
    baby and crumbleWhosUpDocsAndrewJD 3 votes
    Friday 15th April Afternoon (3-5pm)
    9%
    rainbow kirbybaby and crumbleAndrewJD 3 votes
    Friday 15th April Early Evening (5- 8 pm)
    3%
    Aishae 1 vote
    Friday 15th April late (8pm-11pm)
    0%
    Saturday 16th April afternoon (1pm- 5pm)
    9%
    azezilrainbow kirbyJayJay123 3 votes
    Saturday 16th April Early Evening (5- 8 pm)
    21%
    azezilrainbow kirbybaby and crumbleL.JenkinswonderfulnameSparkyTechMarcio Santana 7 votes
    Saturday 16th April late (8pm-11pm)
    24%
    azezilAnnasoprarainbow kirbyIrishdudedavebaby and crumbleL.Jenkinswonderfulnamedeirdre_dub 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I can't make Friday at all as I've volunteered to collect for Special Olympics Day and I haven't got my slot yet, so I can't confirm anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Fixed dates - all were off by 1.

Evenings and Saturday early or afternoon suit me. At work during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Fixed dates - all were off by 1.

Evenings and Saturday early or afternoon suit me. At work during the day.

Same here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

ah feck... i didnt read your post before i voted and i just voted for one - the one thatd suit best. im not allowed vote for more 'any that suit'
    basically i cant do tuesdays and wednesdays. fri through to mondays are best for me and i can swing it to suit timewise. though if i had the option itd be before 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭JayJay123

Saturday 16th April afternoon (1pm- 5pm)
    Aishae wrote: »
    though if i had the option itd be before 8.

Same here, Im not from Dublin, and Im guessing a few others arent either including Tahitiisland who made the original post, so that might be a bit late in terms of getting buses or whatever back down the country!

Also I voted for the wrong time! so you can discount that!
    But anytime really is good for me as long as its not too late in the evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Tahitiisland

im with jayjay, i was hoping it would be a morning time!!!, im more of a meet early/late morning leave early afternoon person!!

i know though everyone might have work and that! so , akward! but glad i can be of help to come up with the idea,

if its possible to get a morning coffee/tea whatever!! going im more than there!,
    thanks anyway

what about saturdays - for those that work?
    i know its impossible to find a day / time that would be ok for everyone but sure we can try... if some people prefer mornings maybe we can do two meets, one t the tea garden and another another day at eg. the coffee area in stephens green s.c (its large) and could be earlier at eg 12 or maybe thats complicating it a bit much....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Is this just a girly get together or can anyone come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Is this just a girly get together or can anyone come?

It's aimed at members of this particular LGBT forum not all of whom identify themselves as "girly" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭AndrewJD

I'd lurve to turn up (non-girlys unite!) but it looks like it's going towards the Saturday, the only weekend for months I've been able to go home to Scotland. So assuming it does end up there, hope you all have a great time :)

Ok folks, looks like Saturday is the winner, and it's neck & neck for early and late... but judging from some of the comments earlier might be better for people coming up for the day from outside Dublin.

How does 2pm on Saturday sound? We can meet somewhere easy and then walk down together if it's easier for people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Asry

actually, Saturday is good for me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

zoegh wrote: »
    How does 2pm on Saturday sound? We can meet somewhere easy and then walk down together if it's easier for people?
    Sounds good to me - particularly because both the Leinster match and El Clásico are on in the evening.

Are we ok for 2pm this coming Saturday at the Tea Garden? I only suggested it because it's got a good mix of things to drink and it's a cool space, but I'm happy to move it elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I can't make it. Do you want me to edit the thread title though?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Oooh, Johnny that would be fabbo. :) (you changing the title, not that you can't come!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

Looks like its this Saturday coming?

actually maybe count me out xx

Is this still going ahead, I only ask because it seems to have died a mini death... Are people stil interested?

if people are still going im going - i was planning on turning up but fully intending to be the only one there but sure the tea garden sounds interesting ;)

I'm well up for it too... so will we say 2pm at the tea garden? If people are nervous just showing up or whatever pm me and i'll send on my number so you can check you're in the right place/ want to meet before hand.

yeah ill see you there - is not far from the bus
    will bring an extra large notepad for the occasion:pac:

actually, sorry, count me back in. Indecision! I hope you guys aren't all one internet psycho man planning on making me his first victim in a spree of serial murders that will span the length and breadth of the country? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

Asry wrote: »
    actually, sorry, count me back in. Indecision! I hope you guys aren't all one internet psycho man planning on making me his first victim in a spree of serial murders that will span the length and breadth of the country? :rolleyes:

I ran out of black bin liners to dump the body. Not to worry. :pac:

i was having a look at the site there - - kept thinking someone said they dont open till 3 but the site said
    Monday to Thursday: 3.00 pm to 11.00 pm
    Friday, Saturday, Sunday: 1.00 pm to 11.00 pm

so thats grand we can meet 2ish

ha... i was a bit afraid of what yous would make of the walking stick. i promise not to hit anyone with it :pac: its a lovely sparkly one. i dont 'do' standard

was also looking at he menu - im not into fruit teas and i tried macha before n didnt like it. though i like jasmine tea. i see they have an irish cream tea which has a splash of whiskey and cream in it - that sounds lovely, they say it tastes like vanilla-ish
    yum yum

yeah, on the weekends they open earlier, which is handy.

I just remembered though, there's a spiral staircase leading down into the place, and you have to go through a kind of curtain... if anyone has mobility issues let me know, I should have said that earlier, sorry my head's not with it!

haa jaysus its a good job i reckoned id better not use the walking aid i usually do. a stick is grand for short walks - which it is from the bus. not a worry there

im still thinking warm thoughts about that tea.....

the tea is pretty awesome there, I had the "winter fairytale" there once... It made me happy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Marcio Santana

I saw the website of TEA GARDEN looks lovely . when i arreive there , i would like to meet u guys there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 nunzilla

The Tea Gardens are lovely.
    Can I join too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭donabate1

i wish to attend sat too....

diarmuid

This is open to everyone.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭bitter_lemon

oh no i am working nights the weekend. i will be asleep when you lovely lesbians are having tea :(

should I bring white name stickers so's we can put our usernames on them? :rolleyes:

Ah, no, half the fun of boards meetups is feeling like you're a superhero with an alter ego!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Hope you all have a good time tomorrow :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I'll be in Dublin tomorrow, so I'll be trying my best to come along :P

hey guys, just an update, we have the 'big room' upstairs in the tea garden booked (ooooOOOooooh), it's under my name, so if we're not there outside when you arrive, just ask for the booking for "zoe".

I'll be waiting outside from about 1.50 ish just to meet people and then we can head in. So if you see a very gay looking woman with shortish curly hair and black rimmed glasses looking shifty outside the tea garden, well... that'll be me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Wish I could go :( I'm working all day Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Just spotted this thread now! Haven't been to the Tea Gardens in ages. Will join yous.

What time was decided then?

Goodshape wrote: »
    Just spotted this thread now! Haven't been to the Tea Gardens in ages. Will join yous.

What time was decided then?
    2pm booked - booked under "Zoe"

Terry Pratchet

Yup, we have our own room from 2pm in the tea garden!

zoegh wrote: »
    Ah, no, half the fun of boards meetups is feeling like you're a superhero with an alter ego!!! ;)

im half tempted to turn up wearing something sparkly and heroic looking. now where did i put the paddys day outfit?......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

I'll be wearing my superwooly T if I get there.

Just back in the office from this one (stupid PhD I HATE YOU!) and had a great time. Was lovely meeting with you guys, but where was everyone else???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Ack I forgot :o damn lack of sleep, next time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭AndrewJD

Stupid Scotland always getting in the way of IRL meet-ups...

just back myself - was a nice meetup! damn nice tea too - ill defo go there again. i forgot half of what we were on about, but it was good. the chat about tea was great - esp the 'will travel for tea' aspect! (im getting ideas of traveling to india for tea now!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

sorry couldn't make it :( (beer+lackofsleep).. please do this again soon, I really want to meet everyone/people/stuff. (or beer would be good too)

I liked that it wasn't beery, that's just me though. Will prob go to the next beers alright though.

And as for the travelling for tea, I don't think I mentioned that new(ish) place off grafton street that has like, a BAZLLION teas you can buy, it's called Palais de The... You can get really cool ones for drinking at home. They do lots of white & red teas, that's more my style. The tannins in the black ones make me sick. :(