Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Optimum Nutrition or a different product??

• 04-04-2011 7:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

Hey,

I'm looking into getting some new protein. I was previously using some cheap brand my friend gave me, it didn't do much to be honest.

I was looking into Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey Gold Standard, would anyone recommend it? I'm looking to get quick results. I will be in the gym three times a week, and then training for football and hurling twice a week.

Would anyone recommend this product or any other products?

Cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

define quick results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

I would recommend ON 100%, its got good flavour and mixes well with water, Choc mint being a fav..i cant stand strawberry..too sweet,

But if its "quick results" your after then maybe ON is not for you...i aint noticed any muscles with a ON logo pop out recently:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 kev123kev

thank's for the reply!

well by quick results, I really meant would you notice results in a month or two or would it be a longer process with this product?

kev123kev wrote: »
    thank's for the reply!

well by quick results, I really meant would you notice results in a month or two or would it be a longer process with this product?

It's just protein.Thats like saying would you notice results in a month or two from having an extra chicken breast a day.It's your training and overall diet thats going to be the biggest decider tbh, not which brand protein you're using.If that came off as condescending that wasn't my intention.

What program are you following when you are in the gym?What are your goals?

Remmy wrote: »
    It's just protein.Thats like saying would you notice results in a month or two from having an extra chicken breast a day.It's your training and overall diet thats going to be the biggest decider tbh, not which brand protein you're using.If that came off as condescending that wasn't my intention.

What program are you following when you are in the gym?What are your goals?

Yeah true I know what you mean, but as a brand would you recommend it?

I guess what I was trying to say was, as a product would you notice the protein working in terms of recovery? Like is it a decent product or one you wouldn't recommend.

Well in the gym I started off with strength and conditioning training, mainly weights for the upper body, and then a number of leg exercises.

Sorry if I'm not being very clear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭marathonic

Basically, it looks like you want a product with a high-protein content (80%+) and a low-carb content. I used to use the Optimum Nutrition product but switched to myProtein as it's an equivelant quality product and cheaper.

I'm not sure where you are looking at the ON product but it's available here for £76.49 including delivery for a 4.54kg bag http://www.discount-supplements.co.uk/sports-supplements-whey-protein-optimum-nutrition-gold-standard-whey-4-54kg-bag-s-

The myProtein product is available here for €66.94 including delivery for a 5kg bag of the chocolate mint flavour (the one I use)http://www.myprotein.com/IE/products/impact-whey-protein

If you like, you can use my myProtein discount code: MP289427. This will get you a 5% discount on your first order.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 54 ✭✭derkav

hey Kev,

Ive been using myo fusion protien for the last few weeks after a loading phase and im seeing great results from it not too expensive its less than €1 per serving too. €45 per tub and 60 + servings in it. its got whey isolate, concentrate and egg bumen too.... Not sure on the spelling there. Its nice and light too not heavy on the tum either. and breaks down at a mixed rate so good that way too. God I could almost work for these guys. Not on comission tough. I get mine in Dundrum .... not sure if I can mention the name of the shop. think orange and black.

anyway best of luck with it.

D

Yeah true I know what you mean, but as a brand would you recommend it?

I guess what I was trying to say was, as a product would you notice the protein working in terms of recovery? Like is it a decent product or one you wouldn't recommend.

Well in the gym I started off with strength and conditioning training, mainly weights for the upper body, and then a number of leg exercises.

Sorry if I'm not being very clear!

.It would be about the same difference if you just have some simple sugars directly after gymin then a big meal a little while later.

The last stuff I got was gold standard in choc and that was nice enough.I had the vanilla before and it was pretty manky.

Are you only doing weights for the upper body then bodyweight exercises for lower body?

marathonic wrote: »
    Basically, it looks like you want a product with a high-protein content (80%+) and a low-carb content. I used to use the Optimum Nutrition product but switched to myProtein as it's an equivelant quality product and cheaper.

I'm not sure where you are looking at the ON product but it's available here for £76.49 including delivery for a 4.54kg bag http://www.discount-supplements.co.uk/sports-supplements-whey-protein-optimum-nutrition-gold-standard-whey-4-54kg-bag-s-

The myProtein product is available here for €66.94 including delivery for a 5kg bag of the chocolate mint flavour (the one I use)http://www.myprotein.com/IE/products/impact-whey-protein

If you like, you can use my myProtein discount code: MP289427. This will get you a 5% discount on your first order.

Yeah I think that's what I'm looking for to be honest, sort of new at all this stuff so wouldn't have the greatest knowledge about stuff like this!
    Appreciate the reply and the discount code, will definitely look into that now, cheers!

@ derkav - thanks for the info, I'll look into it cos Im still not sure which I'll choose!

@remmy - yeah it's mainly weights for upper body and bodyweight exercises for the legs, mainly different types of squatting exercises. I don't really do weights on the legs because since I train twice a week in football and hurling I don't want them to be tired or whatever for that training.

@ derkav - thanks for the info, I'll look into it cos Im still not sure which I'll choose!

@remmy - yeah it's mainly weights for upper body and bodyweight exercises for the legs, mainly different types of squatting exercises. I don't really do weights on the legs because since I train twice a week in football and hurling I don't want them to be tired or whatever for that training.

Could you not hit the gym a few hours after training on the same da if you're worried about fatigue yourself for training?You really should be atleast squatting and deadlifting man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

derkav wrote: »
    hey Kev,

Ive been using myo fusion protien for the last few weeks after a loading phase and im seeing great results from it not too expensive its less than €1 per serving too. €45 per tub and 60 + servings in it. its got whey isolate, concentrate and egg bumen too.... Not sure on the spelling there. Its nice and light too not heavy on the tum either. and breaks down at a mixed rate so good that way too. God I could almost work for these guys. Not on comission tough. I get mine in Dundrum .... not sure if I can mention the name of the shop. think orange and black.

D

You "loaded" youre protein?....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

hey Kev,

D

I love people spreading ****e info on forums :pac:

edit: ^^^ beaten to the punch

gymsoldier wrote: »

Yeah ive been on a loading phase ie taking on ove 4000 cal per day with a gainer in order to increase my weight and have done so by over a stone. now im leaning out. What exactly is wrong with that statement??

oh and also lost .5% of body fat too.

jive wrote: »
    I love people spreading ****e info on forums :pac:

edit: ^^^ beaten to the punch

yeah jive just giving my thoughts how is that ****e then?

LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

yeah jive just giving my thoughts how is that ****e then?

Because when your thoughts are wrong it makes them ****e. You can't 'load' protein. Jesus Christ just because it comes in a tub people think it's some protein of biblical proportions sent to us by the Lord himself. It's just protein. It's no different to protein found in eggs, chicken, fish, nuts etc. etc. It's protein.

I don't mind people thinking that they are loading protein. I mind when these people tell other people this kind of retarded information. False information never helped anybody.

@ Jive. So do you have anythin actually usefull to say?

What would you describe as an over intake of cals as then?

I never said i was loading with protien. I said i was on a loading phase. now im leaning out while still workng out. In order to maintain any muscle mass that ive put on i am taking just a protien and cut out the extra calories. Is this incorrect? please impart your knowledge or do you just come here to moan?

Yeah ive been on a loading phase ie taking on ove 4000 cal per day

^^^This is whats wrong with youre statement.

I really hope its just youre terminology that youve gotten mixxed up and wrong.

And for youre edited remark about the "elite" as you call us, theres alot of people on this forum who know what their talking about. So leave youre smart remarks out, and try learning abit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

^ LOL ^

Bad Boys re loaded protein!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Jaysus lads, reel it in will you? So someone got their phrasing wrong, why turn it into a free-for-all?

@derkav you can't "load" protein - you just horse it into you and anything that's not used will get excreted. People get confused with the terminology because the supplement companies use so much horsesh*t to try and sell their wares making the whole thing a lot more complex than it needs to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

g'em wrote: »
    People get confused with the terminology because the supplement companies use so much horsesh*t to try and sell their wares making the whole thing a lot more complex than it needs to be.

+ 1

We actually sell Optimum Nutrition supplements here at SanoVitae and they sell very well.

The most popular product amongst our members is Gold Standard Whey, followed by 2:1:1 Recovery followed by Casein.

Most of our members are busy business professionals working in the IFSC -they tend to use them as meal replacements.

^^^This is whats wrong with youre statement.

I really hope its just youre terminology that youve gotten mixxed up and wrong.

And for youre edited remark about the "elite" as you call us, theres alot of people on this forum who know what their talking about. So leave youre smart remarks out, and try learning abit.

Well what would be the correct terminology for bulking up by taking on extra calories over and above what would be required to just maintain your weight? God forbid that I have been using the correct terminology.

As for the elite remark. It is easy to point and laugh if some one gets it wrong in your eyes. It takes a bit more to be helpful and to educate people in areas that they may have been wrong in!

Again I was just trying to give my opinion on a protein that I have been using as a reference. I am well aware of protein sources as I have been eating them along with carb and fat sources.

Jaysus lads, reel it in will you? So someone got their phrasing wrong, why turn it into a free-for-all?

@derkav you can't "load" protein - you just horse it into you and anything that's not used will get excreted. People get confused with the terminology because the supplement companies use so much horsesh*t to try and sell their wares making the whole thing a lot more complex than it needs to be.

Hey G'em, Thanks. If you read before you will see I never said that ive "loaded" protein. Perhaps my terminology is wrong here but as far as i was concerned an overintake of cals for a period was a "loading" phase. If this is incorrect please let me know. Not having a go at you here either.:)

nah, that's just over-eating :)

When you "load" something you're gradually increasing the amount of that thing over time, usually because your body can't handle anymore, because it's not in your best interest to go to max or because there's no point in more.

So you originally said :
    derkav wrote:
    Yeah ive been on a loading phase ie taking on ove 4000 cal per day with a gainer in order to increase my weight and have done so by over a stone. now im leaning out.
    You weren't loading, you were just taking in an excess of cals in order to gain mass, but it's really not a big deal at all to get the words wrong. Bigger mistakes have been made and the world hasn't fallen apart :p

nah, that's just over-eating :)

When you "load" something you're gradually increasing the amount of that thing over time, usually because your body can't handle anymore, because it's not in your best interest to go to max or because there's no point in more.

So you originally said :

You weren't loading, you were just taking in an excess of cals in order to gain mass, but it's really not a big deal at all to get the words wrong. Bigger mistakes have been made and the world hasn't fallen apart :p

Thanks again G'em, So what would be the correct term for what I just went through to say I'm "over eating" really just makes me sound like a fat man:(. which is not where I want to be. Hence the over eating or would bulking up be better? and now leaning out ( or is this wrong too)? Thanks for your input too its far more valuable to me than cheap jabs.

Bulking up is usually the term that's used :)

Thanks again G'em, So what would be the correct term for what I just went through to say I'm "over eating" really just makes me sound like a fat man:(. which is not where I want to be. Hence the over eating or would bulking up be better? and now leaning out ( or is this wrong too)? Thanks for your input too its far more valuable to me than cheap jabs.

getting jacked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 A.Tyrrell

Haha its crazy the grief you get on these forums for one lil remark or incorrect statement.. imo the correct phrase is bulking. Most people understand that as to mean you are eating more and trying to put on size, well any lads i know just say they're bulking. I hope no one has a go at me now:( haha

Yes i'd recommend o.n because high protein, low carbs and a bareable taste:) you should look at the 2:1:1 reovery from them too its what a lot of athletes like cyclists and lads running aswell as football players and the like use after training. Well these are the types of lads that buy it in the shop i work in. Also look at kinetica for a simmilar whey which is abit cheaper but does the job and doesnt taste bad either.

Have a look here for some good prices and free delivery over 50euro.

http://www.discountsupplements.ie/index.php

Ive no prob removing this thread if i'm not allowed leave links

A tried and tested method for marketing is to increase the complexity of how to take product A.

It usually is all garbage but makes it all seem more scientific which must be better.

For example take 2 scoops twice a day - job done.

Or:

Take 1 scoop at 6.45am with one blue steel capsule and one green tropic thunder capsule exactly 12 minutes prior to your first meal.

Take 2 scoops at 11.15am with one orange zest defender capsule and two red extreme intense capsules precisely 9 minutes after meal 2 etc. etc.

Mental note - must get some coloured capsules...:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

SanoVitae wrote: »
    + 1

We actually sell Optimum Nutrition supplements here at SanoVitae and they sell very well.

The most popular product amongst our members is Gold Standard Whey, followed by 2:1:1 Recovery followed by Casein.

Most of our members are busy business professionals working in the IFSC -they tend to use them as meal replacements.

Would it be correct to say that there is no real difference between whey brands though? It's just whey after all.

I know it's more complicated when it comes to recovery drinks, mass builder etc. But as near as I can figure out one tub of whey

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Would it be correct to say that there is no real difference between whey brands though? It's just whey after all.

I know it's more complicated when it comes to recovery drinks, mass builder etc. But as near as I can figure out one tub of whey

Isnt there a difference in the amount of protein per gram though? dont some brands have less protein and more sugar?

Maximuscle is the one ive always heard is loaded with sugar. Never really checked it out though either

I can also recommend the Dymatize Chocolate from the website A. Tyrell recommends. I used to use this before moving onto ON Gold Standard and now myProtein.

myProtein I find a better and cheaper product but the Dymatize is a lot better and nicer tasting than what you would find in the likes of Holland and Barrett.

If you look at this Holland and Barrett product http://www.hollandandbarrett.com/pages/product_detail.asp?pid=100&prodid=563, it's a 25g serving size with 18g of protein - that's 72% protein.

If you look at this myProtein product http://www.myprotein.com/UK/products/impact_whey_protein, it's a 30g serving with 24.6g protein - that's 82% protein.

I think this is the main thing you need to look out for. Carbs are also a concern but, in selecting a HIGH-protein product, the carbs should be low anyway.

Our members tend to care more about how good the drinks taste, rather than the exact number of grams of protein. ON products are delicious and can be used for lots of meals as well as just as a drink - e.g. the Casein is fantastic for making protein fluff.

There are differences amongst brands - however it is fair to say that the differences are mainly in taste, texture and percentage protein.

It's also reasonable to say that the highest percentage protein is unlikely to be the best tasting protein and vice versa.

The Guvnor wrote: »
    It's also reasonable to say that the highest percentage protein is unlikely to be the best tasting protein and vice versa.

I think that, outside percentage protein, the flavour plays a big role. Personally, I've stuck to chocolate as friends that have tried multiple flavours have told me that strawberry, etc. is too sweet.

I'm not sure whether this is the case or not as I've only gone chocolate (or close to chocolate). I now use myProteins Chocolate Mint which is very nice.

I hadn't planned to buy other flavours as "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". However, I recently purchased a bundle off the myProtein website which includes Strawberry Cream so I'll be in a better position to comment on this when my Chocolate Mint supply runs out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

yopu won't notice it working, just like you won't notice extra chciken or steak working. But it does work. Changes are slow and you won't notive then happening.

Look at it this way, two scoops of whey is 240 calories.
    About the same as a pint of milk or a small chicken breast.
    It's such a small portion of your diet that its not going to be the factor that makes or breks you. The rest needs to be spot on too.

For the record i use ON, as its cheaper than most, high protein, low sugar, and tastes pretty good.

A.Tyrrell wrote: »
    Haha its crazy the grief you get on these forums for one lil remark or incorrect statement..
    Good thing he said he might of used the wrong term early on rather than insisting he was right for ages.

I think that, outside percentage protein, the flavour plays a big role. Personally, I've stuck to chocolate as friends that have tried multiple flavours have told me that strawberry, etc. is too sweet.

I'm not sure whether this is the case or not as I've only gone chocolate (or close to chocolate). I now use myProteins Chocolate Mint which is very nice.

I hadn't planned to buy other flavours as "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". However, I recently purchased a bundle off the myProtein website which includes Strawberry Cream so I'll be in a better position to comment on this when my Chocolate Mint supply runs out.

Sweetness is down to the amount of flavouring used - basically any flavour can be far too sweet or chemical tasting in some cases if there is too much sweetener added.

All brands vary on flavour so chocolate might be nice and light from company AB but heavy and sweet from CD etc.

The flipside of this is that I might like AB whilst you dislike it and you like CD whilst I dislike it.

There really is this much variance in both the flavours out there and people's tastes!:D

Defo a case of trial and error but IMO do not avoid other flavours just try them in a sample size etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Teebor15

Haha its crazy the grief you get on these forums for one lil remark or incorrect statement..

Yeah i've never known a forum like it..surprised Hanley has'nt jumped on this..a statement like the OP made would be like christmas to him..he could give one of his one sentence retorical questions to make the OP feel really small..yeah real small!!

So what do people feel is the best bang for your buck protein and from my own interest what is the best value commercial recovery drink?

Tee

I'm using all myProtein supplements at the moment except for my Fish Oil which I ordered from iHerb.com.

Regarding recovery drinks, I'm currently using the myProtein CORE bundle which should last me a couple of months. After that, I'm buying the following ingredients separately:

5kg Waxy Maize Starch (100 servings)
    1kg Creatine Monohydrate (200 servings)
    1kg Glutamine (200 servings)
    5kg Impact Whey Protein (200 servings)

The intention would be to just have a protein shake in the morning or evening (depending on when I work out at that point) and then have a Protein/WMS/Glutamine/Creatine mixture post workout. From what I've read, this appears to be a good option and, assumming you workout 3 times a week, would last about 7 and a half months.

I'm using all myProtein supplements at the moment except for my Fish Oil which I ordered from iHerb.com.

Regarding recovery drinks, I'm currently using the myProtein CORE bundle which should last me a couple of months. After that, I'm buying the following ingredients separately:

5kg Waxy Maize Starch (100 servings)
    1kg Creatine Monohydrate (200 servings)
    1kg Glutamine (200 servings)
    5kg Impact Whey Protein (200 servings)

The intention would be to just have a protein shake in the morning or evening (depending on when I work out at that point) and then have a Protein/WMS/Glutamine/Creatine mixture post workout. From what I've read, this appears to be a good option and, assumming you workout 3 times a week, would last about 7 and a half months.

Will Brinks thinks that Dextrose is better than WMS. So do i after making the change awhile ago.
    Get some BCAAs, trow them in with the WMS (or Dextrose if you get it)/Creatine/Glutamine, give it 30mins, then have a protein shake. I do something similar to that and it works for me :D

Will Brinks thinks that Dextrose is better than WMS. So do i after making the change awhile ago.
    Get some BCAAs, trow them in with the WMS (or Dextrose if you get it)/Creatine/Glutamine, give it 30mins, then have a protein shake. I do something similar to that and it works for me :D

Thanks for the advice. I haven't tried this mixture yet - just going by a lot of reviews that I've read. I've read that Dextrose can give a bloated feeling which is why I was going to go for WMS. However, I never really get bloated feelings, regardless of my diet, so perhaps I'm better with Dextrose. It's also a little cheaper (from myProtein anyways).

Teebor15 wrote: »
    Yeah i've never known a forum like it..surprised Hanley has'nt jumped on this.

I'd give him 7 days....

SanoVitae wrote: »
    I'd give him 7 days....

^^^^^ :D
    Thanks for the advice. I haven't tried this mixture yet - just going by a lot of reviews that I've read. I've read that Dextrose can give a bloated feeling which is why I was going to go for WMS. However, I never really get bloated feelings, regardless of my diet, so perhaps I'm better with Dextrose. It's also a little cheaper (from myProtein anyways).

Apparntly most of the research about WMS was actulay carried out on Vitargo. 50grms of Dextrose postworkout will do the job, side note would be; Get a favoured BCAA, Scivation Extend is the best bang for your buck I feel, and mix it with your Creatine/Glutamine/Dextrose. BCAAs on their own unflavoured are foul! Also, I wouldnt entirely be gone on Glutamine, Dave Palumbo says you get enough Glutamine from Protein anyway.
    Teebor15 wrote: »
    So what do people feel is the best bang for your buck protein and from my own interest what is the best value commercial recovery drink?

Optimum Nutrition (ONs) is the best selling whey going. I personaly use Ultimate Nutrition ISO 93, I just prefare a Whey Isolate. When your buying a protein, just make sure it has low sugar, and a good quanity of protein per scoop. Recovery drink wise, by the componants sperately and make youre own, that and a good diet equals good recovery.

^^^^^ :D

Get a favoured BCAA, Scivation Extend is the best bang for your buck I feel, and mix it with your Creatine/Glutamine/Dextrose. BCAAs on their own unflavoured are foul!

Is it this product you're referring to http://www.iherb.com/Scivation-Xtend-Refreshing-Watermelon-1016-1-g/25418?at=0&rcode=ROR319?

It seems quite expensive at about 38 euro after you add in the delivery. Do you have a cheaper supplier?

Edit: Actually, on further investigation, the price seems comparable to myProteins BCAA but your product seems better - it includes Glutamine and also contains the 10mg of vitamin B6 that myProtein suggest you buy separately on their product page for BCAA. Thanks for the tip gymsoldier.

Is it this product you're referring to http://www.iherb.com/Scivation-Xtend-Refreshing-Watermelon-1016-1-g/25418?at=0&rcode=ROR319?

It seems quite expensive at about 38 euro after you add in the delivery. Do you have a cheaper supplier?

Edit: Actually, on further investigation, the price seems comparable to myProteins BCAA but your product seems better - it includes Glutamine and also contains the 10mg of vitamin B6 that myProtein suggest you buy separately on their product page for BCAA. Thanks for the tip gymsoldier.

No bother, I bought mine from Universal Nutrition in Dun Laoghaire, it was 50euro, and despite what it says on the internet, its actualy 1260grams, not 1016grams :D

So if you train four days a week, take 10grams before training, and 10grams after, the tub will nearly last 16weeks! To me thats good value for 50euro. All the flavours are good, Watermelon, Lemon-Lime, Lemonade.

So it looks like my post workout shakes (after I finish my current products) will be:

50g Dextrose
    5g Creatine Monohydrate
    25g Impact Whey Protein
    11.3g Scivation Xtend (with a further 11.3g preworkout)

I think I'll probably order the unflavoured whey and a bottle of myProteins Flavdrops so that I can increase/decrease the flavouring as desired.

So my order would be something like this:

MyProtein

5kg Dextrose €16.69
    500g Creatine Monohydrate €9.69
    2.5kg Unflavoured Impact Whey Protein €27.99
    50ml Apple Flavdrops €10.69

Total (incl €4.95 delivery): €70.01

iHerb

1kg Scivation Xtend Watermelon €37.50

There's enough for 100 workout day servings in all the MyProtein products and 45 servings in the iHerb product. Therefore, 100 servings of the iHerb product would be €37.50/45*100 = €83.33. That gives a final cost per shake of €1.53 (including the second serving of Scivation).

Does anyone have any suggestions for alternatives or improvements?

Id up the Whey to 35-50grms post training, and re-think Apple flavour, I couldnt imagine chugging down apple flavoured protein after a hard legs workout haha. Other wise looks good, make sure youre diet is good aswell.