Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maniac next door

• 01-04-2011 11:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭

the house next door to me was set on fire tonight for the 2nd time in 6 months, the son did it and went to bed with his elderly mother, the 1st time he did it the police caught him out as he moved all his personal belongings out to his car. He told the police he came back to see the house was on fire, yet he was in his pj's and slippers. The mother told the police tonight that when the son went to bed she asked him what the fire alarm was ringing for and he said that's she was hearing things.

Now get this, the police did nothing both times, they said to me they are powerless to act unless they see the crime themselves and when the fire was put out they sent her back in with him and made no arrest.

Surely this cannot be the law.

The last time i made hell at the Garda station and went to the corporation yet met a stonewall. Another neighbour contacted Respite and Social Services last time and again a stonewall. The ambulance crew would not take her into hospital as she refused to leave the house, she's in her 90's. All the time whilst i was chatting to the Guards he stayed in the house.

Can anyone reading this tell me what to do? does the Gardai need a death to actually step in and do something.

PS. Whilst i've been typing this he has just left the house and left the mother on her own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Are you renting or do you own?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Burn his house down......oh wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Are you renting or do you own?

renting, there all corporation houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

johndoe99 wrote: »
    the son did it and went to bed with his elderly mother

dirty pup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I see. Try to get moved I guess.
    That or blast any fires with piss, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Now get this, the police did nothing both times, they said to me they are powerless to act unless they see the crime themselves and when the fire was put out they sent her back in with him and made no arrest.

So if I murder somebody I get away with it if nobody sees it? :confused:
    Ridiculous. Surely they can do something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

What happened to the wonderful Garda forensics to detect such crimes? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Emigrate now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

sure the crack is 90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Jesus, what a psychopath :eek:

Could you maybe call the HSE, who have senior case workers who might be able to step in and talk to both the people in question, as well as the Gardai and the council? there's info and a telephone number here http://www.hse.ie/eng/services/Find_a_Service/Older_People_Services/Elder_Abuse/

It's a disgrace this guy isn't being investigated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Contact the corp if no success go to your local councilor if no luck go to TD if no action is taking go public on local radio. If its a semi detached or terraced house there is a serious risk factor for you if this house keeps going on fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

call the brigade to blast it with...their hose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Why dont you be less nosey OP!!!

Sure its only a bit of fire, if your that worried just dampen your walls every hour with a wet spounge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭littleredspot

Maybe if you put your concerns in an email to the corpo/guards etc they might be more likely to act, as there will be evidence that they were notified of a problem and if something were to go wrong in the future, fingers could be pointed.

Jesus, what a psychopath :eek:

Could you maybe call the HSE, who have senior case workers who might be able to step in and talk to both the people in question, as well as the Gardai and the council? there's info and a telephone number here http://www.hse.ie/eng/services/Find_a_Service/Older_People_Services/Elder_Abuse/

It's a disgrace this guy isn't being investigated.

thanks for that website, lots of info there, much appreciated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

The Guards in this country are a pure joke ,dont want to do anything except tell you your nct is up when you passed only a month ago.Pack retards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

set fire to your own gaff, that way when he burns his he wont be able to burn yours:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Is your neighbour in a council house?
    He could be reported for overstepping the mark and damaging the property
    - EDIT: I see you tried that or similar.
    Tell them in the council office that either they do something about it or your reporting them for lack of duty, to the papers and that if they fail to act after you have warned them, they could be liable for any possible deaths in the future!
    Tell them "see how the papers write about ye then!"

Are you living in a semi-detached? Time to buy an emergency fire extinguisher and/or get smoke alarms?

Speaking of trouble makers, my nearest neighbour next door to me has been sent a away for a year for three robberies - so I guess I'll have peace for a while.
    Probably 2/3 months then he's back out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Sound like sh*tty cops tbh, ring the super and tell him what you told us

Biggins wrote: »
    Is your neighbour in a council house?
    He could be reported for overstepping the mark and damaging the property
    - EDIT: I see you tried that or similar.
    Tell them in the council office that either they do something about it or your reporting them for lack of duty, to the papers and that if they fail to act after you have warned them, they could be liable for any possible deaths in the future!
    Tell them "see how the papers write about ye then!"

Are you living in a semi-detached? Time to buy an emergency fire extinguisher and/or get smoke alarms?

Speaking of trouble makers, my nearest neighbour next door to me has been sent a away for a year for three robberies - so I guess I'll have peace for a while.
    Probably 2/3 months then he's back out!

have smoke alarms, never thought about Fire Extinguishers, thanks for that, i'll definetly get a couple.

Even though we reported him to corporation last time, they still sent workmen around to repair the damage. Don't figure.

Sound like sh*tty cops tbh, ring the super and tell him what you told us

i'm off to the station tomorrow to complain, the guards that came looked like teenagers, they get younger and younger. Still can't get get it outta my head that there powerless to do anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I see a psychiatrist in the future of this story, and a long hospital stay

have smoke alarms, never thought about Fire Extinguishers, thanks for that, i'll definetly get a couple.

Even though we reported him to corporation last time, they still sent workmen around to repair the damage. Don't figure.
    Tell them they have "a legal duty of care" towards their occupants and that if they fail to live up to their responsibilities, then they each, individually could be held liable for the later damage done or lives lost.
    Tell them it could be their ass on the line - and their jobs - and that's not including the media exposure too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

i'm off to the station tomorrow to complain, the guards that came looked like teenagers, they get younger and younger. Still can't get get it outta my head that there powerless to do anything.

They're not powerless to do anything, they're just too lazy to gather evidence about a suspected arson case. Too much paperwork and effort.

As much good as it might do, try emailing your nearest TD and informing him/her too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

He probably fecked off to the nearest dance floor
    To go dancing like he never danced before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

You can't expect the guards to forcefully remove an elderly woman from her home. Also they cannot prosecute the man himself for criminal damage to the house unless his mother, or the council, wished to pursue those charges.

They can't decide to investigate these things on a whim without a complainant. Sadly this system leads to prosecutions falling through the net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I find it bizarre in a country which seems to intervene so much, telling you what you can and can't put in your mouth through taxation, etc, that they seem to not want to be able to do sweet **** all when it actually matters. "Yes we want to control whether you smoke or not and where you smoke but **** it we don't want to actually have to do anything if you try to commit arson and stuff." :confused: help me out here. Something doesnt seem right about this picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Surely this is bound to be the classic "talk to Joe" call of 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Might be time to call in the Hired Goon Squad for Norman Bates.