Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NOW I've seen Everything

• 03-04-2011 6:50pm
    Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I thought there was at least a little bit of decency in humanity, but no I was wrong.

So I'm working today (every Sunday normally), as you do. Been a fairly quiet day here in the internet cafe. All of a sudden, a very dodgy looking couple walk in and their 4 year old daughter behind them (assuming she's four based on height and pronunciation).

So they're minding their own business on the PC, letting me babysit the damn child. So at the corner of my eye, I see the kid stealing stationary! Taking it and slipping it up her jumper, looking around and looking at me thinking I didn't see it. So I go over to the parents: 'Are you going to look after your kid about that stationary she stole there or will I?' So they look at each other, take the stationary off her and continue on with their business, not evening scolding the child or anything.

5 minutes later she's in the opposite side of the room doing the exact same thing! So that was that and I ended up complaining to the parents, or should I say 'parents' that they obviously weren't looking after the child in the shop, that they take care and keep an eye on here or leave. So instead I get insulted by the parents, words I can't even say on this forum, and threatening to have me killed, the kid there behind them grinning, they paid for the usage of the PC, and the father farted like the asshole he was at the shop door. They walked out with the stationary of course, and needless to say I phoned the Garda as they walked into the shop across the road. Garda are over there now as I speak chatting with them.

I now have no faith in humanity. :( (in the Midlands anyway :P)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Good for you ringing the Gardi. I would have done the same thing. If it was my goods, I'd look at pressing charges.
    Sadly, probably a waste of time this time but their mis-minding of their kid will hopefully be on record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

oh the humanity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Was it a smelly fart?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Well its moreso the kid stealing things that's sickening. She was definitely under 5 years of age. Ugh. This day cannot end sooner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Another lovely human in the lovely human factory..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

I doubt the Gardaí can do much, TBH. It's a standard tactic employed by scumbags: cause as much of a scene as possible and they'll get away with things.

Luckily for you they didn't start smashing a computer or two.

Good on you anyway for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

Not often you read such a moving story about stationary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,592 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Just look after yourself when you are locking up, make sure someone else is around with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

I thought there was at least a little bit of decency in humanity, but no I was wrong.

So I'm working today (every Sunday normally), as you do. Been a fairly quiet day here in the internet cafe. All of a sudden, a very dodgy looking couple walk in and their 4 year old daughter behind them (assuming she's four based on height and pronunciation).

So they're minding their own business on the PC, letting me babysit the damn child. So at the corner of my eye, I see the kid stealing stationary! Taking it and slipping it up her jumper, looking around and looking at me thinking I didn't see it. So I go over to the parents: 'Are you going to look after your kid about that stationary she stole there or will I?' So they look at each other, take the stationary off her and continue on with their business, not evening scolding the child or anything.

5 minutes later she's in the opposite side of the room doing the exact same thing! So that was that and I ended up complaining to the parents, or should I say 'parents' that they obviously weren't looking after the child in the shop, that they take care and keep an eye on here or leave. So instead I get insulted by the parents, words I can't even say on this forum, and threatening to have me killed, the kid there behind them grinning, they paid for the usage of the PC, and the father farted like the asshole he was at the shop door. They walked out with the stationary of course, and needless to say I phoned the Garda as they walked into the shop across the road. Garda are over there now as I speak chatting with them.

This is a perfect example of why we need some kind of licence for people before they can have kids. Seriously you need a fecking licence for a bloody dog but any gob****e can pop out a few kids and away they go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

I have no faith in your English teacher at school. It's spelled stationEry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Biggins wrote: »
    Good for you ringing the Gardi.
    Who? No point calling the lads in India in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

And you need a licence to rear a dog.....

<someone was going to have to say it....>

Oh someone did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

bet they were ugly and watching porn................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

NOW I've seen Everything

Really?

Have you seen a man eat his own head?

I know its late in the day now but if they have made a thread to have you killed - as likely as thats going to happen - you should still state it to the Gardi so thats on record (and the fact its illegal too) in case your going home in a few nights and you get a wallop on the back of the head suddenly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

I know its late in the day now but if they have made a thraed to have you killed - as likely as thats going to happen - you should still state it to the Gardi so thats on record (and the fact its illegal too) in case your going home in a few nights and you get a wallop on the back of the head suddenly!

You're making burtations.

Stay away from the microwave, Biggins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,592 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Guill wrote: »
    And you need a licence to rear a dog.....

<someone was going to have to say it....>
    Oh someone did...

What ever your sexual preferences are, leave them out of here....until After Hours.

Hookah wrote: »
    You're making burtations.
    Stay away from the microwave, Biggins.
    Irony or what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

And some people raise perfectly lovely children.

Last Thursday my mother took a 'turn' in her car and stopped at the side of a country road. Two girls passing realised she was in a bad way, stopped and drove her home waiting with her and my father (who fell apart and was unable to cope) till the ambulance arrived which took quite a bit of time. I'm sure they had 'better' things to do, people to see and places to go but they took the time out to help out an old couple.

My faith in humanity is re-intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Nolanger wrote: »
    I have no faith in your English teacher at school. It's spelled stationEry!

why did your english teacher teach you to put capital letters in the middle of regular words?! :p

The same reason why they don't know what quatation marks are used for. Along with why you don't use capital letters for starting a sentence or for a proper noun. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

The same reason why they don't know what quatation marks are used for. Along with why you don't use capital letters for starting a sentence or for a proper noun. :pac:

grammar schmrammar!

Yeah, but I was pointing out the irony of you trying to correct his post when you messed yours up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

Mister men wrote: »
    This is a perfect example of why we need some kind of licence for people before they can have kids. Seriously you need a fecking licence for a bloody dog but any gob****e can pop out a few kids and away they go.

Or at least some sort of minimum I.Q requirement/threshold :pac:
    ballsymchugh: grammar schmrammar!
    Chaotic_Forces: Yeah, but I was pointing out the irony of you trying to correct his post when you messed yours up too.

Quotation marks! Ironically, Pointing out irony can be so ironic!

:P

Ev84 wrote: »

I know. You shouldn't do it yourself. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I was about to slate you for giving out about a four year old child taking something that didn't belong to them. Then I read the rest of the post.

The parents sound like complete fcuking idiots. Threatening to kill someone because their kid is taking things is more than extreme, it's absolutely mental.

I have friends that have or have had kids that age. Some of them are little gems, real little characters & easy to manage. Others can be demons & they have no pleasure bringing them anywhere. But the difference is that if their kids took something & it was brought to their attention it would only have happened once & they certainly wouldn't have threatend to kill anyone.

I know. You shouldn't do it yourself. :pac:

Damn! I missed that. You got nothing wrong that time... You win this time chaotic_forces :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

ah, that'll be the ferals again...i always ask myself in those situations "am i being paid enough to give a f**k?...........

Damn! I missed that. You got nothing wrong that time... You win this time chaotic_forces :pac:

Let's really rub it in, shall we? :D

You should have either said "IQ" or "I.Q.".

Also: "Chaotic_Forces" and there was no full stop at the end. An emoticon is not a fullstop.

So... wanna go for round 3 so I can really rub it in a lot more? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

Also: "Chaotic_Forces" and there was no full stop at the end. An emoticon is not a fullstop.

How about you stop derailing threads, instead?

Good little boy! I bet you brought a big shiny red apple into your teacher every day FULL F**KING STOP :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

You got lucky. If they had an ounce of brain between they'd have sued the shop. Why? Because you accused their child of stealing when it hadn't...that is to say it's not theft until the person has moved beyond the last possible point of purchase i.e. left the shop with the goods.

Instead they ****ed up and tried the same gig twice.

Amateurs.

Stop acting like a mod?
    Good little boy! I bet you brought a big shiny red apple into your teacher every day FULL F**KING STOP :pac:

Eh... you wouldn't bring the apple "into" your teacher, you would bring in to. Okay, how about we say this: if we ever meet in person, you get hit me since I'm being a cu*t? :P

Sorry OP, got side-tracked there. Fair play for ringing the gardaí. Cheeky bastards they were! Bad parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

I know its late in the day now but if they have made a thread to have you killed - as likely as thats going to happen - you should still state it to the Gardi so thats on record (and the fact its illegal too) in case your going home in a few nights and you get a wallop on the back of the head suddenly!

Surely that's down for the board's moderators not the Gardai?

In all fairness there are many "people" spawning progeny who would fit the criteria of evolutionary cul-de-sacs and are a waste/drain on resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Lets not!

Best leave it to the mods.;)

Alright, I don't want to have to close this thread but if posts like the above continue, then the lock will happen.

Also:

From the Charter.
    Not everybody is as perfect as you are. Some people have learning difficulties. Some people are dyslexic. Some people are stupid and finally some people just don't care about their spelling and grammar. It's not your job to police them. If a post is illegible, contains excessive text speak or lacks paragraphs/punctuation etc., you may point it out nicely. Once. If someone has already done so, leave it alone.

Back on topic.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Uh-huh. But why the capital 'P' in 'Pointing' ?:p

Mod Note:

This user is banned for ignoring previous warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I'll get my coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I am outraged myself.
    A permanent black mark for the parents involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭turbobaby

The sooner people realise that for the most part human beings are greedy, self serving filth, the better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

So I go over to the parents: 'Are you going to look after your kid about that stationary she stole there or will I?'

The kid doesn't know any better, and was probably bored out of their tree stuck in an internet cafe. That's not really the attitude to take with the parents. When you say stationary, are you talking about a couple of blank sheets of paper to draw on ?

By the way, you would be liable for defamation, as they hadn't technically stole anything since the kid hadn't left the shop.
    They could start a civil action against you & the shop for making public accusations against them.

The kid doesn't know any better, and was probably bored out of their tree stuck in an internet cafe. That's not really the attitude to take with the parents. When you say stationary, are you talking about a couple of blank sheets of paper to draw on ?

By the way, you would be liable for defamation, as they hadn't technically stole anything since the kid hadn't left the shop.
    They could start a civil action against you & the shop for making public accusations against them.

That's presumably why s/he went to the parents instead of scolding the child

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Sorry OP, got side-tracked there. Fair play for ringing the gardaí. Cheeky bastards they were! Bad parents.

Surprised we haven't had a do-gooder on blaming our "unequal society" or the "SAVAGE" cuts in welfare for this. As you said, fair play OP.